• Replies 4.8k

Hello fellow CDC 2b bike learners,

Passed my 2b today and here is a track record to update!

Lesson 1 - 5 times

Lesson 2 - 3 times

Lesson 3 - 5 times

Lesson 4 - 3 times

Lesson 5 - 3 times

Lesson 6 - 2 times

Lesson 7 - 2 times

Lesson 8 - 2 times

Total lesson 26!

Started off really slow cause i dont even cycle well so handling a bike was pretty difficult...

Therefore the number of lesson, like i say again you can take more lessons compare to others but if your TP is only once, you will still generally be faster.

" it doesn't matter how slow you go as long as you do no stop"

Some tips before Prac 5, 8. Book your revision before your lesson, practice your weakest, run through the circuit, mental prep what you going to do at whichever part of the circuit.

And of course CHOP the bike by placing your helmet there. so you will familiarize with the bike already.

Read up on the tips by rijac and the rest it was really useful. Here are some of mine. i know im not the best person to guide you, but i certainly am a slower learner. But this are tips that i feel that you shouldnt miss out to do everything smoothly

Lesson 1: basic riding/clutch control/ changing gear.

Tips: Get use to the clutch, know the biting points and control your braking with front and rear. If you hear your engine too 'noisy' change up or down gear etc. For the internal figure 8 just change gear

fast and then look where you going to turn and the slalom feeling will be there.

Lesson 2: lane forming up, traffic light, right and left turn.

Tips: Pretty straight forward. 1 arrow, there will be two rows. "if turning left, (left right left right) or (right left right left) for right turn"

For going straight, left right left right. And arrows with 2 marking one row. Circuit is generally ok. Points to take note of is when u exit slope and there is a jam while cars are turning left,

form up two rows behind them and left right left right. And also the only pedestrian crossing from training area to lobby building. its also two row left right left right.

Lesson 3: Slope and figure 8/crank course

Tips: For slope when right turning into the slope, always remember left side first if slope is empty, and at this point remember to change signal to left, since its on right when turning.

If you are turning right to the right part of the slope, then signal remains. Another thing to take note of is when you are going up the slope, you have to be in gear 2, unless you are waiting below the slope, gear 1 is ok to go up.

For slope, step on rear brake hard, dont let go. first thing signal away from kerb, then open throttle, release clutch, once you feel the engine is dying, check back then let go rear brake, open throttle

and release clutch a little more. Once bike move off and on top of the slope, release clutch completely and let it roll down. Remember to stop before stop line for turning left, and check back both side regardless of which side of the slope you are on!

For figure 8, signal left. go in fast, change gear 2 off signal. maintain throttle, and youll hit the timing. its all about the throttle really. started off like 14s. 15s.

I told myself to just chiong and i did like 7s but i fell after when turning out cause it was too fast. Remember to signal when exiting figure 8 and park before the line, dont wide turn too much.

For Crank course, check back both sides, go in fast but dont throttle too hard. Change to gear 2 before the line, and right turn. If you go too fast u will mount kerb or fall down to the right since the space is very limited.

Before exit crank check to the right for vehicles turning left and those opposite you coming out from the S car course.

Lesson 4: Plank and E brake. My demise. I hate the plank the most. really irritated af by it. But once you master it you will be 100% hit rate.

Tips: for my plank, ill go up fast, use rear break to slow down, and look really far ahead.

I started of looking down and i always drop off the plank. When you look far your arms tend to be locked and you will not wobble that much! Aim for the entry and maintain on the plank.

Remember, its your arms that control not your body! I started leaning left and right to control but i still drop always! Remember its the handle bar that makes the difference!!

If you are not confident just go really fast, since its only 4 points for

Lesson 5:Circuit test, just prepare, chop bike, book 1 lesson before, take with confidence, one round of warm up will be given before you start !

Lesson 6: I cant remember what i did for road, but IIRC its night riding, first start of with pre ride checks, then go outside to learn left/right turn. forming up on normal road lane changing etc.

Lesson 7: Same thing going through of route 1 and route 2. points to take note, where to form up what to do etc. Road are generally more straight forward.

Lesson 8: Overview of circuit and road, usually is route 2. see luck one. same thing as prac 5, book 1 CR before then go chop your bike. Mental prep. Will start off with a warm up on the road testing on your prac 8,

then immediately come back park bike get ready to start. Prac 8 first then prac 5 people. Please memorize your road, going to wrong route is definitely a nono. it will be IF. Its not that hard really straight forward route.

One major mistake is that most of people after Ebrake they never stop at the side to wait for instructor, they go back nursery area it will be IF. Please remember to wait for instructor to come and signal you to go,

then move on to the road and youll be on your own. The wait will be a while since the instructor need to clear the other stations then come to you. DO NOT put neutral and lepak there.

