oh btw guys, ive got a set of givi panniers rack only.. price neg, jus name d price, ill; see to it.. thanks!!

http://i270.photobucket.com/albums/jj105/dickrid/Picture2362.jpg
  • Replies 16.2k

panjang> i'm using hyperpro springs for front and back but rebuild my rear shock. cost me around $750....performance wise better than stock...Money Not Enough

was waiting for summon letter but got inspection letter from LTA instead...:thumb: btw, need to remove my hellas when go for inspection or not?

http://i197.photobucket.com/albums/aa199/rahmatese/3dflags_fra0001-0001a.gif
Originally posted by Varas@Nov 1 2005, 07:40 AM

KC>> local agent of LV not sporting meh??

vara>>>that guy got the dealership few mths ago, lta told me

riddick>>> thank u first, keep all da cert for unforseen circumstances i advice....

vvvv>>> very sui ah.... now every thing black black kekeke i ll send u pic but dun bang ur head aft seen it. was told tat when carbon cannister spoit can change the sleeve leh its all about $$$ only

hey hey the forum is active again WELCOME ALL.... :smile: :smile: :cheer:

Hi VVV,

Thanks for the info. Was wondering if we can select the spring and spring rate to suit our body weight for the technoflex spring and shock? $1.5k seems like quite a high price to pay. Are there aftermarket rear hugger available for varadero? Seems like a good investment to protect rear shock from road dirt and grime.

Another questions, will changing to a 03 rear shock and 03 front spring be more cost effective and at the same time achieving a more compliant and stiff ride for better street handling?

how much will an original 03 model rear shock cost? and spring? Thanks

civicblade>> I suggest not, its commonly known that original parts sucks, and very expensive. Those yummy , goody aftermarket bits are cheaper and BETTER.. weird right? So IMHO , get the aftermarket shocks, dun go for 03,04,05 original shocks... its gonna be fried anyway.. sooner than aftermarket shocks.

For Rear hugger , u can check this brand N-W-S ...

KC>> Finally, someone who is working got the dealership... at least the dealer bother to get it approved. Anyway , how much u got it for? Post some pictures leh, let me have a chance to bang my head against the keyboard too leh..

How is the sound? SHIOK NOT?

Riddick, KC>> all cert need to be kept on the bike for verification purposes , so uncle sam can have a look when u r haul up . keep it handy on ur bike.

VVVV>> i heard sound of balls squeezing from ur side bro hahahhaa

VAR-A

Varadero Adventure Riders-Asia

V1KINGS

So far find the suspension and ride feels ok. just that the rusty cylinder sleeve on the rear shock is getting into my head.. always feel "insecure".

money is limited.. so either I go for suspension overhaul and leave the scotoiller and sprockets later or sprockets first.

$1.5k.. is not a small sum to pay.. wonder how good is a technoflex shock and front spring combo compared to 99 stock setup? Really so much difference in ride quality?

Clutch Slip

Was on my way to TPE from Changi Village along Loyang Avenue. Took off at the traffic lights on the foot of the small hill.. was on the upslope at 3rd gear when my clutch slipped and the rev went from ~5500 straight to 8000rpm.

I guess the clutch is not transmitting all the power to the rear wheels. Is this normal? Was it meant to slip at high loads? I'm almost 100kg and the bike was in the middle of an upslope.

Or is it an indication that I should get the clutch plates replaced?

On the NSH, there was no clutch slip during hard acceleration on flat roads or high speed acceleration. Only encountered this on a slope....???

Any advice?

civicblade > yo dude, it mite not be clutch plate.. maybe need to change engine oil...? im not sure.. cos if clutch plate, even on straight rd, it s always on high revs, cant pick up dat well..

kc> yo kc, i heard tat d carbon mite be breaking after a few yrs (2-3yrs). tats y i ordered on d titanium, anw, its light oso, a lil bit heavier than carbon.. anw, this is d 1st week, i hope d guy comes back from d factory n they can bring it in redy.. but kc, have yr pipes came in n installed?? hows d sound..? n did u get it approved?

2nd link tmrw nite anybody...??

btw, selamat hari raya, maaf zahir and batin to all d muslim bros..

Hi fellow varadero riders,

Any meet up these few days? I have just got my bike from a rider who went overseas. its a 99 model.

I heard that the pre03 models varadero have a problem with soft front springs. I was riding the bike and the front end felt good. Couldn't get in touch with the ex-owner for the time being so like to engage fellow varadero riders help to see if my front spring is stock or otherwise.

Surprising the handling and braking as good compared to my ex-rides, the fazer1 and TDM9. Much better than the TDM in terms of handling.

Hi Riddick,

I have just change my engine oil. Using Motul 5100V semi-syn. Its a motorcycle oil and should not contain any friction reducing additives that is bad for the clutch.

I think only car oil will have such an impact? Anyway, will the clutch plates be due for a change at 59000km?

Used to have a cbr9 and did a clutch plate inspection at 60000km. The clutch plates are hardly worn and well within the limit specified in the manual.

Could the Varadero be more harsh on the clutch plates? Due to its torque and local stop start traffic conditions?

the clutch slipping on the slope probably means the life of the clutch plates are going soon. how long has the mileage been?

nws can get from biketech 21...but i think it's gonna cost abt 200 plus (i asked a few months ago) alternatively, smicerboy's idea of using a soft rubber like those carmats might do the trick...

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

motul 5100 and 3000 are fine..3000 would be more appropriate for v twins as it's specs are for harleys..but any motorcycle oil would do

my vara is running at 101000km now...so far my clutch plates haven given way...although i would expect it to soon...think the life of the plates ranges from 90000 onwards according to mt mech

...home is where the front of my wheel is. - striking viking

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2066/2077175805_ba8dd2dcfa_m.jpg http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2074/2077981830_a5948902e2_m.jpg

Originally posted by Varas@Nov 3 2005, 08:31 AM

VVVV>> i heard sound of balls squeezing from ur side bro hahahhaa

Varas >>

Thanks bro.. ... rubbing more salt on old woun.... :0

Kc >>

Where the pic? No see ley

Chrislayer >>

Sorry for late respond

but other brothers already attended to you.

Take their advice. They are good and experienced owner.

Hi Varadero people,

Just to let you know that my Vara1k is for sale.

Please pass the word around to those of you who know who are interested in upgrading from the Africa Twin or getting that Class 2 and are looking for a Varadero.

I can be reached at 97949104.

civicblade> yo dude, mine is 62000km, so far, no probs.. buy i think wad kenny said might br true, maybe arnd tat range..

but if u wanna try if it slips, come wit me to 2nd link la.. tonite me goin..

anyone else goin...? heheh

Originally posted by riddick@Oct 31 2005, 06:24 PM

atenxr> wad i meant n d other bros was, every start up yellow lite will turn on indicating something la.. which i not sure.. but wen yr fuel running out, yellow lite will turn on indicating they using reserves.. (arnd 60-70km)

Varas> bro, he said tat all letters have gone to lta for inspection including db level at certain rpm n all that shits. he said confirm pass.. now is jus tat he needs his counterpart (partner) to come back from italy. den they will order, n it will take less than 10 days to come..

me and werxguy oredered n cant wait!! but he said got other vara oso ordered.. anyone from here?? but oso dunno vara or other bikes..

VVVV> bro if christmas den come, ask him to give me as christmas present lor.. dun he dare or give me anymore excuses..

btw, give him d pump redy..

come ar bros one day we go PG, den we change our club name to varadero racing club!!! im sure ami will love it.. hahah

ASAP> bro wad he meant by orig chains? wad brand EK is it?

bros.. gp esso on friday nite??

Riddick > It's orig Honda sprocs w DID o-ring chain. Got another quote frm HKL. VAC Enduro steel sprocs w DID x-ring $240-$250. Heard of this VAC. Any comments? U confirmed the afam sprocs @ motoworld made of steel rite? Got some feedback some afam sprocs made of alloy.

Muslim Bros > :cheer: SELAMAT HARI RAYA AIDILFITRI. MAAF ZAHIR BATIN.:cheer:

"Only a Biker knows why a dog sticks his head out of a car window."

Originally posted by Varas@Nov 2 2005, 07:28 AM

panjang>> sporting brings in Ohlins. Full front n back would set u abt 1700 ... around there ,

and biketech21 got WP ( Ktm & BM using it as stock) I think same set would cost under 2k...

depends on how deep ur pocket is...

Any ideas who's the local agent for Ohlins? Or you contact for it?

Varadero......This has got to be one the best bikes i've ever ridden. 10 years and still going strong....

Originally posted by civicblade@Nov 2 2005, 08:29 AM

How much does M-Technik charge for replacement of just the rear shock with a Technoflex unit? Is it a direct replacement part? Might be going to M-technik on Saturday to fix up scotoiller and new chain sprocket sets. At the same time can ask about the shock.

My rear shock is rusty on the sliding cylinder surface, still rides ok.. but not too sure if it is due for a change. year 99model. 6 years plus.

Hey bro donno how much for the rear shock alone but was quoted $1500 for both front and rear.

Varadero......This has got to be one the best bikes i've ever ridden. 10 years and still going strong....

Originally posted by Varas@Nov 2 2005, 09:10 AM

VVVV>> CArbon sure chantek leh...full of regrets not getting it in the 1st place... damn... now everyday crying to sleep..

Actually got few other brands... Hyperpro from motorworld.. erhm, another UK brand which I forgot the name... that 1 is value for money according to EU counterparts.

Panjang>> to add on , technoflex got 5 yrs warrenty. And also , I m curious , the set that was quoted to u , regarding the rear shock. Does it comes with a preload adjuster? The little hydraulic canister thingy.

Chrislayer>> the colour sucked! If they would wanna go to the AT colour scheme, would rather they have the camo colour scheme.. the green yellow 1.. looks more garang

The suspension that was quoted to me is the non adjustable one but Chan say it'll be customized to your weight . And on top of that he say it can also add more height to you ride.