n for those li pun kia and ang mo

what's li pun kia?

speed and be home 5 mins early or 7 days late.

• Replies 39

n for those li pun kia and ang mo

what's li pun kia?

speed and be home 5 mins early or 7 days late.

well, just to add on.. with soo much of FT influx here, i been wondering what "talent" do they own actually, making us and them(FT) significantly different?.. yet i see none. total bullshit.. so i would like to conclude that they(FT) should be called CL(cheap labour) instead.. ok done, lets go on with life guys.. hahaha

perhaps should really re-classify what's the definition of FT..

are we talking about Malaysian? PRCs? Indons? Pinoys? Indians? Bangalas?

for all we know, the presence of malaysians working along side wif locals goes all the way to pre-independence.. so i doubt msians are to be considered FT.

most of the complaints are mainly targeted at 2 main groups, pinoy and PRCs..

Pinoys are particularly good at PR-ing and hospital care.. and they keep to themselves pretty much of the time..

but for the other group, i think nuff has been said about them... :angel:

yes they do, first collapse the western economy, and now come asia do the same.:angel::angel::angel:

there is no syngergy growth in our economy.

i didnt know that our FT over here can actually collapse their economy... LOL...

but wad i see is our STI is growing rapidly since 2009 economy downturn... hence, dun say there is no syngergy growth in our economy....

moreove, i dun think their extistance over here can influence our economy... even it did, they will boost... wun collapse... :angel::angel::angel:

:makeup: :shy:

Reality is the only obstacle to happiness. .. ...

what's li pun kia?

the jap la... or i still spell it "lip poon kia" lol...

i didnt know that our FT over here can actually collapse their economy... LOL...

but wad i see is our STI is growing rapidly since 2009 economy downturn... hence, dun say there is no syngergy growth in our economy....

moreove, i dun think their extistance over here can influence our economy... even it did, they will boost... wun collapse... :angel::angel::angel:

i referring to your post on the ang mo and MD here, its call a collapse because nobody can foresee it. So when it hits, then all the elites will start crying father, mother, point here point there, blame here blame there, but themselves. Thats western capitalism, driven by borrowings to boost growth. Here we may not be so much, but our assets could be depleting. Cause all the fancy building projects come from whose pocket, the govt's of course.

Sg is the most SPG among asian economies, so if we SPG too much, I believe our funds could be dwindling.

i referring to your post on the ang mo and MD here, its call a collapse because nobody can foresee it. So when it hits, then all the elites will start crying father, mother, point here point there, blame here blame there, but themselves. Thats western capitalism, driven by borrowings to boost growth. Here we may not be so much, but our assets could be depleting. Cause all the fancy building projects come from whose pocket, the govt's of course.

Sg is the most SPG among asian economies, so if we SPG too much, I believe our funds could be dwindling.

er... sry... i dun get wad u mean...

but 1 thing im sure which boost our economy n currency value... n is the fact we all see now...

1) they get their pay in our currency

2) they bring/sent back

3) they exchange

4) our money flow

tats 1 of the strong factor that stable and increase our currently value... u dun wonder y u go jb u can exchange for rm238 with juz 100 sgd? whr few yrs ago u only get 218... 221? 223?

of coz thr is other factor like our tourism and oversea investment... but still... be it of their nationality... these FT/CL/maid/chicken and construction worker play a really big part of it...

they are here for good... n i think only the typically destinctive singaporean will point here n thr n blame others, especially foreign worker...

1 more thing to share... actually they are not as cheap and wad u guys think... the company need 2 apply permit for them, pay levy, pay agencies, or even their accomodation some times... depending on skilled or unskilled, the levy can be from 100++ up to 500++....

end of the day, theeir salary may be lesser den u for the same position, but sometime the company paid even more 2 use them...

Edited by B20

lets see the number of reasons..

myself i think.. after reading so many comments on yahoo .. figure out well .. the more they bring in .. the more votes they will have.. haha.. since most singaporean are againest FT.. and they foresee "the original singaporean" are getting fed up with their arrogant style and one sided ruling.. and they can't bear to cut their own interests and $$ so.. they have a win win situation.. get FT in and make them vote.. cos for sure they know FT will vote for them!

after all i think i had went far out of point... in regards of the original thread above... ya... PAP made a smart move... we know its kinda unfair... but we can only su.ck thumb n look... hai~

I disagree, pap made a greedy and short sighted move. Look at countries like japan, taiwan, korea, hong kong, the asian tigers economies. They do not advocate FT in their key industries, manufacturing for korea, japan, and taiwan. And look at how their manufacturing grow, auto industries know- how for japan and korea. Taiwan is now the world's leading bicycle original manufacturer, and very soon motorbikes as well. Their govt projected which industry their people can excel in and protected these and grow them. Hong kong real estate, finance, banking, trade, needless to say maintaining the language barrier as well so that its people help among themselves more than others. Sg? The opposite, what industry did sg protect? Airlines also FT, hotel also FT, retail also FT, casino also FT? Where's all the local? All dead is it?

