prepare 2k for sp/kr

1k for insurance

backup $$ for repair *touchwood*

petrol 98 $2 liao..sian

• Replies 77

i think you get a phantom better. but i guess your already knows what bike you wanna get liao. sp or kawa again...=.="

and not to forget, ARE YOU GOING FOR CLASS 2A? if YES then dont buy too expensive 2b bike.

Yamaha x1

Honda super 4 spec 1

i think you get a phantom better. but i guess your already knows what bike you wanna get liao. sp or kawa again...=.="

and not to forget, ARE YOU GOING FOR CLASS 2A? if YES then dont buy too expensive 2b bike.

Yamaha x1

Honda super 4 spec 1

haha just pass few would want phantom sia...

If not for my overgrown hormones (i'm 1.86, don't be "wah so good", got drawbacks de), i also wanna take a sports bike and all. :p

But instead met my lovely phantom and fell in love with her. Haven't looked at another bike since. (okay so maybe not all the time, but trying not to gian all the busas, and s4 and gsr400...)

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

hi guys! i just passed my 2b license yesterday and am looking for a street bike. but im not going to buy one yet cos im planning to work during the holidays to earn money to get a bike and be more financially stable first. however, im not sure how much money i must get ready to pay for everything (machine, insurance, etc...). im eyeing on pulsar or rxz though, please give me some advices, thanks.

1) 20 (this year, but havent pass birthday yet)

2) Budget(1k - 2k) including insurance /allowances per month(200) / pay(working part time inconsistantly, can get about $200 a month during school days)

3) student

4) Jurong East

5) Ngee Ann Polytechnic (Clementi)

6) 174cm / 62kg

7) purpose to ride: transport, leisure. (got my class 3 license but realise doesn't really benefit me now, but driving at least once or twice a week.)

8) considering to get my 2A license

hi guys! i just passed my 2b license yesterday and am looking for a street bike. but im not going to buy one yet cos im planning to work during the holidays to earn money to get a bike and be more financially stable first. however, im not sure how much money i must get ready to pay for everything (machine, insurance, etc...). im eyeing on pulsar or rxz though, please give me some advices, thanks.

2) Budget(1k - 2k) including insurance /allowances per month(200) / pay(working part time inconsistantly, can get about $200 a month during school days)

3) student

4) Jurong East

6) 174cm / 62kg

7) purpose to ride: transport, leisure. (got my class 3 license but realise doesn't really benefit me now, but driving at least once or twice a week.)

Look up babe.

Its so hard nowadays to find a $400/- bike.....if got a lobang, intro me can?

You maybe also have to ask around your neighbourhood, for bikes that is hardly ridden, and you asked to become a subrider ie.....renting the bike.

3) student

4) Jurong East

6) 174cm / 62kg

I'm not sure pulsar can get at 1-2 k, because well, they may be an INdian brand, but they are still quite new to the market. Spares should be available and relatively affordable.

Your insurance must normally be 2nd party and above already, meaning insurance alone = 1k =/= Bike = 1k. So meaning, you have no more cash overflow (budget all used up). Bike (200 + +- 200 = 400 at best) , again not recommended.

If you're getting pulsar / reloan, some shops will even ask for comprehensive insurance from you because P-plate, so meaning your bike down payment only 1k. Your installment /mth will be roughly 100-150 + petrol assuming pulsar 50km/l pump 4 times a month = 55-65/mth + season parking = 15/mth.

Total 125 + 60 + 15 = 200/mth. Congrats, you left 200 to survive. Come 1 year later, you will need to borrow money to pay for insurance + road tax + inspection (If need).

200/mth to survive = 10/weekday, weekend MUST stay home. Thankfully you still near your school. If you really want to be more secured,

A) Work consistently (Not recommended though, part time employment no benefits, if touch wood you for whatever reason cannot work for 1-2 months, your bike in jeopardy)

B) Work hard and save to pay off your bike one shot, so that at least you safely got 100+ cash overbalance every month.

C) Driving 1-2 times/week actually quite good already, might consider taking this money going to offer to pay the person to loan you the car for 1-2 more days, at least you won't be so stressed.

I'm telling you all this, because initially like you, and OP, I also very gan chiong to get bike, after pass, 3 weeks later bought a bike. 2 years on, my savings is gone, I have to work every month to support myself and bike. My bike paying installment 150/mth + 60 (petrol) + 15 (season parking) and i work about 3-4 times/week as tutor. The bike is taking up 1/4 of my pay.

