Safety officer

ET

Hi seniors, any idea where to start when I got SDWSH? Going to start soon . I guess will be completing by the end of the year. Should I look for safety inspector in MOM or private sectors? Please advice thanks.

hi hachi,

care to disclose the followings before anyone would advise?

1. what is your age/sex/race?

2. what is your background/experience/education?

3. what is your personality/inspiration/marital status?

4. what is your future plan for the next 3/5/7 years?

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

read my love-hate relationship with my wee.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showpost.php?p=2305336&postcount=35

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

• Replies 2.3k

1. 34/Male/Chinese

2. Taken a interests in safety while I am SMRT (work for 3 years) 1 year ago as operational staff/No experience except for FSM/Diploma in mechatronics.

3. Would like to make thing happens unlike current job at NEA facility and management/Married with 2 kids.

4. what is your future plan for the next 3/5/7 years? If I continue to stay in NEA might take up a degree in safety as my current job scope have quite a flexible timing. But dont really like to get threatened by public. Go to press or go MP kinda of shxt.

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

Hi everyone!😊😊 I'm glad to found this thread abt safety.

It wasn't easy to find much info abt this career but its all

written in this thread.

I've registered with SISO for my Spec Dip in WSH, course

will be starting next fri. Yeah!!!!

Hope to learn more from all the shifu here. Hehehe

Btw I've also applied to join the HSSE Singapore LinkedIn Grp.

Still pending approval.

With such qualification & experience demand, how can Singapore provide us with better prospect:

Here's my intro: Qualification

1. Specialist Diploma in WSH :p

2. International Diploma in NEBOSH :p

3. Diploma in ESH :p

4. Diploma in Security & Fire Safety Studies :p

5. Diploma in Adult & Continuing Education :p

6. Cambridge International Diploma for Teachers & Trainers :p

7. Environmental Officer Course :cool:

8. Fire Safety Manager Course :cool:

9. Served My National Service in SPF. (Learn Basic Codes & Law Studies) :)

All I began was only GCE O' Level + Polytechnic Diploma (Equivalent to all ESS LEVEL). :thumb:

Edited by flare_monster

hey bro. i can c u have a couple of teaching certs and rest are safety ones.

how does these 'teaching' certs help u in the safety line? apart from being a trainer.

and from what i know, ECO dun work together with FSM. correct me if im wrong.. :)

With such qualification & experience demand, how can Singapore provide us with better prospect:

Here's my intro: Qualification

1. Specialist Diploma in WSH :p

2. International Diploma in NEBOSH :p

3. Diploma in ESH :p

4. Diploma in Security & Fire Safety Studies :p

5. Diploma in Adult & Continuing Education :p

6. Cambridge International Diploma for Teachers & Trainers :p

7. Environmental Officer Course :cool:

8. Fire Safety Manager Course :cool:

9. Served My National Service in SPF. (Learn Basic Codes & Law Studies) :)

All I began was only GCE O' Level + Polytechnic Diploma (Equivalent to all ESS LEVEL). :thumb:

hi hachi,

due to the lack of exposure, suggest you join a safety consultancy firm to build up your credential.

this will also enable you to expand your horizon for safety skill and knowledge as well.

give yourself at least 2 to 3 years working and exposing yourself to various industries. this will give you the advantage to choose which industry you would focus on later.

unless, you know for sure which line you would prefer right now. you may pick the exact industry you desired.

safety profession is a cut above all. but the following top 3 make the most money:

1. oil and gas;

2. construction;

3. pharma;

4. marine (shipyard);

5. general factories;

6. facilities;

7. others

good luck.

1. 34/Male/Chinese

2. Taken a interests in safety while I am SMRT (work for 3 years) 1 year ago as operational staff/No experience except for FSM/Diploma in mechatronics.

3. Would like to make thing happens unlike current job at NEA facility and management/Married with 2 kids.

4. what is your future plan for the next 3/5/7 years? If I continue to stay in NEA might take up a degree in safety as my current job scope have quite a flexible timing. But dont really like to get threatened by public. Go to press or go MP kinda of shxt.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

1987-kawasaki gto 110, 1990-honda rebel 250, 2004-suzuki vstrom dl650, 2009-yamaha fjr 1300, 2011-kawasaki er6f

yup...went into marine previously....now trying to get into Oil n gas...and its not easy....will try n try n try

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y117/nebulaz/KTM-Pink-1.jpg

HUA Hua hua....WADEVER..AR you STOOPID OR WAD? HUA hua hua version 2.....

No. 6 Qualifications benefits me to teach, delegate participants with regards to UK Standards. (Nebosh)

No. 5 Qualification for Local Institute from Accredited Training Providers (Singapore)

Registered ECO & FSM do work together, depends on which industries you belongs to, but not Commercial.

eco and fsm are 2 very different fields. they seldom work together.

eco stands for environmental control officer. applicable for construction site. you deal with vector control, mosquitoes more than environmental pollution issues.

whereas fsm, they are fire safety manager who are needed in factories and commercial buildings.

eco trained, certified and registered by nea - national environment agency.

fsm trained, certified and registered by scdf.

No. 6 Qualifications benefits me to teach, delegate participants with regards to UK Standards. (Nebosh)

No. 5 Qualification for Local Institute from Accredited Training Providers (Singapore)

Registered ECO & FSM do work together, depends on which industries you belongs to, but not Commercial.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

too many foreigners to share the job opportunities.

garmen needs to bring them in as singaporeans are not producing enough babies. and worst, it is very difficult to manage the expectation of singaporeans who becomes demanding as we progress. in view of such, the supporting votes for the ruling party is dwindling and the only way to balance up is to attract more foreigners to take up citizenship.

in order to make up enough votes, as not all foreigners will take up citizenship, the garmen needs to bring in great influx of foreigners to give them an opportunity to experience the life style here. yes, only a small percentage will eventually becomes singaporeans who will sure support the garmen. but is you work on the law of large numbers, it will surely work for the ruling party. afterall, grc may eventually work for the opposition parties.

on the other hand, more foreign workers also presses down the wages of workers, technicians, engineers and managers.

and the garmen saves plenty of money, as consider they are the biggest employer in singapore, holding on to at least 70% of the economy. so when a garmen is also an employer, you know what kind of policy they will set lah.

sorry for the political talk. but it too has an impact on safety profession.

Too many demands from the Government yet less Opportunities for us instead.

Got the experience & exposure still demand & control the workforce population..

How about being an Expats?

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

i understand the statements... Yup, Garmen indeed not doing anything, worst nothing.

What got to do with Lift Upgrade in Voting Ruling party.

Here, there everywhere..seems pointless.. "Vote Garmen" get free lift. WTH?

Indeed affect our safety proffession, more constructions more foreigners cheap labours... more accident.

More claims..cheap materials....Reasonable Practicable errr

1. 34/Male/Chinese

pm me if u wish to work in marine industry

written in this thread.

Still pending approval.

Thanks pal, there's one group namely safetyfirst 2012 in facebook u can try joining too :)

written in this thread.

Still pending approval.

Thanks pal, there's one group namely safetyfirst 2012 in facebook u can try joining too :)

looking for wsho with building and construction experience, to work in developing countries such as india, myanmar, sri lanka etc.

must be matured, independent, good in english - spoken and written.

if you have the attitude or tendency to ask for a sky high package, kindly refrain from applying. though we are local company, we pay reasonable package. thanks.

interested applicant, please pm me.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300

Hey guys! Im a freshie with on a Cert in WSH... would like to learn more from all the gurus here as i am inexperienced and just got in into this line...

If got lobang please do recommend me as I am in need of experience in this industry..

Thanks! Hehehe :p

Very long never touch this thread already..

Read through from where I left off last year and was a little disappointed with some posts.

To cut it short:

People, please stop asking around for "reference" on your assignments (level B, level C).

If I can do it for my level B (mind you, SP's 1st Intake guinea pig here) and my level C by myself/discussions with classmates/ask lecturers, you can do it too. Google is your best assistance.

STOP indirectly killing and injuring people! The recent level B graduates seems so bad that I have to recommend to my boss to remove some (sub-con's WSHC) from my site before something bad happens.

And stop publicly provide "assistance" for assignments.

Not everybody is suitable to be in this industry.. don't jump in for the sake of hear say, high pay, etc..

Wait till 1 fine day, somebody is killed and you have the family members kneeling in front of you crying and begging you to give them back their love ones.

Are YOU, prepared for this scene?

DSC07163_(Medium).jpg

SafeSG.com - Bringing WSH Professionals Together

thanks warforge. for a timely reminder that our roles is a serious one.

and definitely not for those who just going for getting the assignment completed and good money.

we are in a business of preventing loss, saving lives, keeping the family together.

though we may not get a pay close to our ministers.

we are passionate to do just that.

cstay66

hp 9459 5300