I was having a chat with one of my friends regarding Rossi's switch from Ducati to Yamaha when the subject of engine types came up. My friend mentioned that Ducati uses V-engine, whereas Yamaha and Honda still stuck to Inline. He mentioned also that from what he knows, V-engine is very powerful, but tends to lose power near the end part of the race.

I was just doing some reading up on different engine types and while most articles were talking about cars, there was no information on clearcut performance differences btn all 3 sets of engines in different segments of a race. Nor was there any graphs to represent the comparison.

Are there any bros or sis here with technical knowledge regarding these engines? Care to share a bit?

My questions are:

1) which engine is more suited for normal road usage in Singapore?

2) in race setting, which engine has a more consistent power graph?

3) is it true that V-engine loses power over time in terms of a race?

4) what are the advantages and disadvantages of each engine?

Thank you in advance to anybody able to shed some light on this topic. :cheeky:

RIDE.

2012 - 2015: Honda NSR150SP

2015 - current : Honda CBR600RR

• Replies 55

1) Both also suitable but I would say most mechanics are more familiar with the inline4 as oppose to the Vs. So in terms of a repair standpoint I'd rather get an inline4.

2) Prolly the Vs because back then when there wasnt much technological advancements, Ducati's ruled the tracks. Nowadays it's mostly down to the rider and tuner/mech.

3)You mean the top end?

4)I would say this is a case to case basis. Some people like oranges more while some people like apples more. Vs have more appealing exhaust notes than most 4s. Vs are also more compact than their 4s rival making it more lightweight? Got alot of comparisons floating around online but end of the day it's your money and your riding skills or lack of that will control the bike, no?

WTS: CB400-PB1

Search my threads! Thanks for viewing!

I was having a chat with one of my friends regarding Rossi's switch from Ducati to Yamaha when the subject of engine types came up. My friend mentioned that Ducati uses V-engine, whereas Yamaha and Honda still stuck to Inline. He mentioned also that from what he knows, V-engine is very powerful, but tends to lose power near the end part of the race.

I was just doing some reading up on different engine types and while most articles were talking about cars, there was no information on clearcut performance differences btn all 3 sets of engines in different segments of a race. Nor was there any graphs to represent the comparison.

Are there any bros or sis here with technical knowledge regarding these engines? Care to share a bit?

My questions are:

Thank you in advance to anybody able to shed some light on this topic. :cheeky:

a) with regards to MotoGP, i believed all of them ( Honda, Yamaha, Ducati ) are using prototype V4s all along unless they made any changes recently. so with regards to Rossi, it has got nothing to do with V4s vs inline 4s.

rather Rossi's issue is that he seem to have with problems with the Ducati chassis, which is built very different from the Japs. it is more of handling issues than engine issue.

anyway, all this is irrelevant to us in the short term cause the bikes these manufacturers are racing in MotoGP now is very different from the ones you can buy. perhaps these prototype may trickle down to us in 10 years time, but not now.

b) SBK on the hand is a competition where they used highly modified versions of production bikes that you can buy. they are closer to the bikes you buy for use on the road. in that competition, Ducati used v-twins, aprilia RSV4 has a V4 engine. BMW & the big 4 Japanese manufacturers ( Honda, Yamaha, Suzuki, Kawasaki ) ALL have inline 4 engines.

remember that this is still a sporting competition where winning is everything, but surprisingly the big 4 Japs still use inline. Honda do have a V4 in their VFR which is for sale but still their flagship CBR fireblade is still an inline 4, guess why? BMW is very experienced in making V6, V8 engines in their cars, but surprise surprise, they decided to go with inline 4 in their S1000RR & their latest HP4. why? why? why? what do you think? perhaps they know something?

ONLY italians use V s then? know why? what are italian bikes 'famous' for? as far as i know, The big 4 Japs rule the market, whereas aprilia is under piaggio ( that made its money from vespa scooters ) & Ducati's ownership keep changing hands throughout the 80s, 90s, 00s, Recently sold to Audi ( under VW group )

c) i am not a mechanic but i have seen GOOD experienced with V engines mechanics overhaul both inline & v engines. if you have the time & interest, do it also. i dunno about you, but after watching them, i personally decide that V engines are not my cup of tea, even when i DON'T fix my own bikes. why? what do you think? you will know what i am talking about when you have experienced it yourself.

d) they are many Ducati v-twins fans out there, so i am going to be a bit ahem 'conservative' in my words.

