I think your butt has "run in" along with the mileage clocked. No major issues, the stcs is probably still here bro.

So somehow I've gotten immune to the effects at speed, so now the normal speed seems slow to me?? Hmn...

• Replies 7.1k

I think your butt has "run in" along with the mileage clocked. No major issues, the stcs is probably still here bro.

I was worried I might've overstressed some engine parts or something... On my previous bike the fuel injector needle kept needing to be replaced every two months because I was whacking the throttle all the way...

Anyone encountered any fault with STCS before? Mine seems to have stopped kicking in. Ran at full speed for around 600km in the rain with little rest in between, and the day after I could feel the absence of it...

Wow bro u every time go touring never jio the bros here?

Haven’t organised any group rides for a very long time. Recently I’ve been sticking to impromptu solo rides. The way I ride is not very group friendly.

For example, Friday last minute appointment cancelled. So take passport and ringgit, hop onto bike, and go riding.

Why not group friendly?

1. Run at top speed. Some people don’t like because they’re scared of stressing their engine. Or can’t handle the speed. Or can take short burst of speed, but fatigued after a few minutes. I fill the tank, start to run at top speed, and only stop near the 300km range and I need to refuel. Some people prefer to relax, enjoy the scenery. I believe you can go at top speed, and also enjoy the scenery. To each his own, but to me it’s very painful to cruise nicely, then stop at side to wait, start again, then stop again. Repeat for 600km.

2. Night riding. Some riders have night blindness. Others are afraid of the dark. I know some riders die die must reach destination before dark one. Or go turtle slow at night. Epic rides definitely will eat into darkness one.

3. Endurance. Some riders can ride maximum one hour. Then rest, smoke, chit chat for one hour. Ride one hour, rest one hour. I prefer to go the whole hog and rest properly and longer at the destination, instead of breaking the ride flow.

4. Law by law. In Malaysia I ride “outside the box”. Means that if traffic jam, I’ll start riding on the pavement. If need to u-turn, if the divider is low, I’ll ride over the divider. I disregard red lights if there are no other vehicles.

I’m sure not many other riders ride like this. For those whose fingers are itchy to comment, please share your Malaysia experiences, but don’t start preaching on how other riders should ride like you do, and blah blah blah… This is also why I'm afraid to chio other riders. What if they say they can, then later turn out cannot, then start to have differences on how to conduct the ride? Or even worse, cannot, but wanna prove that can, ride outside their comfort zone, then something happens? A lot of responsibility, so I prefer to join other people's rides, and ride by their rules, then if I want to ride the way I want, I do my own solo ride.

If you like riding like I do, you’re free to join me.

Next Sunday I’m doing a Genting speed run. Singapore – Second Link – Genting – Bukit Tinggi – Nusa Bestari – First Link – Singapore. Will cover almost 1,000km. Start early morning, around 12++ hours of solid riding. Ascend Genting, then down, then ascend Bukit Tinggi. Rest and meal at Colmar Tropicale. On return trip will have massage and meal at Nusa Bestari.

Next Saturday I’m doing Malacca speed run. Singapore – Second Link – Malacca – Nusa Bestari – First Link – Singapore. Will cover around 600km. Plan is to reach Jonker Street night market around 6pm. Eat Assam Laksa, Oyster Omelette, Durian Chendol, head over to Nusa Bestari, then return.

So somehow I've gotten immune to the effects at speed, so now the normal speed seems slow to me?? Hmn...

Haha maybe.....

I usually couldn't go above 110km/h due to wind buffetting noise on my helmet, but ever since I use ear plugs everytime I ride I kinda of got carried away most times and find myself unknowingly tipping 130-140km/h when roads are clear........So smooth, so slient......Makes me think twice about taller windscreens now.

The plugs I use are not ear muffs, I can still hear cars and honkings.

*Double cheese burger*

Edited by 2992
Haha maybe.....

I usually couldn't go above 110km/h due to wind buffetting noise on my helmet, but ever since I use ear plugs everytime I ride I kinda of got carried away most times and find myself unknowingly tipping 130-140km/h when roads are clear........So smooth, so slient......Makes me think twice about taller windscreens now.

Ahh... Makes sense. It's like how those luxury cars can go above 120 and the cabin still sounds like the car is not moving...

Haha maybe.....

Oh, I use earplugs too, those Army ones we use for firing range, haha!

Yeah, now I can't live without one, even when I go for kopi runs. Sometimes I will go with my chap pa Lang helmet without ear plugs and my bike sounds as if its going to explode, damn noisy.

I prefer the soft mould in ear plugs, those that you roll it thin and stick it in, and the spongy plugs will later expand and fill up the gaps. More comfy, the army ones good for scratching inner ear and scraping ear wax if goes deep enough, Shiok also.

Would you like fries with that? :)

Gone were the days of $2 double cheese burger. Ramly also minimum $3.50 for double patties.......

