i'll have to disagree... sure most of us squeeze but still they dont owe it to u to move aside, take it as good will. traffic light or not, moving traffic anot, no one has to move aside for u unless u r some big shot..

reality is, there are some black sheeps, both riders and drivers, even if their mirrors are ear to ear, den u just have to suck thumb and wait behind, im sure they wont be ear to ear after that junction. either u wait, or u can change to another lane to split lor.

• Replies 99

How come cars can claim against you for mirror damage? If its costs is less than the excess.

I think the real bad splitters are the malaysian kups, really heck care and showing off. How to claim these idiots?

Maybe our bike course should extend the narrow plank another few metres, and add side mirrors along the way!

How come cars can claim against you for mirror damage? If its costs is less than the excess.

I think the real bad splitters are the malaysian kups, really heck care and showing off. How to claim these idiots?

Maybe our bike course should extend the narrow plank another few metres, and add side mirrors along the way!

Good idea! Those Malaysia kupkia bring lane splitting to another level. Awesome! Lol

venire videre vincere

Get understand and familiar with your bike first. Especially your bike width does it able to squeeze through in-between vehicle? You need to estimate it well, if you think that you can't make it through. Just wait don't try to attempt to, it doesn't worth it.

Aprilia RS125 '01 FT2630S - Mar 08 ~ Mar 10

Yamaha YZF R6 '03 FW3991C - Mar 10 ~ Aug 11

Honda VTR1000 SP1 '00 FS4115E - Jan 11 ~ Mar 13

Ducati 749S '04 FX***** - Mar 13 ~ Present

http://i1239.photobucket.com/albums/ff517/Nokikerenz/tumblr_lqgry8IqyI1qa8y9x.gif

Shake it~ sexy baby~

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a271/novablink/ducati2.jpg

nobody consider the situation where your box hit onto the window/mirror..?

Those touring bikes with huge side panneirs have their mirrors further than the boxes though the mirrors usually have high enough clearence , not sure about other bikes.

i'll have to disagree... sure most of us squeeze but still they dont owe it to u to move aside, take it as good will. traffic light or not, moving traffic anot, no one has to move aside for u unless u r some big shot...

You high level lah I never said they owed it to me to move their vehicle EVERYTIME. If that couple never do anything wrong do you think they will move forward? Read my post again leh.

reality is, there are some black sheeps, both riders and drivers, even if their mirrors are ear to ear, den u just have to suck thumb and wait behind, im sure they wont be ear to ear after that junction. either u wait, or u can change to another lane to split lor.

No offence Bro, this one is a no brainer, it is not as though my licence is based on number of posts I clocked in SBF.

They didn't moved forward because they did something wrong. They moved forward because, as though they had "block" your "imaginary lane" while trying to get ahead.

Since you already knocked on their mirror indicating that, you would like to move forward. I don't see why they shouldn't give you way.

Based on your points, if I was the driver. I wouldn't care whether you are knocking on my mirror, telling me that I'm blocking your lane. I don't owe it to you to move aside.

I would had continued enjoy my finger food from my GF. Fact. Not happy? Buy a car. Simple analogy.

venire videre vincere

Get understand and familiar with your bike first. Especially your bike width does it able to squeeze through in-between vehicle? You need to estimate it well, if you think that you can't make it through. Just wait don't try to attempt to, it doesn't worth it.

Fact fact fact fact.

venire videre vincere

Good idea! Those Malaysia kupkia bring lane splitting to another level. Awesome! Lol

no, i am not complementing those kups, some of them are really lousy road users. Knocking car mirrors is wrong, even if you can get away with it. Cars dont have to give way if blocking you. Do you expect a dump truck to give way to a kup?

A homeless guy sleeping on the void deck, you expect him to move if blocking your path? Its a void deck. In fact you siam him because he stinks. Its the same with cars who move to avoid bikes, we irritate them if we bump their mirrors.

Like previous posts said it right, its either can split, split, cannot then dont be a cock and end up bump others' vehicle.

They didn't moved forward because they did something wrong. They moved forward because, as though they had "block" your "imaginary lane" while trying to get ahead. 2 car length in front and they moved ...

Since you already knocked on their mirror indicating that, you would like to move forward. I don't see why they shouldn't give you way. Did not knock mirrori tap on their window not mirror read bro read..

Based on your points, if I was the driver. I wouldn't care whether you are knocking on my mirror, telling me that I'm blocking your lane. I don't owe it to you to move aside.

I would had continued enjoy my finger food from my GF. Fact. Not happy? Buy a car. Simple analogy.

Fact fact fact like u said . Bro, you read, think, understand then post... dun understand, not clear, repeat process lolx ... haiz. Btw I oridi own a car liao :angel:. Your signature is beggining to fit you...