I did once and got reprimanded. Even if you want, dont get caught !

TP took twice. First time 40 points ( wobble to failure, so many ticks the box was not enough) but no major IF

TP today Second time 18 points ( minor blind spot/ plank

Glad i am done with this.. for those still trying after today, first time, second time ,third time fourth time etc. Dont give up. I sincerely hope you can pass on your next try :) (dawn,joe, angmoh aunty,pink polo t lady)

if you took today im number 34, the guy who got trolled as failed but eventually they was joking so i passed.

I would like to extend my sincere gratitude to the CDC instructors and everyone that help me in my journey of 2b... And when you pass buy something for them, small gesture like coffee will make their day.

Now i need to source for my bike... hehe. Ride safe everybody. I will still be active whenever i can to help those who are still on the journey to getting your license!

Edited by xuanzang
DO NOT put neutral and lepak there. I did once and got reprimanded. Even if you want, dont get caught !

Congrats on passing!

I lagi best....I switched off engine & put bike up on mainstand & walked around the turf area chit chatting w others while waiting for instructor. Kena from Ronnie! haha... He said it was ok to be in neutral but still sitting on bike. Putting on mainstand = park bike = u finished up before the lesson ended => IF.

I am the wisest man alive, for I know one thing, and that is that I know nothing - Socrates

Congrats on passing!

I lagi best....I switched off engine & put bike up on mainstand & walked around the turf area chit chatting w others while waiting for instructor. Kena from Ronnie! haha... He said it was ok to be in neutral but still sitting on bike. Putting on mainstand = park bike = u finished up before the lesson ended => IF.

Thanks bro! you taking 2a already right ? Ronnie like no more teaching, he now teaching car.. havent see him for a while, same goes to kelvin. sian still finding bike

@xuanzang hey man! congrats, we both pass on our second try. what bike are u looking out for

Congrats to you too! when did u pass ? haha looking at r15v2 leh i dont know where to source for bike, and what are the costs etc.

pass le one thing, now buy also headache, dont know market price..insurance what fee that fee maintenance etc..

lol bro! relax man, u can go a few website (etc sg bike mart, carousel) to see some prices of bike within ur range. Insurance and maintenance, basically is standard one la. u can search this forum sure have alot of people ask the same question as u.

Hi guys! i need some help here. I have just finished my practical lesson 1 today and I failed, so I need to retake.

My progress is quite slow since I can't really change gear today, and when I check the lessons it's all the way in May (more than 2 weeks later!). Is this how it works now? Cos I don't want to loose the momentum of learning how to ride as well so I am thinking if it is possible to book 2 lessons at the same time, and cancel if I pass?

what is the protocol now?

And will there be no refund as stated in this thread http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/205338-IMPORTANT-NOTICE-NO-refund-for-test-cancellation ??

Since there is no official announcement I just wanna check to be sure. TIA!

Hi guys! i need some help here. I have just finished my practical lesson 1 today and I failed, so I need to retake.

My progress is quite slow since I can't really change gear today, and when I check the lessons it's all the way in May (more than 2 weeks later!). Is this how it works now? Cos I don't want to loose the momentum of learning how to ride as well so I am thinking if it is possible to book 2 lessons at the same time, and cancel if I pass?

what is the protocol now?

And will there be no refund as stated in this thread http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/205338-IMPORTANT-NOTICE-NO-refund-for-test-cancellation ??

Since there is no official announcement I just wanna check to be sure. TIA!

Keep logging in to CDC portal every hour or 2 to check. Lesson slots do become available sporadically due to other students cancelling or sometimes CDC might open up slots last minute.

Always book 2 or more lessons at once, but make sure they're at least 48 hours apart so you can still cancel & get a refund in case you pass.

That refund advisory you're referring to is only for test dates (ie BTT, RTT, TP practical test).

And as always, be positive and remember that everyone learns at a different pace.

Hi thanks for the previous reply. I've another question.

I took 3 e-trials prior to taking my internal evaluation for RTT and still can't pass (failed 3 times already). My last mark was 88%. There are some questions which I don't have the answer for can anyone help me?

1) Brake fade cause

2) what do you do when a pedestrian crosses during the red light (stop/sound horn/slow down)?

3) Drive chain slack (20/30/40mm?)

4) what to do when your throttle is stuck?

. Signal and horn others?

. On and off throttle?

. Clutch in, disengage and try again

These are the few questions I suspect that caused me to fail, but I can't find it in the book as well (or didn't look hard enough lol). Any kind souls can help me with it? As well as if you have any tips for passing RTT/IE please let me know!!!😭

Let me try to help here. Pls feel free to correct me I'm wrong.

