Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

Originally posted by Ah_Pek@Oct 28 2006, 12:59 PM

ya..that wat i thought so 2...so when i still c a bit of petrol...i thought it will still b able to move.....

spark plugs seemed ok since i m able to ride rite after i pump in petrol..

wonder wat could b the case....

bro..maybe try to see a mech to see ur reserve knob where 2 fuel tubes were connected to it...the RESERVE hole or host maybe faulty...do check since above were mentioned by you where plugs wasnt the problem.

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k175/des_child75/signature/watermark.jpg

Ink and Needles is where i feels my pain...I am a 60km/h rider so don't horn at me ... ...

• Replies 2.6k

My spec 3 can always go at least 340 bfore reserved. Best ever was 370 before reserved. Total tried up to 430++ abd only pump 17l litre like that. Opened V-tec ocassionally. Anyway, average is 350 before reserved. All bikers here, Ride safe always......

Ride Safe Always.

Mine fully stock spec 3. Hit highest 23.5km/l. Riding style rpm 6 at xpressway. Or 80-90km/hr most of the time. Guess the tire do plays alot for this FC issue.

FC goes high when ur tires r low pressure which makes the bike travels more sluggish. Therefore I oways pump once within 2 weeks.

Now my FC remains at this level, unless i on & off play wif it. Last but nt least i seldom drag more den rpm 4 in 1st 5 gears. Only drag when 6th gear. Dun kinda lyk to play pickup.

http://i104.photobucket.com/albums/m200/wsrider/JAMES.jpg

"Life is bored enough, juz follow the feel & enjoy the life..." Cheers! :cheers:

i at least open vtec once a day during cruising. i dun play pickup cos pickup will consume more petrol.

so roughly i get a FC 21-23km/l for my vtec 1.

cheers...

information given by mechanic....

My chain 1 yr in few days time... i havent tighten it yet and look like no need to tighten oso hahaha... when to KL n back wif it still looks gd man.

Life Is Never Fair.

Some pple slog for the paper in their wallet.

Some slog to feed the paper to the pple w/o the wallet.

Originally posted by episode2@Oct 30 2006, 12:13 AM

bro..maybe try to see a mech to see ur reserve knob where 2 fuel tubes were connected to it...the RESERVE hole or host maybe faulty...do check since above were mentioned by you where plugs wasnt the problem.

If he has blinking LEDs as fuel indicator...

i do not think he has a fuel "c***" that can be switched to reserve or main....

Spec 2 - 380km

but only one time nia

-Never open Vtec at all

-Never exceed 6 on RPM

-MSCP use slope go down with engine on.. but Netural Gear,(Warm up bike)

-When Traffic Light is Red, Set to netural let is slowly roll to the traffic there

-really empty tank till need to push bike..(need to push around 2km to petrol station)

Thats the limit la and its intentionly done.

if not

Normal

is 290 - 320km for me..

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v458/jazky/leahbanner01vt4wd8.jpg
Originally posted by William Tan@Nov 2 2006, 07:23 PM

If he has blinking LEDs as fuel indicator...

i do not think he has a fuel "c***" that can be switched to reserve or main....

my spec I hit reserve at about 350km,ride 90km/hr ,top-up 17 litre.ever try top-up 19 litre .

this is my personal views bro ,

my previous bike was a steed and it doesn't have fuel gauge, so i always use the mileage to gauge when i have to pump petrol.

apparently, this habit is still with me , i still pay attention to how many bars i have in my petrol tank relative to the distance i have travelled .

eg:

when one bar starts to disappear and finally disappear ( betw 135 -150km)

when two bar starts to disappear (betw 190-200)

when third bar starts to disappear ( between 230-240)

when fourth bar starts to disappear( betwwen 270-280)

when 5th bar starts to disappoear (around300)

and then i know i'm left with my last bar and roughly ard slightly 4litres of petrol.

all the above gauging is my personal exp bros, based on pumping ur petrol really near to the bream........and travelling ard 90km/h-100km/h

my 2 cents bro

color=red]For our sins.........................HooAH[/color]

Originally posted by jazky@Nov 22 2006, 09:03 AM

Spec 2 - 380km

but only one time nia

-Never open Vtec at all

-Never exceed 6 on RPM

-MSCP use slope go down with engine on.. but Netural Gear,(Warm up bike)

-When Traffic Light is Red, Set to netural let is slowly roll to the traffic there

-really empty tank till need to push bike..(need to push around 2km to petrol station)

Thats the limit la and its intentionly done.

if not

Normal

is 290 - 320km for me..

hey bro i would like to noe is it 320km den hit reserve?

or full tank?

when there's a WHEEL...

there's a way...

Pick up do reallu comsume alot of petrol.. Last time i alway travel 30km to work and 30km home on PIE.. My full tank can easyily 360 to 370km no worry..

Now hor... work at woodland.. gt so many traffic lite.. at least will confirm kana 10 to 15 traffic lite.. now.. i 300km reserve liao.. so sianz..

I still do a full servicing last mth due to wanana go inspection... Haiz...

