Insurance - General Enquiry

Originally posted by FZ06@Apr 3 2006, 02:50 AM

Hi bros n sis...juz wana ask a few questions...

My current insurance(AIG) will xpire this 10Apr.This insurance is gotten thru bike shop together when i bought my bike a year ago.My question is can i renew the insurance myself with AIG or must i go back bike shop to renew?? Secondly, can i change to other insurance company eg.NTUC or must i stick with AIG??? Thirdly,thought of changing to 3rd party only coz cheaper...is it advisable for S4?? Lastly which insurance company offers the cheapest for S4 now or which do you guys recommend if i wana change insurance??

Appreciate ur feedback on this guys n gals n thanks in advance.. :smile:

I believed u can renew it urself n u can change to ntuc..

now NTUC do accept S4.n if u have NCD from AIG,it can be brought forward to NTUC..also if u have a life policy insurance with NTUC,u get a 5% discount..

Btw if its a new bike maybe u might want a 1st party ins. :goodluck:

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee179/R00596/bb.gif

http://i230.photobucket.com/albums/ee179/R00596/jetfiretransformer.jpg

• Replies 733

from my minute experience,

you can't buy/renew insurance unless the insurer posts you a letter asking you to renew the insurance!

if the insurance letter was sent by post to your place then yr good to go!!

if not,

its better to ask the insurer themselves cos if you call back the bike shop... chances are they'll tell you must only go thru them...

hope this helps!

ride safe o_O

looking for drz parts, any parts will do!

If ur bike still under hire purchaSse, u HAVE to go back to the bike shop to renew ur insurance.. UNLESS there's a written memorandum to the insurance company which allow u to renew with the ins com itself.. from the bike shop dat is..

yes, ntuc now take back s4 already.. a bit more ex yes..

but remember, when the loyalty dicounts kick, it will be reaally cheap when u plus in ur n.c.b...

peace out...

well i am a sub rider my dad got 20 % ncb etc than -5% plus another -5% since got policy with ntuc got much cheaper than other like my previous insurance agent axa check out mitsui also find all abit ex.. only got ntuc easier way out lol

Bros thanks 4 the replys...so far i havent got any letter frm my insurance company to renew...left 6 more days only sia..think i better give them a call and ask them direct. yah my bike still under hire-purchase frm bike shop bought last year spec3.. Btw cnfrm my n.c.b frm my current insurance can transfer to NTUC if i wana change?? :confused:

keep ur replys comin guys..appreciate it. :smile:

Guest piggybi

hi..its it true that the insurance for ntcu regrading s4 when adding the sub rider it depends on the age of the sub rider...?

cos i planning to coi a s4...den that owner said that if i under 21 i have to pay more for adding the sub rider..

scared tio tok...:cheeky:

pls :help:

actually... you buying bike nothing to do with your insurance coverage.... your hire purchase is with your bike... your insurance coverage I dont think is included in the hire puchase.

As for NTUC, even if u get ur dad as 1st name, and u second name, they will take the premium of the youngest rider.

FYI bike shops do get commission for doing insurance... hope it helps.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . .http://img141.imageshack.us/img141/9578/image7zr0.gif. . . . . . . . . . . . . .

"It's much easier to turn a friendship into love, than love into friendship."

Originally posted by royong@Apr 4 2006, 04:18 PM

Yes, confirm ur NCB can b transfer to another insurer for this coming renewal. i'm a agent u c.

woah...gd news...im gg to change to ntuc this june frm aig as well....check wif my bike shop n seems its cheaper...

Learned Past Living Present Think Future

Originally posted by HokAgE@Apr 3 2006, 01:47 PM

I believed u can renew it urself n u can change to ntuc..

now NTUC do accept S4.n if u have NCD from AIG,it can be brought forward to NTUC..also if u have a life policy insurance with NTUC,u get a 5% discount..

Btw if its a new bike maybe u might want a 1st party ins. :goodluck:

Hi Bro...any idea hw to transfer our NCD frm the x ins com to the new one? wats d procedure like?

Thks in advance..:confused:

http://www.motorbike-search-engine.co.uk/2006_Bikes/ZRX1200R.jpg
Originally posted by royong@Apr 23 2006, 06:41 PM

Just inform the insurer about ur existing NCD amount. they will know wat to do after tat.

ok...thks bro:thumb:

http://www.motorbike-search-engine.co.uk/2006_Bikes/ZRX1200R.jpg
Guest pipika

I juz got a renewal letter from NTUC. 400 for 2nd party. Rider 25, yr 2k bike. Is that the cheapest ard? Mitsui quote me 820+..........

Hi every, as I'll be taking my class 2 this coming june 21st. And my current ride is a S4 with insurance is going to end @4th june.

I have went for the LTA inspection, but dont wish to renew my insurance since i'm planning to upgrade.

Question is, is that legal? to leave my bike at the MSCP without riding if I purposly dont renew my insurance after 4th June (Expiry date) since I'm upgrading soon.

Kindy advice here.

bro mAtcHz,

From what I know is that a motor vehicle has to have continuous renewal of road tax - which means that you must renew every road tax upon expiry.

In my opinion, it is of no issue for you to park your bike at your MSCP, however, you are not able to ride your bike. If you do, don't get caught because you'd be liable for a fine and might have your license disqualified.

ahlex@sgbikes

Read the letter properly...

It states something like: everyone has to renew the road tax of the vehicle either using or under their possession.

you need to renew your road tax.If the due date over, the later you pay, the higher fine you will be summoned.

just my opinion...

Life's a gift... That's why they called it the present. :cool:

rdtax is a must to renew whether u ride or not as long as bike not laid up, else prepare for late renewal fees.

insurance can dun renew, dun ride the bike too, else possibility of 1k fine n lost of licenses.

28th Jan 05 - 16th April 06 Honda NSR SP150 (Pro-arm)

1st Apr 06 - Nov 06 Honda CB400SFYJ HyperVTEC, 17th Oct 06 - ???? Honda TA200 Phantom, Nov 06 - Apr 07 Honda Wave-R, Apr 07 - ???? Subaru Impreza AWD

<u>Official Road Trips</u>

7th-8th May 05 - Malacca (460km round)

2nd April 06 - Mersing (240km round)

6th-10th July 06 - P.Pinang ; Hatyai, Thailand (1900km round)

?.....

Correct if I'm wrong but isn't it that as long as you want to hold on to the bike, be it whether you are going to ride the bike or to just keep it in a location, you will need to have a valid road-tax for the bike, of which you will not be allowed to renew the road-tax if you cannot produce valid insurance coverage?.....

BTW, aren't you going to trade-in your bike for your new class 2 bike? If that's the case, then there is no need to keep the bike in MSCP.....

Gaofar p(^.^)q

"Something new is in the air.. I think my 2nd wind is here..!"

yes.. me too thought also mus have a vaild insurance coverage then u can apply for rd tax.

guess I will jus renew the insurance to save all the un-necessary trouble since i can get rebate later.

oya.. my is ntuc, as for the rd tax, can it be done at the same time which mean in ntuc center together wif my insurance?

yes.. me too thought also mus have a vaild insurance coverage then u can apply for rd tax.

guess I will jus renew the insurance to save all the un-necessary trouble since i can get rebate later.

oya.. my is ntuc, as for the rd tax, can it be done at the same time which mean in ntuc center together wif my insurance?

Bro, if you've been getting half yearly road tax then you might need to synchronised the two renewals...

But I discourage you of renewing your insurance and get back the rebate because the rebate you get back is much much more lesser than what you should because of the unknown fees the company charges... I ever kena once when I sold my SP

ahlex@sgbikes

Originally posted by mAtcHz@May 31 2006, 03:00 AM

Bro u can renew both together, not a problem.

But if u intend to get the rebate, there r 2 senarios:

(1) U just get the rebate but dun buy insurance from NTUC, they will give u 85% mutiply by the full insurance sum, den divided by the no of days left.

(2) U get another insurance from NTUC, they will give u back the full rebate divided by the no of days left. den offset the new insurance u buying.

Correct me if i'm wrong

The Power of Dreams

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/image.php?u=25275&dateline=1180237294&type=profile

2003-2004: Daelim Magma

2004-2006: Suzuki GSXR400

2006-2007: Honda Super4 spec2

2007-2007: Piaggio X9 Amalfi

Present: Kia Picanto

tried doing a search, none were specific tho.. i was thinking.. anyone knows how much a third party insurance for a brand new spec 3 costs for a 20 yr old with a year of class 2A riding experience?