Originally posted by CBR289@Feb 1 2006, 11:18 AM

Mi good boy, good husband cum good papa no gambling !! :D

good husband n good papa i agree with u 100% la.... but good boy err i dun really agree on dat :p :D :lol:

Yesterday was history, tomorrow is mystery, today is a blessing. I love today.

1998: honda hurricane

1999: Rxz, TXR150 gamma

2000: L2s turbo

2001: ZXR250

2002: RS125

2003: CBR900

http://i53.photobucket.com/albums/g43/FireBLade9282/SBFpic.jpg

• Replies 8.1k

happy new year everyone!!!

back from malaysia and get sick, got flu and sore throat, drink too much and eat too much of heaty food!!

wish you all have a prospect and fortune year!!

louis if you need hdb agent please let me know, all my sis bought houses (total 4 houses by him) through him, a decent guy. :thumb:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/226806566.png

Biking, Bonking & Boozing...

The three great pleasures of life.

Originally posted by Sev@Feb 1 2006, 09:05 PM

back from malaysia and get sick, got flu and sore throat, drink too much and eat too much of heaty food!!

louis if you need hdb agent please let me know, all my sis bought houses (total 4 houses by him) through him, a decent guy. :thumb:

That is CNY trend...cannot avoid de...

Sure note that..:thumb:

Originally posted by Sev@Feb 1 2006, 09:05 PM

ahah me also down with some cough n flu too.

Originally posted by CBR289@Dec 27 2005, 12:53 PM

Whao...so cheap...

CBR919

Onli asking for 3.8k still can neg leh...:sweat:

1st of all, Just to greet u all a Warm Lunar New Year.

I m a new CBR 919 rider. Can i join in all the fun you all having? :p

haha... All of you seemed to funloving and passionate bikers even though each of you are burdened with so much commitments. I m quite impressed.

I actually spent a week going through all your postings... (",)

Just finished at this point of time. ( huff huff! )

My msn is [email protected].

Hope to hear from all of you.

regards

vincent here

(",)

Originally posted by CBR919@Feb 2 2006, 06:13 PM

haha... All of you seemed to funloving and passionate bikers even though each of you are burdened with so much commitments. I m quite impressed.

regards

vincent here

(",)

hi vincent, ur very much welcome here, gong xi fa cai to u too....

so actually did u just got ur 919? nice to have another kaki around, but too bad i aint around anymore, previously was in malacca, then worked in spore for a short period. now i moved up far north to kedah state to work.

Originally posted by CBR919@Feb 2 2006, 06:13 PM

regards

vincent here

(",)

Welcome here...the previous thread that u went ..the thread starter change his status to GOD liao ...so too far 4 us to get in-touch wif him...

BTW U WELCOME MAN...:cheer:

Hi all.

Reply to GRassCuTTeR: Yup just got my CBR919 which is my dream bike when i started riding 5yrs ago. Even til now i stil preferred it over other Cl2 bikes. haha..

To be truthful, not i got style, Just onli happen to love this kind of design from the start til now. (",)

Hehe.. Onli know how to ride without any other knowledges....

Today just went over to Planet Motor shop to look for ah chong, saw 1 cbr400 and R1 over there. From the owners, the CBR400's exhaust pipe end can was stolen.

The R1 got whole front fairing and headlight stolen fully, heard it is custom make, very xxx.

Wow, after seeing all this, i a bit doubtful on spending any money on my CBR919.

So many theft around, even cbr400's pipe can be stolen. Dunno whether our bikes got any valuables to be potential victim.... sob sob sob.

Anyway, all this info is to bring alertness to all of u cos quite sad to c this kind of scene happen to bikers. like seeing own pple being stabbed by others..o_O

C u guys ard. ;)

Look like i oso got same feeling wif u leh...after selling my CBR but till now still miss her alots...:weep:

Btw post some ur bike bike photo let us view view leh...:thumb:

Originally posted by CBR919@Feb 4 2006, 12:39 AM

Hi all.

Reply to GRassCuTTeR: Yup just got my CBR919 which is my dream bike when i started riding 5yrs ago. Even til now i stil preferred it over other Cl2 bikes. haha..

To be truthful, not i got style, Just onli happen to love this kind of design from the start til now. (",)

Hehe.. Onli know how to ride without any other knowledges....

Today just went over to Planet Motor shop to look for ah chong, saw 1 cbr400 and R1 over there. From the owners, the CBR400's exhaust pipe end can was stolen.

The R1 got whole front fairing and headlight stolen fully, heard it is custom make, very xxx.

Wow, after seeing all this, i a bit doubtful on spending any money on my CBR919.

So many theft around, even cbr400's pipe can be stolen. Dunno whether our bikes got any valuables to be potential victim.... sob sob sob.

Anyway, all this info is to bring alertness to all of u cos quite sad to c this kind of scene happen to bikers. like seeing own pple being stabbed by others..o_O

C u guys ard. ;)

ya me still love this kinda design too, to me it feels old enough but still does not run outta fashion. besides i would say the performance does not lose out that much compared to the new 1000cc bikes in the corners with a few mods...

besides if u need anything eg; paintwork, fibreglass work, can contact CBR289... he knows a good n cheap place to do all these kinda stuff. price is real good too.

Originally posted by CBR289@Feb 4 2006, 10:11 AM

Look like i oso got same feeling wif u leh...after selling my CBR but till now still miss her alots...:weep:

Btw post some ur bike bike photo let us view view leh...:thumb:

yalor who ask u itchy backside go sell it.... :weep:

now hear about wat happen to ur bike i also feel quite sad lei... such a bad ending :cry:

Originally posted by slow_sp@Feb 4 2006, 10:49 PM

what happen???:confused:

it was totalled by the new owner less than 2 mths after buying it. :weep:

Originally posted by slow_sp@Feb 4 2006, 11:00 PM

at least it is not cbr289 that totalled it mah....:giddy:

haha yalor... at least its rim, headlight protector is still on my bike. :D

:lovestruck: CBR289 :cheers:

haha... Wat does it mean by totalled by new owner?

Got something to discuss, my gear when engaged gear from neutral it always require a hard push. A slight push may cause some clap clap sound from gear box. I changed the engine oil, the problem stil persist.

Is it normal and will it spoilt the gear box and anything related to gear in long run?

My engine got some clamping sound occassionally for months, I check with ah chong yesterday. He feedback that my chain tensioner got problem and wanted to change it for 100 buck.

I check with another mechanics in other location, got another feedback.

He say my timing chain and tensioner is ok, just that my timing chain is too tight.

For info, the tensioner had already been changed a few month back. So i a bit doubtful of the ah chong's troubleshooting.

But from this, It seemed to me that different mechanics have different opinion, usually how do u all make judgements? cos some might be wrong and wasted attempt. ;)

pic posted as requested. take care.

So CBR289, how's your new bike so far? haven seen ur new bike pic too?

when going to get your dream bike? :)

welcome CBR919!! :cheer: :cheer:

here's my bike's pics, crashed at PG, then fixed back with CBR289's help at Skudai's paint shop, good price. :thumb:

http://www.bikepics.com/members/sev/97cbr900/

I like old fireblade design too, new design too sharp for my liking, i like round round type of bikes... :smile:

what mod do you have on your bike? grasscutter's bike got many mods, mine only a few...

you definately can trust Planet Ah chong, his work got warranty one, no good do until good with no charge at all, you can read my story in April last year... :smile:

you can tell ah chong you just changed your tensioner not long ago, let him diagnostics your bike again.

what is your bike model, FT plate but looks like 96 or 97 model?

wah, louis your CBR totalled already? what did that guy do? Is the guy still ok?

anyway, your headlight protector and rim at grasscutter there, single seater on mine, haha, still got somethings left over... :cheeky:

hi Sev,

Yup i read the whole thread from head til toes here using a week time...

Know what happen to ur case too, spent $480 for top overhaul and ah chong come down in morning to diagnostic your bike. tat wat impressed me. ;)

Tat y i go find ah chong for opinion purposely... ;)

Btw, i think i came across similar bike look like yours in NTU parking at Canteen A indoor carpark during evening time occassionally. Is a nice bike. Is it yours? (",)

Yup my bike is 96/97model, the number plate is previous owners changed one..

should be FP plate by right... ;)

Glad to know that there are same taste buddies around who love this kind of bike design.

Originally posted by CBR919@Feb 5 2006, 12:35 AM

haha... Wat does it mean by totalled by new owner?

Got something to discuss, my gear when engaged gear from neutral it always require a hard push. A slight push may cause some clap clap sound from gear box. I changed the engine oil, the problem stil persist.

Is it normal and will it spoilt the gear box and anything related to gear in long run?

My engine got some clamping sound occassionally for months, I check with ah chong yesterday. He feedback that my chain tensioner got problem and wanted to change it for 100 buck.

