[Discussion] Technical - Air Filter

Which Air Filter is better?  

370 members have voted

1. 1. Which Air Filter is better?

Until the whole filter become red? Just go one time per line? I suppose.

世上最é¥è¿œçš„è·ç¦»æ˜¯æˆ‘站在佪的é¢å‰ï¼Œ 佪å´ä¸çŸ¥é“我爱佪。

2000 to 2002 : HONDA NSR 125R FM 7541

2002 to 2006 : CBR 400 L MODEL FN 3561

2006 to 2007 : S4 SPEC II FW 2118

2007 to 2009: 92 Civic Esi SBU 7959

2009 to <Present> : Lancer Ex 1.5 (S)

• Replies 958

apply on the filter 'line by line' dun have to go through a few times... apply one time already just let the oil spread... it will cover then cover the whole filter slowly...

and dun over apply the oil... :smile:

http://img407.imageshack.us/img407/7720/dsc00157a.jpg

All Must Work Hard!

After installing KNN filter, I went to dyno test at Loois motor. My CO level at high RPM of 9k was extremely low, when compare to other bigger fuel injection bikes. This means better combustion due to the higher air flow capacity of the filter - which translate to better fuel economy. This explains why my FC at high rpm of 9k & 5k is about the same. I compute my FC while coming down from NShighway at 160km/hr with a average rpm of 9k.

John 15:7 (New International Version)

7 If you remain in me and my words remain in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you.

-- it's true & it really works for me. :)

Went to the website for Pipercross, did not see any CB400 SF models. Can fit meh? Any comments on this filter? Me changing air filter soon, but dunno which one is good and long lasting. How much?

Well the mess order seems like not moving leh...Needs 10 people before he starts his order. So if nothing by end of this month, I will remove my name from there.

Then comes another question, how good is PiperCross?

I have yet to cancel the MO order for BMC. But if PiperCross Performance and Maintenance is the same or better than BMC, might as well get it. :smile:

Originally posted by IvikaRazI@Dec 16 2006, 07:47 AM

Then comes another question, how good is PiperCross?

I have yet to cancel the MO order for BMC. But if PiperCross Performance and Maintenance is the same or better than BMC, might as well get it. :smile:

pipercross accordingly to mezzo, have better air flow den knn and bmc. as in went with friend to install his full micron system. and andrew says pipercross will gif better performance den knn. and no need to do dyno. duno true not? :confused:

|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||

|...BEER TRUCK..........| ||'|";, ___.

|_..._..._______===|=||_|__|..., ] -

"(@)'(@)"""''"**|(@)(@)*****''(@

given that S4's airbox design, no matter how good the filter is, the air box is no good.

the air intake pod is just below the tank. air flow is somewhat restricted. n worst of all, it takes in hot air when riding. i'm sure most riders will have this experience that at night, or windy day, the engine is smoother compared to a hot sunny day.

if not of space constraint, i oso wanna make an open pod for my bike.

unless we can do something like the attached pic...

air flow is better n the air sucked in is not as hot therefore making the bike feels lighter n throttle response is oso better...

thats my personal view of air filters... :smile:

tried mine with k&n and pipercross.. mine's on full..

felt a big difference once pipercross is installed..

anyway, PC ones are foam based, not paper based like k&n or BMC..

k&n filters after washing, cant use airgun to blow dry.. will spoilt the filter.. my friend's k&n waited almost 2 days to fully dry, then he oiled it..

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 16 2006, 12:35 PM

given that S4's airbox design, no matter how good the filter is, the air box is no good.

the air intake pod is just below the tank. air flow is somewhat restricted. n worst of all, it takes in hot air when riding. i'm sure most riders will have this experience that at night, or windy day, the engine is smoother compared to a hot sunny day.

if not of space constraint, i oso wanna make an open pod for my bike.

unless we can do something like the attached pic...

air flow is better n the air sucked in is not as hot therefore making the bike feels lighter n throttle response is oso better...

thats my personal view of air filters... :smile:

that alternative is good.. very good trottle response from the "open" filter..

nice sound too..

but fuel consumption will greatly increase..

Just wondering, where can I get PiperCross Air Filter? Is it only available at HKL? Any other shops preferably in the east selling this brand?

Originally posted by duckit@Dec 9 2006, 11:41 PM

Bro tot u order from R46 BMC alreadi ?

Tink BMC is good enuff already

yeah bro..i'm using BMC! :thumb:

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

Originally posted by sabbaha@Dec 18 2006, 02:22 AM

yeah bro..i'm using BMC! :thumb:

bro, later u free?

i come collect... pls drop me miss call...

Originally posted by s4vtec@Dec 18 2006, 03:27 AM

bro, later u free?

i come collect... pls drop me miss call...

nope..

sleeping

Some biker once said " If u haven't been to Gerik, U haven't been touring in Malaysia".

Originally posted by biting_point@Dec 16 2006, 10:43 PM

that alternative is good.. very good trottle response from the "open" filter..

nice sound too..

but fuel consumption will greatly increase..

not necessary high FC. good throttle response from the open pod is clean n cool air going into the combustion chamber so that makes the good throttle response. high FC is humans like us. once the throttle response is good, ur right wrist keeps on openning the throttle so FC is high lor. cos shoik wat.

btw, how much u got for the pipercross??