On 9/29/2021 at 9:45 PM, Lowreen said:

I am at BBDC and stuck at 3.01 plank and pylon despite 6 tries, I was considering starting over at SSDC and after reading this blog, I think I will just rough it out with BBDC. I thought I was a sucky rider and am surprised some of the learners here are worst off than me.

L1.01 1x
L1.02 2x
L1.03 2x
L2.01 1x
L2.02 2x
L3.01 6x 

Its indeed lot of money lost trying to get a motorcycle license in Singapore. I am reaching 50 and its physically demanding to go through the riding routine. I took private lessons in other countries but in Singapore, to learn riding u can only go to 1 of the 3 schools and the waiting time is so long. 

3.01 failed 6 times and you want to give up and change school....let me tell you change school won't change your skill...you can give up at bbdc, so will also give up at ssdc and cdc...

more failure better tomorrow...

all my practices never less than 5 tries....I have seen many girls failed many times and they also never give up...if girls can keep trying and pass TP in one time, than why can't me...

I am at BBDC and stuck at 3.01 plank and pylon despite 6 tries, I was considering starting over at SSDC and after reading this blog, I think I will just rough it out with BBDC. I thought I was a sucky rider and am surprised some of the learners here are worst off than me.

L1.01 1x
L1.02 2x
L1.03 2x
L2.01 1x
L2.02 2x
L3.01 6x 

Its indeed lot of money lost trying to get a motorcycle license in Singapore. I am reaching 50 and its physically demanding to go through the riding routine. I took private lessons in other countries but in Singapore, to learn riding u can only go to 1 of the 3 schools and the waiting time is so long. 

what is the cost of a bike licence compared to the cost of a bike.

for plank, grip as tight as possible to the petrol tank. look at someting far. do not lock your arms as it's for u to control the handle bar left n right. use half clutch technique n throttle a little to keep the bike going. apply footbrake to control the speed. stay on the plank for at least 6 sec. don time yourself 1st until u got the momentum. 

for slalom same like plank. only u have to lean together with the bike. look 1 or 2 cone ahead. nvm if u fall. it's not your bike. it's only practical lesson.  so that u know how much to tilt the bike. try to recover yourself or ask the instructor for help. 

L1.01 1x
L1.02 2x
L1.03 2x
L2.01 1x
L2.02 2x
L3.01 6x 

I went for 7 lessons in ssdc for the plank n pylon.

Not sure if you are aware, there is a blog regarding tips for 2B lessons here: https://www.arcanetrading.co/category/blog/motorbike-class-2b/   

There is also a telegram chat group: https://t.me/joinchat/AtPPbhF2iSawNbAEh3uSkQ 

While it is tailored towards CDC, many students from other riding school had also joined seeking clarification/advise/tips regard 2B lessons.

On 9/29/2021 at 1:53 PM, Bendyeo said:

@coldbrew How's your TP? I just passed my Lesson 4 Assessment on 26 September and currently waiting for my Lesson 5 on 12 Oct. Kinda long waiting time and still need to book 1 night lesson, which i think need to wait longer coz the schedule is really very frustrating.

no news means bad news. hahaha! was just too nervous. but i've come so far already, not gonna give up.

gonna sound like a broken record, but keep checking the website. people trysell and cancel their slots all the time, and ssdc releases new slots at random too. 

glad to see that you're progressing extremely quickly though! it'll be a breeze for you at this rate

L1.01 1x
L1.02 2x
L1.03 2x
L2.01 1x
L2.02 2x
L3.01 6x 

almost 50 and still getting 2b? hats off to you!! i don't think i'd ever be able to. it's both so physically and mentally demanding. there are many methods to plank and slalom, keep trying and see which one you are most comfortable with. i'd be more than happy to share my method if you'd like. 

bbdc's lessons are quite abundant i heard? my sister just started taking her 2b there, cleared 1.01 and 1.02 once, now waiting for 1.03. all only 1 week apart. you're pretty much halfway there already, and you already know enrolling into another centre would only waste more $, so i agree to just stick to bbdc!

L1.01 1x
L1.02 2x
L1.03 2x
L2.01 1x
L2.02 2x
L3.01 6x 

Learning is individual... looks like you cleared the earlier lessons rather well so this is the 1st real challenge... IMO, stick with BBDC... remember... "every school is a good school" (in jest, no flame wars please). Don't let age become a barrier, go for it!

17 hours ago, coldbrew said:

no news means bad news. hahaha! was just too nervous. but i've come so far already, not gonna give up.

That's the spirit! All the best!!!

I managed to clear stage 3.01 plank and pylon on 7th attempt. I have no problems with plank, only pylon, I have a tendency to shift to neutral instead of 2nd gear so I will look at the speedometer quickly. It works for me but the instructor didn't like it so at one time, I again shifted to neutral without looking and surprisingly, the bike did not stall and I still weave around the cones.  I have experimented it using rear brake feathering with throttle and just using engine brake - engine brake takes more than 6 seconds so it doesn't work. 

Although I cleared 3.01, there were still a few times I took more than 6 seconds or hit the cones. I fear Pylon will cause me problems when TP comes and I really wish to overcome this mental bloc. (Phobia of leaning and shifting to neutral)

I am "borrowing" Coldbrew's thread to ask about slalom.

Thanks for advice. 

Edited by Lowreen

Failed tp on 16 sept.

14 points, IF at pylon slalom (touch last cone)

Going for next on on 14 oct.

Best wishes guys, looks like SSDC waiting time getting shorter 

5 weeks for 1st TP, 4 weeks for 2nd TP, if book TP now is less than 3 weeks...!

Edited by jaj
18 hours ago, Lowreen said:

I managed to clear stage 3.01 plank and pylon on 7th attempt. I have no problems with plank, only pylon, I have a tendency to shift to neutral instead of 2nd gear so I will look at the speedometer quickly. It works for me but the instructor didn't like it so at one time, I again shifted to neutral without looking and surprisingly, the bike did not stall and I still weave around the cones.  I have experimented it using rear brake feathering with throttle and just using engine brake - engine brake takes more than 6 seconds so it doesn't work. 

Although I cleared 3.01, there were still a few times I took more than 6 seconds or hit the cones. I fear Pylon will cause me problems when TP comes and I really wish to overcome this mental bloc. (Phobia of leaning and shifting to neutral)

Thanks for advice. 

Hey, congrats for clearing the lesson!

I used to have the same problem of shifting to neutral a couple of times, but instead I did it on the crank course mainly due to the short distance to pick up speed before the entrance line. One main thing that helped me is to kick up as hard as I can on the gear shifter from 1 to 2, as that will surely skip neutral and put the bike on gear 2. It's something that you have to get used to, for me at least hahah, as I was always soft on the gear shifting last time

Another tip is to throttle as quickly as possible and shift to gear 2 when moving off, cause I think getting to the right speed will aid the gear shifting as the gears are dedicated for a specific speed range, and then you can slow down (ease off throttle or lightly brake) before entering the line before the first cone to do the pylon

One thing I did a few times is when nearing to the end of the pylon course, about two cones left, I will half-clutch the bike if I feel like my speed is too slow and the bike is going to stall, and it works to maintain the balance and speed. I didn't get penalise for it since most of the time the instructor testing will be from the back (between plank and pylon there) so they can't really see(?), and once you've cleared the last cone and going to the exit, I would throttle hard once I've stabilised the bike so as to lessen the timing

For going through the pylons, one tip that helped me is to make the turns around the cone ahead as quickly as possible so as to ensure that there is enough space between me and the next cone after I did the turn of the last cone, hmm how do I put this, like getting close to the front part of the last cone and having an enough gap before the next cone? I hope you understand hahah, and I would only throttle when I'm on the middle of every cone while the rest of the time just glide through and focus on turning

Make sure to practice a lot through the circuit revisions, and ask around when needed from the instructors before your assessment lesson, it will surely help!

Edited by wayfarerwysh
9 hours ago, jaj said:

Failed tp on 16 sept.

Ahh damn.. that was really unlucky. Your demerit points are moderately below 18 though, so that's good! All the best for your upcoming TP~

Yeap, agreed that the duration is getting shorter, I just cleared my lesson 7 a few days ago and have already booked for the TP test this coming 28th. Also just wondering, is there also defensive riding for TP test like the one in L7? Just curious how it will be like, and if there's anything useful to know beforehand that you guys can share. Still got 3 weeks but I'm already kinda nervous hahah

23 minutes ago, wayfarerwysh said:

Ahh damn.. that was really unlucky. Your demerit points are moderately below 18 though, so that's good! All the best for your upcoming TP~

Yeap, agreed that the duration is getting shorter, I just cleared my lesson 7 a few days ago and have already booked for the TP test this coming 28th. Also just wondering, is there also defensive riding for TP test like the one in L7? Just curious how it will be like, and if there's anything useful to know beforehand that you guys can share. Still got 3 weeks but I'm already kinda nervous hahah

there's no defensive riding for TP. for the day of TP, report at 7am at lvl 5 (same waiting area as practical lessons), then wait for instructors to issue number tags in order of candidates age, so the oldest will be number 1, youngest number 40. then u'll proceed to lvl 1 for warm-up. the bike u choose for warm-up will not be the same as the one u use for actual test. depending on how much time u're given, u'll go for either 1 or 2 rounds of the circuit test route. after that u'll proceed to a waiting room at lvl 4. not to worry, there will be a briefing conducted before the start of the test. 

when it's your turn to go back down to lvl 1, the test will start with circuit. after you're done, proceed back to lvl 4 waiting room. from here on instructors will call out tag numbers in batches. those numbers that are called would mean that they alrdy failed the circuit and won't carry on for road test. the remaining numbers will head down to lvl 1 again to proceed for road test, after completion go back to waiting room again. same thing here, those numbers called out would mean they have failed.

for those numbers not called, congrats! pass alrdy. then one instructor will bring yall down to lvl 3 counter to make payment for Expressway Familiarization Riding in the afternoon after lunch. i think it's about $30++, if you still have balance in your student account, it'll be used up first, and then top up with NETS if required. those who cant go for the EFR will have to book for another day, but only after EFR is completed, then u will receive Class 2B license

Oh and remember to bring your NRIC + training booklet + PDL. try to secure at least 1 CR and RR like 2-3 days before test date. on the night before test, try to have at least a few hours of sleep. i know it's easier said than done hahaha but just try. and have smth to eat in the morning. All the best!

Edited by E.O.
9 hours ago, E.O. said:

there's no defensive riding for TP. for the day of TP, report at 7am at lvl 5 (same waiting area as practical lessons), then wait for instructors to issue number tags in order of candidates age, so the oldest will be number 1, youngest number 40. then u'll proceed to lvl 1 for warm-up. the bike u choose for warm-up will not be the same as the one u use for actual test. depending on how much time u're given, u'll go for either 1 or 2 rounds of the circuit test route. after that u'll proceed to a waiting room at lvl 4. not to worry, there will be a briefing conducted before the start of the test. 

when it's your turn to go back down to lvl 1, the test will start with circuit. after you're done, proceed back to lvl 4 waiting room. from here on instructors will call out tag numbers in batches. those numbers that are called would mean that they alrdy failed the circuit and won't carry on for road test. the remaining numbers will head down to lvl 1 again to proceed for road test, after completion go back to waiting room again. same thing here, those numbers called out would mean they have failed.

for those numbers not called, congrats! pass alrdy. then one instructor will bring yall down to lvl 3 counter to make payment for Expressway Familiarization Riding in the afternoon after lunch. i think it's about $30++, if you still have balance in your student account, it'll be used up first, and then top up with NETS if required. those who cant go for the EFR will have to book for another day, but only after EFR is completed, then u will receive Class 2B license

Oh and remember to bring your NRIC + training booklet + PDL. try to secure at least 1 CR and RR like 2-3 days before test date. on the night before test, try to have at least a few hours of sleep. i know it's easier said than done hahaha but just try. and have smth to eat in the morning. All the best!

Ooh alright, will take note of all the things you said! The waiting and probability to be called off makes it to be more nerve-wrecking hahah

Didn't know expressway riding will be on the same day, thought it's on a different day as I planned to bring my modular helmet for it just to be safer on the road but the helmet is not psb approved, so that's why I can't use it for TP test as well cause I heard they will check for the sticker, is that true?

If true then my open-face helmet also gone lol cause I removed the sticker, but should be recognisable to be approved I guess as it's a popular model? Anyways just a minor issue hahah

Thank you for the advice! Especially with sleeping the night before heh, will surely heed to them. Only managed to book CR and RR once each that is one week before haizz , the booking for both is always full currently which is fustrating lol, couldn't get one which is a day or two before the test but should be alright hopefully

5 hours ago, wayfarerwysh said:

Ooh alright, will take note of all the things you said! The waiting and probability to be called off makes it to be more nerve-wrecking hahah

Didn't know expressway riding will be on the same day, thought it's on a different day as I planned to bring my modular helmet for it just to be safer on the road but the helmet is not psb approved, so that's why I can't use it for TP test as well cause I heard they will check for the sticker, is that true?

If true then my open-face helmet also gone lol cause I removed the sticker, but should be recognisable to be approved I guess as it's a popular model? Anyways just a minor issue hahah

Thank you for the advice! Especially with sleeping the night before heh, will surely heed to them. Only managed to book CR and RR once each that is one week before haizz , the booking for both is always full currently which is fustrating lol, couldn't get one which is a day or two before the test but should be alright hopefully

yeahman the waiting to see if your number get's called, it gets to your head. at the same time u need to psycho yourself that everything will be fine hahaha.

