Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

Anyone here use broquet?

I'm still undecided either to buy or not! haiz

http://img237.imageshack.us/img237/4260/dsc00054rn2.jpg

Above Kawasaki Z1000 Sporty StreetFighter for Sale!

Pm me for more info. Thanks.

• Replies 2.6k

Originally posted by raz@Feb 27 2005, 09:25 PM

tried open VTEC all the way//// 217km - 13litre

~16.6km/litre

WOW !!! u went touring again ?? quite high consumption...

Originally posted by NoobVtec2@Feb 28 2005, 12:03 PM

Anyone here use broquet?

I'm still undecided either to buy or not! haiz

if u think is worthwhile then dun be disturbed by other ppl's comments... surely some will say gd some will give negative comments, remember... its u paying the money... :goodluck:

Originally posted by Turbo08@Mar 1 2005, 10:29 AM

WOW !!! u went touring again ?? quite high consumption...

just realised that y bike cannot use petronas.... mileage nt good ... 130km ard half tank gone (normal cruising).......

vpower n shell98 best.

'02~'13 ::: RXK, SP, Daystar, TA150, S4 VtecII, Nissan March, VtecIII, R6, Dr200SEY, VerS, F650GS, HayabusaY2K, Honda Fit, Gilera Runner180FXR, toyota vios, DR200SES, BlackMax

NOW ::: DR200SE, Versys, Mitsubishi Lancer

Originally posted by raz@Mar 1 2005, 10:43 AM

just realised that y bike cannot use petronas.... mileage nt good ... 130km ard half tank gone (normal cruising).......

vpower n shell98 best.

hmmm...

i feel petronas gives pretty good mileage among all the petrol in m'sia. however, i'm not one who is particularly concerned about mileage, because how u ride affects the mileage a lot too.

i dunno how to compare it against vpower and shell98 in s'pore, haven't use sg petrol yet :cheeky:

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by raz@Mar 1 2005, 10:43 AM

vpower n shell98 best.

maybe its the "ingredient" not suitable for s4... i tried jb mobil (izzit F1 ?? i forgotten) & the mileage is quite gd...

Sg vpower -- 280km b4 reserve

Sg shell98 -- 300++km b4 reserve

Sg mobil 8000 -- still testing

Jb mobil -- 320++km b4 reserve

Jb vpower -- 300++km b4 reserve

seems like mileage difference is not v great & power wise no much difference... Not sure abt u guys ??

Originally posted by PaLmEr@Mar 1 2005, 10:35 AM

i tried before vtec open all the way from petrol station to refuel. 150 reserve liao! :giddy:

Wah !! u power ... cant remember my experience on consumtion when open vtec all the way :giddy: but u open vtec & maintain at wat rpm & speed??

Originally posted by Turbo08@Mar 1 2005, 11:15 AM

seems like mileage difference is not v great & power wise no much difference... Not sure abt u guys ??

imho... there's no real way of measuring mileage unless u monitor it over a long period of time. short term wise, mileage difference is insignificant and even if its present, u cannot attribute it to the petrol alone. becos each time u ride, u do it differently based on bike condition, road condition, etc... which in turn results in vastly different mileage readings.

so in conclusion... juz use the brand u personally prefer.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by floppy@Mar 1 2005, 11:10 AM

hmmm...

i feel petronas gives pretty good mileage among all the petrol in m'sia. however, i'm not one who is particularly concerned about mileage, because how u ride affects the mileage a lot too.

i dunno how to compare it against vpower and shell98 in s'pore, haven't use sg petrol yet :cheeky:

i tried petronas for my phantom... better than vpower... maybe its wat u said... its the "ingredient" that is not suitable for s4

'02~'13 ::: RXK, SP, Daystar, TA150, S4 VtecII, Nissan March, VtecIII, R6, Dr200SEY, VerS, F650GS, HayabusaY2K, Honda Fit, Gilera Runner180FXR, toyota vios, DR200SES, BlackMax

NOW ::: DR200SE, Versys, Mitsubishi Lancer

Originally posted by Turbo08@Mar 1 2005, 11:18 AM

Wah !! u power ... cant remember my experience on consumtion when open vtec all the way :giddy: but u open vtec & maintain at wat rpm & speed??

all the way in the neighbourhood of 9.5-12.5K RPM ba :sleep:

Originally posted by floppy@Mar 1 2005, 11:23 AM

imho... there's no real way of measuring mileage unless u monitor it over a long period of time. short term wise, mileage difference is insignificant and even if its present, u cannot attribute it to the petrol alone. becos each time u ride, u do it differently based on bike condition, road condition, etc... which in turn results in vastly different mileage readings.

so in conclusion... juz use the brand u personally prefer.

for ur info... i hav been using vpower ever since i finish my run-in... Now mileage at 22k. Only pump other petrol when im in "desperate" need or out of country. Only recently pump mobil because of the stupid ruling shell & the ocassional price increase from shell.

So for abt 80% of my travel is using vpower & average mileage at 280km b4 reserve... When i went jb a few times to pump their mobil, my consistent mileage of 280km changed... Tats y i said theres a difference in the "ingredients" used.

Originally posted by PaLmEr@Mar 1 2005, 01:02 PM

all the way in the neighbourhood of 9.5-12.5K RPM ba :sleep:

:giddy: in the neighbourhood ?? :faint: u really power :thumb: hmm... i wonder the way u ride of dragging up & down & maintaining at 12k rpm, the difference will it be huge ??

Originally posted by raz@Mar 1 2005, 11:32 AM

i tried petronas for my phantom... better than vpower... maybe its wat u said... its the "ingredient" that is not suitable for s4

i never say abt petronas ... :faint: But like i said, the "ingredients" in different petrol will affect different type of vehicles or bikes.

Originally posted by Turbo08@Mar 1 2005, 01:10 PM

:giddy: in the neighbourhood ?? :faint: u really power :thumb: hmm... i wonder the way u ride of dragging up & down & maintaining at 12k rpm, the difference will it be huge ??

peak power @ 11k

Originally posted by PaLmEr@Mar 1 2005, 01:15 PM

peak power @ 11k

ops... i meant the petrol consumption... But do u notice tat if u change ur exhaust, the peak is different already??

Originally posted by Turbo08@Mar 1 2005, 01:12 PM

i never say abt petronas ... :faint: But like i said, the "ingredients" in different petrol will affect different type of vehicles or bikes.

yes... different "ingredients" affect different vehicles...

but the most consistently inconsistent "ingredient" that actually affects consumption more than the other "ingredients" is the rider/driver. which is why, a topic like this never generate a definite conclusion.

War is Peace.

Freedom is Slavery.

Ignorance is Strength.

Originally posted by floppy@Mar 1 2005, 03:07 PM

yes... different "ingredients" affect different vehicles...

but the most consistently inconsistent "ingredient" that actually affects consumption more than the other "ingredients" is the rider/driver. which is why, a topic like this never generate a definite conclusion.

:nono: :slapforehead: do u noe tat im not comparing wif other riders or vehicles ?? im comparing wif my own way of using different petrol... My riding style hav not changed & its been consistent all the while be it vpower or other petrol... Tats y i said different petrol affect different vehicles/bikes... :sian:

sorry, off topic!!!

can some one explain to mi, wat is open vtec?

how did you know whether open or close!!!

any one pls!!!

NEW TO SUPER 4

Originally posted by wenhui@Mar 1 2005, 08:58 PM

sorry, off topic!!!

can some one explain to mi, wat is open vtec?

how did you know whether open or close!!!

any one pls!!!

similar to bikes tat hav valves like sp/kr/tzm etc... just tat s4 is vtec technology... once rpm hits the timing, vtec open lor... Sound oso different... :smile:

Originally posted by wenhui@Mar 1 2005, 11:13 PM

hear that the timing rpm is 6300. am i right?

Vtec - 6700rpm

SpecII - 6300rpm

Spec III - 6750rpm

Originally posted by Kushinagar@Mar 1 2005, 11:29 PM

Vtec - 6700rpm

SpecII - 6300rpm

Spec III - 6750rpm

ehh.... theres 2 timing for spec 3... 1st 5 gear at 6250 & 6th gear @ 6750rpm... :smile: