I think ntuc learning hub requires an advance cert and diploma, not o's. Not sure abt SP's requirements. Go to their website and look under "trades and industries" > "courses accredited by wda". I've been looking at it too.

[ :: w h i t e f a n g :: ]

for the love of the game, and the ride..

• Replies 2.3k

HI guys I will completing my AC in WSH in a month time..I noticed the requirement for SD in WSH is O level C6 in English and Math which I do not have..I have C7 in both Math and English.

I do have diploma in Mechatronics from Temasek Poly which I upgraded using my ITC cert..Intend to go to SP for SD in WSH service..Anyone in the same situation as me???Will they consider me in SD??Thks in advance...

use your diploma cert can already ... or worse come to worse go for bridging course

I hope it is not the case, wanted to finish SD this year..

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

I think ntuc learning hub requires an advance cert and diploma, not o's. Not sure abt SP's requirements. Go to their website and look under "trades and industries" > "courses accredited by wda". I've been looking at it too.

I wanted to go SP because of the service elective as it is related to my current job...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

tink your dip qualification might pull u thru the admission....its just the slots availibility of the dip course is the big question mark...

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

good luck whitefang.

hello mr tay,

cant tell u how surprised and pleased i am to receive some sort of response here. to be honest, i really thought this thread is dead. I have been thinking if i should switch careers and wondering if being 30 yrs old is too late to start. but from your little reply there, i'm happy to know that "there is hope for me". haha.. yes advice here from "people who are involved" will be the best way to go. no fancy terms and languages from professional websites, just english that everyone can understand. it especially works for a "layman in safety" like me.

i am willing to take all u guys' tips and pointers on which direction i should proceed on. i may not be young, but being a greenhorn in this industry, being humble and willing to learn is the best way to improve.

That said, my course in certification in wsq with ntuc is starting in april. decided to do it full time so that i can finish it in a mth, instead of dragging on for 3 mths. after which, they told me i can register for the advance cert in wsq immediately (as soon as there are slots) and continue from there. I intend to do that full time too, back to back. i made this decision as i will be graduating from my diploma in march, and hence, might as well remain unemployed and getting those two certs together first, instead of taking them part time and dragging on for 4-5 mths. is that a good decision so make?

also, when i am done with the advance cert, this means i can start looking for a job as a safety supervisor/co-ordinator, am i right?

so i find a job and then commence on the specialist diploma as a part time course, immediately upon finding a job. and apply for RSO when the 2 years is up.

Job search-wise, i read that its not easy to get one unless there is some sort of recommendation, so its good to submit my cv to consultant and job search companies as well.

this is what i have read, understood and noted down from reading this whole thread. (in fact, i'm reading through it all over again haha) hope i got my facts right. =) i am more interested in marine or oil industry. hope i can expand in this area.

Anyway i have been in this forum for many years already. Just that a search on google regarding this job has brought me back here again. :)

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

tink your dip qualification might pull u thru the admission....its just the slots availibility of the dip course is the big question mark...

I was told at Ngee Ann and SP the slots are overwhelm by applicants...My ex class mate in Basic cert currently in NTUC learning hub started the SD class 2011 Nov said there were only 10 people in his class...The minimum to start a course...Hmm....

Was told those who graduated from SP and Ngee Ann are very much sought after by the market...

Anyone can share some light???

I was told at Ngee Ann and SP the slots are overwhelm by applicants...My ex class mate in Basic cert currently in NTUC learning hub started the SD class 2011 Nov said there were only 10 people in his class...The minimum to start a course...Hmm....

Was told those who graduated from SP and Ngee Ann are very much sought after by the market...

Anyone can share some light???

i dunno whether its true regarding the popularity of SP and NP graduants. I entered NTUC cos its the one that still had courses available to sign up for. And also, the fees are heavily subsidized.

But i think the certs are endorsed by WDA anyway, so it shouldnt affect that much, if at all.

i dunno whether its true regarding the popularity of SP and NP graduants. I entered NTUC cos its the one that still had courses available to sign up for. And also, the fees are heavily subsidized.

But i think the certs are endorsed by WDA anyway, so it shouldnt affect that much, if at all.

Which learning hub you went to? I am not sure whether want to take BRAS BASAH ROAD...Dont know there got free parking a not???

I going to bras basah one. That seems to be the only one that is conducting the basic cse. No free parking leh, but when i came out, it didnt charge me. So it could just be a lucky thing for one time.

This is what Ngee Ann reply:

Dear Mr Lee,

Thanks for your interest in our WSH courses and also noted your concern.

Your engineering diploma in Temasek Polytechnic would have exempted you from the bridging module in Specialist Diploma in WSH, namely " Apply Basic Maths and Science"

However, since you do not have a GCE "O" level credit (C6 or better), then you will have to take & achieve a level 6 in the WPL (4 components - Reading, Listening, Speaking & Writing). You do not need to take the WPN since you have a recognised engineering diploma.

The test results usually take six (6) weeks to be ready. Hence, you are strongly encouraged to immediately contact CES or book online via https://www.ces.gov.sg/ to register yourself to take the test. You will need to provide us with the result as soon as it is available to you. The contact details of CES are as follows:

Centre for Employability Skills

Employment and Employability Institute

141 Redhill Road

Block B, #01-03

Singapore 158828

Tel : +65 883 5885

Fax : +65 6471 1706

Email : [email protected]

I am screwed now...Maybe after I passed AD I go directly to NTUC and try to seek their help see whether they can allow me to continue a not...

The WPL level 6 English should pass with no problem...Problem is the waiting and exam time.....Haiz....

If u dont study hard during your younger days it shall come back and screw u time and time again....

I remembered I needed ITC cert even I got fairly great result with my NTC2 before poly....Then direct 2nd year ITC and went to poly...

Now again.....Wish I had never played Street Fighter 2 before my O levels.....Always go to other arcades and challenge other players...Hahhahaa now pay back time...

This is what Ngee Ann reply:

Dear Mr Lee,

Thanks for your interest in our WSH courses and also noted your concern.

Your engineering diploma in Temasek Polytechnic would have exempted you from the bridging module in Specialist Diploma in WSH, namely " Apply Basic Maths and Science"

However, since you do not have a GCE "O" level credit (C6 or better), then you will have to take & achieve a level 6 in the WPL (4 components - Reading, Listening, Speaking & Writing). You do not need to take the WPN since you have a recognised engineering diploma.

The test results usually take six (6) weeks to be ready. Hence, you are strongly encouraged to immediately contact CES or book online via https://www.ces.gov.sg/ to register yourself to take the test. You will need to provide us with the result as soon as it is available to you. The contact details of CES are as follows:

Centre for Employability Skills

Employment and Employability Institute

141 Redhill Road

Block B, #01-03

Singapore 158828

Tel : +65 883 5885

Fax : +65 6471 1706

Email : [email protected]

I am screwed now...Maybe after I passed AD I go directly to NTUC and try to seek their help see whether they can allow me to continue a not...

The WPL level 6 English should pass with no problem...Problem is the waiting and exam time.....Haiz....

If u dont study hard during your younger days it shall come back and screw u time and time again....

I remembered I needed ITC cert even I got fairly great result with my NTC2 before poly....Then direct 2nd year ITC and went to poly...

Now again.....Wish I had never played Street Fighter 2 before my O levels.....Always go to other arcades and challenge other players...Hahhahaa now pay back time...

haichi, ur education path are smiliar like mine...me only ntc-2 before i upgrade myself with dip in electronic at Temasek Poly too!..u sure ly know how long someone like me need to complete part time dip rite?..I was lucky cos I managed to secure a slot in SD WSH cos in Ngee Ann few yrs back...

Guessed nowdays they really tighten up the admission due to the overload of FT last time round..Tink you cn try to call them up and try to explain as a last resort...dun give up kayz..

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

haichi, ur education path are smiliar like mine...me only ntc-2 before i upgrade myself with dip in electronic at Temasek Poly too!..u sure ly know how long someone like me need to complete part time dip rite?..I was lucky cos I managed to secure a slot in SD WSH cos in Ngee Ann few yrs back...

Guessed nowdays they really tighten up the admission due to the overload of FT last time round..Tink you cn try to call them up and try to explain as a last resort...dun give up kayz..

At least you dont need to waste a year in ITC like me..Even my result can direct me to 2nd year of my dip I choose not too...I was quite lucky as one of my classmate who went to second year in SP was not doing good...Cos I saw him in TP when I was in the 3rd year, he told me too hard for him and now he is going first year again...So much so for going to 2nd year direct...For me I was a full time student...

hello everyone! this thread is so quiet again. haha..

Dear all RSOs,

With the 01 Sept 2011 regulations on all workplaces, I am currently looking a EHS Consultancy Company to provide my company with EHS consultancy services, e.g. on writing the RA and the SMS. Is there anyone working in such a consultancy firm or do U all have any firm to recommend to my company?

Would appreciate it greatly if U can drop me an e-mail at [email protected]? The company I am working in is a chemical import and export office, with a small scale oligonucleotides manufacturing facility at Biopolis.

Thank U guys so much.

Best regards.

Meng Hwee

Honda Phantom TA200, FV5349A (19/04/2005 - 28/06/2006)

Honda Super 4 Vtec 1, FS6537H (28/06/2006 - 13/02/2007)

Yamaha FJR1300 ABS, FBB661H (13/02/2007 - 31/05/2008)

Honda VFR800 ABS, FBB 404 J (31/05/2008 - 15/08/2009)

ADIVA AD 200, FBD 36 C (15/08/2009 - 13/05/2010, 1430hrs)

Yamaha FZ6N, FBA 7274 B (13/05/2010, 1430hrs - 03/05/2016, 1840hrs)

Yamaha FZ8, FBF 61*9 T (07/05/2016, 1130hrs - )

someone will get in touch with you soon.

Dear all RSOs,

With the 01 Sept 2011 regulations on all workplaces, I am currently looking a EHS Consultancy Company to provide my company with EHS consultancy services, e.g. on writing the RA and the SMS. Is there anyone working in such a consultancy firm or do U all have any firm to recommend to my company?

Would appreciate it greatly if U can drop me an e-mail at [email protected]? The company I am working in is a chemical import and export office, with a small scale oligonucleotides manufacturing facility at Biopolis.

Thank U guys so much.

Best regards.

Meng Hwee

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

someone will get in touch with you soon.

Thank you so much, Sir.

Wanted to contact you from my office this afternoon. But concerned that you may not be able to identify who I am, so I thought better to leave a message here.

you can always call me.

Thank you so much, Sir.

Wanted to contact you from my office this afternoon. But concerned that you may not be able to identify who I am, so I thought better to leave a message here.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

you can always call me.

Thank you, Mr Tay.

just attended the bizsafe convention at grand copthrone waterfront hotel.

so many ppl. mostly safety ppl and ceo, md etc.

it's great to catch up with some old frends.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

wow mr tay, sounds like an interesting convention to be at.

i myself cant wait to get started on my course in early april!

hi gacktrvf,

provided you have the following criteria, an acta cert does not perform miracle:

1. an impressive safety background and experience;

2. a connection or contact with mom approved or accredited training providers;

3. at least a bachelor degree in whatever field;

4. willing to take adhoc training assignment;

5. can bear with an income of a part-time trainer;

6. willing to take a lower wage to compete.

wonder why all safety officers rush to get acta? is safety officer job so jialat that everyone thot giving training is more secure?

Dear All..

Just asking is there any easy to pass ACTA course? i heard at fortune centre...just wana get the cert fast and try finding a part time safety trainer job...

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Dear cstay,

i think u have mis-interpreted me. I just wana be part time trainer to hone my presentation skills and also getting SDU at the same time.

i am yet a RSO as my SDWSH completed in April.. current an safety engineer... but still looking for a RSO job if you have any lobang pls let me know..Yup i only have point no. 3 of your list.. :)

hi gacktrvf,

provided you have the following criteria, an acta cert does not perform miracle:

1. an impressive safety background and experience;

2. a connection or contact with mom approved or accredited training providers;

3. at least a bachelor degree in whatever field;

4. willing to take adhoc training assignment;

5. can bear with an income of a part-time trainer;

6. willing to take a lower wage to compete.

wonder why all safety officers rush to get acta? is safety officer job so jialat that everyone thot giving training is more secure?