• Replies 21

hmm..plan out ur monthly budget well..

set aside for rainning days(change wear and tear parts,2T,petrol,tyre ,etc)

sp is a old bike...yes 1 piston 1 carbuttor running for 10 over years...

getting from direct owner or shop?

get some1 tat is experience to go with u...~~~

im riding a sp as well..~

2T consumtion not alot..FC wise still ok..full tank w/o reserve is abt 210km~

sp stock dun need mod much..juz open valve and FLY~

haha..if u wan speed den get kawa...imo its faster and lighter & more dangerous...lol..

sp is heavy compare to kawa..juz outlook nicer cos PROARM ma..(no offence)

N.ormal Sinus R.hythm

proud owner of a PROARM bike~

~Yuan Ping Racing~

tune by ah kiang,ride by ah huat~

I currently do vehicle inspections for secondhand bikes FOC - I mainly am interested to see Phantoms and SPs.

Bear in mind, as well said by @AhHuat88, the SP is quite an old model and you may need to do a lot of work to get one totally tight again. Try to get a bike that is close to the stock setup for reliability. While racing mods are prevalent these sometimes affect the usability and reliability of the bike (IMPORTANT for a new rider), and a "street race" bike this old has likely gotten itself into accidents before.

Try not to be wooed by heavily "done up" bikes with special parts here and there. I have seen these bikes with excellent exteriors sold dekitted (false advertising!!) and even with non functional brakes.

So yes, get someone to accompany you to access the mechanical condition or even test ride (best location is at a mechanic's shop).

That said, I love the SP. Light, quick, efficient in terms of power to weight ratio, for a 2B bike. However, you need to have some riding experience before you can fully make use of the 2-stroke horsepower and the low riding position.

It's not as forgiving as some newer bikes, so beware. Back off on the sprints in unfamiliar roads, so you don't make the same mistake we all do long time ago - overspeed corner entry. 80% of the bike accidents my friends get into are due to overspeed. While the NSR is designed to be a track fighter, you need preparation before you can 'play' safely close to the limits!

sp is a old bike...yes 1 piston 1 carbuttor running for 10 over years...

well bro is a sp cheap to maintain?

bro most likely direct owners,btw bro do owners allow payment by installments?

haha..if u wan speed den get kawa...imo its faster and lighter & more dangerous...lol..

open valve and FLY?bro means what and it is possible for a sp to be tuned till it can run faster thn a kawa?

I currently do vehicle inspections for secondhand bikes FOC - I mainly am interested to see Phantoms and SPs.

Bear in mind, as well said by @AhHuat88, the SP is quite an old model and you may need to do a lot of work to get one totally tight again. Try to get a bike that is close to the stock setup for reliability. While racing mods are prevalent these sometimes affect the usability and reliability of the bike (IMPORTANT for a new rider), and a "street race" bike this old has likely gotten itself into accidents before.

Try not to be wooed by heavily "done up" bikes with special parts here and there. I have seen these bikes with excellent exteriors sold dekitted (false advertising!!) and even with non functional brakes.

So yes, get someone to accompany you to access the mechanical condition or even test ride (best location is at a mechanic's shop).

That said, I love the SP. Light, quick, efficient in terms of power to weight ratio, for a 2B bike. However, you need to have some riding experience before you can fully make use of the 2-stroke horsepower and the low riding position.

It's not as forgiving as some newer bikes, so beware. Back off on the sprints in unfamiliar roads, so you don't make the same mistake we all do long time ago - overspeed corner entry. 80% of the bike accidents my friends get into are due to overspeed. While the NSR is designed to be a track fighter, you need preparation before you can 'play' safely close to the limits!

wow thanks alot bro for your words btw bro do bikes like cars use iridium spark plug?

sp is a old bike...yes 1 piston 1 carbuttor running for 10 over years

is this bike hard to take care of?

well bro direct owners

juz open valve and FLY.bro what you mean by that?

hey bro jsut asking do people take honda sp to the track and even if they do can even still run since so old liao?

juz open valve and FLY.bro what you mean by that?

SP has a "power valve" to improve top end horsepower.

Just like all 2 strokes, you can rule lane 1 quite easily on a well tuned machine. The SP with its hunkered down riding position is even more 2 stroke pwnage :D

Try to read up on 2 stroke exhaust chamber design. You'll notice there is a "special power" to a 2 stroke's exhaust. It's not exactly "supercharging" but it works similarly.

http://www.motorcycle.com/how-to/how-twostroke-expansion-chambers-work-and-why-you-should-care-3423.html

Suffice to say 4 strokes don't deliver that much "Pehhh Pehhh! " fun :)

haha bro take this as advice

clutch houseing + plate => 450

clutch pate=> 110

chain and sprocket (last for long time)=> 120

tires (front and back)=> 180

full service(take out everything and wash exclude changing of parts)=> 120

service and tune cub =>40

good 2T (motul)=>29+-

engine oil & spark plug => 70

fork seal => 80 each

piston => 110

2t tank =>15

brake pump=>45

brake pad (good and lasting) =>50

clutch and throttle cable =>15 each

haha bro i only can name all this out pls let me know if i make any wrong in the price or miss out anything =)