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg

Pick up do reallu comsume alot of petrol.. Last time i alway travel 30km to work and 30km home on PIE.. My full tank can easyily 360 to 370km no worry..

Now hor... work at woodland.. gt so many traffic lite.. at least will confirm kana 10 to 15 traffic lite.. now.. i 300km reserve liao.. so sianz..

I still do a full servicing last mth due to wanana go inspection... Haiz...

http://i8.photobucket.com/albums/a49/king_ziege/Biker%20gers/board_headerEdited.jpg

qtn to ask

as per my odo and fuel guage, i hit 260 and went into reserve..

then additional 17 km b4 i pump back to full

but i only pumped 14.5 to full tank

wat does tt mean?

tt my fuel guage is not functioning properly?

or tt by perception of full tank is not a full tank?

i pumped till the petrol touches the lower metalic thinggy above the base of the fuel tank

i just don't have enough middle fingers....

- someone from SAF

Nov 2003 - May 2005 RxZ '93

May 2005 - Nov 2006 Daelim Magma '02

Nov 2006 - Oct 2009 S4 V-tech II '00

Oct 2009 - Aug 2010 W124 E200 '93

Aug 2010 - Date Getz 1.4 '06

17km after hitting reserve ur fuel tank empty meh???? Cannot be la....

Smelly smelly can hit ard 50+ or 60+ km b4 empty tank....

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg
Originally posted by Flaky_Boi@Dec 10 2006, 01:33 PM

17km after hitting reserve ur fuel tank empty meh???? Cannot be la....

Smelly smelly can hit ard 50+ or 60+ km b4 empty tank....

bro, i meant tt i rode for another 17 click b4 i reach a mobil to pump oil...

- someone from SAF

Ya, so wads so surprising abt jux pumpin 14.5l??? The rest r ur reserve petrol ma...... BRO~~~

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg
Originally posted by Flaky_Boi@Dec 10 2006, 01:39 PM

Ya, so wads so surprising abt jux pumpin 14.5l??? The rest r ur reserve petrol ma...... BRO~~~

sniff sniff... jumping at the high fc...:cry:

- someone from SAF

mine goes 300km including reserve!!! how come? i know i am fat and heavy i am 90kg but shouldn't be so bad right? wat could be the problem? bad fuel from jb? i never whack some more and warm up 2-3min before move off especially when from cold in the morning. engine oil too thick?

any bros can pls help?

HELLO!!! HELLO!!! WE ARE THE ARSENAL BOYS!!!!

did u service ur bike??pls check ur engine oil, air filter, spark plugs, if necessary, service n tune carb.

Mine also erratic...If I change gear at 3000rpm from gear 1 thru 6 (method 1), one litre can travel about 25km....But if I change gear at 4500rpm or above (method 2), one litre can go as low as 20km travelled only...If I use method 1, it means hogging the traffic...I believe very few people do that....it's too slow for pick up...But if use method 2, my fuel consumption suffers....:cry:

I've tried servicing & tuning my carburetor at Planet, using Revtec, change coolant (Maxima), change air & oil filter regularly blah blah blah also no use....I give up liao....:cheeky:

Life is a journey...keep on walking

the main cause of poor fuel consumption is normally engine oil, air filter n spark plugs. if not, then carb tuning not good or the needles defective.

even worn bearings, front n rear, dry n worn chain, worn sprocket, tyre not enough air pressure, soft suspension, all can contribute to poor fuel consumption.

Originally posted by skateboy@Dec 11 2006, 08:56 PM

the main cause of poor fuel consumption is normally engine oil, air filter n spark plugs. if not, then carb tuning not good or the needles defective.

even worn bearings, front n rear, dry n worn chain, worn sprocket, tyre not enough air pressure, soft suspension, all can contribute to poor fuel consumption.

I change my air filter, engine oil and spark plugs regularly...carburetor also tuned & serviced liao...lube my chain every week...change sprocket and chain but still, finding a low fuel consumption seems elusive...:weep:

Life is a journey...keep on walking

that i can't help already... did u ask the mech wat prob is ur bike having that cause the high fuel consumption??

I have no problem travelling for 400km with my full tank if i travel 90 - 100

If i speed all da way 120 - 160 can only go 200++ km

Im only using Semi engine oil

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs160.snc1/5969_132325762781_632277781_3118071_4563982_n.jpg
Originally posted by ArsenalBoi@Dec 11 2006, 06:16 AM

mine goes 300km including reserve!!! how come? i know i am fat and heavy i am 90kg but shouldn't be so bad right? wat could be the problem? bad fuel from jb? i never whack some more and warm up 2-3min before move off especially when from cold in the morning. engine oil too thick?

any bros can pls help?

pls cfm with this first b4 u goes any more further..do u top up till BRIM of ur tank?Wait a while more and top up more..it can goes additional 2-3 litres after the first CLICK if i wasnt wrong..check it out again with those superb full tank and test it again..if this issnt the problem..den seek to those advises stated in here..

http://i88.photobucket.com/albums/k175/des_child75/signature/watermark.jpg

Ink and Needles is where i feels my pain...I am a 60km/h rider so don't horn at me ... ...