for those who wish to visit dr botak at macpherson rd, pls kindly note that he is operating at the back alley and NOT the front shop :)

hahaha..bro got ppl go to the front part ah?

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2598285429794&set=a.2518626758377.2132623.1034506193&type=3&theater

30% Bike 70% Rider

It's not what you ride really..

There's just the RIDE..

• Replies 2.1k

Mounting don't change can results in - 1. cornering wobble/unstable

2. rear tyre wear off unevenly which means wear only 1 side and the other side still ok....

Steering cone - results in turning very tight.. which can cause accident to happen if it's stuck.

Coolant - i suspect 2 things- radiator not clean and system not flush.

- but of cos if u are stuck in a jam, then that's quite common cos no

air to cool mah....as long as fan got on, u are safe.

As for better pickup - few ways other than changing variator set.

1. changing rollers combination - as per u mentioned. Some changed to dr pulley which do help too.

2. air filter - u can change to those bullet filter which will help in air intake.

3. change exhaust.- personal preference- i would rather u change the exhaust 1st than the variator 1st as the exhaust has more advantages than the variator..... with a aftermarket exhaust, if u maintain your current way of riding, u will feel smoother and more powerful pickup and of cos better mileage....:) most of all better looking than the stock one :)

Thanks a lot to bro firestorm for enlightening us with your Jedi like knowledge of the maxiscooter world:-)

Ride Safe..

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=2598285429794&set=a.2518626758377.2132623.1034506193&type=3&theater

30% Bike 70% Rider

There's just the RIDE..

hahaha..bro got ppl go to the front part ah?

ya got one majesty went straight into the shop and ask the botak to do.... becos Sam, the boss of the front shop really is a little botak ...:cheeky:

Thanks a lot to bro firestorm for enlightening us with your Jedi like knowledge of the maxiscooter world:-)

Ride Safe..

hahahhaa.... no lar... i just share what i know.... besides.... X8 is still my favourite :) esp. for sound and compartment :cheeky::angel:

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

bro crasher...

possible to define unparallel pickup standard? hahah...abit hard to understand leh....im hoping that means at least the pickup/torque comparable to a stock gilera, not yet taking x8's weight disadvantage into consideration.

bro crasher...

possible to define unparallel pickup standard? hahah...abit hard to understand leh....im hoping that means at least the pickup/torque comparable to a stock gilera, not yet taking x8's weight disadvantage into consideration.

hehehe..we can't compare to any VXR or ST bro,Gilera have drastically lightened body so even stock oso we can't catch up to them..but with Dr Pulley there's a lot of pick up comparable to stock rollers or even some say Malossi or Pollini rollers.But Dr Pulley sliding rollers tend to wear out your variator walls faster coz the scraping motion of the more edged roller design.

I still sticked to original rollers despite the pick up difference just because its Piaggio's OEM parts and originals are durable and they last longer.It's also just a matter of preferences bro:-)

Hope this helps.

Cheers and ride safe bro!

30% Bike 70% Rider

There's just the RIDE..

yeah...but the thing is...i feel like my clutch slip is back. maybe its just in my mind, thats why i tend to throttle lesser when moving off....it crawls till i get to 40-50.

i believe if more torque is produced during engaging the first gear, bound to lessen the chances of facing clutch slip again... any views on this, bros?

i really need to rewatch the youtube CVT video again....fully, this time. haha.

yeah...but the thing is...i feel like my clutch slip is back. maybe its just in my mind, thats why i tend to throttle lesser when moving off....it crawls till i get to 40-50.

i believe if more torque is produced during engaging the first gear, bound to lessen the chances of facing clutch slip again... any views on this, bros?

i really need to rewatch the youtube CVT video again....fully, this time. haha.

I personnally feel higher torque gives a harder grip of the clutch to the bell. I often hit higher rev during pickup to prevent slow grips (also reduce friction wear i presumes) I might be wrong, but just to share a view. :)

BTW its been long since i came to the forum again, if anyone still remembers me... haha...

Just wanted to ask if anyone had Malossi CDi installed?

I've just installed one, but, my autogauge tachometer (bought from Firestorm) gave unbelivable readings!

Wonder if anyone experience this?

hehehe..we can't compare to any VXR or ST bro,Gilera have drastically lightened body so even stock oso we can't catch up to them..but with Dr Pulley there's a lot of pick up comparable to stock rollers or even some say Malossi or Pollini rollers.But Dr Pulley sliding rollers tend to wear out your variator walls faster coz the scraping motion of the more edged roller design.

I still sticked to original rollers despite the pick up difference just because its Piaggio's OEM parts and originals are durable and they last longer.It's also just a matter of preferences bro:-)

Hope this helps.

Cheers and ride safe bro!

How about Jcosta??

Saw it selling in Ebay about the same price as pollini or malossi...