I check with another mechanics in other location, got another feedback.

He say my timing chain and tensioner is ok, just that my timing chain is too tight.

For info, the tensioner had already been changed a few month back. So i a bit doubtful of the ah chong's troubleshooting.

But from this, It seemed to me that different mechanics have different opinion, usually how do u all make judgements? cos some might be wrong and wasted attempt. ;)

pic posted as requested. take care.

So CBR289, how's your new bike so far? haven seen ur new bike pic too?

when going to get your dream bike? :)

the new buyer crashed the bike... total write off... :faint:

if ur gear is having this problem, might be the worn clutch plates, or the housing also gone. even though the fireblade is said to have a weak gearbox, i dont think its the gearbox spoil. if ur bike feels low on power (clutch slip at high revs) then definitely its the clutch plates.

well IMO ah chong maybe right here, cos there is no way a timing chain can be too tight. it only can be too loose, or either the timing chain was changed previosly but it was not fixed properly which resulted in the "timing mark" bo zhun. thats y emitting the sound. i did not encounter this problem cos i changed the whole set (timing chain + tensioner + timing chain guide). it totally solved the whole problem n saves more $$ in the long term.

just try think of it man, the timing chain is just like our sprocket + chain. where got any motorcycle chain dat tighten itself after riding? it only goes 1 way - loosen itself. so the other mechanic's info is totally incorrect.

p/s: i have heard of mechanics who can shorten the chain (saw it off n taking off 1 link) never heard of any spore bike shop doing it, its only done in msia. very cheap, but very risky. once screw up means whole engine gone.

Originally posted by CBR919@Feb 5 2006, 12:35 AM

i got to learn alot from my mechanic cos he is a very kiasu mechanic. once he diagnose a problem, he will get it done 100%. once he do it confirm 100% no need go back to re-do. been repairing my bikes with him since i started biking. n whenever my bike or frens bike is doing repair at his workshop, i'll always be there to help around. he takes the time to explain to me in detail how to see a spoilt/worn off part n how to minimize repairs/save time/save cost in the long run.

spent alot of time learning from him cos he only repairs big bikes at nite... :thumb:

Originally posted by GRassCuTTeR@Feb 5 2006, 07:11 PM

the new buyer crashed the bike... total write off... :faint:

if ur gear is having this problem, might be the worn clutch plates, or the housing also gone. even though the fireblade is said to have a weak gearbox, i dont think its the gearbox spoil. if ur bike feels low on power (clutch slip at high revs) then definitely its the clutch plates.

well IMO ah chong maybe right here, cos there is no way a timing chain can be too tight. it only can be too loose, or either the timing chain was changed previosly but it was not fixed properly which resulted in the "timing mark" bo zhun. thats y emitting the sound. i did not encounter this problem cos i changed the whole set (timing chain + tensioner + timing chain guide). it totally solved the whole problem n saves more $$ in the long term.

just try think of it man, the timing chain is just like our sprocket + chain. where got any motorcycle chain dat tighten itself after riding? it only goes 1 way - loosen itself. so the other mechanic's info is totally incorrect.

p/s: i have heard of mechanics who can shorten the chain (saw it off n taking off 1 link) never heard of any spore bike shop doing it, its only done in msia. very cheap, but very risky. once screw up means whole engine gone.

wow.. impressive grasscutter....

is a fortunate thing to become your bike, got a knowledgeable owner to take care of it. :p

Well, not sure about how serious case it might become but think maybe like wat u say, i wait for the timing chain to have problem then i change everything.

Wat do you think? shouldn't triggered other problems in the engine?

The gear thingy oso won't be any worst if i ignore it too, m i right? (",)

Originally posted by CBR919@Feb 5 2006, 02:07 PM

hi Sev,

Yup i read the whole thread from head til toes here using a week time...

Know what happen to ur case too, spent $480 for top overhaul and ah chong come down in morning to diagnostic your bike. tat wat impressed me. ;)

Tat y i go find ah chong for opinion purposely... ;)

Btw, i think i came across similar bike look like yours in NTU parking at Canteen A indoor carpark during evening time occassionally. Is a nice bike. Is it yours? (",)

Yup my bike is 96/97model, the number plate is previous owners changed one..

should be FP plate by right... ;)

Glad to know that there are same taste buddies around who love this kind of bike design.

haha, ya, that's me, from Monday to Friday i will be attedning night classes at NTU...

you are NTU student too? :smile: