so how's everybody herreee???

my bike has been giving me real problem these weeks. its been three weeks since i hadn't rode on my gilera dna. initially the problem lies with the battery when it wouldn't start. after changing of batteries, the same problem of not starting comes up again.

and now mechanic is "accusing" of either a fault in the starter motor, starter relay or the starter fuse. whichever is right. i am in no position to know what is wrong with the bike, and in this vulnerable state i might be conned far to many times with shops.

so guys, i'll type down whats the problem lies with and hope u guys analyse it, so i could go straight to the mechanic and told them what to change and what not.

recently changed.

spark plug, engine oil and battery.

fault condition.

cannot start. got a clicking sound near the battery when ignition is being started. when it finally starts and able to go a long distance, it can't start back when the ignition is off-ed. mechanic has told me it has to do with the motor, relay, fuse ect. one even went to the extent of engine problem and piston overhaul. while another said about gasket, oil seal, water pump and coolant problem.

so what about your says. need advice man. i miss my dna!

Live long, die prosper ~

05 July 2006 - 14 March 2008 : Gilera DNA 180

22 March 2008 - 1 February 2014 : Yamaha Spark Z 110

02 August 2013 - 26 May 2016 : Suzuki DRZ SM 400

01 June 2016 - ??? : Yamaha T135 LC

03 June 2018 - ??? : Yamaha XT1200Z Super Tenere

• Replies 1.3k

Originally posted by dying@January 09, 2007 01:07 pm

my bike has been giving me real problem these weeks. its been three weeks since i hadn't rode on my gilera dna. initially the problem lies with the battery when it wouldn't start. after changing of batteries, the same problem of not starting comes up again.

and now mechanic is "accusing" of either a fault in the starter motor, starter relay or the starter fuse. whichever is right. i am in no position to know what is wrong with the bike, and in this vulnerable state i might be conned far to many times with shops.

so guys, i'll type down whats the problem lies with and hope u guys analyse it, so i could go straight to the mechanic and told them what to change and what not.

recently changed.

fault condition.

cannot start. got a clicking sound near the battery when ignition is being started. when it finally starts and able to go a long distance, it can't start back when the ignition is off-ed. mechanic has told me it has to do with the motor, relay, fuse ect. one even went to the extent of engine problem and piston overhaul. while another said about gasket, oil seal, water pump and coolant problem.

Charging problem. The battery weak. So will 'tick' 'tick' when you try to start it. To confirm, take the volt reading of the batt and/or see the headlight (usually dim or non-lited when you switch on the igntion). If you're lucky, if you manage to get it started, the bike will perform as per normal. But as there is a charging prob, the batt fail to charge up, thus, when you off it, it woint start due to the totally flat batt.

Usually, the first and most common culprit is that the batt is spoilt. But if you confirm the batt is new/ fine, then the next most likely culprit is the charging system. Something wrong along that line. Go check it by a good mech. Piaggio is a good place to turn to (although they usually will ask you go elsewhere instead).

cheers and goodluck.

http://img295.imageshack.us/img295/5600/kuantan049596tc9.jpg
Originally posted by stroker@January 09, 2007 01:48 pm

Charging problem. The battery weak. So will 'tick' 'tick' when you try to start it. To confirm, take the volt reading of the batt and/or see the headlight (usually dim or non-lited when you switch on the igntion). If you're lucky, if you manage to get it started, the bike will perform as per normal. But as there is a charging prob, the batt fail to charge up, thus, when you off it, it woint start due to the totally flat batt.

Usually, the first and most common culprit is that the batt is spoilt. But if you confirm the batt is new/ fine, then the next most likely culprit is the charging system. Something wrong along that line. Go check it by a good mech. Piaggio is a good place to turn to (although they usually will ask you go elsewhere instead).

cheers and goodluck.

is it the charging system? because for the batt, i can say the mechanic took out a new batt from the store. straight from the box. and also the light indicator on the battery turns on when i rev the bike when it runs. the last time i ran the bike was last sat afternoon. and since then, everyday i came home from school i was hoping i could strike lucky so i could start the bike and ride it somewhere far such as to kallang. having a towtruck is a waste of money (to me). anyways thanks.

Live long, die prosper ~

Originally posted by danielburgess@January 09, 2007 02:09 pm

get a friend to come by and jump start the bike then!

and how would a jump start would be?

Live long, die prosper ~

and yes. i called piaggio. they gonna tow it away. guh. back to square uno.

Live long, die prosper ~

Originally posted by stroker@January 09, 2007 03:32 pm

Long Hail The PSC!

:clap:

TeamGilera.................................................................................................MyDNA.......................................................................................................

http://img258.imageshack.us/img258/2407/teamgilera8yw.jpghttp://img19.imageshack.us/img19/9779/mybikeaf9.jpg

Live long, die prosper ~

Oh my goodness, now that u mention~! How long has it been since i change gear oil?! Like never!! How long do u need to travel before changing gear oil? I only changed spark plug, engine oil and oil filter only!!

It is not gear oil, it is the rear hub oil, honestly, don't really need to change it so often, maybe once a year if you are kiasu?

http://i110.photobucket.com/albums/n84/danielburgess/b562f855-326b-4d71-a656-0eeb9e05ecff.jpg

ive been riding dna for only 4 months. bought it frm ASPhoon. they suppose to full service upon purchased.. but ****.. 2 days later i checked engine oil, was freakin black. the rear hub oil was good. clear. but now.. its getting puffy. like brownish white. hmmm ma fan to take it out ya.

r i d e with s t y l e

Originally posted by GAiNAX@January 07, 2007 05:45 pm

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/6299/spidey3zd7.jpg

http://img442.imageshack.us/img442/9187/spidey3logofi1.jpg

Cool! i see if i can get the shop to do that

RIDE TO THE LIMIT OF YR BIKE!

http://img96.imageshack.us/img96/2263/pgturn1ho8.jpg

Reviews of my fast throttle. Have a look!

Reviews by so many dun lie ppl! come have a look!

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=217369

Originally posted by dying@January 09, 2007 01:07 pm

recently changed.

fault condition.

haha piston overhual?

give me a break... :sian:

Had this prob... go find your starter motor wires behind your carb at the airbox side... there is a nut that screw the wires down... sand them and clean it before u assemable it again... simple as that

Originally posted by spiderman@January 10, 2007 04:02 pm

haha piston overhual?

give me a break... :sian:

Had this prob... go find your starter motor wires behind your carb at the airbox side... there is a nut that screw the wires down... sand them and clean it before u assemable it again... simple as that

I had the connections loose before.. Ya, might be the prob around there too. Cheers. Great one dude. :thumb:

Originally posted by stroker@January 10, 2007 07:56 pm

I had the connections loose before.. Ya, might be the prob around there too. Cheers. Great one dude. :thumb:

yup... last time i tot batt prob also... not enough strength to turn the starter... but at last i found out its the stupid connectipn... haha... tomorrow meet up? i free on thur and friday:cheeky:

Originally posted by spiderman@January 11, 2007 12:56 am

tomorrow meet up? i free on thur and friday:cheeky:

Waiting for you nia.. haha

Originally posted by spiderman@January 11, 2007 12:56 am

yup... last time i tot batt prob also... not enough strength to turn the starter... but at last i found out its the stupid connectipn...

Ya, easily mistaken. That's why I mentioned he'll first have to make sure the batt is good/faulty via the use of a volt-meter.