SP is a fun bike but this r those things u need to take care

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/forumdisplay.php/99-Unique-Motorsports-Pte-Ltd

my fav place =)

bro as long as got maintain sp is quite a good bike...(yes MAINTAIN)

i juz done my overhaul at jb spend abt $450..

my bike maintain this condition for 10years...lol..

the engine is quite solid but after 10yrs i felt is good to give it a overhaul..

since u getting from direct owner u better pray those ex owner nv wack lyk mad..its hard to find sp with less den 10 owner..

lucky for me(im the 3rd owner)...

dun be fool by all the accessory..example fast throttle,racing foot rest,new paintwork,juz overhaul,change this change that,tong here and there...etc bullshyt)...

when go view bike make sure u let the bike cool down...

den start bike.. listen to the engine..play with the gear all this..

all this can change cheap cheap at JB...

STOCK IS BEST...my sp i think 1 of the few sp with stock paintwork no racing foot rest no fast throttle,stock exhaust stock stomach...lol...

it might be slow compare to other sp but....its safe and the power is juz nice for me to handle~

sp RC valve open at abt 6 or 7k rpm...onces u enter this rpm...u will FLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

heehee...

N.ormal Sinus R.hythm

~Yuan Ping Racing~

bro as long as got maintain sp is quite a good bike...(yes MAINTAIN)

i juz done my overhaul at jb spend abt $450..

my bike maintain this condition for 10years...lol..

the engine is quite solid but after 10yrs i felt is good to give it a overhaul..

since u getting from direct owner u better pray those ex owner nv wack lyk mad..its hard to find sp with less den 10 owner..

lucky for me(im the 3rd owner)...

dun be fool by all the accessory..example fast throttle,racing foot rest,new paintwork,juz overhaul,change this change that,tong here and there...etc bullshyt)...

when go view bike make sure u let the bike cool down...

den start bike.. listen to the engine..play with the gear all this..

all this can change cheap cheap at JB...

STOCK IS BEST...my sp i think 1 of the few sp with stock paintwork no racing foot rest no fast throttle,stock exhaust stock stomach...lol...

it might be slow compare to other sp but....its safe and the power is juz nice for me to handle~

sp RC valve open at abt 6 or 7k rpm...onces u enter this rpm...u will FLY !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

heehee...

bro can give me advise? as i was at bikemart looking for a sp when i saw this sp it cost 300 for the owner and i have to pay 3months upfront which is 477? and the bike is mine ? but my friend said it was a coi bike any bro mind advise on this as i dont get this coi or whatever it is?

when i saw this sp it cost 300 for the owner and i have to pay 3months upfront which is 477?

Try to stay away from COI (Continuance of Insurance). I find it a very 'shady' deal where your ownership of the bike is not assured if the owner becomes MIA later on.

It's fine if the seller is a close friend or relative but on a public sale where people can sell "fully done up and overhauled" bikes with non functional brakes, it makes sense to minimise any and all risks involved in the transaction. 2 out of 5 recent used bike sales I helped oversee involved faulty brakes. That said, I have heard a lot of crazy stories regarding deposits and COI sales. Run away!

Secondly, instalment for a used 2B bike is bleh. Try to aim for one shot cash payment!

Try to stay away from COI (Continuance of Insurance). I find it a very 'shady' deal where your ownership of the bike is not assured if the owner becomes MIA later on.

It's fine if the seller is a close friend or relative but on a public sale where people can sell "fully done up and overhauled" bikes with non functional brakes, it makes sense to minimise any and all risks involved in the transaction. 2 out of 5 recent used bike sales I helped oversee involved faulty brakes. That said, I have heard a lot of crazy stories regarding deposits and COI sales. Run away!

Secondly, instalment for a used 2B bike is bleh. Try to aim for one shot cash payment!

but bro i cant pay 1 shot as i am severing the army or can i get those normal seller and maybe ask for installments?

+1 for NSF :D

It's possible to negotiate for instalment but you need a bit of goodwill on the seller's part. Once again it's better/safer if your name can be put as "owner" right away instead of on completion of the instalment period.

Alternatively you can source for new bikes from shop, which I find is much easier to get a short loan but you'll waste money on the interest. Try to save up a bit and do a one shot deal. NSRs will be around for quite a long time :)

+1 for NSF :D

It's possible to negotiate for instalment but you need a bit of goodwill on the seller's part. Once again it's better/safer if your name can be put as "owner" right away instead of on completion of the instalment period.

