Harley Riders gather

hey guys, anyone experience a slight delay when u twist that throttle of yours and at times the engine feels like dying in that split second (the morning choke syndrome). encounter this problem even after bike is fully warmed up and running hot.

my gut tells me it's the carb slider (definitely not the bowl as i just cleaned it) or my throttle cable (slight free play felt).

what say y'all? help troubleshoot! happy cny brothas! :)

Never.

EFI rules....heh

bro...think got to be after cny liao, time now a little tight so unlikely can sneak out in the night..:D

no prob..u can msg me anytime. :)..but nt during office hr la...lolx

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

hey guys, anyone experience a slight delay when u twist that throttle of yours and at times the engine feels like dying in that split second (the morning choke syndrome). encounter this problem even after bike is fully warmed up and running hot.

my gut tells me it's the carb slider (definitely not the bowl as i just cleaned it) or my throttle cable (slight free play felt).

let the mech check..could be carb.

http://www.ducatinewstoday.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/Stay_a_Hero_Campaign.jpg

Like father like son

Hmm..it could be due to ur jetting of ur carb. when i changed to hypercharger, mikuni carb, pythons, bolt-in cams and SE selectable ignition module on my previous sportster, i had the same prob. bring to shop and tried tuning wif a few main jets. basically if i guess if u change anything regrding performace on ur bike, u gotta get it retuned.

now on my 06 dyna, only change SE fliter and pythons (again), didnt tune it still ok. no popping or watever so. maybe if i put on the PC3, the bike will be better. but since i dun have poppings, i dun wanna fix something that is not broken.

but in the 1st place, harley throttles are not meant to be twist suddenly to get the power. it will choke the carb wif petrol. do try to open the throttle gradually. juz my 2 cents worth.

hope it helps.

Hmm..it could be due to ur jetting of ur carb. when i changed to hypercharger, mikuni carb, pythons, bolt-in cams and SE selectable ignition module on my previous sportster, i had the same prob. bring to shop and tried tuning wif a few main jets. basically if i guess if u change anything regrding performace on ur bike, u gotta get it retuned.

now on my 06 dyna, only change SE fliter and pythons (again), didnt tune it still ok. no popping or watever so. maybe if i put on the PC3, the bike will be better. but since i dun have poppings, i dun wanna fix something that is not broken.

but in the 1st place, harley throttles are not meant to be twist suddenly to get the power. it will choke the carb wif petrol. do try to open the throttle gradually. juz my 2 cents worth.

hope it helps.

Well said. But still, try to have that PC3 or fuel packs as it will bring out and fully utelise the bike.

Anyone procharger-ed your harley?

Sorry, wrong country western city...

Try this:

http://www.memphisshades.com/harley_home.shtml

And they are a lot cheaper, less than US$200, not including shipping.

ah haha alright, saw them but dun really like their styling.

am considering the windvest cos it doesn't require any modification if i were to use it over the headlight with visor.

the rest of them dun really fit that well.

Anyone procharger-ed your harley?

Is the Procharger like a turbo or supercharger? I havent seen one before, but would be interested to see how it runs.

Have seen plenty of the hyperchargers though. I think they are like a fancy airflow system, not sure it does any better than my current stage 1 SE.

IMHO i feel the procharger sometimes doesnt go with the flow of the bike.

i seen like the bike theme is old school and suddenly a procharger stuck out like a sore thumb...:(

wanna ride with madness?

http://i50.photobucket.com/albums/f340/maxxmadness/madness00.jpg

Is the Procharger like a turbo or supercharger? I havent seen one before, but would be interested to see how it runs.

Have seen plenty of the hyperchargers though. I think they are like a fancy airflow system, not sure it does any better than my current stage 1 SE.

IMHO i feel the procharger sometimes doesnt go with the flow of the bike.

i seen like the bike theme is old school and suddenly a procharger stuck out like a sore thumb...:(

HKL is doing it, I think it is a supercharger kit.

http://www.teamhklracing.com/procharger.htm

Would depend on how the bike is modded, old sch but road killer.

HKL is doing it, I think it is a supercharger kit.

http://www.teamhklracing.com/procharger.htm

Would depend on how the bike is modded, old sch but road killer.

I've seen a softail with the procharger at handlebar last yr. seriously for a few grands to put on the procharger, i dun think its worth it. how fast can a harley go without vibrating the hell outta u? if i wan a fast bike, i guess a jap sportsbike will do much better with the any mods.

anyway the hyperchager is really more of cosmestic than practical. it uses a knn filter juz like the SE stage 1 uses a knn too. hypercharger looks fancy juz coz the butterflies moves when the throttle is closed.

I've seen a softail with the procharger at handlebar last yr. seriously for a few grands to put on the procharger, i dun think its worth it. how fast can a harley go without vibrating the hell outta u? if i wan a fast bike, i guess a jap sportsbike will do much better with the any mods.

anyway the hyperchager is really more of cosmestic than practical. it uses a knn filter juz like the SE stage 1 uses a knn too. hypercharger looks fancy juz coz the butterflies moves when the throttle is closed.

Agreed, I think the bikes are fast enough as is. Power is there, problem is aerodynamics are not great when sitting straight up into the wind.

i'm merely worried about the heat it can generate on a already hot bike.

D Throttle has spoken la. :p The carbs are never the same league as the EFI's in terms of responsiveness, no matter what mods are made.

wah bro...theres gd n bads for EFI & Carbs...of coz theres alway advantages for new technologies. But carbs have its too...like maintainance, FC, Sound etc... :)

If i have a chance...i will take both. lolx...

EFI for local and carb for touring. :D

Like father like son

hey guys if a phantom mod like harley issit counted?

Do you consider a ladyboy a real girl?

wah bro...theres gd n bads for EFI & Carbs...of coz theres alway advantages for new technologies. But carbs have its too...like maintainance, FC, Sound etc... :)

If i have a chance...i will take both. lolx...

EFI for local and carb for touring. :D

Actually, has anyone had any issues with maintenance of an EFI? Its not like you go out and buy a car (I dont think they even offer one with a carb) and wish it had a carb so you can adjust it. If your serious about tuning an EFI, you go with the PC3/5 and hook it up to your pc. Fuel consumption only hurts because we tend to tune it for performance and not mileage (too bad cant have a computer switch to change from performance to economy). And if really want the sound + performance, go with stage 1 + cams and EFI. Best of both. my2cents

Edited by Dnish
Hahahaha.......Hard to differenciate at times....

haha. never seen or heard a phantom that came close to a dyna. but then, they are probably more reliable...

Haha..so mean...well...its the passion.

If u dunmind wat ppl say about u...why nt? :)

I'll respect a ladyboy who has passion to be girl rather than a butch who dun appreaciate to be one.

Saw a butch with long leg hair..damn!

Its like install authentic harley accessories onto a phantom. juz kidding

Like father like son

Actually, has anyone had any issues with maintenance of an EFI? Its not like you go out and buy a car (I dont think they even offer one with a carb) and wish it had a carb so you can adjust it. If your serious about tuning an EFI, you go with the PC3/5 and hook it up to your pc. Fuel consumption only hurts because we tend to tune it for performance and not mileage (too bad cant have a computer switch to change from performance to economy). And if really want the sound + performance, go with stage 1 + cams and EFI. Best of both. my2cents

tats the wonderful about the technologies...:)

Like father like son

Hahahaha.......Hard to differenciate at times....

It's the sound they make.