These cheap labour contribute nothing more than helping weak industries or those with poor potential to survive, not mark up profit margin. Btw these cheap labour needs training, and some even cross the road also dont know mind you. They are a quality burden, and when made enough, they can transfer their experience back to other countries or their own. So pap for the sake of pleasing investors of biz, neglect its greatest human resource, its citizens who could have grow some home grown industries if the govt bother to do detail analysis and forte a niche industry in the long term. Instead blame the people for being stupid, lazy ingrats and bend backwards for biz by offering cheap labour and low tax as incentive. How far do you think this is going to take you? One generation? Oh please.

@B20 I dont see how , Earning money in Singapore and Sending back to their country has any boost for us?, Other then the Transfer company sending the money over(I dont see how we can benefit from that), If you tell me they dont send their money back, i would say..COOL... They are spending money here and boosting the economy. What does money transferring back to another country do for our money? I dont quite get you.

And if you read about sentiments against this influx, You will notice that no one has a problem with, Maids, Construction and hard-labor workers... What we are screaming about is the PMET position... For me Im Hired and have a pretty decent and stable job, But looking at alot of my friends.. I do pity them. Cos it can be seen as they are being edged out, I have heard stories from friends, About a Foreigner supervisor giving O.T to his own countrymen instead of the locals, and have heard of friends being gang up upon by foreigners in the workplace. Thats extremely annoying to me.

And what do you mean distinctive Singaporeans pointing finger here and there??? And yes they might need to pay abit more when they hire this Foreigners here for the 1st time, after which their monthly salary tend to be lower then what a local might expect.(Plus a contract and Minus N.S) and the big problem here now is the standard of Foreigners that are coming in towards PMET position, Just look at the CNA With PM show earlier today... That "New Citizen" couldn't even speak proper English and was Mumbling, The P.m didnt reply nor acknowledge him cos i guess he didnt understand the guy.. Mind you he is a Doctor(This is the type of New Citizen we are getting, Do you remember cases of China Masseurs getting P.R and Citizenship?). But yes we do have quite a No. of quality Foreigners here, who will be of great help to Locals. AND there are also quite a No. of Foreigners that get paid more then Locals cos of their Expertise. But on the other hand, We have lots of workers here who are hired cos they are cheaper, faster AND have contracts obligations with the company.

Also, Something i have to remind you and any Foreigners here inc New Citizen, We are not against you INDIVIDUALLY but against the policy the Government has drawn out.

And about Dual Citizenship, A local cant have 2 passport but a Foreigner can have 2? Is this True? What about A P.R buying Government Public Houses?

(To buy a flat directly from HDB, you must be a Singapore citizen, must include another Singapore citizen or Singapore permanent resident to form a family nucleus. To buy a flat from the resale market, you must be a Singapore citizen or Singapore permanent resident. Include at least one listed occupier who is a Singapore permanent resident or Singapore citizen. Please visit the HDB website for more details.)

Most Immigrants after working for 10yrs.. They would sell their hdb at an inflated price(To a Local) and leave the Country and retire back in their home land.

And Lastly, Should we continue to need foreigners, We shouldnt need to look far... We have Malaysians, Thais and Indon who can come here, Cos They understand our culture and we understand theirs.. But outside of that... I dont really see any cultural similarities.

We should stop giving out Citizenship like toilet Papers, Continue to do that.. And Singapore would not be Singapore anymore.(Low-Birthrate can be Boosted, But thats a whole other Discussion)

Edited by bluelabel

@bluelabel

of coz our currency value dun depend solely on these foreign worker... as for their part, they draw salary in our currency n exchange to their currency... its increase the value... u dun agreed?

toward the economic, u think they dun spend here?

@bluelabel

of coz our currency value dun depend solely on these foreign worker... as for their part, they draw salary in our currency n exchange to their currency... its increase the value... u dun agreed?

toward the economic, u think they dun spend here?

When a person exchanges a currency, that curreny is thrown out into the market.

So if I take SGD and exchange it for say Ren Ming Bi, there is extra SGD in the market, ie: Oversupply, so it's value drops.

Which leads to lower exchange rates. ie: instead of being able to exchange $1 : 2.4 Ringgit we get $1 : 2.2 Ringgit.

So yes, you are right about the value changing, but it's the other way around.

And No, the cheapo foreign workers here don't spend much. Especially the China workers, they sting on food, cooking their own and even on transport, see how many cycle to work? My neighbors are like that. Holding a $3,000 ++ dollar job, but stingy like salted fish.