• Replies 140.5k

• wait4me

• lwfc

• MC28

• garfieldrox

if wd40 is tat bad, care to share wat u guys use?

see the below quotes from all around SBF.

WD40 is just a light solvent and oil, once it fling dries, there's nothing left. It is different from dry film lubricant like GT85 which still lubricates with the teflon it leaves behind. Still, a good chain lube/chain wax is better as it is blended with extreme pressure additives. WD40 itself has very poor extreme pressure and antiwear performance, not good for the sprockets.

Dun ever use WD40 on ur chain, it will damage the rubber rings on the chain, dun believe try it and see, does ur chain always getting loose easy. Kerosine is recommanded by DID, if u can afford than use any aftermarket chain cleaner. for example: Afam chain cleaner. I trust Maxima products better cos most of them i try works darm well!!! Best recommanded products.

wd40 is not meant for lubing your chain, get a proper chain lube. try rockoil or maxima etc..

or u can fit a scott oiler where it auto lube ur chain while u're on the move

WD40 will wreck your o-rings through time..get a proper chain cleaner. WTK chain cleaner is great. The use a proper lube like Belray or something else.

Dont be doing any cornering with WD40 on your tire....you will go down in a second. Slowly through time, take the bike over til it wears off.

When you clean your chain or lube it up...use a rag to cover your tire that is exposed to the spray to avoid this.

yup. indeed W4D will damage the rubber seal in the chains (both X or O rings)... use chain lub or chain oil to lub ur chain instead.

u can get a degreeser for removing the lub on the rims caused by the lub swinging off the chain onto the rims, it can be bought from bike shop but make sure do not use the degreeser on body paint work....

do not use petrol or diesel to wash ur chain as it will also degrade the rubber on the rings.

if u dun want to buy the degreeser, u can drop by my place in the west and get some from me. pls PM me if u want to get from me as i am having exams and will not be logging on that often here.

fellow bro and all...

i wana share something about WD40...

WD40 is a good agent if you wana use it to loose rusty screws, cleans off rust, protects metals from rust, loosen rusty bolts and nuts. it is made to "eat away" rusts.

WD40 is not a agent as a greaser to grease movable parts and bearings. at stated on the can itself, WD40 will "eat away" rusts.

from my past experience, if WD40 is being sprayed on chains and bearings, in the long run, WD40 will start to eat away the metal after eating away the rusts.

believe it or not, i jus wana share my knowledge on this.

thanks for reading and safe riding to all...

is GT85 and WD40 the same type of oil?? the kind tat corrode metal??

i was told WD40 can corrode and loosen the chain. The same reason u do not apply it on joint with screw(unless u wan to loosen it).

:thumb: to ur dad

WD40 is a DEGREASER not a lube! :/

anyway, EO wont last long. buy lube.......! as i said, AGL also use EO to lube ur chain one lor.. i think ur chain already ki chia :lol:

oh well! :x

Think your chain will be gone in no time. WD40 not suitable to clean chain be it x or o ring.

dun use WD40 coz it will corrode the linkages in ur chain. dun use petrol, coz its corrosive and expensive :D

anyway, either use engine oil to clean or diesel. Diesel will be a better choice beczuse it actually sort of 'melts' the dirt and watever dirty things tat are stucked at ur chain and will flow into the tray u put beneath while cleaning.

I cleaned my chain and helped 2 of my frens to clean their chains with diesel b4 at my house. they are happy now. one of them is The Fool aka fooz

kininininininininiinininnii

WD40 has got corrosive properties. NEVER use it on ur chain n sprockets.

It is bcos the WD40 wil act as a degreaser and eat up the oil in ur O-ring or X-ring. So instead of to make it better, u r damaging ur chain more.

Don't use WD40 on ur chain, I regret using it for my chain, it will become worst, dry and more rusty after sometime, better to use degeaser or kerosene to wash then apply chain wax/lube

and many more, im lazy to search and quote

in short, WD40 eats away the O-rings (or X-rings) of your chain and the chain itself, making the chain and joints brittle, contributing to greater wear and tear due to irregularity of individual bits and increasing the risk of the chain breaking while riding.

and you know what to expect if your chain breaks at 100km/h. good luck.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg
WD40!

good luck

hope your chain dont snap while riding

i just use todae..but issit ok to use liao after tat i wash it off den apply de maxima chaln wax?? after spraying de chain wif WD40 my chain look damm clean man..

http://img526.imageshack.us/img526/5813/221209track.jpg

up to ya own risks...

nobody stoppin ya frm using WD40.

juz an advice frm da old guys wif past experiences.

if ya still insist using it den so be it.

btw WD40 help to de-grease da chain.

so der will be no more oil or lubricant at da chain.

meaning it eat everythin even rust too..

frequent usage will make da chain metal thinner and brittle.

den go racing more 100km/h, den will fly like superman

good luck to me n my bros who are taking tp tml! hiak.

must thank my oc for indenting a harbour launch to send me back to sg! wee-o-wee

Good and bad is just the difference between perceptions.

must thank my oc for indenting a harbour launch to send me back to sg! wee-o-wee

weet weet. can sit fast craft liao. haha! :D

to maximise chain life, use Maxima GT-85 to clean your chain, followed by Maxima Chain Wax (brown in colour, does not fling AT ALL. as proven with my white racing boy rims) or Maxima Chain Guard (transparent in colour for those who like to see their bling bling gold chain clearly. but flings a little.).

GT-85 is DA BOMB. but it's freaking ex to use to clean chain. but if you've the money, why not. :D it removes the stains on your sprockets even better than WD-40.

indent fast craft just for you???

cmon man, he probably just slot you into one of the regular fast craft time slots from TMFT to SFT

and tekong is part of sg, so technically speaking you are not coming back to sg because you are already in sg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v56/flykite/futurerp.jpg

Anyone knows where to buy the fuel adjusting knob? The black plastic knob that can switch between reserve, off and on. My whole knob drop while riding sia...

i nv bothr to clean my chain. i only lube it. to me, its a waste of my effort to clean the chain.

studying in sin poly. last and final year.

oh.. i still first yr in rp lo.. hope i can buy bike after i get my license.. if not everydae tak bus frm tamp to woodlands can die sia.. hahax..

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

Ride safely. Be courteous. =)
oh.. i still first yr in rp lo.. hope i can buy bike after i get my license.. if not everydae tak bus frm tamp to woodlands can die sia.. hahax..

All the best...Good Luck:thumb:

:):)

flykite, my tp on 25 sept.. hahaha...

just enrolled today.. :)

Honda NSR 150 - FS4329E, 18 Oct 2005 - 27 Jul 2006