Not to mention have to put aside savings for myself, and savings so that road tax (70?) + insurance (440 3P) + inspection (18) can pay.

On hindsight, I might have to reconsider the bike, because the 2 times i really needed to pay something, replaced chain + sprocket (280) / tired (160) almost bled me dry.....

And I'm working 800/mth, I still think its just enough to make ends meet and can eat school canteen/outside food/ buy drinks at 7-11 everyday, not just week days + have a bit left over. 400/mth, no way its going to be enough, unless you don't mind bringing biscuits to school everyday and drinking water cooler (Done that as well too during job transition, not to be proud of, but I'm trying to bring the message that this is a long term liability)

So, this might seem harsh and rude, and for that I apologize. Do sit there and calculate the costs, before making the decision.

On point 8) Considering to get a 2A license, so yes, put aside more money to take the lessons.

Good luck, if you need any clarifications, just post, we'll help you out

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

you must think long term.

does your parents know that you are planning to buy a bike? will they support u financially?

since your still in poly, you will still have ns ahead of you. this means that you will be stuck with having crappy monthly allowance/pay for quite a few years to come.

first and foremost. do you have enough money stashed away for repairs and insurance (including insurance for subsequent years)

bike repairs and maintenance are more frequent than cars, since being smaller and faster, parts wear out faster. be prepared to fork out around $50/month for simple maintenance and repairs. if anything goes wrong with your engine, prepare $500 for overhaul.

fuel cost around $100/month, depending on distance and fuel efficiency.

in all, you need close to $200/month to keep your bike running, assuming you don't have any installments to pay.

do ur math, if you think u cannot afford to pay for next yr's insurance, do not buy a bike.

and if you r still getting a bike, go for bikes like rxz, phantom, that can put box, and have cheaper insurance.

it is not cool if the laptop u r carrying get wet in the rain.

also, its more convenient not having to carry your helmet around.

as for swashylahs, with only 200/month. DO NOT GET A BIKE. you confirm plus chop cannot afford to support the upkeep.

and p-plate insurance for riders under 21 alr cost close to 1k alr. you cannot even afford to buy a bike with a 1k budget.

I say go fpr fz150i or d new fz16.

Gd postire plus gd fc!

With d rising petrol prices.. U will be thankful fpr a bike wit gd fc and big tank.

Hey guys, thanks for the advices. I notice how everyone is telling me not to buy a bike. Im clairifying my money situation here then would wish you guys would give me another advice. I'm focussing on the maintaining the bike issue because that's more important and I don't want to find myself borrowing money just to support the bike in future.

I have $200 pocket money, and about another $200, depending on how many times I work during school days. But when it comes to holidays, I can get about 1k, and my 1month plus holidays only come 2 times a year. I'm thinking if I save my money in this one, I can pay for the upcoming insurance next year and have some cash in my bank for back up. I have another 2weeks holiday which I can earn up to $500, which also happen twice a year. So 4holidays in total.

Another issue is, since I've not been to NS, would I have trouble maintaining my bike with the crappy pay I earn from NS?

Babe,

if you are determined to buy a bike. Go Ahead. The Experienced wans here can only tell you what to expect. I would say this might be a good training on how you can maintain your finances for your own future. A Bike is a Liability and probably a show of what being an adult with responsibilities is like.

Anyway, make sure you ride safe.

And Yes. You can maintain a bike with crappy pay during NS. Just have to cut out entertainment as much as possible. Each day is eat free at camp, drink free at camp. Go home every weekend and sleep, sleep, sleep. All entertainments need to be cut off, and maybe just one friendly outing a year. (*Am I scaring you yet?)

Hey guys, thanks for the advices. I notice how everyone is telling me not to buy a bike. Im clairifying my money situation here then would wish you guys would give me another advice. I'm focussing on the maintaining the bike issue because that's more important and I don't want to find myself borrowing money just to support the bike in future.

I have $200 pocket money, and about another $200, depending on how many times I work during school days. But when it comes to holidays, I can get about 1k, and my 1month plus holidays only come 2 times a year. I'm thinking if I save my money in this one, I can pay for the upcoming insurance next year and have some cash in my bank for back up. I have another 2weeks holiday which I can earn up to $500, which also happen twice a year. So 4holidays in total.

Another issue is, since I've not been to NS, would I have trouble maintaining my bike with the crappy pay I earn from NS?

it is depend on how u spend money also,i got a little bit of problem when i am enlisted to ns while riding a sp,but after my sp is being stolen,i invest on cub which is my ride now,a yahama spark,i save alot of money using it as fc is low..maintain is low..got a box to keep my stuff and so on!

But best for you if u can pay the bike with full cash,so that you will save the money for interest.

my army pay is $420..9more month to ord!

Honda Nsr sp 150 (17th dec 07 till 20th june 10)stolen in jb!:cry:

Yahama spark Rx 135 (25th june 10 till - current)

slow rider live longer!:)

Babe,

if you are determined to buy a bike. Go Ahead. The Experienced wans here can only tell you what to expect. I would say this might be a good training on how you can maintain your finances for your own future. A Bike is a Liability and probably a show of what being an adult with responsibilities is like.

Anyway, make sure you ride safe.

And Yes. You can maintain a bike with crappy pay during NS. Just have to cut out entertainment as much as possible. Each day is eat free at camp, drink free at camp. Go home every weekend and sleep, sleep, sleep. All entertainments need to be cut off, and maybe just one friendly outing a year. (*Am I scaring you yet?)

not so serious la,i am still surviving! i dont stay in despite of vocation,i only got free lunch fro camp which i seldom eat. Weekend i still enjoy my life outside..watch movie..go for a drink..eat some hao liao..and still got some money to save up!

Transport in singapore is really very efficient, so there is actually not much need for own transport. I understand that it is an interest, but u have to make sure u can afford it, or at least be able to plan ur finances properly.

I also started off liking sport bike, so i got myself an R15. Finance-wise it has been smooth-sailing for me, however i would like to point out to u what i feel about riding a sport bike, my personal opinions:

-u won't want to put a box on a sport bike, cos its ugly

-no box means after parking, u carry ur helmet and bag and squeeze with ppl in crowded places

-go makan still need to find place to put ur helmet, scared ppl knock, or drop

-want to lock helmet on bike, scared ppl steal (cut the strap or chain)

Life is already hard, why make it harder? Last time i thought wah.. Carry one helmet around very cool.. Ppl know i ride bike.. lol !! Now i know its so ****ing troublesome. However all these are not a problem to some ppl. If u think its not a problem for u, then i support ur decision of getting a bike u like.

Another thing is expenses. Generally 2b bikes maintenance won't really kill u, unless ur $400 per month include makan and cigarette and clubbing or whatever. Den u better take bus liao. Unless u somehow end up with expensive bikes like aprilia or r125, servicing and maintenance should not be too much of a problem (petrol also depend on rider usage/riding style).

You may not have to worry about petrol or changing eo, but don't forget there are expenses like insurance, road tax, tires, and other unforeseen circumstances - one shot need a huge sum of money. Especially sport bike insurance is very high, together with ur age and riding experience, u will pay until ur face turn green!

Last thing, not saying anything discouraging, but ppl of ur age + want to ride sport bikes, usually u will think u are the king of the road la.. Especially at night along TPE/SLE or what. If u let that become a habit, u are living ur life dangerously. Ride bike is to get to ur destination, not to go to heaven, u must remember this!

Want to ride sport bike, want to be "cool", have a price to pay! But if u consider everything properly and decide to go ahead, all the best to u! For me i buay tahan liao.. That's why now looking for street bike, comfortable riding posture and put box/panniers. Had enough liao, now i just want to put my helmet/bag in box and ba long long walk around, more shiok!

If after you pay for your instalments, you got nothing left for the month, then what's the point?

Friend jio you come out, you tell them "Cannot la. Boh lui, gotta pay for the bike..." or worse, u gotta borrow $$ to eat, go out, petrol... then what?

Then at the 11th month, you realize that you cannot cover the coming insurance premium, then what?

Borrow again? Or lan lan put ad on SBF telling your sad sad story?

B4 u commit, think.

There are other hidden costs besides the instalments.

Basically, what we're all advocating is, do your sums.

Sit down and write down all your income and expenses. Even the cup of 90cents coffee you buy every morning to the afternoon 2 for $2 Yeos Drink and the Clorets Mints Sweets every night.

