Originally posted by lostjackal@May 15 2005, 10:49 AM

hey Mannu,

tot u planning to get a Mito. :smile:

I oso rode a Mito for my first bike. Saw your replys on the Mito forum since i freq visit the forum to see how r things. For the roadwin, it is totally diff from the Mito.

IMHO, it is most suitable as a learners bike compared to others since if you wanna upgrade to 2A, the Roadwin feel is almost identical to riding an S4 or hornet for your 2A practical.

Regarding mods, think you can look around the first few pages of the thread or ask stsoh for the specifics. A lot of mod info has been written down inside this thread :goodluck:

i sure want a mito man lol.. but if ma dad doesnt agree on it in the end im looking at roadwin or comet.. looks good but now id rather gain more xperience from toking to everyone .. no offence. :smile:

• Replies 8.9k

Originally posted by stsoh@May 15 2005, 01:26 PM

wat can fast throttle do? :confused:

comets v-twins engine have more power at low/mid rpm but heavier repairs with twin pistons/cams/valves/cylinders/heads/plugs/etc.... n complicities of tuning twins.

few mods tat u can do for roadwin tat r within legal limits,

1) carb tune for rich mixture (jet-needle's eclip at 3rd slot n air-screw 1/2 turn counter-clockwise).

2) sprockets change orign. 14t/42t.

optional, u can change to 15t/40t with oem tyres for top end speed but less pickup speed n with just 12hp might not be powerful enough to pull up 9000rpm unless going down hill/slope.

or orign. sprockets with bigger rear tyre like 140/70 but may rub against guard.

3) change exhaust header to stainless steel racing exhaust header pipe for more power.

4) empty the muffler or drill a 5mm hole between end inner/outer pipes for better throttle responses.

5) drill holes on the stem of air inlet white funnel for better air breather (just did this mod last week).

6) change handle grips to foam grips for less handle vibrations.

7) install a windshield for wind/debris protection.

8) use iridium ignition plug (ngk CR8EHIX-9) for long lasting life n lesser load on the ignition/magneto coils.

overall u will have better acceleration, lesser vibration n top speed gain from 110 to 120 kph. :cheeky:

and these tat u have said stsoh are they able to be diyed ? and if not coud u jus disclose the price or amount u have to put aside for doing these mods on the roadwin and was wondering does CKA have black roadwins still > and can ask them paint or not ah > ,, to our color we want ? . ty

) drill holes on the stem of air inlet white funnel for better air breather

I just took out the whole damn funnel. :smile:

Recite ! In the name of thy Lord and Cherisher, Who created-

Created man, out of a (mere) clot of congealed blood:

Recite ! And thy Lord is Most Bountiful,-

He Who taught (the use of) the pen,-

Taught man that which he knew not.

Originally posted by stsoh@May 15 2005, 04:27 PM

don't forget this is only a 125cc bike, it is a good economical transport, leisure n passionate ride but if u want to 'chiong chiong' bike, better u go for nsp, kips, tzr, mito, aprilia or any other 2-strokers. :thumb:

Get Mito! Get Mito! Italian stallions are the best!

Originally posted by stsoh@May 15 2005, 12:40 PM

was installed with this bracket when i brought the bike. :cheeky:

i don't like the front-center mount type of bracket, i guess the mech must have know my likings. :cheeky:

I oso asked for it but roy psychoed me to use the normal brackets. Ah well, maybe i'll just cka to install the original accessory windshield since i think they'll grind down the existing brackets for free. :sian:

aiyah....i refering to IF he wants to get a chiong chiong bike 2-stroker la :cheeky:

10 reasons why i like my Roadwin:

1. Thef sexy looks of a large naked bike (ppl always asking me how many cc this bike is and the expression on their faces when i say it is only 125cc)

2. Road handling (for a 125cc bike, it's handling is a notch higher than other bikes in its class...of coz the racing 125ccs has the best handling:) ). Very stable on highways.

3. Fuel economy. Large plastic tank holds 16l on petrol ensuring a minimum of 350 clicks not including reserve (which can go up to another 100 clicks more).

4. Easy Maintenance. Engine oil & filter changes. Nothing to it. No need of deep pockets in this department

5. 4 stroke smoothness and quietness. No irritating mosquito exhaust sounds dat causes prolonged ear damaged in the near/far future.

6. Reputable brand. Daelim is like the Korean giant Samsung. Ensures quality products that are on par with its japanese rivals.

7. Well known. Notice how deep it has penetrated the european market. Try searching for Roadwin on the internet and see the no. of foreign forums & ads on the bike. Shows the reputability of the brand in the other parts of the world.

8. Superb finishings. Stable frames and fittings. Good workmanship on both the interior and exterior of the bike.

9. Size. The overall size doesn't make u look like a clown on a baby's tricycle. Big guys look cool on the bike and not so big guys look 'more garang'

10. Fun. A bike dats just nice for city riding in Singapore and cruising on the highways. Customizable.

Of coz, the bike do have its cons as well but you'll have to wait for that post to come :hungry:

like i typed in the mito forum ma dad only wants to get me a first hand bike lor .. so i can really rule out the thoughts of getting second hand lor .. so sad ... and stsoh are u available if i i adn we ever need help to go down together to the agents and enquire things ? ... i need someone with experience in tat line.. ty.. and the racing exhausts thingy is wat ah ? ... it improves power is it ? .. i thinking why so little buy comet and many buy roadwin le ... i was also thinking u know super4's some change their head light to those like RXZ kinds rite ? ... and better still those foreigners riding comets and roadwins even change their heads to those scrambler kinds i think its called acerbis ah ? lol.. some alien kinda looking head la .. can do in singapore or not ah ? legal ? ... how much if u know thank you coz wat i plan to do is hopefully when i get ma mito or roadwin try to change everything fast fast and then get used to riding it tat way instead of getting stock and get used to it first then slowly change coz then by then i feel i mite get to used to it and dun wanna change anything lol.. i funny character i know .. well thanks and pls fill me in more lol... appreciate great help from u bikers ! i love this forum ! :cheeky: :lovestruck:

Originally posted by MaNnU@May 16 2005, 01:27 PM

like i typed in the mito forum ma dad only wants to get me a first hand bike lor

Hi MaNnu,

I think you better ask your dad whether got budget for first hand bike or not. I believe u might have read in the mito forum that a first hand Mito cost a bomb (OTR plus insurance, road tax etc.. bout $13K)! So just confirm with your dad la :smile:

At least you will know the price range he is willing to sponsor. Btw, a new Roadwin now should cost you bout $7k. Make sure you bring your dad to the shop so got better bargaining power on ur side.

Oso, the racing header will up your throttle response and HP (slightly only...remember modding a 4 stroke bikes' HP is fairly limited compared to a 2 stroker)

IMHO, IF maddy decided to sell his bike earlier (in January)...i would have gotten it oso. It's (the price) a steal considering he's done up his bike oredi! :cheer:

Originally posted by MaNnU@May 16 2005, 01:27 PM

and better still those foreigners riding comets and roadwins even change their heads to those scrambler kinds i think its called acerbis ah ? lol.. some alien kinda looking head la .. can do in singapore or not ah ? legal ? ... how much if u know thank you coz wat i plan to do is hopefully when i get ma mito or roadwin try to change everything fast fast and then get used to riding it tat way instead of getting stock and get used to it first then slowly change coz then by then i feel i mite get to used to it and dun wanna change anything lol

Handlebars and headlights can change la. TP / ROV close one eye as long as it meets their requirement. So many scramblers doing dat. As long no major mod on the engine's output its quite ok.

Ya ah...u very the wierd leh....ppl usually use the stock settings for a while before modding to feel the diff. Anyway, if u decide to mod your bike st8 away, u can cka to do it for u. They can oso polish the Moriwaki exhaust to a silvery colour so its barely noticable (if u decided to change the exhaust system). Just get a quote from cka and they'll mod it up to your liking. Just remember to ask for the stock parts back so at least you have stock spares with you in case

Just remember that for small cc 4 strokers, the difference will not be as impactful as modding a 2 stroker....unless you're thinking of putting a 150/160cc piston inside...which is illegal btw. Its just the nature of the engine build. :goodluck:

Originally posted by stsoh@May 16 2005, 02:26 PM

u might want to save $$$$ for a bigger bike (try getting a 2nd bike if u want to upgrade in your future), it is a big difference between cl2b (12~16hp@110~130kph) n cl2 (80~160hp@>300kph) bikes. :cheeky:

Sigh....80-160 horsies. Ben Hur chariot race oso kalah man....