How about Jcosta??

Saw it selling in Ebay about the same price as pollini or malossi...

sorry bro,never tried Jcosta parts b4 so i can't say 4 sure..cheers!

j

30% Bike 70% Rider

There's just the RIDE..

any bros here installed Dr Pulleys Sliding rollers, and have personal reviews???

Still unsure as to whether should head down to future or Tai hin...cos usually its future, but Tai Hin provides a warranty for the variator, should the variator wear out unusually, they will replace a new one foc....

Botak wont have for sure right? Must buy then he can install for me right?

any bros here installed Dr Pulleys Sliding rollers, and have personal reviews???

Still unsure as to whether should head down to future or Tai hin...cos usually its future, but Tai Hin provides a warranty for the variator, should the variator wear out unusually, they will replace a new one foc....

Botak wont have for sure right? Must buy then he can install for me right?

bro, u can call botak and check with him if can get the rollers for u.

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/S1030017.jpg (Nite Mode)

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s243/firestorm_33/Daymode-1.jpg(Day Mode)

Always Contactable at 92745438

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/305719-lt-CMO-gt-Mobile-Grooming-for-your-bike-at-your-place-)

Any lobang on cheap steering cone? Cheap Malossi belt? Cheap starter motor? And cheap Dr Pulley sliders... My bike needs to get all these changed soon!

X8

VXR 200

PX 150

XL 883 L

You ride fast, I ride slow, eventually I'll catch you up at the traffic light...

hahah bro zeewan...

maintenance and mods for our bike is never cheap, bro... c",)

hahaha..i'll second u on dat one bro, Italian parts where got cheap :-)

A bit here and there already cost so much..but that what makes italian bikes more desirable rite?not so common on the road and ppl will still glance a bit a b it oso..lol

Take care,Ride safe..cheers!

30% Bike 70% Rider

There's just the RIDE..

anyway just outta curiosity,does anyone here knows how much is the backrest for X8?the part where if you remove the bracket and box and you put it the optional backrail to cover the holes on both sides..thanks

30% Bike 70% Rider

There's just the RIDE..

and bro zeewan,

you might wanna try checking with botak/fscoot/taihin whether they might be able to draw up a package for you...with more discount, maybe?

Sliding Rollers are $65 at Taihin, if they install it for you, they provide warranty for your stock variator. Unsure how long the warranty is for, though.

If intending to get it and get dr ponytail to fix...i believe Taihin sells it for $45, w/o installation...abit risky though, although i trust botak and his skills.

I've done some pretty extensive research on the sliding rollers, and quite a few mechanics fit it wrongly, even with a pict guide.

Funny thing is...when its fit the wrong way, it seems you will have damn explosive pickup...but bad midrange and top end. Explosive like a Honda 250BR can go like 0-60MPH in 9-11secs...which is pretty much a WOW, considering stock rollers >22seconds, and sliding rollers fit correctly ~13 secs.

Im sure you guys know how loOoOoOoOoOong it takes for an X8 to reach 100+km/h....

hmm...any of you guys tested top speed before?

Bedok North Flyover frm KPE exit...uphill, i managed 110-115 full throttle...flat road 130-135 full throttle.

Doing this to check whether my top end will be affected much, later when i install the DR Pulleys. Will be dropping frm stock 10.3g rollers to 9.5g sliders.

The question is this...seems like whenever i whack...then when i come to a halt, either my engine oil signal will light up, or it will both light up and engine dies. Takes a few tries before it can start up again...

What could be the possible reasons?

and bro zeewan,

you might wanna try checking with botak/fscoot/taihin whether they might be able to draw up a package for you...with more discount, maybe?

Sliding Rollers are $65 at Taihin, if they install it for you, they provide warranty for your stock variator. Unsure how long the warranty is for, though.

If intending to get it and get dr ponytail to fix...i believe Taihin sells it for $45, w/o installation...abit risky though, although i trust botak and his skills.

I've done some pretty extensive research on the sliding rollers, and quite a few mechanics fit it wrongly, even with a pict guide.

Funny thing is...when its fit the wrong way, it seems you will have damn explosive pickup...but bad midrange and top end. Explosive like a Honda 250BR can go like 0-60MPH in 9-11secs...which is pretty much a WOW, considering stock rollers >22seconds, and sliding rollers fit correctly ~13 secs.

Im sure you guys know how loOoOoOoOoOong it takes for an X8 to reach 100+km/h....

the bike like forever sia wanna get from 0-100..muahaha..u all sure also got the same problem ah..

30% Bike 70% Rider

There's just the RIDE..