And your income/expense should extend for a year basis to prepare money for next round of insurance/road tax (This here is normally the natural killer). Basically you're calculating daily expenses = Monthly = x12 = yearly + insurance and road tax.

As income you're doing are all part time, and varies, should always take minimum. Eg. Salary varies from $200 - $1000... Don't take average, don't take mean, take $200, its your safety net, if you earn $500, GOOD! Got $300 buffer zone (This should go into savings for rainy days)

If don't want to keep savings (Which you really should), can close one eye.

Just make sure that your Income - Expenses = +

If Income - Expenses = - (Self explanatory)

At the end of the day, if you find yourself editing your daily expenses to generate a positive balance, it means the bike is not supporting your lifestyle but eating it away.

Above mentioned about natural killer, unnatural killer is

Repairs*

*Especially for old bikes like your SP/NSR, I'm not saying sure will occur, but chances are slightly higher.

Chain/Sprocket , Tyres, Battery, Brake Pads, Clutch plates.. Easily hundreds or few hundreds. Overhaul another few hundreds.

Touch wood, if you accident (Not cursing you, but if riding you don't factor this in, please for everybody's sakes, don't ride), need money for servicing and maintenance, easily cost you hundreds.

Another pain in the butt, season parking + cash card, not much , maybe 20? 30/mth? If you earn $200, that's 10% of your income for the bike because your bike exists.

So, do do your sums properly. We're not better off than you are, and I believe we all love biking as much, its precisely that, that we want to advocate a ride that you can enjoy and not stress, "cannot throttle too much, burn fuel", "cannot go rounding, my brake pad haven't change" or stuff like that.

As always if you got any more queries, or need help with your sums, just post here. We're here to help

Hi guys, I do have some enquires about maintaining a motorcycle.

I'm looking for a second hand Rxz, and I'm planning to pay everything in one shot instead of installments (machine price, installment, road tax, season parking, etc)

I just wanna ask how much does petrol cost, (I mostly only travel around the west like jurong to clementi to cck area.) so I can plan out my finances. And how much money should I have in my bank (eg $500 and more at all times) do you guys recommend I should have for 'rainy days'.

and probably share what other things and how much you guys spend on like 2T, parts or tyres etc, thanks.

Hi guys, I do have some enquires about maintaining a motorcycle.

I'm looking for a second hand Rxz, and I'm planning to pay everything in one shot instead of installments (machine price, installment, road tax, season parking, etc)

I just wanna ask how much does petrol cost, (I mostly only travel around the west like jurong to clementi to cck area.) so I can plan out my finances. And how much money should I have in my bank (eg $500 and more at all times) do you guys recommend I should have for 'rainy days'.

and probably share what other things and how much you guys spend on like 2T, parts or tyres etc, thanks.

Hello. Okay, actually only machine price you can one shot, the rest is 1-year rolling. Insurance, road tax, parking, all can do 12 months period.

Petrol now is $2/liter, and tank is 12l, heard fc is around 25-27km/l being 2T + old bike and all.

For me, I spend around $12 (Engine Oil 4T 1 bottle) + $5 (Spark plug) every 2 months or so.

My daily travelling is pretty heavy i clock about 50-60 per day? And pump every 5-6 days at roughly $18 nett, after discount $15-$16. So one month about $80 for petrol. Tires recently just changed, one pair $160 and original air filter at $28. So yeap, the wear and tear parts. But price varies from bike to bike.

As to your savings question, $500 is a good start, but ideally, as much as you can. If you have more than enough for yourself, do get insurance for yourself as well, fyi, the bike "insurance" that you pay for, technically speaking is for other people to claim against, and it covers your bike only. You, are not covered medically. If need help pm, I can intro you insurance agent, but this shouldn't be too difficult, they're like......everywhere .

Hi guys, i just bought a phantom ta150. Enjoying it.

The riding posture is great.

Reasonable power. ^^; Insurance is not a killer compare to sportsbikes.

Hi guys, i just bought a phantom ta150. Enjoying it.

The riding posture is great.

Reasonable power. ^^; Insurance is not a killer compare to sportsbikes.

o..no..why dont u buy ta200 instead?ta150 is a 2 stroke and maintain it is as gd as maintaining a sp..petrol for it is nt cheaper than ta200 too..anyway ride safe and have fun with it..