FEEL THE POWER!:cheer:

Originally posted by lostjackal@May 16 2005, 01:56 PM

Hi MaNnu,

I think you better ask your dad whether got budget for first hand bike or not. I believe u might have read in the mito forum that a first hand Mito cost a bomb (OTR plus insurance, road tax etc.. bout $13K)! So just confirm with your dad la :smile:

At least you will know the price range he is willing to sponsor. Btw, a new Roadwin now should cost you bout $7k. Make sure you bring your dad to the shop so got better bargaining power on ur side.

Oso, the racing header will up your throttle response and HP (slightly only...remember modding a 4 stroke bikes' HP is fairly limited compared to a 2 stroker)

IMHO, IF maddy decided to sell his bike earlier (in January)...i would have gotten it oso. It's (the price) a steal considering he's done up his bike oredi! :cheer:

i already went to minerva with ma mito fren i know he jus bot his brandnew mito last year la FY yellow mito so i know all the prices and all the only thing ma dad is not comfortable with is tat its a sportsbike... lol. he scared for me . so i dun blame him for tat lor .. as for daelim roadwin he say its ok la .. still acceptable in his view ma dad jus told me u go to shop get all the prices and everything .... i dun wanna go there waste time with u ! lol when u pass ure tp then we go down settle all the payments u take ure bike he is like this ... jus get him all the information lol.. stsoh u got xperince for comets ? .. how is it like.... i jus thinking lor its confusing choosing comet and raodwin i see like so little ppl with comet .. hmm.... im so irritating sorry noobie... :sweat: other than u mentioned the v twin engines and abit more horsepower lol.. reliability is wat im looking at ... roadwin comes with warranty or not ah ? .. if yes how many yrs ? .. im doing the same thing also getting ma uncle to buy the bike under his name with second party insurance insurance for a comet under ma uncles name will be 300 ..... i was wondering so i wanna ride the bike how > ...? buy my own insurance also ? or jus add ma name can xplain to me the procedures ? ... ty ty :smile:

all new bikes got warranty one.

Roadwin warranty is 2 years or 24000 km (around that range) mileage, whichever comes first.

In terms of dealer reliability, cka is very much so more trust worthy that the popular shop selling Mitos (no need to name la...i think should be very 'popular'. also it's just next door to cka kaki bukit...snigger...snigger).

V twin.. a little bit more power but also more maintenance with 2 pistons, 2 spark plugs etc and like soh said more complicated since the two pistons have to be in synch during run. Make it short, more cash spent for the maintenance and repairs.

Comet isn't dat popular coz Hyosung (Comets' brand name), unlike Daelim, is quite new here. In terms of quality & reliability, we just have to wait for an honest review of a comet rider. :smile:

You can use ur uncle as a first name...meaning all insurance, road tax and other misc legal stuff will be under his name including the bike. Meaning, if u commited a traffic offence on the bike, the letter will shoot to your uncle first since the insurance is under him.

U can be placed as a sub rider, meaning u r e second rider of the bike. I dunno if all rider insurance still exist nowadays. Unlikely though. The main name on the insurance will be ur uncle's and ur name will be somewhere in between the insurance paper stated as sub rider. Cost of adding a sub rider is 30 - 50 bucks.

Originally posted by maddy84@May 16 2005, 05:24 PM

the insurance cost me $800+.....

at age of 19+.......

nb....so ex oreadi ah?!

Last time my 1st party insurance when i was 19 was only $400 for a full fairing bike! Might as well buy car la bro...lolz

btw, my second party insurance for my RW is $300 plus if i rem correctly

how is the roadwin ah for stability around corners ? ... good ? .. hmz.. went down to see the comet today lol.. got the prices all out ... it wil cost 6600 taking into consideration this months COE.... and WTF it comes out to the same price of a phantom 200cc latest model lol... and did not have time to go to roadwin side .. i gues i will go to a dealer in serangoon road there the line of shops after A.S.phoon and check out.. then best part i ask wat else do u throw in with the bike he goes ermz.. helmet raincoat bike cover and then i said full servincing also for 2 months ? free / .. and then he look at me and said bro u got do business before or not ah and then i said ma dad is a businessman dude and then he say maybe u can afford la but we motorshop all lugi wan ! i was like yeah rite ! get a life. ! hahaha walked outa there .. he says comet very good ! lol i sold ermz ermz.. so far ah 2 i say so good how come so little he say coz still new mah.. wah liao.. lolz. anyways will go and see roadwin lor wont be going kaki bukit side la .. near serangoon there .. anyways ride safely guys and wish me luck for ma tp ! hahahahh must pass must pass ! :cheer: :sweat: :smile: