Ahhh small world eh, nice lunch.

Yes, I felt the same on the manual clutch too. Having ridden only scooters, my impression of bikes with manual gear is it will zoom off immediately when the throttle is twisted. That's how it felt with CB600F in driving school. Especially the low gears, use gear 1-3 only actually.

Once I was squeezing in slow traffic say about 70km/h in 5th(can't remember just example). Saw an opening and full throttle to go in. Engine no response for a while and then spool up slowly for a while and accelerate quickly later. I was like huh? Wah lau! never experience this on my 300cc scooter leh. My 300cc scooter twist only will spool up quickly and power linearly towards my intended objective.

I can't be in the wrong gear cause if wrong gear it will vibrate/struggle or have no power.

Anyway, i am also very please with the fuel consumption.

Some will say, "ride until so kang kaw just to save some fuel". Ha ha, true true but i bought the bike to be fuel frugal, low maintenance, 2 up, low heat, low running rpm, storage, Honda reliability, resale and last but not least ride longer(as in speeding kills).

halo, so didn't see any NC today. You kept your NC at home and road the downtown for lunch?

NC on SG road still ok. but if going up north on trunk road a bit scarily.. especially when you want to overtake cars.

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

Hi my fuel gauge, first bar drop at around 104km is it normal ? Still (running in) .

Think you have might have forgotten to reset ur fuel mileage after petrol top up.

halo, so didn't see any NC today. You kept your NC at home and road the downtown for lunch?

NC on SG road still ok. but if going up north on trunk road a bit scarily.. especially when you want to overtake cars.

Such type of bike you gonna play with manual gearing. I dont think the primarily design purpose of Dct is for such intention. If the bike has 6 gears. Normally 3-4 gear is for overtaking quickly. Of course rpm will be higher. But that is the whole idea of overtaking.

Yes i rode my scooter instead cause it's a kind of a kymco outing organize by Motorsport staff, although not bike specific.

Besides get to test out my newly changed belt. Got better mileage.

Forgot to change my nick after posting over at the scooter site. I try to use nick specific to the bike.

Trunk road have yet to try, highway already struggle to overtake. Not familiar with manual yet, use 6th gear to overtake ha ha. Doremi told me must drop gear to overtake. 6th is for overdrive.

To all ncx700 riders, would really need advice as I had already seen the previous posts that this bike had a very bad "power" issues..is it really that bad? Is it suitable for touring? Please advice coz planning to get this bike..

I asked that question before. One rider here ask me to look at versys.

Thanks Ticks for the fast reply, I got the same ans from my friends too. But got a little concern on the spare parts issue as i know that most of them got them from across the causeway. Though if it's a brand new bike.:).

this bike is not meant to be powerful powerful..

becoz everybody expectation is different..

maybe i can share what this bike is for...

it certainly have good torque from 0-120km for me.. according to specs max torque is at 4k rpm.. with 6.5k rpm red line.

3k rpm - 100km/h 6th gear

about 3.2k rpm will hit 110-120km/h

for touring.. again it depends on your riding kakis..

i have no issues with touring at avg 140-150 with occassion 160km/h for overtaking.. my riding kakis mostly rides adventure bikes that cruise between 140-200 depending. given our normal petrol stop breaks.. usually when i reached the petrol stations, they are making payment for their petrol.. so you get a sense of the time gap in the speed between you and the faster riders.

but if you are touring with those likes of FJR, STX etc..then perhaps nc7 might not be a good choice.. coz the travelling speed will be different..

i come from a fz6 who have more horsepower and top speed but i dun tour often.. maybe 3 times a year.. and even on my fz. i almost never hit 200km/h because i dun see the need to..

at the end of the day... nc7 is more a like a higher powered S4.. with awesome FC.. you cant really have something that have power, agility, fc, lower priced bike all in 1 package.. so do consider your requirements and options carefully.

(\__/)

(='.'=) This is Bunny. Paste bunny into

(")_(") your sig to help him gain world domination

;7920379']this bike is not meant to be powerful powerful..

it certainly have good torque from 0-120km for me.. according to specs max torque is at 4k rpm.. with 6.5k rpm red line.

i have no issues with touring at avg 140-150 with occassion 160km/h for overtaking.. my riding kakis mostly rides adventure bikes that cruise between 140-200 depending. given our normal petrol stop breaks.. usually when i reached the petrol stations, they are making payment for their petrol.. so you get a sense of the time gap in the speed between you and the faster riders.

but if you are touring with those likes of FJR, STX etc..then perhaps nc7 might not be a good choice.. coz the travelling speed will be different..

i come from a fz6 who have more horsepower and top speed but i dun tour often.. maybe 3 times a year.. and even on my fz. i almost never hit 200km/h because i dun see the need to..

at the end of the day... nc7 is more a like a higher powered S4.. with awesome FC.. you cant really have something that have power, agility, fc, lower priced bike all in 1 package.. so do consider your requirements and options carefully.

Thanks Wizard for the info, it really help me to reconsider on getting this bike and perhaps join for kopi sessions.

I asked that question before. One rider here ask me to look at versys.

If fuel consumption is not a problem.. or at least some decent fuel consumption.. Versys is the bike.. Good power and good handling..

If you are looking for a cheaper bike with storage and good consumption then NC will be the bike..

I choose NC over versys is mainly due to cheaper, better comsumption and storage..

Arai V-Cross2 Arai Rx7r3 Haga Arai Ram2 Arai Rx7r3 Conlin Edward Arai Rx7r3 Mick Doohan Arai Ram 2 Arai Rx7r4 Gunmetal Arai RX7r4 Shinaya Nakano Shoei X11 Kato Black Arai Ram 3 Gunmetal Arai Ram 3 Shoei Neotec Shoei J-cruise

KTM 200EXC Gilera Runner SP Aprilia RS250 Hornet 250 Gilera Runner Vxr Yamaha Yzf 05R6 Honda Wave 125 X9 Evo 200 SilverWing 400 Yamaha Tmax XP500 NC700XD STX C650GT

agree with you.. however, a higher powered Super4?? I think super 4 will have more power.. Because i remember Super 4 can hit 180 no problem.. but NC will have a problem..

I bought a Nc700x abs manual and rode the bike to Koh Samui.

This bike really has good handling, it corners well, but is not suitable for touring.

if you want good fuel consumption just ride in singapore. Once you open trottle on NSHW, I think a Hayabusa has better fuel consumption.

My reserve started blinking b4 I reach Pagoh travel at average speed of 150km/h (145 km hit reserve), I was really disappointed.

The top speed I managed with a leo vince pipe was 190km/h butI only managed it once (on a super long stretch of road slightly downslope). I can easily hit 190km/h on a super 4 anytime.

On full ball on normal roads max 170km/h to hit any speed above need to be slightly downslope.

670cc less power than a super four 400cc. really disappointed.

I would rather ride a super four to Thailand than this bike.

But riding just in Singapore, I really enjoy NC700x. good consumption great fun.

but touring on this bike. Never ever again for me.....

http://motorride.net/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/2012-Kawasaki-D-Tracker.jpg

thanks for sharing on the top end part.. personally i haven hit the top speed of this bike yet.. but now i know where it stand.

yup read previously that the fc gets bad when going at high speed..

not sure if anyone did a few trips at different speed to advise on the optimum speed before the fc starts to drop?

(\__/)

thanks for sharing on the top end part.. personally i haven hit the top speed of this bike yet.. but now i know where it stand.

yup read previously that the fc gets bad when going at high speed..

not sure if anyone did a few trips at different speed to advise on the optimum speed before the fc starts to drop?

(\__/)

This bike really has good handling, it corners well, but is not suitable for touring.

if you want good fuel consumption just ride in singapore. Once you open trottle on NSHW, I think a Hayabusa has better fuel consumption.

My reserve started blinking b4 I reach Pagoh travel at average speed of 150km/h (145 km hit reserve), I was really disappointed.