Brake fade cause by over heating of brakes

2) what do you do when a pedestrian crosses during the red light?

Stop and wait patiently for them to cross.

3) Drive chain slack (20/30/40mm?) 20-30mm I'm not sure.

4) what to do when your throttle is stuck?

Clutch in, disengage and try again.

Try to note down the answer during etrial😅

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

PAPABIKE the theory master, anyway to kristyay, jia you! My only advise is to do more Etrials and try to finish all 10 booklets so u will at least be familiar with all the questions that will come out.

Thanks Papabike for the help!

Ricorica: Yes, but each time I can only memorise a few answers... haha it's not that easy to memorise all the right ones!! :(

I've also purchased this online test but the test questions are all so outdated! Only e-trials can help.

Hello Riders.

I have signed up with CDC on April 2, already finished all theory lessons including DRT and internal evaluation. booked RTT for 18june.

Went to practical lesson 1 so far once. and got 2 out of 4 stamps. I have riding experience before, outside singapore (im a foreigner). I didnt fall off bike or stalled it, so i know the basic.

But, I dont know if it is me or the instructor i had was being rude/sarcastic every time i was doing anything wrong.

Instead of correcting my technique and pointing my mistake he said "if everyone else can do why cant u?"

At the end i didnt know what was he expecting and asking him didnt help. He is like "why should I repeat for you, i got no time, everyone paid money"

Dont know why he was pissed off so much. So I panicked and just kept quiet.

Is that how instruction is provided in driving schools of singapore? Are the students supposed to 'self-teach' themselves by booking lessons repeatedly?!

This is demoralizing on some next level I must say!

My next booking is next week. hope to not get the same guy again.

Edited by amit2410

Hello amit2410.

When during lesson just try to follow their instructions. The one who said why should I repeat for you, I got no time everyone paid money is likely to be that bugger Kelvin Yip. Because I recalled him scolding someone the same thing but the learner guy is like doing some other things instead of following his instructions.

But well not every instructor is like him. IMO CDC yes students are supposed to "self learn" by going for many lessons repeatedly.

So to avoid this, ask those instructors which are more friendlier. Most are willingly to teach you if you asked.

If you really give up on CDC one day, I recommend you to go try SSDC. If you read my thread, I switched from CDC to SSDC and despite the delay managed to get my licence in 5 months. However please note normally lesson 1 and 2 regardless of CDC and SSDC, the instructors tend to be very strict and fierce. I think they want to make sure you have a good foundation of riding I guess.

Good Luck!

Hello Riders.

I have signed up with CDC on April 2, already finished all theory lessons including DRT and internal evaluation. booked RTT for 18june.

Went to practical lesson 1 so far once. and got 2 out of 4 stamps. I have riding experience before, outside singapore (im a foreigner). I didnt fall off bike or stalled it, so i know the basic.

But, I dont know if it is me or the instructor i had was being rude/sarcastic every time i was doing anything wrong.

Instead of correcting my technique and pointing my mistake he said "if everyone else can do why cant u?"

At the end i didnt know what was he expecting and asking him didnt help. He is like "why should I repeat for you, i got no time, everyone paid money"

Is that how instruction is provided in driving schools of singapore? Are the students supposed to 'self-teach' themselves by booking lessons repeatedly?!

I think generally the CDC instructors are quite good. There are 1-2 that i dont really like, but sometimes just have to suck it up. Sometimes if you consider the work they are doing, its not easy. Standing under the hot sun, especially Lesson 1, trying to teach a bunch of newbies how to learn to ride, its not only dangerous but also quite intensive for them, to make sure people dont get injured.

I am chinese, but I think the malay instructors are generally nicer and more approachable. The chinese ones maybe abit less approachable. But anyway.. enjoy your lessons! its fun!

Hello Riders.

Hi there,

I think it's quite a norm for learners to have to attend a lesson more than once. Most likely to want you to be completely sure of what they had taught and also gain confidence of bike riding. (Or maybe they leeching our money lol)

Yes i do agree as what other bros have mentioned that some instructors are easier to communicate with, but i think as a learner we should just stay humble even though we may know what to do.

Good luck and ride safe!

Thanks guys for all the replies to my ranting.

Passed lesson 1 today on 2nd attempt.

The instructors were really nice this time. They explained every steps in detail and also told us the purpose of these.

Moving off and Stopping smoothly, low speed and high speed braking, engine brake and lastly slow turning.

Looking forward to lesson 2.

How long do u have to wait to take the next tp test?

+/- 2 months after factoring in re-training.