"to get neutral, i'll rev slightly and let go of clutch while lifting the gear lightly with my toes"-that's what she said! lol. hmm clutch in when neutral and start the bike? according to amran won't that damage the bike or issit 1st gear and clutch in that damages the bike?

hmm. what who said?

i'm not sure about the clutch in thing leh. but in ssdc my instructor told me its ok to keep it a habit. :faint:

anyway yea im using stock headlights haha -.-"

16043136772_a80daf3f36_h.jpg
  • Replies 4.4k

haha wah thats unique. but is it expensive to do that kinda respray? 200bucks?

prob abt 300+ ba.. dunno leh. lol

http://www.nea.gov.sg/cms/mss/gif/rainloc0.gif

"Riding a slow bike fast is always more fun than riding a fast bike slow."

GT125R dun think in sg have... previously got ppl ask before liao.. closest i ever see is GT250R or GT650R red... unless bike shop change their mind loh...

ic.. cos i saw at bike production website got put gt 125 r leh.. says coming 2008.. is bike production still in business?

coming 2008 meh???? serious bo... maybe u got to check with them.. last last time i heard is hat dun have la.. maybe they wil bring in to test the market see how? I mean not much harm trying.. cos i think most of the parts should be uses normal naked comets'...

BIke production still in business.. address 610 serangoon road.. tel, cant remember... do a search and u will find.. :)

Hi guys, just viewed a 2nd hand comet at Ban Hong this afternoon & found it a beauty. Spoke to the person there & found out that it has been there for slightly more than 1 month. Would like to ask you guys what to look out for before buying one as it will be my 1st bike. Also, do i need to change the battery, spark plug, oil filter & engine oil before buying?

Whats the plate and price they quote? Ban Hong as in at AMK ind pk 2? I not able to say what exactly to look out for cos so far this is my first 2nd hand bike.. maybe u can go with a friend? Cos things to look out for when buying second hand bike i think is roughly about the same..

As suggested by friend, when i got my bike, i immediately go some where else to put box, change brake pad, e.o, spark plug...etc.. Cos its like u duno when the last time the owner did its last servicing.. Oh.. i did not change the battery..

Of cos, above mentioned is just my opinion.. cheers :)

Whats the plate and price they quote? Ban Hong as in at AMK ind pk 2? I not able to say what exactly to look out for cos so far this is my first 2nd hand bike.. maybe u can go with a friend? Cos things to look out for when buying second hand bike i think is roughly about the same..

As suggested by friend, when i got my bike, i immediately go some where else to put box, change brake pad, e.o, spark plug...etc.. Cos its like u duno when the last time the owner did its last servicing.. Oh.. i did not change the battery..

Of cos, above mentioned is just my opinion.. cheers :)

It's a black FV plate so most prob should be around 2 yrs plus or so.. they quote me slightly more than 2k but after 3rd party insurance & transfer fee all add up to around 2.8k.

So far i spoke to some of my friends & they told me to look out for any oil stains at the engine area. Also, they told me to take note whether the bike starts up easily that's why i requested to change the engine oil & battery but how would we know whether they really got change or not. Oh ya another thing, i sat on the bike this afternoon and was wondering if they could say like lower the seat hight a little cos i'm around 164cm and with a lowered seat will be more comfortable for me.

I also noticed that there's a bit of rust mark left on the fork but can be easily cleaned off using a tissue. Suspect that it's some kind of fluid from the suspension. Is this a symptom of a problem?

It's a black FV plate so most prob should be around 2 yrs plus or so.. they quote me slightly more than 2k but after 3rd party insurance & transfer fee all add up to around 2.8k.

FV around 2 yrs? i doubt so.. Unless the previous owner retain number plate.. Mine is FY(2nd hand) and i have been riding for about 2 years +.. It would be best to find out the date of manufacture and register.. Just get the register number and key in here..

from there u will be able to see the details..

I got mine 2years(Feb 2006) ago at 3.5k machine price, then plus 3rd party fire and theft insurance 600.. I cant remember the interest or if got any other add-on fees.. Hmm.. frankly, i cant really say whether is the 2.8k good or bad.. I guess u need to do some calculation and search around to see.. Read through the previous posting in this thread, it really helps, i remember a comet was sold recently..

So far i spoke to some of my friends & they told me to look out for any oil stains at the engine area. Also, they told me to take note whether the bike starts up easily that's why i requested to change the engine oil & battery but how would we know whether they really got change or not. Oh ya another thing, i sat on the bike this afternoon and was wondering if they could say like lower the seat hight a little cos i'm around 164cm and with a lowered seat will be more comfortable for me.

Request to change oil and battery.. if free then ok la.. Unless u stay and see them do it, otherwise, u will have to take their word for it loh.. Which is why i go to another bike shop to service.. I feel that buying 2nd bike abit depends on luck, cos my rectifier die on me about 1-2 months later. Maybe its just me sway..

Not sure if can lower the seat, think u need to check with them, Read through some of other thread's postings, what they did was cut the seat cushion in half, making it thinner.. thus "lowering the height". But i mean... how much can u cut? The seat isnt that thick...

I also noticed that there's a bit of rust mark left on the fork but can be easily cleaned off using a tissue. Suspect that it's some kind of fluid from the suspension. Is this a symptom of a problem?

Eh.. paiseh.. cant help u out on this.. check with ur friends if this is a symptoms of a problems..?

hello ricky u nvr come in this thread liao ah? maybe next monthi go change

spark plugs, EO, air filter, oil filter. see if wan change brake pads also.

like dat how much ah roughly?

hi guys anyone one of u have seen or rode a GT125R in sg? wats the price and where can i view it? anyway wats the Fc on ur comets? thks guys =]

wah gt125r.. thats gonna be a very chio bike but... err.. slow. haha :cheeky:

fc on comets is average around 25 - 30km/ litre. some say 33 or more.

mine's closer to 25km per litre :dot:

Hi s32.

Yes comet is a beauty. I'm going to ban hon later i'll take a look if i see any 2nd hand comets there.

before buying, seriously i'm not sure what to look out for. just make sure price is good and reasonable. tyres are not worn out. engine looks clean and decent. and doesnt make funny sounds. seats, pipe, tank, etc, doesnt have lots of cosmetic damages. speedometer and stuffs are displaying correctly... mmmm.. and i guess thats what i'll look out for haha. a not-so-experienced kinda advice. :angel:

YO BRO! glad that you missed me.

i was overseas for the past 4 days hahaha. went redang for some snorkeling :angel: :angel: :angel:

so how you planning to go next month? i'm going LATER.

wanna come along? haha

sorry i just realised i forgot to answer your question.

brake pads i changed 2 months ago. front + back, $22

spark plugs, EO, air filter, oil filter.. all change should be less than $100. prolly around 50 - 70.. ask mattman8881 he's more experienced haha.

anyway matkental air filter and spark plug no need change so frequently la you get some advice from the mech before telling him you wanna change all.. save some $$ (:

i guess the price is O.K for everything that comes from a shop. i got mine cheaper than mattman8881, around 2k machine price and after adding insurance and stuffs to repair, add up to around 2.6k.

and i got mine from a private owner.

Oh ya another thing, i sat on the bike this afternoon and was wondering if they could say like lower the seat hight a little cos i'm around 164cm and with a lowered seat will be more comfortable for me.

164 for comet you might get some problem moving the bike backwards i guess. i'm 174cm and i coundn't push the bike upslope while seating on the bike. gotta get down and push it haha.

i think lowering the bike not necessarily need to 'thin the cushion' cos our comets really have thin seats already. i guess you can request for lowering of fork and suspension to make it lower. ask the mech :)

FV around 2 yrs? i doubt so.. Unless the previous owner retain number plate.. Mine is FY(2nd hand) and i have been riding for about 2 years +..

Request to change oil and battery.. if free then ok la.. Unless u stay and see them do it, otherwise, u will have to take their word for it loh.. Which is why i go to another bike shop to service.. I feel that buying 2nd bike abit depends on luck, cos my rectifier die on me about 1-2 months later. Maybe its just me sway..

