Ahhaha,

You must be kidding man, one cost around $1.8K another cost $2.6k..

Maybe after 18 mths of riding ba..

Ya... something like that. After 18 months.

Gotta start hiding cash one side. $100 every month. :lol:

• Replies 99.2k

• pichudot

• innards

• maxxmadness

• bigman_185

I can't vouch for the Ohlins as I haven't tried it, but the Penske are great! Feels like a totally different ride! :thumb:

Next time we meet for a bike wash or otherwise, let me try mounting on your bike. :D

Since you said the our weights are pretty similiar, you can max out the damping settings. I'm sure the damping's hard enough for our weight. For me, no complaints for now

Alternatively you can throw cash in for a better shock...I'm sure the aftermarket shock is definitely cheaper than your new PC rig ;)

My weight and your weight not too far apart leh....

And already I feel that it's mushy.

OK OK... it's not soft. Wrong term. :D Set the preload at mid, the sag is actually OK.

It's the damping!! It's the bloody damping. It bounces like a waterbed, and squats like an ah beng when driven out of the corner. :slapforehead:

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/2254/yamahafz1slomobw.jpg

xgrind.blogspot.com

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v435/xgrind/marcusakaflowers-1.jpg

i think if happen again tonight, i go and check which car making the neighbourhood lose precious sleep..:sian:...wait perhaps it is really the "joker"..

http://newsimg.bbc.co.uk/media/images/44853000/jpg/_44853332_ledger226.jpg

damn....... really did happened again!!

i think its programmed to sound aft 2300hrs... :bouncefire:

NB.... any aircon lobang here??

My weight and your weight not too far apart leh....

And already I feel that it's mushy.

OK OK... it's not soft. Wrong term. :D Set the preload at mid, the sag is actually OK.

It's the damping!! It's the bloody damping. It bounces like a waterbed, and squats like an ah beng when driven out of the corner. :slapforehead:

Damm it. Im having suspension issues as well.

ive got rebound adjustments on one fork and compression one another.

and one side is already maxed out!!! :giddy:

whats next? other than changing forks, how about fork oil or springs?

this saggy, lumpy feel I believe gets worst with age, Im not looking forward to a pongo stick as a front fork.

btw, im about 83kg. dont think weight is an issue here as there are 100kg ang mos elsewhere riding the bike with the stock forks and have no issues after making adjustments.

Most people go through life following the crowd.

Others think for themselves.

They go their own way.

Since you said the our weights are pretty similiar, you can max out the damping settings. I'm sure the damping's hard enough for our weight. For me, no complaints for now

Alternatively you can throw cash in for a better shock...I'm sure the aftermarket shock is definitely cheaper than your new PC rig ;)

Dey.... :D

Preload is enough.

The only damping setting available on our wonderful bikes is.... rebound!

If we jack up the rebound damping, the susp will be slow to rise/extend after bumps or dips. Go through an extended bumpy section, or a serious of tight hard corners, and your suspy will continue to compress but not extend/rebound fast enough to cope, resulting in suspension packing.... where the ass end will sag low. Very very bad when cornering or when accelerating out.

The problem with this bike is the compression damping... which is non-existent. :slapforehead: I wonder why they excluded that! :slapforehead:

Eh... cannot compare with PC Rig.

A suspension only serves the bike and ride. The PC serves my gaming need, my surfing need, my chatting need, my forums trolling need, and my porn needs. :deal:

Damm it. Im having suspension issues as well.

ive got rebound adjustments on one fork and compression one another.

and one side is already maxed out!!! :giddy:

whats next? other than changing forks, how about fork oil or springs?

this saggy, lumpy feel I believe gets worst with age, Im not looking forward to a pongo stick as a front fork.

btw, im about 83kg. dont think weight is an issue here as there are 100kg ang mos elsewhere riding the bike with the stock forks and have no issues after making ajustments.

Hmm, the Tiger also has the separate fork damping eh? Similar to the FZ1 and RS250.

Eh, yours is a new bike leh. When you mentioned soft, are you talking about the preload or damping? Those are 2 totally different issues.

If the preload is giving you issues, a change of fork springs might help.

For the damping, what you can do is to try changing to a higher weight fork oil as a start. Sure beats an expensive revalve or change of forks.

Well,

There's always folks out there who wants to have radial mount calipers and harder springs.... at least the folks in US tested and tried. And since Vanselle is wondering about the next mod, I'd just give him a suggestion that's all. Knowing you, that's the last thing you will do for yours :D

Do agree with the less-than-satisfactory rear shock... with my weight, think it can hold on till I had done what i wish to do with the bike first before it get busted up :)

Shock is the last thin in my shopping list, intend to get Speeohealer and PC III first..

Hmm, the Tiger also has the separate fork damping eh? Similar to the FZ1 and RS250.

Eh, yours is a new bike leh. When you mentioned soft, are you talking about the preload or damping? Those are 2 totally different issues.

If the preload is giving you issues, a change of fork springs might help.

For the damping, what you can do is to try changing to a higher weight fork oil as a start. Sure beats an expensive revalve or change of forks.

yes, same style adjustment settings, compression on one side of the fork, rebound on the other. its strange, not logical, but then again i heard the 250GP bikes also have the same style settings.

im no suspension guru, but I have this annoying intemittant issue of feeling minor bumps sensation from the front.

agent thought the fork was too soft, so stifen it and it was more obvious, to me that is. the guys there tested it and said no issue no issue. front tyre were checked for lumps, they said front bearings no issue also.....what the hell can it be? this can be felt at speeds from about 30km/h - 150km/h......get up to speed, clutch in.......and u feel as if at a certain rotation, there is like ure going over a rough patch in the road but the road is in fact flat and smooth. same for 20-30km/h speeds on flat concrete in the car park....i feel it.....note that there is no throttle input involved here.

the dealer says its mapping and all that, somebody please tell me how its related!!

when the bike was new, the bike was like one of those bouncing nets for the baby. the bike sagged a fair bit when I sat on it and the rebound was quick. stop at the lights and the fork dips quite alot and comes back up slowly.

another thing is i have had a few close encounters in the dry. at corners at slight lean angles, the rear nearly slide out. the road was dry and clean. i have tried various tyre pressures but with the same effect. the only things left to look at is the rear settings and a diff set of tyres. currently using pilot road 180s in the rear.

very scary when wet. i barely lean over at corners, its mostly handlebar action. :giddy:

They go their own way.

As far as cornering on the road for me.......no complaints. Maybe I'm too insensitive a rider to notice the finer details, hah.

And for your rig, Gaming needs I agree, but you don't need a powerful rig for chatting, surfing, trolling and watching porn (for porn, maybe if you want to watch it in its HD 1080p with DTSHD-MA glory).....

Dey.... :D

Preload is enough.

The only damping setting available on our wonderful bikes is.... rebound!

If we jack up the rebound damping, the susp will be slow to rise/extend after bumps or dips. Go through an extended bumpy section, or a serious of tight hard corners, and your suspy will continue to compress but not extend/rebound fast enough to cope, resulting in suspension packing.... where the ass end will sag low. Very very bad when cornering or when accelerating out.

The problem with this bike is the compression damping... which is non-existent. :slapforehead: I wonder why they excluded that! :slapforehead:

Eh... cannot compare with PC Rig.

A suspension only serves the bike and ride. The PC serves my gaming need, my surfing need, my chatting need, my forums trolling need, and my porn needs. :deal:

http://img600.imageshack.us/img600/2254/yamahafz1slomobw.jpg

xgrind.blogspot.com

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v435/xgrind/marcusakaflowers-1.jpg

im no suspension guru, but I have this annoying intemittant issue of feeling minor bumps sensation from the front.

agent thought the fork was too soft, so stifen it and it was more obvious, to me that is. the guys there tested it and said no issue no issue. front tyre were checked for lumps, they said front bearings no issue also.....what the hell can it be? this can be felt at speeds from about 30km/h - 150km/h......get up to speed, clutch in.......and u feel as if at a certain rotation, there is like ure going over a rough patch in the road but the road is in fact flat and smooth. same for 20-30km/h speeds on flat concrete in the car park....i feel it.....note that there is no throttle input involved here.

In fact, the best thing to do now would be to look at your manual and return to stock settings first. Then tweak it as you go recording your changes along the way.

If you can feel too much of the road ripples and stuff, it could also mean that your compression damping may be set too high. Try backing off a couple of clicks and see if the sensation improves. Too much compression damping results in a harsh ride, and lack of grip in corners. Too little, and it's like a pogo.

If you set your rebound damping too high, (as I mentioned above) your fork may "pack", which is what happens when you hit a bump, and the fork compresses, but is slow to extend/rebound due to damping... then you hit the next bump, and the fork compresses further till you near bottom out. But set it too low, and you ride a pogo. Play with it around.

Preload is pretty much fixed for your weight.

Try reducing the damping compression a couple of clicks off stock and see if it helps?

As far as cornering on the road for me.......no complaints. Maybe I'm too insensitive a rider to notice the finer details, hah.

And for your rig, Gaming needs I agree, but you don't need a powerful rig for chatting, surfing, trolling and watching porn (for porn, maybe if you want to watch it in its HD 1080p with DTSHD-MA glory).....

Not about being sensitive or not. It's just that the bike understeers due to lack of compression damping. Hate that feeling. :slapforehead:

Hey porn in 1080P is good. But my monitor only gives me 1680x1050 max. So dammit... I'm still stuck with 720p at the most. :( But whatever it is, clearer, rounder nipples are always welcomed. :D

Not about being sensitive or not. It's just that the bike understeers due to lack of compression damping. Hate that feeling. :slapforehead:

Hey porn in 1080P is good. But my monitor only gives me 1680x1050 max. So dammit... I'm still stuck with 720p at the most. :( But whatever it is, clearer, rounder nipples are always welcomed. :D

i realised, in this thread, we discuss about anything thats naked........

They go their own way.

In fact, the best thing to do now would be to look at your manual and return to stock settings first. Then tweak it as you go recording your changes along the way.

If you can feel too much of the road ripples and stuff, it could also mean that your compression damping may be set too high. Try backing off a couple of clicks and see if the sensation improves. Too much compression damping results in a harsh ride, and lack of grip in corners. Too little, and it's like a pogo.

If you set your rebound damping too high, (as I mentioned above) your fork may "pack", which is what happens when you hit a bump, and the fork compresses, but is slow to extend/rebound due to damping... then you hit the next bump, and the fork compresses further till you near bottom out. But set it too low, and you ride a pogo. Play with it around.

Preload is pretty much fixed for your weight.

Try reducing the damping compression a couple of clicks off stock and see if it helps?

Ive had the mechs adjust it so many times its not funny anymore.

I will gather some confidence in returning it to stock and trying everything all over again. Stock is a joke, feels softer than a WR200. a 200kg WR200.

Tks for your help. If we meet up, u can take her for a ride and see what I mean.

They go their own way.

Ive had the mechs adjust it so many times its not funny anymore.

I will gather some confidence in returning it to stock and trying everything all over again. Stock is a joke, feels softer than a WR200. a 200kg WR200.

Tks for your help. If we meet up, u can take her for a ride and see what I mean.

Dude! U don't need a mech to adjust your suspension.

U need your bike's toolkit. That's it. :p

I adjusted the settings on my R1 all of the time. Tweak tweak tweak...

Dude! U don't need a mech to adjust your suspension.

U need your bike's toolkit. That's it. :p

I adjusted the settings on my R1 all of the time. Tweak tweak tweak...

i know how to make the mechanical adjustments, no problem!

its translating what I feel into what to adjust, thats the tricky part!

tried this before and after numerous adjustments, just brought it back to my mech :)

They go their own way.

OK, got that. But the thing is that, unless the mech knows his suspension, it's not gonna help much. Your mech is familiar with susp, I gather.

There're many old skool type mechs who're basically just grease monkeys, and they can't help much in that area. U could also take your bike to Bikelab or Racewerks, see if they can assist you the next time you service it.

Morning everyone!!

So Wednesday... seems like there was a LKS last nite..

How did it all turn out?? Do tell ..Do tell...

"Deep within us all, lies a secret garden where we retreat to at the end of the day, to ease our wearied mind and bodies…â€

http://i288.photobucket.com/albums/ll198/fir_chan/Places/DSC02859-1.jpg

Ohlins Rear Shock for Gen2 FZ1.

Now available at local distributor Sporting Motors. I was told he has one piece as of today.

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/4936/e24852wxme5.gif
Morning everyone!!

So Wednesday... seems like there was a LKS last nite..

How did it all turn out?? Do tell ..Do tell...

All the usual suspects turn up nia. Think the LKS good 'O' days are coming to a end.Maybe a monthly LKS will be better from now onwards.

Past rides are already history....

Current ride: FW VFR 800 ABS

http://i154.photobucket.com/albums/s254/james9295/DSC_0200.jpg

Hi guys.... I intend to do some minor servicing to my bike. Just need to clarify somethings wit you guys. Can the OEM spark plug opener get the job done easily or shud i get some other better kind of opener to ease my work? If there is such a thing, can recommend my where to get it? Aniwae i'm riding a FZ1 08. Thanks in advance...

Health Warning!

BootLicking is not good for your ASS!!!

OK, got that. But the thing is that, unless the mech knows his suspension, it's not gonna help much. Your mech is familiar with susp, I gather.

There're many old skool type mechs who're basically just grease monkeys, and they can't help much in that area. U could also take your bike to Bikelab or Racewerks, see if they can assist you the next time you service it.

Yes, Ive been to Racewerx and another 3-4 other workshops but no one can isolate what the cause of that intemittant rapid vibration felt in the front.

Its frustrating. The vibes is not easily identified or felt by everyone.

Are there any other suspension clinics that I can visit?

They go their own way.

All the usual suspects turn up nia. Think the LKS good 'O' days are coming to a end.Maybe a monthly LKS will be better from now onwards.

Well... we got to keep this alive!!!

How about we start posting these LKS online again, here and SFC?

Once posted hopefully more ppl will see it and if they turn up... they turn up!

Who is heading to Port Dickson this weekend?? Anyone going?

"Deep within us all, lies a secret garden where we retreat to at the end of the day, to ease our wearied mind and bodies…â€

Ohlins Rear Shock for Gen2 FZ1.

Now available at local distributor Sporting Motors. I was told he has one piece as of today.

All the recent conversation on Shocks....

So who will be the lucky person to buy this excellent shocks for the upgrade?

So far i have only seen a couple of bikes with aftermarket shocks and i know they all swear by it...

Penske and Ohlins....