in case i ganna stoned for heresy.

let me put it politely, i read on a bike mag article which carry interviews of SBK professional engineers, which explain the issues that Ducati have in SBK. after reading the opinion of a true professional bike engineer, i realise it is amazingly simple ( trust me, it is easier & simpler than you think ) to understand the truth about Ducati once you shut out the marketing.

don't take my word for it, go do research & understand it yourself without all the hype. it is so simple that it will be pissed that you fell for the hype.

hint: it is also very simple why V-twins have "no top end" or "lasting power" as you put it. it is as simple as abc. i only o level , i also can understand.

see above post reply with regaards to your question 1-4, i agree mostly with ludacris10

Edited by bruce71
speeling & grammar

Raptor: ( quote )

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

1) Both also suitable but I would say most mechanics are more familiar with the inline4 as oppose to the Vs. So in terms of a repair standpoint I'd rather get an inline4.

2) Prolly the Vs because back then when there wasnt much technological advancements, Ducati's ruled the tracks. Nowadays it's mostly down to the rider and tuner/mech.

3)You mean the top end?

4)I would say this is a case to case basis. Some people like oranges more while some people like apples more. Vs have more appealing exhaust notes than most 4s. Vs are also more compact than their 4s rival making it more lightweight? Got alot of comparisons floating around online but end of the day it's your money and your riding skills or lack of that will control the bike, no?

Hi ludacris10, thanks for the reply! For question 3, i do mean top end. Friend mentioned something about Vs losing out to Inlines at higher rpm, is that true?

As for boxer engines, am i right to say that it's basically an Inline engine, but instead of vertical arrangements, the cylinders are aligned horizontally?

Hi bruce71, thanks bro for your reply as well. Well, from your reply i see that you clearly prefer inline4 to Vs, and you have asked some questions that lead to more questions. hahaha... i have been trying to find more articles about engine types and comparisons, because i'm just a new rider, and knowledge is always good! Quite frankly, i only ride SP, so all these inline 4 and v4 thing is still new to me.

I asked also partly because i was thinking for 2A whether to get a RVF or a S4. From what i know, RVF if dun run above 120kmph, very easy to have problems, because it was built to run fast. Thus, i'm leaning a bit more towards S4 so can save more on maintenance for class 2. But in any case, having an understanding will help in making decision.

I'll try to find more articles to read. Thanks!

RIDE.

Hi ludacris10, thanks for the reply! For question 3, i do mean top end. Friend mentioned something about Vs losing out to Inlines at higher rpm, is that true?

As for boxer engines, am i right to say that it's basically an Inline engine, but instead of vertical arrangements, the cylinders are aligned horizontally?

Hi bruce71, thanks bro for your reply as well. Well, from your reply i see that you clearly prefer inline4 to Vs, and you have asked some questions that lead to more questions. hahaha... i have been trying to find more articles about engine types and comparisons, because i'm just a new rider, and knowledge is always good! Quite frankly, i only ride SP, so all these inline 4 and v4 thing is still new to me.

I asked also partly because i was thinking for 2A whether to get a RVF or a S4. From what i know, RVF if dun run above 120kmph, very easy to have problems, because it was built to run fast. Thus, i'm leaning a bit more towards S4 so can save more on maintenance for class 2. But in any case, having an understanding will help in making decision.

I'll try to find more articles to read. Thanks!

maybe i am too 'indirect'... you must be able to intrepret my secret code mah! i no like to spoon feed, somemore i must protect my ass so you must use your own intelligence...but looks like boh pian got to be more direct...

3) not true that V cannot rev as high as inline 4 or slower at higher rpms. who say wan? MotoGP bikes are V4s so you think they are some of the fastest bikes with slow at high rpm? possible? common sense? but Rossi & MotoGP pros got a team of super mechanics on stand by, you can afford or not, maybe you are Roman Abraovich? :p

your friend is probably referring to V-twins...let me put it this way, you think a twin ( V or parallel ) can rev as high as 4 engines without breaking? obvious right? you think 2 engines can blast at top rpm for as long as 4 without issues? that is why twins are used for slower bikes, nothing wrong if we no intend for it to go as fast as a bigger 4. but when you want a twin engine to rev as high & as long as a 4 engine, you think can or not? but if V4, then same already mah! that is how Biaggi can win SBK last year with his RSV4. Ducati use V-twin so must use bigger engine. but when the japs can squeeze more power from their existing inline 4s, Ducati cannot squeeze anymore without their twin breaking down easily, so they must use even bigger cc engines to match the japs.

