hi everyone! anyone tried to fix up the IU unit under the rear seat compartment? Will the gantry be able to detect the IU?

Ask Racingter aka ah beng! Heard it works ok w/o pillion.

• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

Tried on my old CBR600F4 before.

If placed under seat, try not to go thru gantry at >70km/h cos gantry might not be able to scan your IU.

With pillion, 80% chance the gantry will not able to scan your IU.

Did that for 6 years, visited inspection centre countless times (due to gantry not able to scan my IU.)

That's why I ended my frustration by placing the IU on the handlebar of my current FZ1 :D

hi everyone! anyone tried to fix up the IU unit under the rear seat compartment? Will the gantry be able to detect the IU?

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/2254/yamahafz1slomobw.jpg

xgrind.blogspot.com

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v435/xgrind/marcusakaflowers-1.jpg

The brake pads almost always lightly contacts the disc. When you release your brake lever, there is no spring or opposing force to totally unclamp the caliper/pads from the disc, so it just reverts out to the minimal contact position.

But don't worry too much. The sintered pads are made of a much softer material and will not eat into the discs.

Thanks for the replies man, and also to Lollypop.

When i felt the brake discs, there are some grooves on them , but I suppose it is normal anyway.

The slots on the brake pads indicating the wear is at the front or back of the pads?

I cant see the slots on the pads and should be changing them soon. Maybe also see whether need to clean the brake pistons also.

The mirrors and the MRA screen comes with a buzz every now and then, but still not so bad lah.

Tried on my old CBR600F4 before.

If placed under seat, try not to go thru gantry at >70km/h cos gantry might not be able to scan your IU.

With pillion, 80% chance the gantry will not able to scan your IU.

Did that for 6 years, visited inspection centre countless times (due to gantry not able to scan my IU.)

That's why I ended my frustration by placing the IU on the handlebar of my current FZ1 :D

Nothing is worse than having to reverse a 200kg odd bike over a hump when the gantry just refused to scan the IU under the seat.

thank you for all the feedback. managed to hook up the IU and placed under the rear seat. Guess now I've just got to cross my fingers. ha ha

Haha, trust me

Been there, done that... not a good experience

Nothing is worse than having to reverse a 200kg odd bike over a hump when the gantry just refused to scan the IU under the seat.

xgrind.blogspot.com

dun worry i have checked before... its the fuel pump... if u dun hear dat... den big trouble... cos fuel pump not working anymore... :cheeky:

Okie... hope so too.

i just heard the sound again!

It's loud if i never switch on the headlights.. But got softer when i switched it on... could it be the electricals?

Then switch off bike and back on again after a few secondss, the sound still there...

Then switch off bike and back on again after a few minutes, sound gone... :(

Even the most precious of memories fade with the passage of time

Hi guys good morning... I'm wondering, how much mileage can u guys clock wit a full tank on your respective rides let say if u travel max abt 100km/h to 110km/h?

Both Fazer 1 & Fazer 6.

Health Warning!

BootLicking is not good for your ASS!!!

Okie... hope so too.

i just heard the sound again!

It's loud if i never switch on the headlights.. But got softer when i switched it on... could it be the electricals?

Then switch off bike and back on again after a few secondss, the sound still there...

Then switch off bike and back on again after a few minutes, sound gone... :(

well upon the start up of the iginition its actually the checking of the device... something similar to the start up of the meter... after check finish thus no more sound until u start the bike lo...

http://www.mototriti.gr/jpg/mtr/390/NEWS/1809093.jpg
Hi guys good morning... I'm wondering, how much mileage can u guys clock wit a full tank on your respective rides let say if u travel max abt 100km/h to 110km/h?

Both Fazer 1 & Fazer 6.

Oh no. Not the the dreaded FC questions again. :faint:

It's definitely not the checking device sound..

This sound is like construction site sound.... ZNNNGGGGGGGGG

Usually the noise will start after abt 20 min of riding...

Even the most precious of memories fade with the passage of time

well upon the start up of the iginition its actually the checking of the device... something similar to the start up of the meter... after check finish thus no more sound until u start the bike lo...

guyz, when u start that time ur meter moves and comes back to original position with the four red lights at the below rpm meter lights up one by one than turns off later rite?????

have u all encountered this whereby the meter moves but the 4 lights doesnt light up??? but still there is a checking sound. . . experienced this the other day and had to off on a couple of time before it is back to normal. . .

is tthere a reason to panick???

Oh no. Not the the dreaded FC questions again. :faint:

yup...:sian:

till now i dont even know what my bike FC is like, i just ride and pump and go and enjoy the ride rather than let these bother me.

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

yup...:sian:

till now i dont even know what my bike FC is like, i just ride and pump and go and enjoy the ride rather than let these bother me.

Same Same.

When hit reserve, just be on the safe side & pump by 60km over the F-trip.

Same Same.

best is to

"ride more, worry less" you live life once, make it a good one..:thumb:

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Ask Racingter aka ah beng! Heard it works ok w/o pillion.

It works la.

I put the IU in the rear seat of my R1. Going thru gantry works, w/o pillion. For IU Carparks, simply approach the IU Antenna slowly and move a bit more ahead such that it faces your ass. It will detect... just a bit slower. Angle is important.

If you have a pillion, well... too bad for the car parks. Pillion has to dismount.

For the road ERP, best to slow down a bit. Especially if your pillion is wearing or carrying lotsa metallic objects.

It's definitely not the checking device sound..

This sound is like construction site sound.... ZNNNGGGGGGGGG

Usually the noise will start after abt 20 min of riding...

OK.... ask you one more thing.

Along with the ZNNNNGGGGGGGG sound.... do you also realize that your speedometer is no longer working? Your signal lights are always on? You got no headlights? And maybe your fuel gauge also shows SUPER full... meaning go up past the F mark?

If yes, then....

My 02 FZ6 tio this twice. Battery problem.

Approach the IU antenna slowly. ;)

At worst, dismount and push your rear wheel over the hump. :p

Does it show the error code "55" at the indicator where the clock supposed to be with the immobilizer light still blinking?

guyz, when u start that time ur meter moves and comes back to original position with the four red lights at the below rpm meter lights up one by one than turns off later rite?????

have u all encountered this whereby the meter moves but the 4 lights doesnt light up??? but still there is a checking sound. . . experienced this the other day and had to off on a couple of time before it is back to normal. . .

is tthere a reason to panick???

xgrind.blogspot.com

Does it show the error code "55" at the indicator where the clock supposed to be with the immobilizer light still blinking?

nope/ . . . everything as per normal except the four lights dont light up(except for neutral light lah)

Then does it show any error code?

nope/ . . . everything as per normal except the four lights dont light up(except for neutral light lah)

xgrind.blogspot.com

Same Same.

I always panic when reserve meter is running.