How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?  

648 members have voted

1. 1. How much do you earn a month when you gotta support a car?

Wow.. great insights from u guys. Have been pondering of getting a wr200 (for work and partly for interest). Considering that an average dip. holder gets 1.5k a mth, will i be able to maintain it w/o squeezing my balls every mth? I am new to the automobile world and have been reading some posts from here..

• Replies 870

Great info, esp from throttle and kiss (just to mention a few).

To each his own. One can earn up to 10K per month, but still can't afford to own a car due to great financial responsibilities. Eg, need to support elderly parents, in laws, support younger and still in school siblings esp those studying overseas, etc.

Yet another guy/girl might be earning 1-1.5k per month, but owns a car. They might not have as much financial responsibilities. Eg, single, lives with parents, everything paid for by parents including h/p bills, monthly instalments, petrol, etc.

Like what throttle has point out, see your needs.

A good friend of mine earns a little less than 1.8K abt 3 years ago. He owns a car. But the story behind it is that his siblings helped to pay for the downpayment and instalments. The story doesn't end there. He sold his car, got married after that. Now he earns abt 2K. Combined with wife, prob ard 3.8K. Bought a new car. This time round, the story behind it is his in laws bought it for him. And they share the monthly instalments. The best part is, he gets to drive to car as his in laws and wifey don't have any license! Lucky b@sta@rd!:smile:

It only goes to show that different people have different lifestyle and support. I'm happy for him, coz he's my best mate.

As for myself, I know to well that owning a car is beyond my reach, even though it's one of my greatest passion. You can't have everything. At least I'm able to fulfil my 3 other greatest passion, bikes, soccer & rugby. Hey, 3 out of 4 isn't that bad right?

Unfortunately .... there isnt a lot of such folks here.

Definitely I am not one of them ... parents pays for my studies to get a degree and I am very very happy le ....

I work my way up and now after much years of working ... owning something I could realli afford after much calculation.

Some folks are fortunate like early twenty who could drove a ferrari because dad brought for him or those who just worked drove a Toyota Corolla and finish loan within a year .. same cause dad pay for it.

Then there are folks ... who parents suppose to retired, i.e. above 55 but still working, paying bills for the house, food and etc. The kids? Earn $$$ to spend on expensive stuff and buying car, no contribution to the household, no $$$ for parents and such .... this I call selfish ... I call them a parasite cause they live on other. To think parents been working for the past 40 to some 50 years ... I guess it is realli time for them to relax and enjoy not still paying and supporting household where the kids suppose to take over and help out.... I saw life example ...

Best of all ... they still got the cheek to say .. I never ask them to pay mah .. moreover it is free ... :faint:

then again ... what I wanna to point out again is the same old thing .. calculate well ... do the maths .. dont over burden yourself or even burden others just to get something u want.

Got $$$ ... anytime u can get the car ... New model, high end model, old model or whatever model ....

May 1999 - Aug 1999 - Yamaha FZR150

Aug 1999 - Nov 2001 - Honda Phantom 150

Nov 2001 - Oct 2005 - Honda CB400 Superfour HYPER-VTEC

April 2005 - Aug 2010 - Nissan Latio

Aug 2010 - Aug 2011 - BMW 320

Sep 2011 - Current - Honda Stream

Originally posted by haryann@Apr 13 2005, 12:17 PM

Like what throttle has point out, see your needs.

A good friend of mine earns a little less than 1.8K abt 3 years ago. He owns a car. But the story behind it is that his siblings helped to pay for the downpayment and instalments. The story doesn't end there. He sold his car, got married after that. Now he earns abt 2K. Combined with wife, prob ard 3.8K. Bought a new car. This time round, the story behind it is his in laws bought it for him. And they share the monthly instalments. The best part is, he gets to drive to car as his in laws and wifey don't have any license! Lucky b@sta@rd!:smile:

Manzz I wish someone will do the same for me sia :cheeky:

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg

how about sharing wit other ppl? for less than $2 a trip u get to sit in a air-conditioned mercedes benz...a TIBs bus tat is. sorry no offence

how about sharing wit other ppl? for less than $2 a trip u get to sit in a air-conditioned mercedes benz...a TIBs bus tat is. sorry no offence. petrol is paid for, no need pay maintanence, road tax, petrol, insurance, parking..

