Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 18 2005, 08:50 PM

Roadmaster bro, I have a few questions to ask.

Firstly, is it true that scooters cannot warm up before you go? Because the salesman told me so. I find it quite funny actually because from what I know, it is good to warm up your bike for a while before moving off.

Secondly, When you warm up your bike for a while, does the rpm goes up and down (unstable) like that? Coz mine do leh.

Thirdly, what is your rpm when you travel at say 80km/hr?

Lastly, your temperature usually stays at 1 bar or 2 bar? Mine when on the move is at 1 bar but when stop for a while, the temp will stay at 2 bar until I move again. Scared fan not working liaozzz

Can advice me on the above bro? I'm very new to scooters leh. All the way ride sports bike liaoz... o_O

1) Actually, i dunt understand y scoots cant warm up b4 going off. But as for me, its a practice for me to warm up the bike until at least 1 bar(temp). SO far so good, after warming up, the acceleration is quite smooth compared to start a cold engine n juz go.

2)Innitially, the rpm does go up n down, did check with Mah bout it, they said its a norm for scoots. No worries there........(according to the mechanic)

3)I cant recall wats the RPM at 80km/hr...... sorry.

(a)check for any leakage of coolant on the ground after parked overnite. IF leaks, go back to bike shop to rectify the prob. It's free(warranty)

(b)Try check ur coolant level. If it's not enuff, top it up at least 50% concentrated coolant.

If u've done the above n still the got prob,go back to motorshop n ask them to check the....

©Fan.

(d)Thermostat.

Thz is to my knowledge tt i can help u with. Hope u'll hav a rough idea what the hell i'm talking about........ :goodluck:

• Replies 4.1k

Originally posted by -Gu0Zz-@Jul 18 2005, 09:53 PM

:thumb: Yeah i got my bike today.pretty comfortable i'd say.crosswinds didn't affect me much,and quite good handling.Brakes are pretty touchy thanks to the steel braided hoses.Usually the Rpm is around 6.5 at 90km/hr.But that differs with load(pillion) or gradients(slopes)one problem about 2B bikes.

The low speed acceleration is great.But from 60 onwards feels like theres no acceleration at all,during up slopes too.LoL my RPM can sometimes be 6k-7k and my speed is still 90.Usually i move off at 6.5k RPM since its the peak torque.

I noticed a weird vibration when RPM above 7k or 1/2 throttle open,its would be felt as quite rythmic and pulses.And the plastics and seat material quality urghh and i don't like the chrome exhaust too!

Main stand is quite easy to put up.But the pillion has to spread wide,no more skirts :cry: :thumb:

A question for the knowledgable,do you change mineral EO after the 1st 500km of running in?For my R1,i changed mineral oil during the 1st 500.Then semi syn at 1k,2k,then full syn at 3k.

Congrats on ur new bike bro...

Bout crosswinds, most bike will feel the effect of it whenever on the North-South highway...especially when those express busses overtake u... Experience it the other day... riding at 100km/hr, but the effect isn't tt terrible n the bike is still controllable

I do agree with the low speed acceleration, but i'm not sure bout urs, the pick up is still good when u're travelling at 100, espcially when overtaking cars safely.

Vibrations.... the only noise i heard is only recently, at the back of the bike(where the pillions tend to hold the "handle") , the werding SYM tends to vibrate... due to my itchy hand, which i tot can take out... ehehehe

bout EO, its a gd practice to chang at 1st 500km... as there might b some particles... Do the same as u would to ur r1.

Jr have 2 different height windscreen.

Lol i stay in the west. Can start urself wat. :sian:

Coolant better dunn mix. Flush out first. I have flush the coolant myself it is quite easy.

Dec'03 - Honda NSR 150SP - FT****B

Dec'04 - Honda PGM 250SP - FN****G

May'05 - SYM Joyride 200 - FZ****E

Feb'06 - Super Four Ver.S - FQ***R (bike stolen)

Apr'08 - Wave S 125 - FW****X

???????? - What's next??? - ??****?

Originally posted by rider80@Jul 18 2005, 03:47 PM

Sorry bro I can't open the link. just hang there.

Could you tell me the place(st)

Thanks alot:smile:

9 Old Toh Tuck Road. :smile:

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Originally posted by roadmaster29@Jul 18 2005, 11:59 PM

Congrats on ur new bike bro...

Bout crosswinds, most bike will feel the effect of it whenever on the North-South highway...especially when those express busses overtake u... Experience it the other day... riding at 100km/hr, but the effect isn't tt terrible n the bike is still controllable

I do agree with the low speed acceleration, but i'm not sure bout urs, the pick up is still good when u're travelling at 100, espcially when overtaking cars safely.

