1. i usually do 140-150km cruising on NSHW, before the bike starts to shake abit.

- Sure or not ? Mine don't shake at all. :p

I agree with John. Though its not meant to be a speedster, the bike is capable of smooth riding still at 180-190km/h.

It can be maintained still.

R1200GS loose (hand turnable) oil filter after 5000 km, causing oil loss and dirty skidplate

-Anyone got this experience ?

-Is this like some time sensitve design for BMW ?

-Or was this simply bad work workmanship ?

-Last oil change was done at Bt Timah.

give Kris a call, bro. Problems are best solved when the parties involved are involved in the problem solving. in this case, Kris, no 3, no 5 and your good self. don't you agree? i work for pml bmw motorrad but i'm not a "yes man".

NEVER ride faster than your guardian angel can FLY!!!

Bad experience based on wrong information ?

I think is more like don't realise they are not efficient ... :pity:

Please hor ... you better don't be one ... :p

I can see arrows shooting over soon ... :lol:

haha. Lai Lai!!! my fat body is made to withstand arrows, missiles, atomic bombs, nuclear bombs..... except if kanna backstab, then sure die.... lol

1. i usually do 140-150km cruising on NSHW, before the bike starts to shake abit.

2. fuel tank on a GS1200 is 20 litres. i usually get 12 to 14km per litre. (my style). depends on how heavy your right hand is.

- I get 14km-18km also my style ... I shave off at least 20kg on the bike. :p

3. normal servicing on every 10,000km, (usually stuff like oil change and diagnostic checks). major servicing on every 40,000km whereby the shaft is checked n serviced.

- I change oil every 5,000km. :p

4. most parts are usually readily available.

- Sure or not ! last time make me wait for ABS. :p

5. it's an air-cool bike, so yes, it gets warm, but your butt wouldnt sweat like with yammie bikes

- All bikes get warm what ? GS I can ride with shorts and slippers. I ridden many different made bike my butt don't sweat leh ... :p

orh.........

give Kris a call, bro. Problems are best solved when the parties involved are involved in the problem solving. in this case, Kris, no 3, no 5 and your good self. don't you agree? i work for pml bmw motorrad but i'm not a "yes man".

I'm asking the guys for prior experience, nothing else.

Problem was simply solved with filter tightened and oil topped up. No phone calls needed. Dun need to open GS-Table (pun not intended). You are most welcomed to feedback this to your repair colleagues, if you would like to.

And what am I supposed to tell Kris ? That filter came loose after 5000km ? How much weightage is that ? What do you expect Kris to do ? Replace filter and oil cos it came loose at 5000km ? Seriously ?

who are no 3 and no 5 ? Nobody said you were a "yes" man, yes ? Dun need to get defensive.

If your being a PML Motorrad employee impairs your ability to participate in discussions in this thread, I would recommend you maintain an observer status instead.

Have a good day

P.S. I will not answer to any replies to this topic.

MD

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=177769&d=1286428855

I agree with John. Though its not meant to be a speedster, the bike is capable of smooth riding still at 180-190km/h.

It can be maintained still.

i gone up to 210kmh with side pannierss and top box installed before bike starts to wobble..anyway gs not meant for high speed riding, i agree it is most comfy to ride at 160 - 180kmh

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

i gone up to 210kmh with side pannierss and top box installed before bike starts to wobble..anyway gs not meant for high speed riding, i agree it is most comfy to ride at 160 - 180kmh
210km/h on ur speedo or GPS?

I only manage a puny 205km/h on GPS.

Got my 1200 GS last week
Enjoy!!!

I'm asking the guys for prior experience, nothing else.

sure, just trying to help too.

Problem was simply solved with filter tightened and oil topped up. No phone calls needed. Dun need to open GS-Table (pun not intended). You are most welcomed to feedback this to your repair colleagues, if you would like to.

glad you are a DIY person. Nah, if you not gonna bring it up to them, so be it.

And what am I supposed to tell Kris ? That filter came loose after 5000km ? How much weightage is that ? What do you expect Kris to do ? Replace filter and oil cos it came loose at 5000km ? Seriously ?

haha, you're right, it is ridculous that the filter came loose only after 5000km.

who are no 3 and no 5 ? Nobody said you were a "yes" man, yes ? Dun need to get defensive.

sorry, my apologies for assuming that you would know the mechanics, Ah San and Ah Fai. it's just amatter of time before someone does say that, so i say first. lol

If your being a PML Motorrad employee impairs your ability to participate in discussions in this thread, I would recommend you maintain an observer status instead.

haha, i do not think i have shown a pro-pml attitude towards any of the brothers here. Just here to learn more about BMW motorcycles, and provide information when a fellow brother needs information. just brothers riding bikes, bro.

Have a good day

good day to you too!

P.S. I will not answer to any replies to this topic.

not expecting any answer bro!

210km/h on ur speedo or GPS?

I only manage a puny 205km/h on GPS.

speedo..GPS should be 10kmh slower and more accurate..i have yet to full twist the throttle but at this speed the bike already starting to do the rock and roll so got to ease off the throttle

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Hi guys, forget to introduce myself.. Kaz here.

Just got myself an awesome beemer 1 month ago. Great versatile bike, basically can do anything u want.

Btw im riding a R1200GSA.

p.s Nobody did reply to my question way earlier on regarding Engine No.. Well except my buddy mr yem paul.. So nobody knows where is it??

http://i3.squidoocdn.com/resize/squidoo_images/-1/draft_lens5271672module39663012photo_12448116942008-BMW-R1200GS-Adventureb-small.jpg

What's an ADVENTURE??

EVERYTHING!!

brothers on boxer engines, i want to share with you an incident that happened with another bro on the GS1200.

he lost control of his machine cos he hit the clutch instead of the front brakes and almost hit onto the lorry infront of him. the cylinder head was torn apart like a durian.

the rider is fine and out of the hospital and resting at home now, the GS however, is a total loss. Luckily the cylinder head took the impact and saved his leg.

brothers on boxer engines, i want to share with you an incident that happened with another bro on the GS1200.

he lost control of his machine cos he hit the clutch instead of the front brakes and almost hit onto the lorry infront of him. the cylinder head was torn apart like a durian.

the rider is fine and out of the hospital and resting at home now, the GS however, is a total loss. Luckily the cylinder head took the impact and saved his leg.

I think he must be left-handed :|

http://sk1.yt-thm-a04.yimg.com/image/9720b100db4951d4

Did on my last GS12 @ GPS speed 205kph (two up)....No wobble and very stable with Side Boxes and Top Too.....never ever feel the stability of a bike like the GS12 before....my ex STX13 when hitting 180kph....starts to sway a little and scary....

My Ex GS800 also did before GPS speed 200....allow me to say please dont try if can...scary the shake...best speed 160 asai liao... my 1 cent worth :thumb: