Taxis are always seen in expressway, especially in Lane 1, they can easily make up for 50% of the cars that will use that lane. Thery are normally or i would say usually speeding.

To them it really doesnt seem like they care about their passengers by going at such high speeds, and they are actually alot more dangerous then other cars as they use lousy tyres that screech everytime they turn, taxis come with lousy brakes that can only E-brake while stopping for a passenger.

Maybe these old uncles are some father of Schumy, Raikkonen and all~ Its hard to curb their erratic driving skills, so its quite feasible limiting the top speed of their race machines.

Few years back the "ding dong" beeper in the taxi when it exceeds 80km/h has been removed~ Maybe the speed limiter would help.

Anyway, I am just sharing my view, as till now I don't see any of the topics in this section does actually get going.

• Replies 113

by speed limiter, do you mean a device that actually prevents the car from going beyond 90kmh, instead of beeping or tripping the mileage meter like SAF vehicles?

if there was such a device they would have installed on the trucks wouldn they? TP dam hard on trucks now (and i support).

how bout a different device, one that stops their payment meter at speeds above 80 kmh? no such device yet, but cant be hard to produce coz it would be electronic, unlike a mechanical device to actually limit the vehicle's speed. this device would effectively take away the cabbies' motivation to speed. they speed because they think do faster will earn more coz can get more passengers, but wif this device, do faster actually earn nothing.

mebbe u can gather ideas, see which one(s) u like and u can email to taxi association and cc TP and LTA. i actually been thinking of this device i mentioned quite awhile back.

Anyway, I am just sharing my view, as till now I don't see any of the topics in this section does actually get going.

mine got going until 5 or 6 pages then i shoot letter up and get reply wat, how else u want the topics to 'get going'?

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

in other forums pple are praying for bikes to have powercuts too, some cant even wait to kick us out of the road, so whose words are the authorities going to heed?

i oso sharing my views. views that do not make pple laugh off their chairs.

Hmmm... I think having an army-like SWD could work.... any cabbie that is found to have exceeded and tripped the meter would be subject to maybe a fine, 3 times and you're sacked. Any tampering found also means immediate dismissal.

Checks can be conducted every month.... but think they will violently object. So an electronic power limiter could be more effective and less hassle.

Quotable Quotes: If you ride a motorcycle often, you will be killed riding it. That much is as sure as night follows day. Your responsibility is to be vigilant and careful as to continue to push that eventuality so far forward that you die of old age first

Originally posted by furbykong@Sep 30 2004, 05:00 PM

in other forums pple are praying for bikes to have powercuts too, some cant even wait to kick us out of the road, so whose words are the authorities going to heed?

i oso sharing my views. views that do not make pple laugh off their chairs.

i can't agree more

http://i77.photobucket.com/albums/j47/marzocchi84/la_LM6F3528.jpg

Supermoto Is Not A CRIME .

Actually I feel that speed of the taxis is not so bad, but the driving style of the taxis are terrible ..

Of course I can't say ALL taxis are terrible. Still got good and decent ones.

c26492.jpg

agree. same as for bikers too. Last time the cabbies theory tt if they go fast, the meter trip faster~ Yes in the old one, but in the new one i doubt the meter will trip faster~

Originally posted by StingRhea@Oct 2 2004, 05:00 AM

agree. same as for bikers too. Last time the cabbies theory tt if they go fast, the meter trip faster~ Yes in the old one, but in the new one i doubt the meter will trip faster~

ya...now by milage liao i think

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

u see those heavy trucks and 45 seater buses being installed with with the LTA compliant VDO speed limiter??? it is an electronic device costing around $700 that will limit the venicle to travel up to 60kmh and then it will shut off the fuel, hence the powercut.....

but then again, there are loopholes where people DO NOT NEED to tamper with the seal to bypass the speed limiter..... that is why u see those singapore registered PA excursion buses going on NSH at 140kmh!!!

buses with VDO normally have sticker saying that haf them~

since car wan bike powercut, bike wan car powercut, bike & car wan truck powercut, and everyone except those who r in da hurry wan taxi powercut, why not install a powercut for TPs so dat speedsters can get away? :lol:

jokes aside, if the TP r really damned hard on the speed limit, they should ban vehicles capable of that... wun that solves every problem?

actually we shld not sae like tat abt taxis, afterall, they are all making a living, every min means $$ to them, and taxi drivers out there really need those $$ for their family...so as long as its safe enuff, y not let them go alittle faster??

Originally posted by n00b@Oct 11 2004, 02:58 PM

actually we shld not sae like tat abt taxis, afterall, they are all making a living, every min means $$ to them, and taxi drivers out there really need those $$ for their family...so as long as its safe enuff, y not let them go alittle faster??

because it's not safe enuff for other road users. thats why this issue came up.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by n00b@Oct 11 2004, 02:58 PM

making a living for themselves doesn't mean no need to care about other people lives :mad:

i wouldn't say all are are like that as i meet few nice cabbies also :bounce:

Instead of installing on speed limiter for taxi, why not install rush limiter on passenger?:cheeky:

anyway i have my fare share of rowdy, rude, speeding taxis (and I have called the taxi company to complain) but the passengers are also partially responsible for taxi speeding. sometime there're urgent matters that needs the taxi to rush and the passenger is willing to take full responsibility. by being helpful the taxi driver might unknowingly cause anger among other road users...

what i suggest is that we as fellow road users be more kaypoh a bit and call the taxi company to let the know of those bad drivers... that way when they are flooded with complaints they have to do something about it...

if something was being done with the complaints other den just apologising to the callers and just a mere warning to the taxi drivers, i bet they were treating it as wind to the ears~ if not, you wouldn't see so much taxi speeding~

Every sat night after clubbing till 0430HRS

taxi drivers are all bas***ds....the cheapest killer u can hire off the road.

u can get them to kill someone for $2.40 just by flagging them in front of a bike.

Originally posted by k3nny77@Oct 12 2004, 01:14 PM

taxi drivers are all bas***ds....the cheapest killer u can hire off the road.

u can get them to kill someone for $2.40 just by flagging them in front of a bike.

wooo, never think of that, maybe next time i will try it

Originally posted by katana777@Oct 13 2004, 10:36 PM

should have ur ip banned

hahahahahah

hey you! come here clock posting again ah???