Vibrations.... the only noise i heard is only recently, at the back of the bike(where the pillions tend to hold the "handle") , the werding SYM tends to vibrate... due to my itchy hand, which i tot can take out... ehehehe

bout EO, its a gd practice to chang at 1st 500km... as there might b some particles... Do the same as u would to ur r1.

Thanks.well,i wouldn't think about goin NSHW with a scooter still running in.BUt when u're riding at 100,are u still running in the bike?maybe i kept the RPM below 7most of the time.just came back from supper,realised its 6.5++ k at 80km/hr with pillion,total load is 90kg nett.Some sh*t saloon car ticked me off by entering the clementi ave 6 exit with pretty high speed cutting me from the right.So i gave chase at 8k

Originally posted by coollce@Jul 18 2005, 10:16 PM

:cry: Mine's the EFI wor. Got diff in windscreen size ma?

Where do u live ah? Every 2 weeks U help me kick start too can or not? :cheeky:

Coolant change sounds major. Can old coolant be mixed with new coolant? or must flush out all the coolant before refilling?

--Lvin--

i also stay around Jurong West. If u r staying near, i might be able to help u to

kickstart ur bike. i do it almost everyday. :smile:

other then that, i dun really know the bike well. :sweat:

Belt change over due liao, still undecide what to do? DIY or which shop to go. :giddy:

13Jun05 - 21Jul06 Joyride 172cc. Mileage=31050

21Jul06..... TA200. Mileage=3200

MSN = [email protected]

Had a new shocker again today from my shop. I asked them about my IU they told me that they are still waiting for their man who sent motorcycles for scrap to get back to them. I then asked them what has a scrap man has to do with my IU and to my surprise, they told me that what they are gonna fix onto my bike is a 2nd hand IU taken from scrapped motorcycles as this is already included in the price. I then asked them why didn't the salesman tell me this at point of sales and they just say "Sorry, the salesman is new here. He don't know how to explain properly". NNB. This means, the IU unit has not warranty whatsoever. Like this might as well I take my old IU and use it on my bike. What a freak shop. Brother Guo, U experience this from them? Even told me if you want a new IU, must pay lor $150 + GST. That ****er should have told me this when I bought the bike, when I still have some cash with me. Now, what can be done? Printed on their name card that they provide the best quality and after sales service. Well, all I can say is..... GO TO HELL.

Guys, try to avoid the shop in future if possible. My 2 cents.

No Signature

Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 19 2005, 06:51 PM

Had a new shocker again today from my shop. I asked them about my IU they told me that they are still waiting for their man who sent motorcycles for scrap to get back to them. I then asked them what has a scrap man has to do with my IU and to my surprise, they told me that what they are gonna fix onto my bike is a 2nd hand IU taken from scrapped motorcycles as this is already included in the price. I then asked them why didn't the salesman tell me this at point of sales and they just say "Sorry, the salesman is new here. He don't know how to explain properly". NNB. This means, the IU unit has not warranty whatsoever. Like this might as well I take my old IU and use it on my bike. What a freak shop. Does anyone experience this especially those from Speedway? (Had to reveal the name now. Buay tahan already). Brother Guo, U experience this from them? Even told me if you want a new IU, must pay lor $150 + GST. That ****er should have told me this when I bought the bike, when I still have some cash with me. Now, what can be done? Printed on their name card that they provide the best quality and after sales service. Well, all I can say is..... GO TO HELL.

Can this be report to CASE :confused: If yes, i would say go and report.

i'm getting a 2nd hand IU..initially they insisted on selling me for 7350(31Yo insurance).But when i threatened to cancel the order because they agreed 7100(no I.U) when i made a booking for it.The salesman reluctantly made it 7250.That was after waiting for an hour for negotiations.Initially He wanted to give me 3rd party and no IU,then he agreed with TPFT and a 2nd hand IU(he wrote this on the remarks).

If in your sales agreement the IU is stated as 2nd hand.Then lan lan have to make do with it lo.If not,u're adviced to demand a new IU.U have your copy of the sales reciept?