more engines is better for longer distance & higher speed but the japs stick to 4 cause the advantages of more than 4 eg. 6 engine is cancelled out by too much weight. i think only Goldwing use flat 'boxer' 6 engine, if i'm not wrong ( i old liao, memory not so good lol )

V twins need more tender loving care than inline parallel twin. V4 = 2 X V-twins, so double the tender loving care. of course got some people no scared of trouble like some guys can tahan high maintainance girls mah! you decide lor! you like can already, but be prepared for more issues & costs involved lah!

anyway outside the track, just like ludacris10 's point 4- most of the time is up to the rider, i think V.Rossi on your SP can still beat you on a RVF, what do you think? it is your money, your heart & passion ( girl sorry bike too sexy, cannot tahan! ), it is your call!

of course Ducati or RVF, you can say better handling ( lighter weight ), better sound, better feel, no wrong it is up to you. jialat liao, all the Ducati & V-twins & V4 owners must be asking for my blood liao!

clear enough boh? hehehehe...all the best! sorry, got to run & hide, i can see DOCs & V4 fans screaming & protesting liao, next time don't ask me to say so 'direct' & clear, must use your brain & figure it out mah! facepalm!

lucky i riding 2b, DOCs & V4 fans sorry sorry! paiseh paiseh! i only talk cock sing song bullsh-t boasting only. i dunno anything, don't come revenge ok?

Edited by bruce71

"As one gains more experience on a bike... one's perceptions and views on how a bike should be ridden will change over time.. just live and let live for now." :thumb:

My mech told me that inline 4 have a higher top speed than v-twins... And v-twins have a faster pickup than inline 4... So it depends on the track and the rider himself... For example, if the track has lots of corners a v-twin engine would be good for picking up speed when exiting the corner... If the track has lots of straights, an inline 4 would be better to overtake v-twins at straights... And also depends on the rider if he's more comfortable with inline or v-twin, if he feels more comfortable overtaking at corners or at straights... And also the swing arm. A standard swing arm would do better at S bends than a pro arm from what my mech told me. But a pro arm would be better at handling at single turn corners... So that's all I have to say... >_

i'll just say what i know, as simply as i can. i stress that mine is only layman understanding.

the main difference is a 1000cc inline4 has 4 cylinders of 250cc each, whereas a 1000cc v-twin has two cylinders of 500cc each. the inline4 has 4 explosions compared to the v-twin's 2 explosions, so it has more power. but each of the v-twin's explosion is bigger, so it has more torque.

so the 1000cc v-twin has a stronger 'pull', but ultimately the inline4 would have a higher top speed because it has more power, especially since the 2-cylinder engine cannot rev as high as the 4-cylinder. the most layman way of putting it is, the v-twin you will feel more 'pull' from low revs, but the inline4 will hit a higher top speed (assuming both same cc).

Ducati's motoGP uses a V4 (actually L4, but not important diff). so does Yamaha and Honda. Its only in WSB that the ducati is a v-twin while the japs use inline4. so although Rossi did switch because of bike problems, the problem is not due to the engine configuration.

if you are thinking of actual bike ownership, honestly this discussion is irrelevant. only ducati sells v-twin. the japanese all produce inline4 (except quirky models like VFR1200 with V4 and ER6 with parallel twin). and aprilia's is a V4. hence, an inline4 vs v-twin for real-world, its far more useful to discuss the whole ducati vs aprilia vs japanese.

is a v-twin suitable for singapore road? heck, think about it, is an ultra-powerful 1000cc inline4 like the R1 suitable for singapore road? once you hit class2 sports, you will never max out their performance. if you don't really feel their actual limits, would the difference in performance matter? especially when they all accelerate to 100kmh in 3-point-something seconds and easily go above 200kmh.

so basically for ownership purposes, you're asking the wrong question coz the issue is much broader than merely v-twin vs inline4.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

My mech told me that inline 4 have a higher top speed than v-twins... And v-twins have a faster pickup than inline 4... So it depends on the track and the rider himself... For example, if the track has lots of corners a v-twin engine would be good for picking up speed when exiting the corner... If the track has lots of straights, an inline 4 would be better to overtake v-twins at straights... And also depends on the rider if he's more comfortable with inline or v-twin, if he feels more comfortable overtaking at corners or at straights... And also the swing arm. A standard swing arm would do better at S bends than a pro arm from what my mech told me. But a pro arm would be better at handling at single turn corners... So that's all I have to say... >_

you know why? cause inline 4 engine is 4 pistons compared to 2 pistons of V-twin. why you no compare say a inline 2 engine with V-twin & a inline 4 with V4? like that then it is a fair comparison. so higher top speed got nothing to do with V or inline. it is simple case of MORE pistons. faster pickup is due to TORQUE of V-twins.

faster thro corners? cause V-twin is LIGHTER cause got 2 piston LESS mah with more torque. again nothing to do with v or no v.

V4 produce more top end than inline 4, V-twin produce more power than parallel twin. that is why in the 2 stroke era, Vs were used for predominantly racing, where parallel more for everyday.

now in 4 stroke bikes, same story, MotoGP, aprilia use V4s for racing. Japs use inline 4 cause they are more interested in the sales of their production bikes.

BSB 2012 winner Shane Byrne won on a inline 4 on Kawasaki overtaking V-twins on corners too but he also won BSB on v-twin Ducatis in previous years. he won on corners whether inline 4 or v-twin Ducati.

Saw how inline 4 s can still win on tight narrow twisting circuits like cadwell park & sachsenring? & how v-twins can still win on fast straight & fast corner circuits like sepang?

the issue is NOT V have less power, in fact it is the opposite, they have MORE power than inline just like inline got more power than boxer ( with no turbo in case you say subaru ). the issue is the number of engines. V-twins have 2 less pistons that is why they lose to inline 4 on top end.

in fact the RSV4 has a lot of power at the top end even tho it is a V configuration. cause it has 4 pistons. see?

PS EDIT: walao, see above post by mechwira, if i know he say like this so clear, i no need so long winded liao. he is right, he explain very clear liao easy to understand. 4 wins 2. virgin or no virgin. see? hehehe

Edited by bruce71

you know why? cause inline 4 engine is 4 pistons compared to 2 pistons of V-twin. why you no compare say a inline 2 engine with V-twin & a inline 4 with V4? like that then it is a fair comparison. so higher top speed got nothing to do with V or inline. it is simple case of MORE pistons. faster pickup is due to TORQUE of V-twins.

faster thro corners? cause V-twin is LIGHTER cause got 2 piston LESS mah with more torque. again nothing to do with v or no v.

V4 produce more top end than inline 4, V-twin produce more power than parallel twin. that is why in the 2 stroke era, Vs were used for predominantly racing, where parallel more for everyday.

now in 4 stroke bikes, same story, MotoGP, aprilia use V4s for racing. Japs use inline 4 cause they are more interested in the sales of their production bikes.

BSB 2012 winner Shane Byrne won on a inline 4 on Kawasaki overtaking V-twins on corners too but he also won BSB on v-twin Ducatis in previous years. he won on corners whether inline 4 or v-twin Ducati.

Saw how inline 4 s can still win on tight narrow twisting circuits like cadwell park & sachsenring? & how v-twins can still win on fast straight & fast corner circuits like sepang?

the issue is NOT V have less power, in fact it is the opposite, they have MORE power than inline just like inline got more power than boxer ( with no turbo in case you say subaru ). the issue is the number of engines. V-twins have 2 less pistons that is why they lose to inline 4 on top end.

in fact the RSV4 has a lot of power at the top end even tho it is a V configuration. cause it has 4 pistons. see?

PS EDIT: walao, see above post by mechwira, if i know he say like this so clear, i no need so long winded liao. he is right, he explain very clear liao easy to understand. 4 wins 2. virgin or no virgin. see? hehehe

Comparing between Honda CBR400RR and Honda RVF400. CBR400RR inline 4 and RVF400 v-twin engine. If both 400cc bikes, how can RVF with v-twin have less piston than CBR400? U mean RVF has a bigger piston than cbr400? Cbr400 has 4 pistons, RVF has 2 less pistons, but both same cc bikes? U say v-twin has less pistons than inline 4??? Huh??? And anyway, I started the post with " MY MECHANIC TOLD ME....." everything I typed in the above post was what he told me... Anyway, I feel that at the end of the day, it's not the bike, it's the biker... Because I have overtook a gsxr1000 at the s bend from pie to bke on my tzm150 when it's obvious he was playing with me... Overtook me on pie before the speed cam with less than half a lane to spare and going really fast... It's the rider, not the bike... :) so I was right in my first post... Inline still has a higher top speed than v-twin... So Bruce, please keep quiet and stop confusing me... I'm talking about same cc but different engine.