Alternatively you can source for new bikes from shop, which I find is much easier to get a short loan but you'll waste money on the interest. Try to save up a bit and do a one shot deal. NSRs will be around for quite a long time :)

Agree on this count. You should probably do your sums up correctly as old bikes over time does have more needs, as with the other posters above have posted full service >= 120 there abouts. If you're combat officer, okay not too bad. If combat sergeant, still okay. if Combat corporal, might be a bit tight. If service corporal,ummm good luck?

But on a more serious note, army to ride in camp need to take defensive riding, fyi. Its compulsory. and from your OP, you do know you have to pay insurance upfront one shot and considering its sports bike, its going to a tad higher right? Anyways, just post if you have any more queries

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

yup..although u get from shop monthly can paid back...but u infact paid more cos shop mostly will chop u~

all add together maybe ur sp cost 4k plus...lol...which is dam ex la..save abt 2k ..1k settle insurance 1k find bike...slowly find sure have 1...~!!!

get those 1yr coe bike abt 800?

den if need to nxt yr den extend coe lor..

dun gan chiong get bike..slowly search around sure have 1...btw..

@Icomeforyou ...ur sig so cute...hahahahhaahahah

N.ormal Sinus R.hythm

~Yuan Ping Racing~

yup..although u get from shop monthly can paid back...but u infact paid more cos shop mostly will chop u~

all add together maybe ur sp cost 4k plus...lol...which is dam ex la..save abt 2k ..1k settle insurance 1k find bike...slowly find sure have 1...~!!!

get those 1yr coe bike abt 800?

den if need to nxt yr den extend coe lor..

dun gan chiong get bike..slowly search around sure have 1...btw..

@Icomeforyou ...ur sig so cute...hahahahhaahahah

Yeap my machine price 3.8k (phantom) i paid interest + admin + a lot of stuff = 800... THe consolation part was that at least everything was explained in full and i didn't get the feeling of being a carrot, because he explained everything swee swee and i was okay with it.

@AhHuat88 Thanks man! =) Big big transformers fan... when i saw this pic i couldn't resist..

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

Agree on this count. You should probably do your sums up correctly as old bikes over time does have more needs, as with the other posters above have posted full service >= 120 there abouts. If you're combat officer, okay not too bad. If combat sergeant, still okay. if Combat corporal, might be a bit tight. If service corporal,ummm good luck?

But on a more serious note, army to ride in camp need to take defensive riding, fyi. Its compulsory. and from your OP, you do know you have to pay insurance upfront one shot and considering its sports bike, its going to a tad higher right? Anyways, just post if you have any more queries

well bro if that the case i rather not ride to camp so ma fan but bro how much is a coe extension?

it depends on how many yr u wan extend ...10yrs coe i think nw is 1.5k...

if u only renew 5yrs i tink abt 500...but if u renew 5yrs...u can't renew animore...after 5yrs must scrap...~

N.ormal Sinus R.hythm

~Yuan Ping Racing~

5 years for a 2B bike should be adequate given our Singaporean tendency to want to up the horsepower to 2A or even class 2 levels once we've settled down after NS & studies. It's really a buy and throw away market, in some aspects.

Unless if you love your NSR very much like Ah Huat then renew 10 years and keep forever (as the math says, the longer you keep the cheaper it is). But very few of us keep small sportsbikes that long :)

agree on what pandora said...but remember the older the bike u need more care and love to it...lol..~

i think 5yrs enough la..no need tahan another 10yrs..cos by den u might have sold it off alr...

but hor b4 u buy u must see carefully...NSR SP is PROARM

NSR RR

RR is 2side holding the rear wheel...nothing special abt it...

GET THE PROARM...!!!!!!!

hmmm....get the 2stroke nw b4 it will all be gone...~

bring back the 2stroke spirit~~~

N.ormal Sinus R.hythm

~Yuan Ping Racing~

Proarm - it's worth having for the coolness itself, check this out:

Monoshock, single-sided swingarm

The ultimate evolution of the monoshock design is the single-sided swingarm. These are super-strong, super-lightweight swingarms like you might find on a VFR800. The advantage of a single-sided system is that the wheel can quickly be taken out and replaced. Not really a huge advantage for you or I fiddling with our bikes at the weekend, but for Moto-GP style racing, it does make a huge difference for the pit crew. Single-sided swingarms need to be pretty heavily engineered because they bear the all the stresses from the rear axle offset to one side. With the traditional double-beam swingarm, the design needs to have longitudinal stiffness to stop it from bending. With the single-sided design, it needs to also have torsional stiffness to stop it from twisting under the offset load. As a result, single-sided swingarms are typically a lot larger and have a huge amount of cross-bracing inside them.

hmmm....get the 2stroke nw b4 it will all be gone...~

bring back the 2stroke spirit~~~

Yes, I miss sitting on a ferocious swarm of bees at 8,000 rpm. It never ceases to be entertaining. Well maybe not so for bystanders but bike must entertain the rider first nya? :D