[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Originally posted by nE0@Apr 21 2005, 07:57 PM

http://www.sportrider.com/bikes/146-0312-twin-02-2.jpg

cool

To be old and wise, u gotta be young and stupid

在绝望中坚强

• Replies 14.5k

Guys ... not happy wth my bike. Got flat spot at 3000 rpm; then surge. How? it's a carb model, 2002.

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

When was the last time you had your carbs serviced and balanced?

Yours is a fairly new bike. The original carb settings should be very smooth actually, even on my 7 year old bike, even response throughout the revrange.

People here might like this.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/081101side2.jpg

video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-594683847743189197

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/Yee.jpg

All ducatis come with a Trellis frame, and a 90degree L-twin, with the forward cylinder nearly horizontal to the ground.

Sigh ... long story. Problem didn't start with the carbs; but with the fact that my bike has a slow return i.e. the engine rev down slowly, clear on the taco.

Some apparently experienced mech decided that it's a carb problem, tweaked it and viola! now got flat spot. My fren's 7 year old bike has better response and power than mine!

Sianz.

Cat

Originally posted by Brendaner@Apr 28 2005, 06:06 AM

People here might like this.

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/081101side2.jpg

pro arm front and back!! wooo.. sweet!!! I WANT!!!

From then to now...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v485/solley/bikes.jpg

maybe the exhaust is in the belly pan? looks like it... the exhaust headers go to the pan then never come out liao... so i think it goes through there... lol...

From then to now...

Hey guys, I just got my bike back, changed clutch plates, clutch springs, brake pads front n rear, and serviced the brake calipers.

The result? My bike shifts much much better now! The gear lever feels 100times lighter than before, and shifting gears is not so notchy anymore. The front brakes though, I think need to change to steel braided hoses, cos the old rubber ones are ageing....

Yet another bill, hai.... But switching from a Suzuki Impulse (SUper4 like bike) to the Monster, although the power is not there, the feel and handling is :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: No words to describe the difference....

Originally posted by nE0@Apr 29 2005, 04:36 AM

Hey guys, I just got my bike back, changed clutch plates, clutch springs, brake pads front n rear, and serviced the brake calipers.

The result? My bike shifts much much better now! The gear lever feels 100times lighter than before, and shifting gears is not so notchy anymore. The front brakes though, I think need to change to steel braided hoses, cos the old rubber ones are ageing....

Yet another bill, hai.... But switching from a Suzuki Impulse (SUper4 like bike) to the Monster, although the power is not there, the feel and handling is :thumb: :thumb: :thumb: No words to describe the difference....

woohooo..mai tu liaoz.. time to get a big monsty..kjeke.. :cheeky:

Your Cash Cow.. Moo Moo....

Daily Interest 2.0% - 4.0%

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/f41000_enzo1.jpghttp://img.photobucket.com/albums/v201/ayuluv2001/my_olds_mv.jpg

"In the world there are so many extraordinary motorcyles,but the F4 is something else" Claudio Castiglioni

Yea, right. Who wanna buy my Monster first?

Everything you can think of, I've fixed or overhauled it.

Talking about gear shifts, is it normal to hear a humongous loud niose when changing 1st to 2nd gear? It sounds like something hitting an empty metal container.

Told Mike about it and he said it's normal. It doesn't happen all the time, but it sure is loud....

Originally posted by Jade@Apr 29 2005, 06:28 PM

Talking about gear shifts, is it normal to hear a humongous loud niose when changing 1st to 2nd gear? It sounds like something hitting an empty metal container.

Told Mike about it and he said it's normal. It doesn't happen all the time, but it sure is loud....

normal...

some ppl like the sound so much that they put spacers in the clutch cover so that there's a gap and the sound comes out louder.. lol... or you can go get a vented clutch ccover which will cost about 300+... lol... does the same thing...

makes the gear change sound louder and cools the clutch plates...

From then to now...

The "Thunk" sound, right? That's apparent cos' the gear is changed when the revs are still high. ... make a mental note and you will realise that the sound is not there when you consciously close the throttle.

Actually, it's this sound that led me to realise that my revs are dropping too slowly.

Neo, how's your revs drop rate? Happy to know that your bike's healthy.

Cat

Originally posted by Sols@Apr 29 2005, 06:59 PM

normal...

some ppl like the sound so much that they put spacers in the clutch cover so that there's a gap and the sound comes out louder.. lol... or you can go get a vented clutch ccover which will cost about 300+... lol... does the same thing...

makes the gear change sound louder and cools the clutch plates...

Very true for the venti clutch cover to bring out the music of the dry clutch, but gear change music is still abt same.( for once i rode hm from mike without the cover...:cheeky: )

ps: make sure ur mons is having dry clutch...if not.....

Originally posted by coolcat@Apr 30 2005, 12:31 AM

The "Thunk" sound, right? That's apparent cos' the gear is changed when the revs are still high. ... make a mental note and you will realise that the sound is not there when you consciously close the throttle.

Actually, it's this sound that led me to realise that my revs are dropping too slowly.

Neo, how's your revs drop rate? Happy to know that your bike's healthy.

Cat

i xp it too but sometimes when i really want to dash off the traffic light, i didnt xp the...'sound' n usually i have this habit of reving b4 i downshift, but i dont always get the...loud gear engaging sound. So is it really true that high rev cos the 'thunk' from shifting from 1st to 2nd?:confused:

Not juz second and first for me. 2nd and 3rd too.

Cat

Originally posted by coolcat@Apr 30 2005, 07:33 AM

Not juz second and first for me. 2nd and 3rd too.

Cat

Me too, but more for 1st to 2nd lah. Intermittenly, not all the time though.

U want to see my K&N filter? I should be getting the cleaning kit today from HKL

i think maybe at higher gear, you don't hear it cos you're moving faster? then the sound is travelling slightly behind? hahahaha... k... i think too much... hahahaha.... but might be true leh... then plus wind noise.. thats why can't hear anything else... ahhaha...

From then to now...

today went to rosli... hahahahaha... finally...

he's good man.. lol... fixed all the minor minor things that were wrong with the bike... so minor that i can't even remember what they were... haha... and he din charge for any of it... just the oil, plugs and indicator relay.. the relay was fried...

From then to now...