basically buying a car is buying freedom.

however the price to pay is high and it all depends on how mcuh you value freedom and in what style, you want freedom to be presented in ...heh heh heh

Originally posted by Stuntlover@Apr 25 2005, 06:03 AM

WRX,EVO8 i guess you need to earn a monthly salary of $3000 to support it rite?

i guess $3000 may not be enough, or may juz b enough and will hav no more xtra $$ :smile:

ps: mayb sti can tell us more :cheeky:

exactly, $3000 per month? better just drive normal Jap saloon.

it's not simply about buying but about truly affording the car....

want to drive a car, better drive it in comfort.

i 've seen so many lame buggers, buy car then become a miser becos got no money to do anything else....bloody silly man

If you pay full, ie no monthly loan or 0% downpayment, of course $3,000 a month can drive any car.

I agree with throttle on this part. I've seen alot of ppl who are like that as well. Some even show off their car and offer to give you a lift, but ask for petrol money in return!

Originally posted by haryann@Apr 26 2005, 02:04 AM

If you pay full, ie no monthly loan or 0% downpayment, of course $3,000 a month can drive any car.

I agree with throttle on this part. I've seen alot of ppl who are like that as well. Some even show off their car and offer to give you a lift, but ask for petrol money in return!

Oh ... just to add ... after a few more months ..

due to high maintenance cost and unable to pay up the loan .... the car got dragged back by the financial institution.

After car being dragged away ... "how lian" ... I dont think so lor ... become very ambrassing I guess ... a good laughing stock, silly of not able to manage own finance properly. Many pple still cant do their maths right I think.

Well ... if u properly break down the cost of owning a STI or EVO, 3000 is barely enough unless the person $$$ is just earn to spend on the car - NO FOOD, NO DRINKS, NO MOD, NO GF and NO OTHERS other than the car.

Simply ... even put on 10 years loan, each month should pay around at least 1000 for loan.

Plus Carpark every month at $75

Plus Petrol every month at $300 (Assuming at 9km/l and travel only 30km per day)

Plus ERP charges if any

Plus other Carpark if any

Plus bimonthly or quarter or every 4 to 5 months changing of Engine Oil and servicing at $150

Plus every yearly Road tax

Plus every yearly insurance

Plus car maintenance stuffs - wax, shampoo and blah blah

That calculated up for a year and divide by 12 months could easily makan up to 3/4 of the pay?

PLUS PRAY HARD NOTHING HAPPEN TO THE CAR ... else the repair bill will chalk up a chunk of your pay.

If really got a pay of 3000 and owning a STI (Brand new) basically the person wouldnt have much $$$ to do other thing.

For example ...

1. go restaurant to makan costing around 40 to 50

2. go pub for a drink with friends at around 20 to 40

3. buying additional gadget - few hundreds i.e. iPods, zen, Digital camera

4. buying new cloths, shirts

5. travel for holidays

and many many others ...

But depends on individual .. whether to scarifice one thing for another ...

As what trottle mention .. depends on the amount of freedom and other enjoyment in life u gonna or willingly to give up in order to own that.

For me ... a Latio will do fine for me ... :thumb:

Originally posted by n00b@Apr 25 2005, 09:26 AM

i guess $3000 may not be enough, or may juz b enough and will hav no more xtra $$  :smile:

ps: mayb sti can tell us more :cheeky:

y me??? :sian:

Hopefully this info will help those that wanna own an EVO..

Brand new EVO8 - $158,888 (at the time I got It)

Loan Taken $50k

Initial Cash Out front - $108,888 Exclude Insurance (Cos my previous car fully paid for so Dump all in to have lesser loans..... Not that I'm rich ok.....) :sian:

So this is what I spend monthly:

Installment - $956 per month for 5 yrs

Petrol - $600++ per month (my car 1 litre is giving about 6-7km after 'minor' mods)

Road tax - $1600 per yr $134 per month

Insurance - $4600 per yr $384 per month

ERP - est $100 per month

Maintenence - $ at least put aside $300 per month

Total: Est $3076 per month

Lucky both parking at my house and office free..

This is the min cost...

U haven't calculate Big Major Repairs( Turbo Blow, Gear Box(Common problem), bla bla)/ Summons bla bla, Mods (sure will one) or more traveling...

and of course u need $$ to Eat, relax at pups, Have Kopi session, buys stuffs for yrself/GF/yr car, maybe go for tour to destress..............

So u judge for yourselves whether earning $3k a month is enough to own an EVO. REX should be about the same Maybe lesser due to the new car price.... To some pple $3k might be enough BUT not for me cos there are many other things and hobbies i dun wish to miss out!!! :thumb: not to mention become a slave to the car.. For me I dun really nrrd to worry much even if I lose my job (TOUCH WOOD) cos my car value or even paper value is more then my loan amount owed to the bank so i can sell anytime if things dun go well for me... o_O (TOUCH WOOD AGAIN!!!!!)

http://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020222028.jpghttp://www.oneshift.com/showroom/uploadimages/thumb-2007073020120531.jpg

So I guess STI earns more than 6k a month ...

another 3k more for hobbies.... :)

Originally posted by LordDraco@Apr 26 2005, 03:30 AM

So I guess STI earns more than 6k a month ...

another 3k more for hobbies.... :)

:cheeky: :cheeky: Confidential....

I dun spend so much on Hobbies lah... not so rich...

I do have other expenses as well leh..... :sian:

Originally posted by LordDraco@Apr 26 2005, 02:40 AM

Simply ... even put on 10 years loan, each month should pay around at least 1000 for loan.

Plus Carpark every month at $75

Plus Petrol every month at $300 (Assuming at 9km/l and travel only 30km per day)

Plus ERP charges if any

Plus other Carpark if any

Plus bimonthly or quarter or every 4 to 5 months changing of Engine Oil and servicing at $150

Plus every yearly Road tax

Plus every yearly insurance

Plus car maintenance stuffs - wax, shampoo and blah blah

That calculated up for a year and divide by 12 months could easily makan up to 3/4 of the pay?

PLUS PRAY HARD NOTHING HAPPEN TO THE CAR ... else the repair bill will chalk up a chunk of your pay.

If really got a pay of 3000 and owning a STI (Brand new) basically the person wouldnt have much $$$ to do other thing.

For example ...

1. go restaurant to makan costing around 40 to 50

2. go pub for a drink with friends at around 20 to 40

3. buying additional gadget - few hundreds i.e. iPods, zen, Digital camera

4. buying new cloths, shirts

5. travel for holidays

Not to mention other necessaties

1. water and electricity bills - $100-$200 (depending on usage)

2. conservacy fees - $40-$80 (depending on house)

3. reno loan (if any) - $100-infinity

4. wife (if any and not working) - $50-infinity

5. kids (if any) - $50-infinity

6. kids school fees (if any) - $50-$100 (depending on how many kids)

7. groceries, toiletries + other necessary stuffs - $100-$500

Haven't include other miscellaneous such as

1. personal insurance

2. hp bills

3. outstanding credit facilites

4. medical bills

5. club membership fee

6. blah blah blah

:giddy: :giddy: :giddy: :giddy: :giddy:

It's a rat race out there.

One day I'll sell everything I have and live life simple, as long as i got good cigars..hehheh

Originally posted by Throttle@Apr 26 2005, 11:43 AM

One day I'll sell everything I have and live life simple, as long as i got good cigars..hehheh

live life simple and SHORT (wif tat cigar in ur mouth...) 1800-QUIT SMoking.

wahahahhahaha

Honda CBR1100XXX Super Black Bird-Invalid entry

hehehe :cheeky:

I would love to have Wine instead... :thumb:

Originally posted by STi@Apr 26 2005, 03:35 AM

:cheeky: :cheeky: Confidential....

I dun spend so much on Hobbies lah... not so rich...

I do have other expenses as well leh..... :sian:

lol ..... Salary is always very sensitive ...

Me too :cheeky:

well ... that is factual of life ..

For me .. when retired .. I would love to go somewhere peaceful to relax with wife.

Guest cheeko
:weep: looks like u guys are having a good life...... :weep: wat abt me....i am staying in a cramp 20 footer container at a construction site, sharing the toilet, cooking & washing with many banglas..... where a pot of curry can eat for a few days..... :weep: I must buy more 4d. Hope to strike & have a change of fortune.... :weep:

No no cheekozer you bad boy dun tok rubbish here huh. I tot I gave you $100,00 to buy over your container already? So when you going to hand over your container to me huh?

You are blur, when I say I am blurr.