Hi all, am from the PK side, would like to ask a few stuff so if you don't mind entertaining me, perhaps can share with me your wealth of info?

I am contemplating two options right now, first is either to just stop at 2B and get a Vara 125 (The V-twin sounds really convincing =P ) or to advance up the 2A chain of licenses. Also which, I plan to keep my cruizer, and get a touring bike just so it can explore the roads, and I'm not sure if a Vara 125 will suffice, so would like to hear your opinions

I like riding, and am pretty contented with 2B due to its relatively low maintenance costs. (For e.g my phantom maintenance for fuel change is roughly 30-40 per two months, but a 2A I understand is easily into the hundreds?)

And also that 2B bikes get better mileage?

BUt of course 2A and 2 ranges bike has the capacity and capabilities to go further and faster

So shall keep my post short for the first round and sum up,

In your opinion, is it better to stick with 2B and purchase a Vara 125?

Or use that money to go for 2A and get a "bigger" bike.

Based on my humble experience:

1) Go for Class 2 while riding vara125

2) Don't waste money on 2A bikes in the mean time

3) Upgrade to Africa Twin(bulletproof bike with reasonable maintenance costs) after getting Class 2

Just my 2cents

Firstly, THIS is not the vara 125 thread. its the vara 1000 thread. So wont proceed further..

if you are too concerned about costs, it defeats the purpose to experience something you claim worthy; ie RIDING!

most of us share a passion of riding and had gone thru 'thick and thin' riding class 2b to 2a to 2. Although money is an issue, it cannot compensate the experience. you can save on a 2a bike not but when u finally decide to take up 2 bike, the transition might not be smooth as first thought. you can save money on class 2a but at each level, the skill test is different. rule of thumb: You can choose a bike to ride but the end of day, the bike chooses you..

you took up the commitment to ride.. its all up to u what matters most. last ting to bother ursef is how much $$$ u spend monthly on bike. anyway, any bike is worthy for touring. its the rider not the bike..

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
  • Replies 16.2k

hi guys need immediate help.. my bike facing problems.. wat could be the problem when i try to start the bike but it seize halfway starting. i had already changed the batt and the mechanic told me the rectifier is faulty however rectifier had just been changed a month ago.. magnetic coil is also a month old.. izit the electrical wirings that is causing the problem? anybody encountered the same problem??

Batty change

Rectifier change

Magnetic coil change

Most likely u have to check

1. Fuel pump (OEM pump lasted me ard 24K, now using mistui pump and clocking 70k & still in good condition, but need to bring spare pump for touring).

2. Fuel cut relay (die off suddenly, let the bike rest a while & able to start again....so it's time to replace a new one. Ususally after 100k best to replace it.

3. Loose wiring connect to fuel cut relay.

4. Rectifier failure...the only way is to check with voltmeter eg..if u see 15V and above, time to replace. Rectifier seldom fail in vara bike.....we don't have any problem with this at all. Make it a habit to replace after 1 cycle if possible.

Why don't u start to check ur fuel pump eg. symptoms is bike engine die off when u throttle...let the bike rest for a while, n it will start again if u r lucky. Fuel cut relay failure almost similar with fuel pump failure....or check with the loose wiring that our bro shawn encounter recently.. End of the day, he found it was the fuel cut relay & loose wiring.

So far failure of fuel cut relay on the list:

1. Joemac ---- Come to rescue & manage to do so miracle stuff to make the bike ride back to sin.

2. Yancurly ---- Come to rescue at JB check point & bike suddenly ok to ride back. But fail in singapore after a few ride.

3. Shawn ----- Fail in sin, almost same description as u. Advice him to check the fuel cut relay & bingo that was the culprit.

Varadero Adventure Rider Asia

KNS...

Yan-> was i everywhere? Really? didnt catch it on TV as i was working lah..

nway, kinda paiseh and proud at the same time, Riding AT but oso a BOV with VARA logo on an @:dot::dot:. also, was told, i am the only @ to welcome him back. Not sure where all the AT rider been to.. haizzz...besides VARA group, didnt really saw any other goup there as well!! but the bikers who went down shows that irrigardless what ride ur riding, it doesnt matter.. what matter most is we respect each other and keep our brother hood going on and on.. MR GOH and his WIFE has just shown us an amazing extraordinary example of it. JUST a simple discussion with him you will know why.. he's a nice chap and i believe, This HISTORICAL trip of his, is a good ROLE MODEL for us... so for some of us... "SPEND LESS on your bike, RIDE MORE on it.." and that included me as well ehheehehehe...

Mafitra: If i were to ask for tips.. i bet damn sure u been waiting to ask him for his PANNIERS right?!?! khekhekhekhekh:faint::faint::faint:

to all avid tourers: One day, we might be able to do what he just did.. "ITS ALL IN HOW YOU BADLY WANT TO DO IT" he quiet his job and make many sacrifices to make it happen all by himself, family & close friends support and along the way, many others from over the world ( incluing us) came supporting him and his wife dream.. but the bottom line is still up to the 2 of them. They choose never to give up.

seeing them, i started to think about it and i knew there wont be any long trip ( especially cambodia & laos) for me if i didn't make any sacifices. even thou mine only going up north and back within..31 days.. all by myself. Its more about my personaly achievement..but still its all about HOW I BADLY WANTED TO DO IT.. BY ALL MEANS.. On the other hand.. of course we understood, no matter how badly tsome Bikers wanted to...there are those who are tied down with work, families etc and hence, riding trips are limited to few days/weeks.. but believe and trust me.. with all the BLESSING from family, friends, wife, and (the best person if u can get from is the BOSS ur working for..nnaahhh !!! FAT HOPE:dozed:!!!) proper planning, have faith in it..whatever trip u want to go for.. IT WILL HAPPEN. James and his dude is on IRON butt with some stuck @ home with work issues. Neil is gg to CHina.. i'm gg up North while David & a mystery rider might wana date me to SUNFLOWER treat when i am on the way home.. there will be more to come so if you got the chance, LIVE YOUR DREAM GUYS...(not as in "LEAVE YOUR DREAM" ooohhhhkkkkk!!!)

nevertheless... we all share 1 thing in common. BIKES...TOURS..TCS.. and in the meantime, that is as good enough as it is coz it somehow will end up in an annual trip...and that will be good enough...:thumb::thumb:

Special THANKS to DAVID aka Atwin and to some who had religiously update US on Mr GOH and Wife RTW trip..coz if not because of them, MAYBE of us might not even meet them in person.. or worse didn't know a SINGAPOREAN couple had done it.

and of-course..KUDOS and welcome back to MR GOH and WIFE.. looking forward to hear more from you on our next meet TCS session..:thumb::thumb::thumb:

Joemac>> u r welcome...make me so touching...maybe u can start to have your adventure blog/photo when u going 4 nation ride thei year...we looking forward for it.

Maybe u should come out something like this in your one month adventure solo trip ride....

http://totalruckus.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=16406&postdays=0&postorder=asc&start=0

Edited by ATwin

Batty change

Rectifier change

Magnetic coil change

1. Fuel pump (OEM pump lasted me ard 24K, now using mistui pump and clocking 70k & still in good condition, but need to bring spare pump for touring).

2. Fuel cut relay (die off suddenly, let the bike rest a while & able to start again....so it's time to replace a new one. Ususally after 100k best to replace it.

4. Rectifier failure...the only way is to check with voltmeter eg..if u see 15V and above, time to replace. Rectifier seldom fail in vara bike.....we don't have any problem with this at all. Make it a habit to replace after 1 cycle if possible.

Why don't u start to check ur fuel pump eg. symptoms is bike engine die off when u throttle...let the bike rest for a while, n it will start again if u r lucky. Fuel cut relay failure almost similar with fuel pump failure....or check with the loose wiring that our bro shawn encounter recently.. End of the day, he found it was the fuel cut relay & loose wiring.

1. Joemac ---- Come to rescue & manage to do so miracle stuff to make the bike ride back to sin.

2. Yancurly ---- Come to rescue at JB check point & bike suddenly ok to ride back. But fail in singapore after a few ride.

3. Shawn ----- Fail in sin, almost same description as u. Advice him to check the fuel cut relay & bingo that was the culprit.

thks for info bro ..

any idea how much would a replacement fuel pump be ? :cheeky:

http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h316/qaihonda/DSC00442.jpg

I Am Still Loving It !!! :angel:

thks for info bro ..

any idea how much would a replacement fuel pump be ? :cheeky:

Can get it from motoworld... ard $65-70

There is a mass order recently at AT-asia for $55. Check with jomac whether he got spare to let go.

Sorry guys this Friday unable to organise for the Friday meetup bcos next day have to wake up early for tri[ to KL.. Will organise a kopi meetup with Goh & his wife soon.

Niall>> Enjoy u China Trip Ride....Remember to take more photo. If u still have the vara sticker, help us to paste it at the Great wall of China. U make us proud riding up to China. Keep us updated when u there.....

Noted. ATwin.

Enjoy your trips ....and share with us when you are back.

2016-now GSA 1200 / Touran

2013-2015 Super 10 / Touran

2012-2013 GS1150 / Touran

2009-2012 Vara 1k / Stream 1.8

2008-2009 ST11 / Stream 1.8

2006-2008 Vara 125 / Sunny 1.5

2005-2006 Galant VRG 1.8

2002-2005 Elantra 1.5 (TD04)

1998-2002 Toyota starlet 1.0

ATwin: mind advising where the loaction of the fuel cut relay?

izzit under the seat, hidden in the fairings( left or right side)?

tks in advance

Batty change

Rectifier change

Magnetic coil change

Thanks bro Atwin for the advices. Greatly appreciated.

ATwin: mind advising where the loaction of the fuel cut relay?

izzit under the seat, hidden in the fairings( left or right side)?

tks in advance

Located at the right side (near the speedometer). A small box black colour relay....there is another small relay which is the headlight relay, so have to check which is the correct one. Unable to describle from here unless u have the manual and see for it. :angel:

They are back.....Anyone interested to meet them or welcome them back on 1st Aug 2010 .

http://singaporedream-rtw.blogspot.com/search?q=

:thumb::cheer::clapping::bow::clap::box:

U guys Rockz!

On behalf of Ah Goh, Thank You!

01 Aug 2010-Vara Group.jpg

Edited by DiabolicZero

Apr '99 - Sept '00 (Yamaha WR200)

Dec '00 - Jul '03 (Honda CB400 Version S)

Jul '03 - 5 June '06 (Yamaha XJ900S Diversion)

10 May '06 - Current (2004 Yamaha FJR1300ABS)

29 Aug '07 - Current (Suzuki Swift Sports-Mega)

04 Feb '09 - Current (2009 Honda City LX i-Vtec)

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y26/Casper4XXX/SBFSignatureIV.jpg

Hi guys...

For your info, I'm using this in my tires.... so far so good....

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n252/rajeh_bp/GL/dyna.jpg

Rajeh | Triumph Rocket 3 Touring | +65 8722 1313 :thumb:

Hi guys...

For your info, I'm using this in my tires.... so far so good....

http://i114.photobucket.com/albums/n252/rajeh_bp/GL/dyna.jpg

where do u get it done...how much was that.

Can see Niall's bike aright in the end of those bikes participating in the China ride.

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg

Any one nod the FC for 650cc varadero? Is the bike good. Saw one at loois. Very tempted to buy. Any pro and cons of this bike?

Wat bike u saw actualli at Loois? Varadero onli comes in 125cc or 1000cc.. comes in carb versions and EFI versions.. there is no 650cc..

Pros and Cons? Maybe u break it down for us what u need to know about this machine...

http://i264.photobucket.com/albums/ii175/yancurly8/SIGNATURE2.jpg
Can see Niall's bike aright in the end of those bikes participating in the China ride.

Can't get onto Youtube or Facebook :mad: guess they are blocked here but someone must have managed it :?

Thanks for all the good wishes. Finally got our licenses and plates this morning. Beijing traffic is crazy and the highway is hazardous, thankfully good riders and excellent marshalls saw us through it safely :thumb: Rained heavily most of the way from Beijing to first stopover, next days ride is shorter but on country roads, should be interesting.

Couldn't find my spare Vara stickers at the last minute so this will have to do for the moment.

DSCN2786s.jpg

Vara is gone but back strain lingers on o_O

Can't get onto Youtube or Facebook :mad: guess they are blocked here but someone must have managed it :?

Thanks for all the good wishes. Finally got our licenses and plates this morning. Beijing traffic is crazy and the highway is hazardous, thankfully good riders and excellent marshalls saw us through it safely :thumb: Rained heavily most of the way from Beijing to first stopover, next days ride is shorter but on country roads, should be interesting.

Couldn't find my spare Vara stickers at the last minute so this will have to do for the moment.

Nice.....................more picture please......................:thumb::thumb::thumb::thumb:

2016-now GSA 1200 / Touran

2013-2015 Super 10 / Touran

2012-2013 GS1150 / Touran

2009-2012 Vara 1k / Stream 1.8

2008-2009 ST11 / Stream 1.8

2006-2008 Vara 125 / Sunny 1.5

2005-2006 Galant VRG 1.8

2002-2005 Elantra 1.5 (TD04)

1998-2002 Toyota starlet 1.0

Woo Hooo.... way to go man.... take more pictures and show us. :cheeky:

**only 1 img allowed in signature***

http://photos-a.ak.fbcdn.net/photos-ak-snc1/v2630/32/27/667979715/n667979715_1625216_481751.jpg