Edited by ike
If your side mirrors can get through, the bike can get through. Side mirrors got problem squeezing, why risk the bike?

what if handlebar wider than bike's mirrors?

@TS, just be aware of the widest width of your bike. if can squeeze, squeeze. cannot squeeze, guai guai wait in line lor.

and also if your bike has panniers, split steadily when the situation permits.

I get super annoyed when some drivers know that you r trying to squeeze through but just refuse to move forward 0.5 meter so that the 6 bikes behind can squeeze through. Will it slow him down to give way?

Some places are too tight to lane split, ie a section at Lornie Road and the section at ECP MBS area.

Best if not to split there, sure tio mirrors if you are not careful.

speaking of ECP MBS area,

my fren do lane split towards changi between a car and a TRAILER, guess wat, his handle knock on the his right side of the TRAILER, he falls, bike fall underneath the TRAILER and split into 2 literally.being run over by 2 X 3 sets of trailer wheels..he only suffer minor abrasion to his knees and hands..

i tell him..u are lucky the one that go underneath the TRAILER is ur bike, not u. GOD still loves u...

its a 11 years old SP..COE just renew anorther 5 years..

:) cooling off day

that stretch is not good for lanesplitting man. cars eat into the lane all the time. and alot of curved section.

but that is one fantastic stretch for cornering. i remember once when it was around 1130 pm at that stretch. went through that area pretty quick, managed to lean the bike quite low, ok la Phantom only cannot as low as Motogp la. but low enough to scrape footpeg. fun.

countersteering corner after corner, feeling the weight shift. wahhhhhhh.

speaking of ECP MBS area,

my fren do lane split towards changi between a car and a TRAILER, guess wat, his handle knock on the his right side of the TRAILER, he falls, bike fall underneath the TRAILER and split into 2 literally.being run over by 2 X 3 sets of trailer wheels..he only suffer minor abrasion to his knees and hands..

i tell him..u are lucky the one that go underneath the TRAILER is ur bike, not u. GOD still loves u...

its a 11 years old SP..COE just renew anorther 5 years..

Wah lucky *******, if very narrow, even if I can go thru, I won't. MBS area dangerous, accident there before also, luckily I fly to the grass patch beside the road. 5yr COE is as good as killing the bike anyway lololol. Besides, turns are not good for lanesplitting, basically you can't really see ahead plus you're slightly leaning to where you're turning, somemore must judge whether can go through or not.

that stretch is not good for lanesplitting man. cars eat into the lane all the time. and alot of curved section.

but that is one fantastic stretch for cornering. i remember once when it was around 1130 pm at that stretch. went through that area pretty quick, managed to lean the bike quite low, ok la Phantom only cannot as low as Motogp la. but low enough to scrape footpeg. fun.

countersteering corner after corner, feeling the weight shift. wahhhhhhh.

UPPS!!..good for practicess ahahz..if its a clear road

:) cooling off day
no confident dont spilt lane. wait behind wun die ma. later u pedal in between cars, the car beside you move forward, you sure scared then later whole bike drop dont cry. this kind of things is you dont know until it really happens to you yourself.

haha, bike drop nevermind cause cosmetic damages nia. worst part is your feet crushed by tyres running over. that one "jia-lat"

usually us riders lane split before a red light because we accelerate faster. but occasionally confirm got one ahbeng with his heavily modded ESI or young punk riding his dad's luxury car tries to catch up with u, maybe purposely wanna choke on ur fumes. usually will not leave them disappointed. is it just me or u guys experience it as well? :)

http://distilleryimage11.s3.amazonaws.com/4ad27eb6714811e3b59a0ebb7344746f_6.jpg

hey, i've got a similar experience of brushing against a part of a car.

just sharing,

i was behind this car, keeping a distance and speed beyond what is considered tailing dangerously.

we were approaching a left turn through a slip lane with a pedestrian crossing.

i was looking out for pedestrians already, check clear, clear.

approaching the line, he jammed his brakes. i couldn't have jammed as i'd banged into him stil / maybe skid so i swerved to the left. SAFE i thought.

but noooo, cos the left front passenger door swung open and i had to swerve left again. but not enough, so my right feet hit his door.

i was like wtf!?, i stopped further in front. but he didn't follow even after i waited a while. i checked myself, verified there weren't any damages so i was like 'fk it' and proceeded.

what should have been the right way to handle something like that? i just realised a few days back there there was actually a dent on my endcan which i suspect was because of that incident.

it was a young dude with a p-plate driving an old merc.

You could actually have approach him and give him a piece of your mind. Never leave it like dat... You will only know the damage abt 2 or 3 days later, den you have to fork out money for some selfish or stupid persons mistake. Atlease get his NRIC number, address and mobile contact.