Last fri i went out for lunch n when i came back, i couldnt start my bike. I was able to kick it though but it wasnt able to start after trying n trying for some time, the batt went down(cause the light didnt lit up n there wasnt even a neutral light siganl. Im riding a phantom 150 btw. so i didnt have a choice n called the bike shop which i bought the bike from n called to tow it. when i went there, the mechanic said the spark plug burnt so thats why i cant start.. so as i needed to get to somewhere, i said, u see what problem there is then u call n let me know tom morn. so the following day he called, n he said that the coolent didnt go in n it caused the piston to jam so he needs to change the block, piston n piston rings which costs over 500 bucks. Now, from what i understand, only lack of 2t can cause 2 stroke bikes piston jam n not because of coolent. so am i being cheated or is he right? pls advice thanks.

• Replies 10

Originally posted by rattlesree@March 05, 2007 01:09 pm

Last fri i went out for lunch n when i came back, i couldnt start my bike. I was able to kick it though but it wasnt able to start after trying n trying for some time, the batt went down(cause the light didnt lit up n there wasnt even a neutral light siganl. Im riding a phantom 150 btw. so i didnt have a choice n called the bike shop which i bought the bike from n called to tow it. when i went there, the mechanic said the spark plug burnt so thats why i cant start.. so as i needed to get to somewhere, i said, u see what problem there is then u call n let me know tom morn. so the following day he called, n he said that the coolent didnt go in n it caused the piston to jam so he needs to change the block, piston n piston rings which costs over 500 bucks. Now, from what i understand, only lack of 2t can cause 2 stroke bikes piston jam n not because of coolent. so am i being cheated or is he right? pls advice thanks.

juz drop by the shop and see the dismantled engine lo.. if you see scorched/scratch marks on the piston and cylinder.. then most likely is piston jam already...

then in that case, you have no choice but to get the piston and piston rings replaced... and if the cylinder block is not too badly damaged, it can be polished to be reused..

There's no replacement for displacement except for a blower

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/2142887179_265ff6ef3a_m.jpghttp://ionicdynamics.com/decal7.jpg

IBA Member #25269

Lack of cooling causing jam, might agree but it should happen during riding and not after. Bike nowadays will shut off automatically to prevent overheating (my DR650, DR200 and Magma125 all auto shut off during long JB causeway queue.)

Even with flat batt you should be able to start the bike... if all the lights are down.. it might be the main fuse blown. OR the Key switch is damaged (which is what happened to my DR200) Or Batt died or Batt cable rusted badly cause break in connection.

Plug blown also possible, you won't be able to start at all (since you have only 1 plug, for 2,3,4 cylinder bike 1 plug blown it will still start but feel super under power) but since all the lights are out... I would say the fuse and key switch problem be higher.

Check it out FAST at the bike shop... they will usually do a fast/clean job. else when you ask for the old parts, they will say throw liao... who knows they might not have done anything.

OK I am labelling all as dishonest, I am bias against BIKESHOPS... But not fair to those good ones! :cheeky:

91-92: 84 Yam LC125

95-97: 88 Suz GSX400R & 88 GSX400FW

97-01: 95 Suz Bandit400

01-04: 96 Suz DR650SE

04-11: 99 Suz SV650S

05-05: 94 Suz DR200SE

06-16: 06 Kia Rio 1.4(M) Sedan

11-12: 02 BMW F650GS

12-16 01 BMW R1150GS

When- Burgman Tmax ??

hmm $500 for block ,piston wif ring & lets assume full service + polishing of cylinder kind of expensive 2 me...but it all depends on how big is the damage...but i strongly feel it shdnt b tt expensive

I think most prob the batt or cable had some prob n the spark plug burnt. piston could not have jammed cause i was able to kick the lever but it didnt start.if piston jam, i wouldnt have been even able to kick the lever right?

Originally posted by rattlesree@March 05, 2007 03:12 pm

I think most prob the batt or cable had some prob n the spark plug burnt. piston could not have jammed cause i was able to kick the lever but it didnt start.if piston jam, i wouldnt have been even able to kick the lever right?

it could be a case of seizure.. where damage is done.. and after which the piston cools and it can still move but compression is lost already.. :smile:

There's no replacement for displacement except for a blower

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2157/2142887179_265ff6ef3a_m.jpghttp://ionicdynamics.com/decal7.jpg

IBA Member #25269

my suggestion bring to koon motor his the best phantom mechanic ... nt that i wan to advertise for him .. tt time my valve jam den he noe i student oso .. so he kept tryin to help me to remove the carbon inside.. n if tis happen to others motordiam i cfm say they will directly ask u to change to new wan .. y? earn more money lor + saving their time for the trouble jus change can liao .. 1 stone hit 2 birds ..

In 99.99% of cases yes you have. I'm pretty doubtful or motorshops as well, especially those that you purchase bikes from.

Being unable to start, there are probably millions of reasons. The best is to do a basic check of the system before you decide to send it anywhere. no lights? check fuse. can't start? Check for cranking, Batt flat? make sure by using a voltmeter to check. You save yourself alot of money and frustration just by spending abit of time checking out before you send it to your trusty workshop. You can tell them more detailed info as well as make sure they're not trying to pull a fast one on you.

Save a few recommended and personal trusted workshops i take other workshops' comments with a whole lot of salt.

really piston jam meh....?? if piston jam, u can't even kickstart in the first place as bcoz its jam, & u mention able to kick but cannot start than its not piston jam liao.

careful got lots of workshop with knives like to carrot ppl:nono:

http://farm2.static.flickr.com/1141/1350014273_36942e6740_m.jpg

Piston Jam BUT can kick start? Name the shop bro.. Prevent other from being carrot..

ya lor..as far as i know.. piston jam and u cannot kick start ur bikeat all.. it will be jammed..