The top speed I managed with a leo vince pipe was 190km/h butI only managed it once (on a super long stretch of road slightly downslope). I can easily hit 190km/h on a super 4 anytime.

On full ball on normal roads max 170km/h to hit any speed above need to be slightly downslope.

But riding just in Singapore, I really enjoy NC700x. good consumption great fun.

didn't know at 150KM per hour the fuel consumption so bad...

Agree with you.. not a very good bike to tour.. especially the seat... hahaha...

I am on a leo vince slip on, with DNA air filter.. top speed i tried 160plus.. and the bike is crawling.. so did bother to full bore all the way.. kinda feel like waste of time.. ahha..

but i see youtube, there is one get hitting 190+..

well written couldn't agree more.

For me changing from VFR to NC is not about speed but the enjoyment of a ride.

To clear some doubt as to why Honda made a low power big bike for the market.

It's a fact that S4 out perform NC700 in performance and power to weight ratio.

Most would say that it's better off having a super4 instead which is lighter and faster.

Read from Internet that Honda made this bike for the Europe market.

Now Honda NC700 power reduced to 47bhp for the Europe New A2 licence.

(For UK)

FROM January 19, all new riders under 24 will have to spend time restricted to 47bhp with an A2 motorcycle licence before they can move onto a more powerful bike.

So basically if you are between 19-24YO, after passing the A2 licence, you can go and purchase the meanest and badest bike bike out there that's =>47bhp.

What would you get if you are still green? Most likely an NC cause it's the bike/scoot with the maximum allowable hp that young riders can get.

Some newbie will be intimidated with handling big bikes with manual and what do they do?

Get an automatic 47bhp bike that he/she can lay their hands on. And what better bike/scoot than a 47bhp Honda NC.

Why Honda cater to the European market and deprived us countries that are not restricted? Simply because (IMO) that Europe will be the biggest market as compared to other parts of the world combined?

In my opinion again as why Honda are not worried about not being able to sell their low powered NC in other parts of the world is simply because it's cheap to own, cheap to maintain, reliable, fuel savings and most importantly the DCT system.

I feel that NC700 are made for the DCT due to it's power band. Low down power that optimize gear changing to the lowest possible gearing at the lowest speed. Nissan GTR (that's the only car I know with DCT) changes from 1st to 6th gear at 60km/h already. Similar to the NC DCT.

As for manual shift, i have learn to shift shortly and quickly which felt very weird ha ha and before i know it i'm already in 6th and trying to shift to the next higher gear. Than i was like huh? Wah lau, how come cannot shift to 6th gear? Oh ok, bike already in 6th gear.

Taken from the web, bikes that are had their hp restricted to be ridden by A2 licence newbie.

FROM January 19, all new riders under 24 will have to spend time restricted to 47bhp with an A2 motorcycle licence before they can move onto a more powerful bike.

So here’s the first round up of bikes that can be ridden for the new 47bhp A2 licence test.

BMW

G650GS Used | New

Gilera

Fuoco 500 Used | New

Honda

NC700S Used | New

NC700X Used | New

Shadow Used | New

VT750S Used | New

Husqvarna

TR650 Strada and Terra (restricted) Used | New

TE449 Used | New

TE511 Used

Kawasaki

ER5 (restricted) Used

ER6-F (restricted) Used | New

ER6-N (restricted) Used | New

Versys (restricted) Used | New

VN900 (restricted) Used | New

W800 Used | New

KTM

Duke 690 (restricted) Used | New

Moto Guzzi

V7 Used | New

Suzuki

GSX650F (restricted) Used

SFV650Gladius (restricted) Used | New

SV650 (restricted) Used | New

VL800 (restricted) Used | New

VZ800 (restricted) Used

GS500 Used

Yamaha

MT-03 Used | New

TMAX Used | New

XT660R Used | New

XT660Z Tenere Used | New

YP400 Majesty Used | New

Will there be anyone keen in the DCT model? Was wondering how much can i fetch if i will to let go my 2 month old DCT.

Paid closed to 24k for everything.

Voltmeter -30

windshield - 280

Main stand - 150

handgurard -180

crashbar - 270

top rack - 220

Junior box - 400

Leo Vince exhaust- 1000

chian guard - 300

front extender - 40

DNA Air filter - 150

what speed you ride bro?

I reach pagoh on my last trip to Thailand traveling at 150km average (stock exhaust) still have about half tank left, but pull in cos friend R1 need to pump. I later pump at berdus linggi 260km on meter only 11.5 l.

average 23km/l. The whole journey to n back from Thailand cost around ringgit 150 on petrol.pump 92.

Edited by CKC

Just check Yamaha MT-03

worst off than NC700 no?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamaha_MT-03

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/83/Yamaha_MT-03.JPG

Manufacturer Yamaha

Production 2006–

Class Naked Bike

Engine 660 cc (40 cu in) liquid-cooled, 4-stroke, SOHC

Bore / Stroke 100.0 mm × 84.0 mm (3.94 in × 3.31 in)

Compression ratio 10.00:1

Top speed 160 km/h (99 mph)

Power 32.7 kW (43.9 hp) @ 6000 rpm

Torque 56.2 N·m (41.5 lb·ft) @ 5730 rpm

Transmission 5-speed, wet clutch, multiple-disc

Suspension Front: Telescopic forks

Rear: Swingarm (link suspension)

Brakes Front: dual 298 mm disc

Rear: single 245 mm disc

Rake, Trail 26° / 97 mm (3.8 in)

Wheelbase 1,420 mm (56 in)

Dimensions L 2,070 mm (81 in)

W 860 mm (34 in)

H 1,115 mm (43.9 in)

Seat height 805 mm (31.7 in)

Weight 175 kg (390 lb) (dry)

Fuel capacity 15 L (3.3 imp gal; 4.0 US gal)

Oil capacity 5 L (5.3 US qt)

Turning radius 2,225 mm (87.6 in)

Would people still buy? Of course

Would people make fun of it? Of course

Just check Yamaha MT-03

worst off than NC700 no?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Yamaha_MT-03

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/83/Yamaha_MT-03.JPG

Manufacturer Yamaha

Production 2006–

Class Naked Bike

Engine 660 cc (40 cu in) liquid-cooled, 4-stroke, SOHC

Bore / Stroke 100.0 mm × 84.0 mm (3.94 in × 3.31 in)

Compression ratio 10.00:1

Top speed 160 km/h (99 mph)

Power 32.7 kW (43.9 hp) @ 6000 rpm

Torque 56.2 N·m (41.5 lb·ft) @ 5730 rpm

Transmission 5-speed, wet clutch, multiple-disc

Suspension Front: Telescopic forks

Rear: Swingarm (link suspension)

Brakes Front: dual 298 mm disc

Rear: single 245 mm disc

Rake, Trail 26° / 97 mm (3.8 in)

Wheelbase 1,420 mm (56 in)

Dimensions L 2,070 mm (81 in)

W 860 mm (34 in)

H 1,115 mm (43.9 in)

Seat height 805 mm (31.7 in)

Weight 175 kg (390 lb) (dry)

Fuel capacity 15 L (3.3 imp gal; 4.0 US gal)

Oil capacity 5 L (5.3 US qt)

Turning radius 2,225 mm (87.6 in)

Would people still buy? Of course

Would people make fun of it? Of course

Quite nice. Never see rhe 660 before

Will there be anyone keen in the DCT model? Was wondering how much can i fetch if i will to let go my 2 month old DCT.

Paid closed to 24k for everything.

Voltmeter -30

windshield - 280

Main stand - 150

handgurard -180

crashbar - 270

top rack - 220

Junior box - 400

Leo Vince exhaust- 1000

chian guard - 300

front extender - 40

DNA Air filter - 150

wah so fast selling... i think the time you waited for the bike is longer than the time you riding it...

not considering riding for a year at least?

(\__/)

yup agreed

I do agree that i would ride other bike than NC to thailand. But haya will have better consumption at top speed? really? the last time i remember having best consumption maintaining 160/150 compared to s4, hornet, st and fjrs.