Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?  

569 members have voted

1. 1. Which type of s4 has the best fuel consumption?

My stock spec 1 hitting 350 to 360 and then reserve.. Tried 410 km

and pump.. Could pump in abt 17.6l only.. So a rough estimate would be abt

420km then empty.. This mileage was clocked with whacking vtec for a gd 30km

• Replies 2.6k

Hmm... So consider mine at 350km hit reserve okay lah? :angel: My riding style is Mon-Fri never exceed 100km/hr. Weekends, never exceed 120km/hr. Hehe... Safety rider mah...:angel:

so the 100km/hr = Vtec open?

you can hit so much, mine 300km = 15L already. :sian: also riding 100km/h

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c99/fluzzy_flu/Junkies/bff.jpg

HELP! My FC is killing me! I'm riding Vtec III. Past 2 weeks, I can go like normal 340+km hit reserve. Now it's 180-200km then left 1 bar. I inspect my bike, no leakage or whatsoever. And I hardly whack on the road. Please help!

http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu205/ainyan090407/LVInfernalWar.jpg

http://i648.photobucket.com/albums/uu205/ainyan090407/3583_photo.jpg

Erm, have u checked tyre pressure?? Anytg u just installed to ur bike tat consumes battery.. Believe it or nt, riding wit ur headlite off can save u some mileage..

Dun flame me, my buddy told me..

so the 100km/hr = Vtec open?

you can hit so much, mine 300km = 15L already. :sian: also riding 100km/h

HELP! My FC is killing me! I'm riding Vtec III. Past 2 weeks, I can go like normal 340+km hit reserve. Now it's 180-200km then left 1 bar. I inspect my bike, no leakage or whatsoever. And I hardly whack on the road. Please help!

fuel consumption depends on many factors, speed is only 1 of it.. not activating vtec of cos saves fuel, but its good to let the engine exercise once in a while..

i used to open vtec everyday, fc is about 21-23km/l.

Erm, have u checked tyre pressure?? Anytg u just installed to ur bike tat consumes battery.. Believe it or nt, riding wit ur headlite off can save u some mileage..

fuel consumption depends on many factors, speed is only 1 of it.. not activating vtec of cos saves fuel, but its good to let the engine exercise once in a while..

All done and checked. Now lagi worse. Pumped full tank, 180km left 1 bar. I've already consulted Ah Pek and will follow what he advised and at the same time still monitor my FC. Thanks for your advice Ah Pek! :angel:

p.s. I seldom open Vtec, my work place 10mins from home and seldom go out. :sian:

All done and checked. Now lagi worse. Pumped full tank, 180km left 1 bar. I've already consulted Ah Pek and will follow what he advised and at the same time still monitor my FC. Thanks for your advice Ah Pek! :angel:

p.s. I seldom open Vtec, my work place 10mins from home and seldom go out. :sian:

seldom go out? some petrol might have evaporated already..

wow. bro. thats alot of difference. maybe your brake pad or calipers? not sure about vtec but maybe also you fuel meter gauge/bar faulty? have a look in the tank itself. shouldnt be so drastic. can also ride till u have to switch reserve mode.

sorry guys.. :offtopic: abit.

May i know at which rpm does the vtec open for all 3 specs(I,II,III)?

Does cruising on the expressway at 100-110km open vtec already and what rpm is it at?

sorry guys.. :offtopic: abit.

May i know at which rpm does the vtec open for all 3 specs(I,II,III)?

Does cruising on the expressway at 100-110km open vtec already and what rpm is it at?

spec 1 all gear open at 6700rpm

spec 2 all gear open at 6250rpm

spec 3 1st gear to 5th gear 6250rpm , 6th gear 6700rpm

seldom go out? some petrol might have evaporated already..

wow. bro. thats alot of difference. maybe your brake pad or calipers? not sure about vtec but maybe also you fuel meter gauge/bar faulty? have a look in the tank itself. shouldnt be so drastic. can also ride till u have to switch reserve mode.

My FC is solved. You know what's causing it? It's my freaking float sensor!!! Thanks for all the help and feedbacks guys!!!

Its a sensor that sends info to your fuel indicator to tell you how much fuel you have left in your tank. :angel:

spec 1 all gear open at 6700rpm

spec 2 all gear open at 6250rpm

spec 3 1st gear to 5th gear 6250rpm , 6th gear 6700rpm

hmmm.my spec 1 open at 7000 leh.. weird

A conclusion is what you get when you get tired of thinking

http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/ac351/ianwenjun/IMG_0220-1-1.jpg

wa..i keep reading the above posts, then i realised my FC damm chui sia.. 260 reserve liao.. any tips to improve the FC ???

A conclusion is what you get when you get tired of thinking

http://i915.photobucket.com/albums/ac351/ianwenjun/IMG_0220-1-1.jpg

I'm riding Spec I and my bike can go ~360km before hitting reserve. Super shiok! Haha :slurp:

Anyone knows how many litres exactly for Spec I full tank? Heard its 18L same as all other versions of S4. 16L main tank and 2L reserve

Correct me on dis guys if I'm wrong... :shades:

i thought 15l main, 3l reserve?

My stock spec 1 hitting 350 to 360 and then reserve.. Tried 410 km

and pump.. Could pump in abt 17.6l only.. So a rough estimate would be abt

420km then empty.. This mileage was clocked with whacking vtec for a gd 30km

According to SuperFour manual: 18L tank. which 4L reserve. confirm. cause i got the manual downloaded. u guy can seach for it. i posted the link b4. my calculation shown S4 running ard 22km/Liter. :)

Riding Since 198+:

Honda C70, Yamaha 100 Sport, Suzuki BEST 110

Suzuki Panther 150, Yamaha 125 Antolo Scramble

YAMAHA LC135 YPVS (Trade in) 1997

YAMAHA RXZ135 (Trade in) 1998

HONDA WAVE 110 (Trade in) 2000

HONDA CBR150 Repsol (Trade in) 2004

HONDA CB400 Super Four Spec 3 Spec III (Trade in) 2010

HONDA CB400X 2014

wa..i keep reading the above posts, then i realised my FC damm chui sia.. 260 reserve liao.. any tips to improve the FC ???

There r quite a few steps....

Check tyre pressure, chain tightening, control open 'vtec', service carbs... Etc...

Rider Can Be Driver, But Driver Cannot Be Rider......

I have come across a website where you input fuel and odo figures at each refill and it gives you the average litres/100km and you can compare to other cb400 owners worldwide

http://www.fuelly.com

2008 Honda CB400SF Revo ABS - Moriwaki OnePiece Shorty Exhaust & Slider, GodSend Radiator Mesh, 2 Pt Crash Bars, LSL Street Foot Pegs, OEM screen, Scottoiler, Red/White Leds, Bagster Tank Cover, Michelin P Pure Front/P Road 2 Rear Tyres, HID 4300K, Gilles Tooling 41mm Clip Ons, Powdercoated Rims/Rearsets & Passenger Pegs, Rizoma Avio 21 Signals, Motovation Universal Barends...

Its a sensor that sends info to your fuel indicator to tell you how much fuel you have left in your tank. :angel:

how good and how accurate it is? can take pic of the indicator where you mount the indicator?

anyway,using a Spec 3. my FC is 15L = 320km :thumb: still have 3L to go! HAHAHA

My riding style is simple, expressway with less traffic Vtec open. (usually if i travel from my place, woodlands to east side, Vtec will open all the way till End of E-way) can still can get that kind of FC, im quite happpy :angel:

Normal roads or E-Way with Heavy traffic - Vtec closed.

http://i25.photobucket.com/albums/c99/fluzzy_flu/Junkies/bff.jpg

just want to check for a spec3, does traveling at 110kmph open vtec already? as compared to spec1, which spec eat more fuel and what are the mileage like?? *riding style is not to open vtec but traveling at 100-110* thanks..

New S4 spec2 rider here. I don't think the vtec opens in final gear. I've nvr got it to open when I'm on my highest gear (maybe not enough road in SG :p). Not sure abt spec3 but for spec2, it is v. obvious whenever the vtec opens which happens at about ~6300rpm i believe. I read somewhere in the forum spec2 & spec3 vtec opens about same RPM. Can confirm?

I'm getting 23+km/l, also a non-aggressive rider