Bro kenshi18_05, I got the same speed... 135-140 on flat road... You wanna install Dr Pulley Sliders too? Maybe we could go to Taihin together and install it... MAYBE can get discount? I knew it's $65... Quite expensive compared to Malossi Rollers which is around $35? I went to Future Scootering most of the time and went to Taihin once... Havent go to Botak before leh... Thinking of getting Malossi parts from Sunrise Eurobike, Dr Pulley Parts from Taihin and original parts from Future Scootering... But do Taihin bring in Malossi? Difficult for me to go to different workshops leh...

X8

VXR 200

PX 150

XL 883 L

You ride fast, I ride slow, eventually I'll catch you up at the traffic light...

bro zeewan,

i changed just last week. $65 also, but to me quite worth it.You might get annoyed at the slight change in transmission sound at first, but after i really whacked it...i think now the roller has seasoned to my variator somewhat. Now, it growls. Haha. Kinda reminded me of when i first changed the belt...super annoyed for like 1 whole day cos the belt vibrates abit due to its stiffness.

Anyways, if any bros here contemplating on changing to sliders; heres my review on the Dr Pulley Sliding Rollers (9.5g)

Speedwise...accelleration is much better than before; especially mid end. Like previously, if lets say im doing 80 and i hit a hill of sorts, its kinda impossible to accelerate up at the same speed or higher unless i really open throttle and stress the engine.

Now, just accelerate abit more, like maybe 1-1.5cm throttle? Maintains speed at 80 easily.

What wonders me is that the RPM is pretty stable...meaning that im reaching higher speeds with lesser RPM. Do note that i dont have a tachy nor whatsoever to gauge the RPM, but i trust my ears, and over the same road conditions daily too. I believe most of us X8 riders know what it sounds like when we're stressing our engines.

Anyways, this should mean that if i stop whacking it, i should get better mileage than before. Its' pretty true what people say, though....the best FC additive or whatsoever is in the flick of your wrist. im still on my first tank right after i changed; so if any of you guys are interested in the fc, i will update this weekend.

Lastly, top end not affected much; albeit i dropped down frm stock 10.3g rollers to 9.5g sliders. Still hitting 130 at the flyover, just tested this morning at 5am. Can push further as throttle wasn't fully open, but would be considered inaccurate since by then, i was heading downhill and filtering out to bedok north.

Only issues that i faced is the similar issue...after whacking it hard, exhaust backfires as i decelerate, and engine light lights up and sometimes, engine dies when i reach a complete stop at the traffic light.

Hmm...any kind souls could advise me on this? Carb dirty, maybe?

Next up would be the boost bottle...any reviews on this?

bro zeewan,

i changed just last week. $65 also, but to me quite worth it.You might get annoyed at the slight change in transmission sound at first, but after i really whacked it...i think now the roller has seasoned to my variator somewhat. Now, it growls. Haha. Kinda reminded me of when i first changed the belt...super annoyed for like 1 whole day cos the belt vibrates abit due to its stiffness.

Anyways, if any bros here contemplating on changing to sliders; heres my review on the Dr Pulley Sliding Rollers (9.5g)

Speedwise...accelleration is much better than before; especially mid end. Like previously, if lets say im doing 80 and i hit a hill of sorts, its kinda impossible to accelerate up at the same speed or higher unless i really open throttle and stress the engine.

Now, just accelerate abit more, like maybe 1-1.5cm throttle? Maintains speed at 80 easily.

What wonders me is that the RPM is pretty stable...meaning that im reaching higher speeds with lesser RPM. Do note that i dont have a tachy nor whatsoever to gauge the RPM, but i trust my ears, and over the same road conditions daily too. I believe most of us X8 riders know what it sounds like when we're stressing our engines.

Anyways, this should mean that if i stop whacking it, i should get better mileage than before. Its' pretty true what people say, though....the best FC additive or whatsoever is in the flick of your wrist. im still on my first tank right after i changed; so if any of you guys are interested in the fc, i will update this weekend.

Lastly, top end not affected much; albeit i dropped down frm stock 10.3g rollers to 9.5g sliders. Still hitting 130 at the flyover, just tested this morning at 5am. Can push further as throttle wasn't fully open, but would be considered inaccurate since by then, i was heading downhill and filtering out to bedok north.

Only issues that i faced is the similar issue...after whacking it hard, exhaust backfires as i decelerate, and engine light lights up and sometimes, engine dies when i reach a complete stop at the traffic light.

Hmm...any kind souls could advise me on this? Carb dirty, maybe?

Next up would be the boost bottle...any reviews on this?

Thanks for the review... Hmm, about the backfire part, should be tuning. Mine ALWAYS backfire when I close throttle and also when coming to a stop. It backfire like hell. But I haven't go to workshop to ask them tune for me. I wanted to tune myself but I'm afraid if I lose the air screw again. The engine stalling, mine was because the rubber manifold which connects the carb and the engine block cracked.

X8

VXR 200

PX 150

XL 883 L