Malaysia boleh have but not all ramlys meet minimum hygiene standards.

yeah earplugs changes the riding experience alot. i find it relaxing it cruise at 130-140 with earplugs. wont be so tired afterwards.

@duriandan i agree with you. different ppl different riding style. no worries. i guess to each his own. at least now u say how u ride, ppl knw whether they can tag along wif u or not. i confirm can't. im a little scaredy-cat and law-abiding. and i hate to stress the engine so much (though im sure it can tahan). i prefer to take in the sights and sounds of the surroundings at a lower cruising speed instead of whacking full throttle. :) no offence!

btw, just came home from a drive with the family up to Terengganu. Route 3 and Route 1 looks really nice to ride on. it was a pain with the MPV because i can't take the corners fast (passengers will end up vomiting! haha!) and pick-up to overtake is not that quick. should be more fun on two-wheels. day-trip to Mersing looks good too!

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

yeah earplugs changes the riding experience alot. i find it relaxing it cruise at 130-140 with earplugs. wont be so tired afterwards.

@duriandan i agree with you. different ppl different riding style. no worries. i guess to each his own. at least now u say how u ride, ppl knw whether they can tag along wif u or not. i confirm can't. im a little scaredy-cat and law-abiding. and i hate to stress the engine so much (though im sure it can tahan). i prefer to take in the sights and sounds of the surroundings at a lower cruising speed instead of whacking full throttle. :) no offence!

btw, just came home from a drive with the family up to Terengganu. Route 3 and Route 1 looks really nice to ride on. it was a pain with the MPV because i can't take the corners fast (passengers will end up vomiting! haha!) and pick-up to overtake is not that quick. should be more fun on two-wheels. day-trip to Mersing looks good too!

Mersing ride is nice! Can head North via Kota Tinggi, then return West via Jalan Mersing to Kluang. Or vice versa. Around 80km of country road, nice! :)

I also like to park bike at Mersing, take ferry over to Tioman or Rawang for a two days beach escapade, haha!

Wow! Terengganu drive you split up into two days, or just drove one entire day? Heard the Terengganu beaches are nice. If I did Terengganu it'll be Singapore - Cameron / Genting / Fraser's - Terengganu - Redang (two nights) - Terengganu - Cameron / Genting / Fraser's - Singapore. Wah, five days four nights...

Bro, I am considering buying maxsym 400i. Most of the time I ride with my wife. I understand if pillion sits close to the driver it will be more stable. But you have mentioned the seats distance of pillion? could you tell me little bit more about it?

Thanks rusty83!

I feel that the pillion seat is a bit too long and the rider backrest causes my pillion to sit even further behind. Hard for me to handle tight corners and slow lane splitting at jams. But when I ride alone everything is fine :D

Sent from my HTC EVO 3D X515m using Tapatalk 2

MaxSYM 400i (May 2013 onward)

Super Four (Jun 2010 - Present)

Yamaha YBR 125 (Feb 2009 - Jun 2010)

I travelled on Mersing Route 3 many many times when I went fishing at Sibu.

The roads is getting better on these years. You can stopby Kota Tinggi when you head North and at Desaru when return. It will take you only one day and the journey is nice and easy. Many nice food too

http://pics.homere.jmsp.net/t_24/101x80/031002_arc.gif

They are coming!(War Of the Worlds)

Bro, I am considering buying maxsym 400i. Most of the time I ride with my wife. I understand if pillion sits close to the driver it will be more stable. But you have mentioned the seats distance of pillion? could you tell me little bit more about it?

Thanks rusty83!

The pillion seat is humungous, and has bern quoted as the most comfortable bike pillion seat. The best pillion posture is resting on backrest, holding the side hand rails. As it's elevated from the front seat, viewing point is higher than big SUVs, which makes for very nice sightseeing. Yes, most lady pillions will not be able to both rest on backrest, and hold the shoulder of rider at the same time. It's either sit upright and hold rider, or rest on backrest, and hold handrails.

I travelled on Mersing Route 3 many many times when I went fishing at Sibu.

The roads is getting better on these years. You can stopby Kota Tinggi when you head North and at Desaru when return. It will take you only one day and the journey is nice and easy. Many nice food too

Yes, the roads are getting better, though you'll have to do some overtaking manoeuvres if you get stuck behind a big vehicle.

Thanks rusty83!

The rider backrest is quite big preventing ur pillion to sit close to u. Also the pillion seat is higher and the sitting position don't allow ur pillion to hug u. U can try sitting on it with ur wife at the bike shop to get a better idea.

Yes, the roads are getting better, though you'll have to do some overtaking manoeuvres if you get stuck behind a big vehicle.

Overtaking on those roads are really exciting..

Any bros using malossi engine oil? Went to AC and found out they don't bring in Eni (agip). Considering my options now. Suggestions? The Schaefer? Red line?

Got bike must ride!

SYM Maxsym 400i - 09/11/12 to current

Phantom TA200 - 07/08/09 to 09/11/12