Alot of bike shop scams ignorant consumers.So its better to have black and white for everything they state or promise before you commit.:thumb:

Originally posted by GTSFreak@Jul 19 2005, 06:51 PM

Had a new shocker again today from my shop. I asked them about my IU they told me that they are still waiting for their man who sent motorcycles for scrap to get back to them. I then asked them what has a scrap man has to do with my IU and to my surprise, they told me that what they are gonna fix onto my bike is a 2nd hand IU taken from scrapped motorcycles as this is already included in the price. I then asked them why didn't the salesman tell me this at point of sales and they just say "Sorry, the salesman is new here. He don't know how to explain properly". NNB. This means, the IU unit has not warranty whatsoever. Like this might as well I take my old IU and use it on my bike. What a freak shop. Does anyone experience this especially those from Speedway? (Had to reveal the name now. Buay tahan already). Brother Guo, U experience this from them? Even told me if you want a new IU, must pay lor $150 + GST. That ****er should have told me this when I bought the bike, when I still have some cash with me. Now, what can be done? Printed on their name card that they provide the best quality and after sales service. Well, all I can say is..... GO TO HELL.

Yah i don have good impression on them too.

That bad impression was recieved when they were about to close a deal with but inthe end i turn down it.

Why people has to behave this way in singapore :giddy:

Cannot understand. :mad:

Anyway for the mild vibration thing i had it with my old JR200 and the current GTS i guess it's quite norm (single piston cyclider engine)

Scoot for L I F E

Hyosung Aquila 125 -> Joyride 200 -> GTS 200 -> G-MAX 200 -> Adiva AD200

hi guo n GTSfreak... for mi worse wor... i haven even get my bike yet leh..:cry:

same thing.. yesterday i went over to hand my log card to them (as i trading in my krr), i ask them about the IU, they told mi no worry...surely will get on the day i get my bike. :giddy:

i more n more worried liaoz... booked it on the same day as u guys...i tink by the time u guys run in finish hor.. my bike still not out yet...:cry:

first wk call they after road show tell mi the next wed container of bike will come...

call 2nd wk on thurs tell mi the container come is all blue color ( i order black btw)....den tell mi 4 more days 2nd container will come... went down on the four days later which is yesterday... he can tell mi no bikes come in yet.. zzz... :cry:

getting worried liao... my reservist coming liao.. duno can get it b4 reservist a not..zzz :sleep:

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif

I think u can go Sunrise to change the belting and roller.This shop is good in servicing scooter.

If Sunrise dunn have the parts, u can go get ur belting and roller from 17 Rowell Road.

Hope this information can help.

Btw after u change the belting and roller can tell me how much u spent.

Thx.

Dec'03 - Honda NSR 150SP - FT****B

Dec'04 - Honda PGM 250SP - FN****G

May'05 - SYM Joyride 200 - FZ****E

Feb'06 - Super Four Ver.S - FQ***R (bike stolen)

Apr'08 - Wave S 125 - FW****X

???????? - What's next??? - ??****?

Originally posted by sb_rider@Jul 19 2005, 09:45 AM

i also stay around Jurong West. If u r staying near, i might be able to help u to

kickstart ur bike. i do it almost everyday. :smile:

other then that, i dun really know the bike well. :sweat:

Belt change over due liao, still undecide what to do? DIY or which shop to go. :giddy:

If you have the tools, can try DIY. As JR is much easier then X9 when changing belt.

Go to shop that you're not familiar with, wait no problem, they'll say until got problem. :lol:

Best if someone go with you. Need help, let me know as I stay in West side as well. :D

OLD NO GO, NEW NO COME.

Wah seems a few guys have much problems about the GTS... Really hope the shops can help the consumers instead of just keeping quiet after they have signed the deal...

Originally posted by ralliArt@Jul 19 2005, 08:24 PM

hi guo n GTSfreak... for mi worse wor... i haven even get my bike yet leh..:cry:

same thing.. yesterday i went over to hand my log card to them (as i trading in my krr), i ask them about the IU, they told mi no worry...surely will get on the day i get my bike. :giddy:

i more n more worried liaoz... booked it on the same day as u guys...i tink by the time u guys run in finish hor.. my bike still not out yet...:cry:

first wk call they after road show tell mi the next wed container of bike will come...

call 2nd wk on thurs tell mi the container come is all blue color ( i order black btw)....den tell mi 4 more days 2nd container will come... went down on the four days later which is yesterday... he can tell mi no bikes come in yet.. zzz... :cry:

getting worried liao... my reservist coming liao.. duno can get it b4 reservist a not..zzz :sleep:

I guess it's time for us to pack the shop and also the staffs into the container and send them to somewhere far far away. :smile: And never return.

No Signature

Originally posted by -Gu0Zz-@Jul 19 2005, 03:01 AM

Thanks.well,i wouldn't think about goin NSHW with a scooter still running in.BUt when u're riding at 100,are u still running in the bike?maybe i kept the RPM below 7most of the time.just came back from supper,realised its 6.5++ k at 80km/hr with pillion,total load is 90kg nett.Some sh*t saloon car ticked me off by entering the clementi ave 6 exit with pretty high speed cutting me from the right.So i gave chase at 8k

Patience...my fren. Overtake u.. they will. Engine need to be used for years to come...remember. Patience.. my fren. :cheer:

Whoa... so many of the JR riders are living in the west. That explains why I see more of them in the west.

Maybe find a weekend see who's free to teach me. Hehe

I live in the east, but frequently travel to the west especially during the weekends.

Just now came home from SIM, stewpig private bus driver threw a lighted cigerette right in front of me. :sleep:

Ok guys, good nite. Safe riding. Hope tml wun rain when we'r riding. =)

--Lvin--

TO those who r concerned.......

I'm sorry to hear the probs u had been facing in getting the GTS... esp the IU thinggy.

Businesses are bad, esp motortiams, so the salesman hav to really buck up...or pack up...according to some bosses of motortiams i spoke too once

Any salesman...in any line... sure hav their way to lure ppl to be attarcted to their goods.I meant tactics. SOme are 100% honest, but some r juz sweet talkers.

Remember, most salesman earns thru commision. SO their main goal is to seal a deal. SO, no matter wat they told u or not, at the end of the day, they need to feed their family too.

Yes, some might b cruel. Say thz n tat...but at the end of the day, they didnt fulfil to u wat they've said...or promise.

SO, learn from ur own mistakes. Dun b taken in by their werdz. Make their werdz in black n white. Some deals r too good to b true. So, beware. I'm not sure bout the procedure, but it will surely protect the consumers like us. We're the victim.

Maybe we can bring thz up to the next parliament sitting.. to lay out a proper cede...to protect the buyers. Thz situation can be brought up to CASE, provided u hav proofs to complaint bout motortiams. eg, receipt. In the proof of purchase(receipt) of the bike, somewhere it shld stated IU's cost. If they provide u with a 2nd hand IU, u shld ask them y not install a new set. (bear in mind tt IUs too hav expiry date).

But the final decision is made by the customers itself. Btw, Remember signing those loads of papers...ever bother to read them??? Or the salesman juz rushed thru the papers n juz pointed u where to sign....*wonder*....

I live in the East oso :smile:

I know how to open up the cage and change the belt.. Kinda tough job, cos u need to pry open your torque driver to slot in the belt. As for the roller, you have to unscrew the clutch plate, to which needs lotsa strength to tighten it back.:sweat:

Guess you could go to Dexing in Ubi Ind Est. They are authorized SYM agent...

http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/SV%20-%20Skinzo/SV_jy.gif http://i87.photobucket.com/albums/k127/jytheorem/jy_sv.jpg

Wonder y my ST11 dun look as good as my SV...

Originally posted by jytheorem@Jul 20 2005, 06:18 AM

I know how to open up the cage and change the belt.. Kinda tough job, cos u need to pry open your torque driver to slot in the belt. As for the roller, you have to unscrew the  clutch plate, to which needs lotsa strength to tighten it back.:sweat:

Good morning.:smile:

Thanks for all ur suggestions/reply about changing the belt.

is it easy to just open the cover to view the belt and roller without changing them?

so that i hv better ideas whether i can do the DIY myself.

13Jun05 - 21Jul06 Joyride 172cc. Mileage=31050

21Jul06..... TA200. Mileage=3200

MSN = [email protected]

is that the only shop that sells or have stock for GTS? i Think you guys should escalate this to the higher management of SYM even if this has to go to the head branch as if this is the after sales service they provide than i dun think anyone will be interested to get bikes from them.

no active trips since 2006

Hehe, any step by step guides with pictures to aid?

We'll make all JR riders into technicians for our own bike.

Maybe we can have a gathering to do so.

I can compile a manual with the pictures showing step by step. haha.

Just a silly suggestion. :sweat:

--Lvin--

just called them up and was told tis sat can go collect le.. :lovestruck:

finally.... :giddy:

hope no more c*** upz after i get my bike...

anyway GTSfreak i was aware that i getting 2nd hand IU cos he assured mi that if got any problem with it i can go back to them.

moreover i use my IU everyday so from the day i take the bike i get to test it everyday.. if anything happens i go str8 back to them. :bouncefire:

just hope tat if anything happens, they will honour their words lor..:giddy:

http://www.ralliart.com/img/anime.gif

me just sms one of the sales engineer at SYM service center...don know he still working anot...intend to check roller and belt costs and if can cheaper if buy in bulk...If got cheaper think we can do a mass DIY ourselves...but first need to find pple who knows how to do it...I remember kenny did offer to help last time...maybe can approach him later if can firm out the parts deal....

Keep in contact !