Not sure if can lower the seat, think u need to check with them, Read through some of other thread's postings, what they did was cut the seat cushion in half, making it thinner.. thus "lowering the height". But i mean... how much can u cut? The seat isnt that thick...

Eh.. paiseh.. cant help u out on this.. check with ur friends if this is a symptoms of a problems..?

Oops, sorry there's a typo error.. It should be a black FZ plate intead. I actually requested for a batt & engine oil change before taking over the bike. Maybe i'll follow then to their workshop to see that they do so since it should be nearby ya.

Btw, what's a rectifier? Seems like it's linked with the batt huh. As for the seat i'll have to see what i can do about it. Maybe have to talk to the mech..

Hi s32.

Yes comet is a beauty. I'm going to ban hon later i'll take a look if i see any 2nd hand comets there.

before buying, seriously i'm not sure what to look out for. just make sure price is good and reasonable. tyres are not worn out. engine looks clean and decent. and doesnt make funny sounds. seats, pipe, tank, etc, doesnt have lots of cosmetic damages. speedometer and stuffs are displaying correctly... mmmm.. and i guess thats what i'll look out for haha. a not-so-experienced kinda advice. :angel:

Hi nelo,

seriously i'm real new to bikes so i do not kow how to look out for those stuff you mentioned above. Oh since you're going down, maybe you could help me look? I owe you one ya.

Hi nelo,

seriously i'm real new to bikes so i do not kow how to look out for those stuff you mentioned above. Oh since you're going down, maybe you could help me look? I owe you one ya.

no prob man.. FZ plate right. same as mine. thats around 3 year old. if its FZ then 2.8k from the shop aint expensive. :thumb:

I'll help u look out.

eh alamak ricky u went ban hon ah? go dere do wad? just now in sch

can't start my bike sia. i tried clutching in, play throttle a bit still cannot.

wanna clean spark plugs also dunno how to remove. lol noob i noe. lucky got

this bro help me. he say wad throttle thingy den can. dunno la tmr holiday

maybe i go on fri. how are mechs dere? good?

sorry i just realised i forgot to answer your question.

brake pads i changed 2 months ago. front + back, $22

spark plugs, EO, air filter, oil filter.. all change should be less than $100. prolly around 50 - 70.. ask mattman8881 he's more experienced haha.

anyway matkental air filter and spark plug no need change so frequently la you get some advice from the mech before telling him you wanna change all.. save some $$ (:

no la... i not experience.. probably only more experience in getting carrot.. Sian..

Where did u get ur front and rear brake pad change for $22?? mine usually about 18-25 depending on which shop i go...

by the way, some time around mid march, i had call up this particular shop at amk ind pk 2 to ask for air filter. Boss tell me no stock, stock coming in april.

just now i went there, boss tell me got to order.. win liao loh.. Since i am there, i change my front light(8) and brake pad(22). Total cost me $30. What kinda light bulb need $8. Next time, i am giving my money to other workshop.

While there, saw this black comet outside the shop, i think it was involved in some accident or wat.. Notice that it has a main stand install, so i casually ask the boss, how much is the main stand for comet... Boss tell me comet never come out main stand. Then i jokingly tell him, wonder how the comet outside manage to fix...

Shortly i paid up and left. Forever. . .

Anyone out there ever buy the air filter elsewhere?

eh alamak ricky u went ban hon ah? go dere do wad? just now in sch

can't start my bike sia. i tried clutching in, play throttle a bit still cannot.

wanna clean spark plugs also dunno how to remove. lol noob i noe. lucky got

this bro help me. he say wad throttle thingy den can. dunno la tmr holiday

maybe i go on fri. how are mechs dere? good?

mechs are friendly la. you just park you bike outside walk to any mechanic and tell them u wanna do oil change and all the stuffs. they'll bring ur bike in and fix for you. then you can tell them all your misc problems in the meantime. should be ok.