Anyway, please don't compare motogp races... U know that some races can be fixed right? Just like how the 680 soccer matches fixed by a Singapore group... U wanna compare, compare those private races between riders... Motogp has scheduled races, so if a racer is not feeling well on that day, he can't perform at his best but he still has to take part in the race or risk being forfeited... Lots of probabilities that affects the outcomes of the races... Weather, racers, crews, bikes... Everything plays a part in the outcome of the race... So don't tell me what Bryan Shane overtook somebody at a corner or whatever... It could be fixed, it could be the other rider not feeling well, it could be the other rider not feeling confident to go faster at the corner... Lots of probabilities... Get it? -.-

Comparing between Honda CBR400RR and Honda RVF400. CBR400RR inline 4 and RVF400 v-twin engine. If both 400cc bikes, how can RVF with v-twin have less piston than CBR400? U mean RVF has a bigger piston than cbr400? Cbr400 has 4 pistons, RVF has 2 less pistons, but both same cc bikes? U say v-twin has less pistons than inline 4??? Huh??? And anyway, I started the post with " MY MECHANIC TOLD ME....." everything I typed in the above post was what he told me... Anyway, I feel that at the end of the day, it's not the bike, it's the biker... Because I have overtook a gsxr1000 at the s bend from pie to bke on my tzm150 when it's obvious he was playing with me... Overtook me on pie before the speed cam with less than half a lane to spare and going really fast... It's the rider, not the bike... :) so I was right in my first post... Inline still has a higher top speed than v-twin... So Bruce, please keep quiet and stop confusing me... I'm talking about same cc but different engine.

let me get this straight, did i misread your post? RVF is a V-TWIN??? since when??? you sure or not??? walaohei! no wonder you no understand , facepalm! better go & check your facts first, bro! cool down lah, don't self pawn here leh!

hey everyone, RVF400 is a V-TWIN! since when HONDA did that, why never inform me?

all 400cc same? DR-Z got only 1 piston, kawa ninja 400 got 2 piston, super 4 & cbr 400 got inline 4, but RVF400 ( btw it is R-V-FOUR ) got also 4 pistons right? or V-TWIN got 4 pistons? or V4 got 2 pistons! that is new!

RVF400 got less top speed than CBR400??? really??? that is news to me! anyway, i talking about 1000cc V-twin & 1000cc inline 4. someone talk about 400cc V-TWIN & 400cc inline 4, right? not i say one, you say wan.

ps: ok you are the fastest rider ok? you can win gsx-r1000, r1, cbr1000, all 1000cc no match for you happy? you win , you are the best! their riders are no match for you. speed cam also no match for you. you so fast that camera also no catch you, song boh?

Edited by bruce71

Anyway, please don't compare motogp races... U know that some races can be fixed right? Just like how the 680 soccer matches fixed by a Singapore group... U wanna compare, compare those private races between riders... Motogp has scheduled races, so if a racer is not feeling well on that day, he can't perform at his best but he still has to take part in the race or risk being forfeited... Lots of probabilities that affects the outcomes of the races... Weather, racers, crews, bikes... Everything plays a part in the outcome of the race... So don't tell me what Bryan Shane overtook somebody at a corner or whatever... It could be fixed, it could be the other rider not feeling well, it could be the other rider not feeling confident to go faster at the corner... Lots of probabilities... Get it? -.-

yah yah! it is all kelong one. Rossi, Stoner, Lorenzo all Kelong one. you win! did you even read TS post? did you read what mechwira said above. Read first, talk later, ok! cool down lah! why you so pissed until cannot think straight. ya ya, you don't even understand what TS is asking.

btw, no one wins a championship by winning 1 race. sorry, you mean all races kelong. they are all fake, all kelong, all no match for you , the #1, song boh?

i think bro, you really need to see doctor liao.

Edited by bruce71

yah yah! it is all kelong one. Rossi, Stoner, Lorenzo all Kelong one. you win! did you even read TS post? did you read what mechwira said above. Read first, talk later, ok! cool down lah! why you so pissed until cannot think straight. ya ya, you don't even understand what TS is asking.

btw, no one wins a championship by winning 1 race. sorry, you mean all races kelong. they are all fake, all kelong, all no match for you , the #1, song boh?

i think bro, you really need to see doctor liao.

Ya la ya la... U only riding 2b bike talk so much for what? RVF is V engine not inline 4... Cbr400 is inline 4 not v engine... V-twin doesn't mean 4 pistons going v-v meh? Then u tell me what does v-twin mean. I very curious. I understand mechwira, but I don't understand u... And btw, what u mean by v4? I also very curious...

let me get this straight, did i misread your post? RVF is a V-TWIN??? since when??? you sure or not??? walaohei! no wonder you no understand , facepalm! better go & check your facts first, bro! cool down lah, don't self pawn here leh!

hey everyone, RVF400 is a V-TWIN! since when HONDA did that, why never inform me?

all 400cc same? DR-Z got only 1 piston, kawa ninja 400 got 2 piston, super 4 & cbr 400 got inline 4, but RVF400 ( btw it is R-V-FOUR ) got also 4 pistons right? or V-TWIN got 4 pistons? or V4 got 2 pistons! that is new!

RVF400 got less top speed than CBR400??? really??? that is news to me! anyway, i talking about 1000cc V-twin & 1000cc inline 4. someone talk about 400cc V-TWIN & 400cc inline 4, right? not i say one, you say wan.

ps: ok you are the fastest rider ok? you can win gsx-r1000, r1, cbr1000, all 1000cc no match for you happy? you win , you are the best! their riders are no match for you. speed cam also no match for you. you so fast that camera also no catch you, song boh?

U very big ah? Honda do RVF v-engine need to inform u? U Valentino Rossi brother or best friend they need to inform u ah? Ride 2b only talk until very big... How old already sia? Wtf...

Bruce not happy then talk to my mech, he tell me RVF is v-engine de... Don't come here kpkb me... Everything I said here is from what I know... So if I don't know then I don't know... Don't need to kpkb like one small kid... U how old already? Mature abit can? Thanks ah...

Rvf is a v4.

Twin = 2

Seriously whats up with all the fuss?

Ego down to learn. With ego nothing can be learn.

Share info n accept that one info may not be true. Any info still needs to be check out, research before agree to it.

Qa

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

Rvf is a v4.

Twin = 2

Seriously whats up with all the fuss?

Ego down to learn. With ego nothing can be learn.

Share info n accept that one info may not be true. Any info still needs to be check out, research before agree to it.

Qa

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk

:thumb: Nice one.

So end of the day, it still boils down to the human factor rather than the machine factor right.

If the rider adapts to the machine very fast, he can perform to his best.

If not, even with the same machine for some time, he might not do his best, as there are still limitations faced by him :)

Road hogger @ 50km/h on 4th lane :cool:

A bike can go up till 200km/h, can the rider go up till 200km/h o_O

bro, you're confused.

RVF is v4. it has the same number of cylinders/pistons (since each cylinder needs one piston) as an inline4, like cbr400rr or super4. and they are all same size.

if we have a v-twin engine same capacity as an inline4 or v4, then yes the v-twin has bigger cylinder/piston. example 1000cc, if v-twin it has 2 cylinders x 500cc = 1000cc, wheareas inline4 or V4 has 4 cylinders x 250cc = 1000cc. therefore for same capacity the inline4 has smaller cylinders/pistons than the v-twin.

your confusion is that you not aware v-twin and v4 are two different engines. v-twin is TWO cylinders (twin) in a 'V'; a V4 engine has FOUR cylinders arranged in pairs in a 'V'.

and your tzm150 is a single cylinder 2-stroke, even more dun bother mention gsxr1000.

Edited by mechwira

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

wah wah... eh... dun fight leh... hahaha...

Thanks Mechwira for the very layman explanation, it helped a lot in my understanding of the engine types.

Well, agree with all bros who mention that it's up to the rider, not the bike, and also those who mentioned that singapore no point talking about top end on class 2 bikes, cos will never reach that in singapore without licence orh kong. hahaha.

But as a new rider, good to learn more all the time. I'm pretty sure at some point of time, some of the lau jiaos here also had to ask similar questions or go through technical training to know about these engines. We're all here to learn.

Of course, opinion will colour the replies, let's agree to disagree at times, unless able to cite some article that says otherwise. If i am proven wrong, i will accept it and learn what is right. I think that is the way to grow and learn bah. hahaha... Don't fight lah hor?

No point comparing riding skill here also lah. Singapore where got place to do so safely? Think want to compare for Singapore, should compare number of months without accident. That's true indicator of riding skill in Singapore! hahahaha...

jokes lah... eh, everybody! happy wednesday!

RIDE.

No point comparing riding skill here also lah. Singapore where got place to do so safely? Think want to compare for Singapore, should compare number of months without accident. That's true indicator of riding skill in Singapore! hahahaha...

jokes lah... eh, everybody! happy wednesday!

Like! Hehehe

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Now the thing is Bruce saying V4 got higher top speed than inline 4... Which my mech told me is not true... My first post up on page 1, I need you guys feedback is what I said true or not? Because everything is what I heard from my mech except for the v-twin part... I thought V-twin is 4 pistons with two Vs... My mistake, because I only heard of V8 and V16 before... V16 on a dodge viper or Bugatti I think.. Only saw the video once... And I've never come across a bike with V-twin engine or inline 2... I only hear of bikes having 1 piston, 4 piston and 8 pistons... Not sure 8 have or not but maybe have... Tzm 1 piston, sp 1, kr 1, Ktm 1, drz 1, phantom 1, cbr400 4, RVF 4 and so on... Never seen a bike with 2 piston before... Unless u talking about pgm 4? Is that a V or inline? It's almost extinct... So is it still considered a bike or a dinosaur? Help please...

bro, you're confused.

RVF is v4. it has the same number of cylinders/pistons (since each cylinder needs one piston) as an inline4, like cbr400rr or super4. and they are all same size.

if we have a v-twin engine same capacity as an inline4 or v4, then yes the v-twin has bigger cylinder/piston. example 1000cc, if v-twin it has 2 cylinders x 500cc = 1000cc, wheareas inline4 or V4 has 4 cylinders x 250cc = 1000cc. therefore for same capacity the inline4 has smaller cylinders/pistons than the v-twin.

your confusion is that you not aware v-twin and v4 are two different engines. v-twin is TWO cylinders (twin) in a 'V'; a V4 engine has FOUR cylinders arranged in pairs in a 'V'.

and your tzm150 is a single cylinder 2-stroke, even more dun bother mention gsxr1000.

I understand already... Bruce talk so much, confuse me. Now he's sayin that RVF 400 has a higher top speed than CBR400rr? Is that true? Because my mech told me that inline 4 has a higher top end than V4... But V4 has a faster pickup than inline 4... And swing arm on my CBR 400 is better at doing S bends than a pro arm on the RVF... Is what he said true?

Now the thing is Bruce saying V4 got higher top speed than inline 4... Which my mech told me is not true... My first post up on page 1, I need you guys feedback is what I said true or not? Because everything is what I heard from my mech except for the v-twin part... I thought V-twin is 4 pistons with two Vs... My mistake, because I only heard of V8 and V16 before... V16 on a dodge viper or Bugatti I think.. Only saw the video once... And I've never come across a bike with V-twin engine or inline 2... I only hear of bikes having 1 piston, 4 piston and 8 pistons... Not sure 8 have or not but maybe have... Tzm 1 piston, sp 1, kr 1, Ktm 1, drz 1, phantom 1, cbr400 4, RVF 4 and so on... Never seen a bike with 2 piston before... Unless u talking about pgm 4? Is that a V or inline? It's almost extinct... So is it still considered a bike or a dinosaur? Help please...

don't talk about 2-strokes, most 2-strokes are single cylinder, except for some very rare old bikes.

4 strokes got single cylinder. CBR125/150, the RS4, duke 125/200/390, drz, etc etc.

then got parallel twin, two cylinders side-by-side. ER6.

then got v-twin, two cylinders in a 'V'. all of ducati except their GP bike, the old aprilia RSV, and the old VTR and TLR. and all of harley davidson.

then got inline3, 3 cylinders side-by-side. Speed/street triple, Triumph Daytona

V4, 4 cylinders in a 'V' in pairs. RVF, VFR1200, Aprilia RSV4. and most of current GP bikes.

and then inline4, 4 cylinders side-by-side, which is all of jap sportsbikes and most of their roadsters. also bmw S1000RR.

beyond4, its very rare. some bmw use boxers, some big cruisers use horizontal6, the former RC211V use V5, etc etc, but odd bike models.

the RVF vs CB400RR, i dont bother. such 'fights' are pointless to me.