IMO i feel it is better to complete the EFR on the same day, so that i didnt need to head down to driving school on a separate day. As for the PSB sticker, i dont remember any instructor or tester specifically checked for it leh. the sticker on my helmet peeled off by itself, and only the silver backing was left, without any batch inspected logo hahaha. perhaps as long as your helmet brand is widely used by learners, eg. Trax, Nova, GRP etc i think you'd be fine. you can also ask an instructor regarding this.

for myself i could also only get hold of 1 CR and 1 RR before test date. RR was like 3 days before test, and CR 1 day before. use both revisions to brainwash yourself that u can do this😆

ohya and on the actual test, even if you know u've commited a mistake, do not look at the tester. bcos there's a chance that they didnt see your mistake at all. so just act like nothing happened, calm yourself down and carry on

1 hour ago, E.O. said:

yeahman the waiting to see if your number get's called, it gets to your head. at the same time u need to psycho yourself that everything will be fine hahaha.

IMO i feel it is better to complete the EFR on the same day, so that i didnt need to head down to driving school on a separate day. As for the PSB sticker, i dont remember any instructor or tester specifically checked for it leh. the sticker on my helmet peeled off by itself, and only the silver backing was left, without any batch inspected logo hahaha. perhaps as long as your helmet brand is widely used by learners, eg. Trax, Nova, GRP etc i think you'd be fine. you can also ask an instructor regarding this.

for myself i could also only get hold of 1 CR and 1 RR before test date. RR was like 3 days before test, and CR 1 day before. use both revisions to brainwash yourself that u can do this😆

ohya and on the actual test, even if you know u've commited a mistake, do not look at the tester. bcos there's a chance that they didnt see your mistake at all. so just act like nothing happened, calm yourself down and carry on

Yeap hahah, and actually yeah I agree that it's better too if espressway riding is on the same day, can get it quickly done with~

Ouh okay2, should be no problem lah, I'm using the gpr one, I removed the sticker and other stuffs cause I want to make my helmet look more clean😂

Well I checked just now and they have just released new revision slots for 25-29 october, so yeah can have more than one revision lesson luckily

Nonetheless thank you so much for all the tips and encouragement! Will keep them in mind and try my best 👍

• Like 1
On 10/9/2021 at 4:35 AM, Lowreen said:

Thanks for advice. 

Congrats on clearing! my first advice is: if it takes you longer than 6s on TP day itself, so be it. it would be better to get the 4 points than IF immediately. however, it doesn't mean you should aim to get 6s and above. it should just be a worst case scenario.

a possible reason for it shifting to neutral could be that there is not enough throttle input. i have never looked down at the speedometer (to check it isn't in neutral) before; i just throttle, kick to g2 and begin the course. 

that being said, something that helped me tremendously when i had issues kicking to g2 was to tell myself to "kick with intention" just before i change gear. it forces me to kick up with a bit more power than usual. you can try that! 

the spaces in between the cones are also very big if you look at it carefully. try not to think of avoiding the cones, but rather moving into the empty spaces between the cones. if you keep trying to avoid the cones, you will just end up looking at the cones in an attempt to avoid them. perspective is very important.

all the best!! be sure to ask an instructor to watch you and give u advice!!

On 10/9/2021 at 1:54 PM, jaj said:

Failed tp on 16 sept.

all the best tomorrow! ssdc waiting time now really getting shorter, does that mean a lot of people are not passing L7..? hahaha

On 10/10/2021 at 9:12 AM, wayfarerwysh said:

i dont think instructors are very anal about it coz i've never seen them stop and check before, but u should still use a psb approved helmet ba .. especially on tp test day itself. but since your helmet is GPR and very common, idt it should be a problem haha

keep checking the ssdc website for trysell and last minute cancel slots!! i always see CRs and RRs suddenly popping up one. all the best !

• Like 1
On 8/31/2021 at 11:13 AM, sunflower said:

Hi all, I took 

L1 - 3x

L2 - 2x

Hi all, just wanna update this post, 

About 3 months in SSDC, now I'm at 

L1 - 3x

L2 - 2x

L3.1 - 3x

L3.2 - 1x

L4 - 2x (Failed)

Failed the 2x L4 due to IF.

1st try - stalled in crank course

2nd try - car in front of me turning left halfway at junction stopped suddenly, IF for stopping in yellow box at junction. 

Hopefully can pass L4 on next try, can't wait to go on the road. Seems like L4 waiting time isn't so bad, about 5-7 days wait. 

Waiting time for L3 was about 7 - 10 days. Spent end Aug and whole of Sept to clear L3.1 & 3.2.

Edited by sunflower
4 minutes ago, sunflower said:

Hi all, just wanna update this post, 

About 3 months in SSDC, now I'm at 

L1 - 3x

L2 - 2x

L3.1 - 3x

L3.2 - 1x

L4 - 2x (Failed)

Failed the 2x L4 due to IF.

1st try - stalled in crank course

2nd try - car in front of me turning left halfway at junction stopped suddenly, IF for stopping in yellow box at junction. 

Hopefully can pass L4 on next try, can't wait to go on the road. Seems like L4 waiting time isn't so bad, about 5-7 days wait. 

sometimes ppl say, 3rd time's a charm ya? i also only cleared my L4 on 3rd try, first try 28 points, second try IF, left foot come down and strike kerb in figure 8 bcos i felt like my front tire was gonna hit the kerb. nevertheless, just stay focused and confident for every station and u'll be fine 🙂 

to avoid problems of vehicles suddenly stopping in front of u, always keep a safe distance. i myself kena once whereby i followed too closely and last minute the car in front put to reverse gear to do parallel parking, the instructor in the car stepped out and f me left right center hahaha.. from then i always rmbr whether it is a bike or car in front of me, always keep a safe following distance. this would be a good habit to instill in yourself, as it'll be even more important for subsequent road lessons. i have seen riders in front of me suddenly e-brake at filter lane turning left, then the rider behind him also jam brake and almost dropped the bike bcos 2nd rider was following too closely.

5-7 days waiting time is damn shiok! i had to wait close to 2 weeks in between each lesson early this yr. all the best for your next lesson! once go on road, the feeling is so damn different😆

Currently failed on my L6 on first try on 12 oct. Going to have 2nd try on 18 oct.

I failed due to when exit at SSDC, i forgot go to left lane first before go to right lane, i trottle when reaching junction where i supposed to slowdown and anticipate for amber light. 🥲

Wish me luck for next one. 😁

On 10/9/2021 at 11:39 PM, E.O. said:

Update for me: 

16 sept : 14 points + 1 IF (2 points for wobbling)

14 oct : 30 points 0 IF (20 points for wobbling )...

I guess i really have bad luck...

Next 8 nov:  fingers crossed

• Like 1
7 minutes ago, jaj said:

It’s nerve wrecking after reading your post. So did they call out your name after circuit? Btw, Good luck to you on 8 Nov. Hopefully i can book for TP on 8 Nov too even though now im at lesson 6. Still have about 1 month to go to clear 6 & 7. Otherwise have to wait until end of Nov or early Dec . 😂😂😂😂

1 minute ago, Bendyeo said:

It’s nerve wrecking after reading your post. So did they call out your name after circuit? Btw, Good luck to you on 8 Nov. Hopefully i can book for TP on 8 Nov too even though now im at lesson 6. Still have about 1 month to go to clear 6 & 7. Otherwise have to wait until end of Nov or early Dec . 😂😂😂😂

Honestly i think its really just how well you adapt to the new bike. First time i took TP, bike was good and i messed up and hit the cone. Today's tp, bike 67. Too torquey for me, so a lot of over-rev and wobble points (cus under rev to compensate).

Really the luck of the draw here.

They call out your number if you fail circuit. About 10 /40 failed today in circuit, good luck for those who remain

All the best to your TP!

9 hours ago, jaj said:

Honestly i think its really just how well you adapt to the new bike. First time i took TP, bike was good and i messed up and hit the cone. Today's tp, bike 67. Too torquey for me, so a lot of over-rev and wobble points (cus under rev to compensate).

Really the luck of the draw here.

They call out your number if you fail circuit. About 10 /40 failed today in circuit, good luck for those who remain

All the best to your TP!

initially i was also having problems with bikes that are too torquey, then one instructor told me dont throw the clutch when shifting gears. instead, release the clutch abit more slowly and smoothly. u might want to try this out, bcos it helped me alot and from then i didnt really have much problems with bikes that are more torquey. hope this helps😁

don't blame the power too much or little power...when you haven not met gear lever is damn solid hard and difficult to kick to neutral n 2...bike check everything ok only to realise go for warm up round than gear lever start to shown problems...

every time change gear remember to give some boost just after clutch in...

2b and 2a was damn lucky to get 18 points one attempt pass...

last class 2 to be complete in June 2022 at age 36...

haiz no money to afford a motorcycle...

Edited by 鲁蛇不是鲁蛇