Adiva ad3

parotae

AD3 wheelbase is 1550mm, MP3 wheelbase is 1488mm. Adiva is slightly wider to comply to Europe's car regulation. Heard in Europe that they allowed riding AD3 with car license.

Overall width of AD3 is 10mm lesser then AD200, so I don't think there is much problem to lane splitting.

Quadro coming to Singapore? Anyway, Quadro 4D will never pass as motorcycle in Singapore.

Quadro 4D was supposed to be in production end of last year. But it's been delayed till Fall 2013. So by the time it comes (if it ever makes it here), it'll be earliest next year.

"---- Still trying to lose weight ----"

Class 2B: 20 Oct 2011

Class 2A: 04 Jan 2013

Class 2: 01 Apr 2014

Class 3: 05 Mar 2012

Class 4: 24 Mar 2015

PPCDL: 06 Sept 2012

• Replies 559

I have seen some ang mor riding a 4 wheeler but i just wonder how is he gonna finding parking space for it? Park in car lots?

it would be weird to classify that as car and its gonna burn some pockets if that happens... ERP, parking, road tax... haha

Which 4 wheeler are you talking about?

The Quadro 4D has the same width as the Piaggio MP3, so parking and lane splitting shouldn't be a problem. I think it's also fitted with a reverse gear too, as the whole scoot weighs 240kg. It's also shaft driven. It's estimated to cost from 9,000 Euros, while the 3 wheeler Quadro 3D is already on sale in Europe from 7,000 Euros.

I have seen some ang mor riding a 4 wheeler but i just wonder how is he gonna finding parking space for it? Park in car lots?

it would be weird to classify that as car and its gonna burn some pockets if that happens... ERP, parking, road tax... haha

If it's classified as car, that means it'll incur CAT A COE, 100% ARF, 20% Custom Duty, etc.

Anyways, the AD3 gets the Kymco Downtown 300i engine. There has been mixed reactions on the reliability of the Downtown 300i engine. Some owners are happy with the performance and fuel consumption, although there are also some with really problematic issues (irregular idling rpm, cracked clutch bell, belt replacement despite claiming kevlar material, still at 20k km intervals). Seems that Kymco Taiwan can't seem to pick up faulty products that made into production.

That said, QC is still something all companies are trying to get it right 100%, but as we all know, nothing is perfect in this world. So it's still a 50/50 chance of getting a problematic VS no-problem engine on the AD3.

I know all these cos my previous ride was a Downtown 125i. Fortunately, mine didn't have much issues besides the steering cone coming lose at 13,000km mileage.

Quadro 4D was supposed to be in production end of last year. But it's been delayed till Fall 2013. So by the time it comes (if it ever makes it here), it'll be earliest next year.

What I tried to say was; LTA unlikely will allowed Quadro 4D to be register as motorbike in Singapore.

Anyways, the AD3 gets the Kymco Downtown 300i engine. There has been mixed reactions on the reliability of the Downtown 300i engine. Some owners are happy with the performance and fuel consumption, although there are also some with really problematic issues (irregular idling rpm, cracked clutch bell, belt replacement despite claiming kevlar material, still at 20k km intervals). Seems that Kymco Taiwan can't seem to pick up faulty products that made into production.

That said, QC is still something all companies are trying to get it right 100%, but as we all know, nothing is perfect in this world. So it's still a 50/50 chance of getting a problematic VS no-problem engine on the AD3.

I know all these cos my previous ride was a Downtown 125i. Fortunately, mine didn't have much issues besides the steering cone coming lose at 13,000km mileage.

BMW also uses Kymco engine. Piaggio engine received tonnes of complaints as well. Quadro is Taiwanese product. Toyoda, Honda, Nissan all had millions of recall.

What is the agenda here?

Which 4 wheeler are you talking about?

The Quadro 4D has the same width as the Piaggio MP3, so parking and lane splitting shouldn't be a problem. I think it's also fitted with a reverse gear too, as the whole scoot weighs 240kg. It's also shaft driven. It's estimated to cost from 9,000 Euros, while the 3 wheeler Quadro 3D is already on sale in Europe from 7,000 Euros.

Not sure of the exact model, but it sure does ressemble GG quadster.gg_quadster.jpg

Not sure of the exact model, but it sure does ressemble GG quadster.[ATTACH=CONFIG]276353[/ATTACH]

I believed you see wrongly. In Singapore, the closer bike looks like GG Quadster is Can Am Spyder which is a 3 wheelers. And I don't think there is any ang mor owner in Singapore.

Edited by Andre

What I tried to say was; LTA unlikely will allowed Quadro 4D to be register as motorbike in Singapore.

BMW also uses Kymco engine. Piaggio engine received tonnes of complaints as well. Quadro is Taiwanese product. Toyoda, Honda, Nissan all had millions of recall.

What is the agenda here?

BMW uses Kymco engine cos they are new to scooter market.

I thought Quadro is an italian/ french product, but using Piaggio engine.

Yes, Piaggio engines used to be problematic, but I guess they're alright now.

Yeap, even japanese and korean and even german brands conduct recalls and all. But I dun remember Kymco conducting recalls among my other Kymco khakis. It's just a matter of "Dun worry. Anything spoil, I'll take picture and send back to Kymco Taiwan. Hopefully in exchange for the part".....

Hope AD3 won't get such aftersales services =D

Probably you have no done enough research.

1) BMW started research on scooter more then 20 years ago. C1 was produced and sales in the market in yr 2000.

2) Yes, Quadro is a Italy/French make in Taiwan product. There were 2 guys tour the world with Quadro.

http://modernvespa.com/forum/topic85581

http://www.taiwantrade.com.tw/MAIN/en_front/searchserv.do?method=listNewsDetail&information_id=37882&locale=2

3) Piaggio has started producing engine from Taiwan.

Knowing their after sales reputation, that's why I booked the AD3 through dealer.

In fact, how many agents/distributors in Singapore really provide good after sales services?

Edited by Andre

Probably you have no done enough research.

1) BMW started research on scooter more then 20 years ago. C1 was produced and sales in the market in yr 2000.

2) Yes, Quadro is a Italy/French make in Taiwan product. There were 2 guys tour the world with Quadro.

http://modernvespa.com/forum/topic85581

http://www.taiwantrade.com.tw/MAIN/en_front/searchserv.do?method=listNewsDetail&information_id=37882&locale=2

3) Piaggio has started producing engine from Taiwan.

Knowing their after sales reputation, that's why I booked the AD3 through dealer.

In fact, how many agents/distributors in Singapore really provide good after sales services?

Piaggio also has China produced bikes and engines like the Fly 150.

I will support Chinese made products rather than Taiwanese if it were my money. Seriously.

I get the sneaking suspicion that Taiwanese just can't be bothered. At least the Chinese are bothered to improve their QC with each new model and at least they're making products to sell. The Taiwanese? Well, ok, maybe the new SYM products like the new JoyMax 300i and MaxSym 400i can be credited.

I really hope your AD3 when it arrives will be problem free motoring, and not a lemon.

Based on the track record of first batch of AD150 and first batch of AD200, I don't expect the first batch of AD3 to be problem free.

I don't mind there are some glitches but hopefully it is not a lemon.

Let's find it out in 2-3 months time. I'll be the guinea pig anyway..lol

Based on the track record of first batch of AD150 and first batch of AD200, I don't expect the first batch of AD3 to be problem free.

My Kymco Downtown 300 Engine after 20,000km and max speed the engine time to time up north still swee swee.

Top speed take some time now from 130km/h to 140km/h 2 up. Maybe time to change belt.

Started using Semi Ipone 15.5 (15W50) and fuel consumption and power seems to be V.good.

Initially got some hiccups but after 8mth, the problems seem to disappear.

There is this symptoms of dead spot between 40km/h to 60km/h but its gone now.

Steering cone spoilt as in there is this centering effect, not coming loose like topgearalwaysrock mention. It doesn't come loose. It's just that the factory tighten it more for a heavier steering. Cause after i loosen it myself, the steering felt too light and seems dangerous as the steering will react to the slightest road irregularities. Since AD3 will be using a different frame hence a different geometry and parts, so no worry there.

Engine so far swee swee. Acceleration can feel the grunt.

Hi Andre,

Thank for your feed back i was wondering your Ex.bike (AD2) running at 100km or 110km in ECP what is the vibration level like with the roof clip on ? is it shakey ?

( Goober Scooter Rider. )

http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm189/siriusjones/scooter.jpg

My normal cruising speed was 90-100km/h.

Doing 100km/h or 110km/h for AD200 is quite comfortable. Not much vibration, roof is not shaky.

Only a bit worry about the cross wind. Sometime I felt it veered off course by the wind, may be was psychological.

So far, haven't try riding without the roof. May be with the roof store in the trunk will be more stable.

My Kymco Downtown 300 Engine after 20,000km and max speed the engine time to time up north still swee swee.

Top speed take some time now from 130km/h to 140km/h 2 up. Maybe time to change belt.

Started using Semi Ipone 15.5 (15W50) and fuel consumption and power seems to be V.good.

Initially got some hiccups but after 8mth, the problems seem to disappear.

There is this symptoms of dead spot between 40km/h to 60km/h but its gone now.

Steering cone spoilt as in there is this centering effect, not coming loose like topgearalwaysrock mention. It doesn't come loose. It's just that the factory tighten it more for a heavier steering. Cause after i loosen it myself, the steering felt too light and seems dangerous as the steering will react to the slightest road irregularities. Since AD3 will be using a different frame hence a different geometry and parts, so no worry there.

Engine so far swee swee. Acceleration can feel the grunt.

Joined Magdago 30th Anniversary Ride to Malacca last year. Was surprised the Kymco 300 can do 140km/h all the way from GP to Malacca...:thumb:

Why are you surprised? Even SYM JoyMax 300i also can do 140kph. And that's 283cc VS 299cc on the Downtown 300i!

Check this out:

Downtown 300i can even top 170kph. So why are our models here restricted?

*I also joined Magdago with their KL Xpo ride last Feb on my DT125i. Did 110-120kph all the way oso.

Haha. Don't ever look down on scooters.

I haven't actually wanted other kinds of bikes, especially for riding in the city. Loving my 2005 Yamaha Majesty 400 everyday!

Hi Andre,

Thanks for the info given and clear off my worries. i used to rode H.Wave in ECP and When the heavy wind came my bike can goes off track.

My normal cruising speed was 90-100km/h.

Doing 100km/h or 110km/h for AD200 is quite comfortable. Not much vibration, roof is not shaky.

Only a bit worry about the cross wind. Sometime I felt it veered off course by the wind, may be was psychological.

So far, haven't try riding without the roof. May be with the roof store in the trunk will be more stable.

( Goober Scooter Rider. )

http://i296.photobucket.com/albums/mm189/siriusjones/scooter.jpg

Strong wind can sweep any bike off course.. including Goldwing..o_O

Just ride safely and carefully when on top of ECP/ Benjamin Sheares bridge. Even driving pass there will feel the cross wind too.

Nah, never look down at scooter. Gilera 200 can out run many bigger bikes at traffic junction.

I love to ride scooter too. Relax and convenience. Will no get wet feet on wet road. :)

Plenty of storage.

After last year's Malacca trip, I'm seriously considering to get a big scooter for touring..

Nah, never look down at scooter. Gilera 200 can out run many bigger bikes at traffic junction.

I love to ride scooter too. Relax and convenience. Will no get wet feet on wet road. :)

Plenty of storage.

After last year's Malacca trip, I'm seriously considering to get a big scooter for touring..

Ha ha ha, yes some of them go very fast especially the ah pek. Don't play play ok :D

400cc more than enough in my opinion, can go up to 170km/h if really want to push.

Relax, comfort, loads of underseat storage, wind protection, rain protection, pillion comfort and etc.

Wah Adiva pillion sure shiok shiok got shelter and back rest. Add some entertainment system and its good to go long distance ha ha.