[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

• Replies 14.5k

Originally posted by dark_monster@Dec 23 2005, 02:00 PM

:cheeky: chop chop chop....wait till you see my tortise tail...Vincecam and GalanteD sure faint...:cheeky:

Your's New Version one! Actually compare to stock Old Version tail, i find your one nicer leah! Signals also nicer!

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

1996 - 1997 : Aprillia RS125 Extrema

1997 - 1998 : Yamaha DT200WR

1998 - 2005 : Not been Riding.....

2005 - 2006 : Honda XR400RV & Ducati Monster

2006 Onwards : Something BIG ! ! is coming.......

Originally posted by contacted@Dec 23 2005, 12:12 PM

Hi folks, I've already bought the screws for the cosmetic area. As what GalateD said, abit tuff to get them to do it in small quantites. So sorry that I didn't get extra sets, cuz I was getting them during office hours so abit gan jiong already. :sweat:

Anyway how about gathering on monday for a screwing exercise? Public holiday should be quite good for most peeps out there right?

maybe _kb_ can also join in.

PS:

If any of you folks want, I took GalanteD's measurements and just put them into a Word document. Printed it out and passed it to the uncle. PM me your emails if you want it.

I cannot confirm Bro! Might need to go out! But then, you can always try calling me to confirm!

Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 23 2005, 12:32 PM

rehdeer

there is only last 10 pcs of m4 production coming in tis christmas as per tiffanny of minerva, 3 hv been booked, machine price $15k...

galanted

post a pix of ya rust free screwed duke soon......

guys

wanna go for a monster meal 2moro nite at ktm 8pm?

my bike gotten a tail chop by the 1st owner...here is a pix

contacted

u got ya bike frm ben? fq plate?

Errm, i posted some liao. If i take picture of the bike as a whole, on pictures, don't think you can see the diff! Come see the real thing better!

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 23 2005, 01:43 PM

Take note : When installing screws, esp for the engine area, its good practice to use loctite, so the screws don't work themselves loose.

One bottle can last for very very long, can share also. Use medium strength will do, don't get the evil red loctite.

Bro Neo, Loctite Medium Strength, you got the product number if you used before? I'm afraid to buy the wrong one, kena permanent bond then HK liao!

What's your take?

Loctite® 242 - Medium Strength - General Purpose

Ideal for all nut and bolt applications. Especially suited for 1/4" or larger fasteners. Removable with hand tools.

Applications

Machine tools, presses, pumps, compressors, mounting bolts, gearboxes.

Loctite® 243 - Threadlocker - Medium Strength - Oil Tolerant

Effective on all types of metal threaded fasteners. Prevents loosening on vibrating parts such as pumps, motor mounting bolts, gear boxes or presses. Recommended for use where disassembly with hand tools is required for servicing and where parts are contaminated with oil.

Approvals

• P1 NSF Reg. No.: 123000

• Certified to ANSI/NSF Standard 61

Applications

Machine tools, presses, pumps, compressors, mounting bolts, gearboxes.

Specifications

• Size of Thread: Up to M 36

• Strength: Medium

• Functional Strength (typical value @ 22 °C): 2 hrs

• Breakaway Torque M10 bolts: 20 Nm

• Long-Term Temperature Resistance: +150°C

Loctite® 290 - Threadlocker - Medium Strength

Recommended for locking preassembled fasteners, e.g. instrumentation screws, electrical connectors and set screws.

Applications

Pre-assembled fasteners, instrumentation screws, electrical connectors, carburetors and set screws.

Specifications

• Size of Thread: Up to M 12

• Strength: Medium/High

• Functional Strength (typical value @ 22 °C): 3 hrs

• Breakaway Torque M10 bolts: 10 Nm

• Long-Term Temperature Resistance: +150°C

General purpose should do fine. Oil tolerent ones will be good for parts nearer to the engine.

Just don't get high strength one, or you'll cry (your mechanic will curse you too) when the time comes to take them off.

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 23 2005, 04:22 PM

General purpose should do fine. Oil tolerent ones will be good for parts nearer to the engine.

Just don't get high strength one, or you'll cry (your mechanic will curse you too) when the time comes to take them off.

Roger That!

Oh ya, anyone don't want their mickey mouse mirrors, can let me have them? :D

Yo Galanted..

The list of screws dt u posted izzit izzit just for m4 or all(M6 & M9).. R they off the same size? Should be rite?

Btw i saw the red with white lining in the middle on my way bak from work(In the MRT).. My bike still sick mah.. i saw it in carpark sumwhere along AMK station.. Power!! Whose bike izzit? Yours?:thumb:

So anybody is going to get screws tomorrow?? Let's go together then we buy in big quanity. Then we can meet on Monday and fix them up!

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by Pro Dero@Dec 23 2005, 12:38 PM

i was suppose to buy da m4 frm him but den my fren offer me a red white stripe duke.....hehehe!

did u check out da front rim he welded?

btw ya speedo werkin? cuz mines dead & yohji on & off ok...weird i tot not much electronics leh....

My speedo went dead and alive on and off a few times. But now it is ALWAYS alive again. Don't know what's wrong. Maybe the gear at the hub is wearing out cos the cable seems to be fine.

Anybody's M400 can start without choke in the morning? I need to choke it every morning before starting up. Sometimes after pumping petrol, the bike can't start also. Need to try a few times. Could the spark plugs be fouled?

I noticed abit of surging (slow respond) when I throttle. Could it be because I changed pipes? Need to tune something?

My handlebar seem to be alittle crooked also. My left arm is always stretching further out than my right arm when riding. I suspect the steering is off. Cos if I straighten both arms and try to ride, the bike won't go straight.

Anyway I've been thinking of pushing the bike to Minvera for a full thorough check-up and servicing. I wonder how much it will cost man and how long will they take to service it. I'm already prepared to take Taxi (don't ask me to take bus, I will die!) and spend my bonus on the servicing. Not that the bike is faulty (previous owner took very good care of it) but better to be safe than sorry. Hope to do it up nicely and at least I'll have a peace of mind.

The Monster is a dream come true for me. I love it. It's so sexy and seductive. I always hear her say to me: "Turn me on and ride me!"

c26492.jpg

Yo, Yohji .... don't be so sad la ... you ride to Minerva I send you back la .... buy me cup of teh.

Seriously, fatboy left Minerva already dunno whether got replacement mechanic (there used to be 3 of them). Call Eugene or Yong and see when is good to push bike in.

your signature very nice, do one for me leh ......

Cat

... what you looking at? Never seen a cow that wants to go places ????! ...

http://i49.photobucket.com/albums/f254/bikermeow/Miscellaneous/cow4uz.jpg

Originally posted by coolcat@Dec 23 2005, 08:16 PM

Yo, Yohji .... don't be so sad la ... you ride to Minerva I send you back la .... buy me cup of teh.

Seriously, fatboy left Minerva already dunno whether got replacement mechanic (there used to be 3 of them). Call Eugene or Yong and see when is good to push bike in.

your signature very nice, do one for me leh ......

Cat

Hehe pillion me to work and back home and I'll treat you teh, milo, coffee haha!

Gonna call them soon .. maybe next week. How much do you think I'll need to cough out? Maybe should just let them change the "ducati parts" and let Alex change the "common parts" like chain.

Signature can do for you no problem! Need a nice photo to start with : )

c26492.jpg

Yohji > Have to narrow down the problem.

Check the spark plugs first, its the best indication of how your engine is running. Change to new plugs. If it gets better immediately, then its the spark plugs.

If it gets better then problems return again, probably is the fueling, try servicing the carbs. If that doesn't help, might need to overhaul the carbs.

check your grounding also. When i first got my bike, it was nearly impossible to start, spark plugs fouled very badly. End up it was because the grounding point between frame and engine block came loose. I replaced it with super thick subwoofer cable, no problems anymore :thumb: (Check out Vince's bike)

Originally posted by yohji@Dec 23 2005, 07:03 PM

The Monster is a dream come true for me. I love it. It's so sexy and seductive. I always hear her say to me: "Turn me on and  ride me!"

:cool: for the love sick, yohji

Monster calling...

:smooch: "Come on, turn me on, ride me till you're worn.

Let’s get away on the freeway, just the two of us and no one else".

Ride for miles and miles, her face full of smiles.

Feel her body sway and dancing to the wind.

Embrace her; hold her tightly between your legs.

Rock her, feel her shiver and hear her growl.

"Oh yeah oh yeah, come baby, come…with me on the freeway".:smooch:

Originally posted by GalanteD@Dec 23 2005, 12:00 PM

You can't Bro, cos i bought all yesterday liao! Try tagging on Contacted! He only bought set 1 for the Cosmetics side and believe he would buy set 2 for the Engine area. Like i told him, i spent $5 on the Cosmetics and $9 on the Engine areas(but i know that fellow selling the screws and he told me it's small quanity so he is doing me a favour.Hope you guys can understand that i can't help buy again). Please inform me when you get you tail piece, liked to see it and take some measurements, can?

They sell screws like gems like dat.. woah....

Ok ok.. I'll tag along contacted for screws.

Will sound you when the tail arrive.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 23 2005, 04:47 PM

Oh ya, anyone don't want their mickey mouse mirrors, can let me have them? :D

Never say earlier? I threw them away liao!

Originally posted by 900despairmonster@Dec 23 2005, 05:51 PM

Yo Galanted..

The list of screws dt u posted izzit izzit just for m4 or all(M6 & M9).. R they off the same size? Should be rite?

Btw i saw the red with white lining in the middle on my way bak from work(In the MRT).. My bike still sick mah.. i saw it in carpark sumwhere along AMK station.. Power!! Whose bike izzit? Yours?:thumb:

My Signature is the picture of my Toys leh! Not sure if my list posted are suitable for M6 or M9. But i would suppose that the Cosmetics ones are the same and the Engine ones should differ slightly but 15pcs per size should be enough.

Originally posted by yohji@Dec 23 2005, 06:53 PM

So anybody is going to get screws tomorrow?? Let's go together then we buy in big quanity. Then we can meet on Monday and fix them up!

Screw shop's big quantity refers to 1000pcs that comes in a box leh, Bro.......

Originally posted by vincekam@Dec 24 2005, 01:18 AM

They sell screws like gems like dat.. woah....

Ok ok.. I'll tag along contacted for screws.

Will sound you when the tail arrive.

You got me wrong liao. To them, 10pcs per size is like very low quanity as others usually order 100pcs per size. Not to mention that certain sizes we only require 2-5pcs and we got so many different sizes. Hope you can understand the situation.

Tink you should join forces so if got 4 person then the 2-5pcs will become 8-20 pcs. Add up all the screws quite many liao. At least better than 1 by 1 walk into the shop to buy. The uncle sure very pissed off lor.

Originally posted by nE0@Dec 23 2005, 11:33 PM

Yohji > Have to narrow down the problem.

Check the spark plugs first, its the best indication of how your engine is running. Change to new plugs. If it gets better immediately, then its the spark plugs.

If it gets better then problems return again, probably is the fueling, try servicing the carbs. If that doesn't help, might need to overhaul the carbs.

check your grounding also. When i first got my bike, it was nearly impossible to start, spark plugs fouled very badly. End up it was because the grounding point between frame and engine block came loose. I replaced it with super thick subwoofer cable, no problems anymore :thumb: (Check out Vince's bike)

Okay neo,

So when I push my bike to Minerva, I just tell them my problems. Will they troubleshoot for me? Or should I just tell them to change the spark plugs first? I heard the mechs are not very friendly :help:

BTW grounding wire .. is it the wire used to cut off the engine when the side-stand is down?

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by dark_monster@Dec 24 2005, 09:26 AM

Tink you should join forces so if got 4 person then the 2-5pcs will become 8-20 pcs. Add up all the screws quite many liao. At least better than 1 by 1 walk into the shop to buy. The uncle sure very pissed off lor.

Hehe dark monster, nice "poem". Hehe!

Yah dark monster, that is what I am thinking of .. go together to buy so at least we are buying in bigger quantity than one person alone. But nobody respond leh. Anyway I think there are other shops selling screws in that area. Example, the shop that is below the multistorey car park opposite ah boy. Coolcat is a regualr customer there : )

BTW guys, for the engine screws, do we need to use a torque wrench? Cos we won't know how tight is tight enough. Engine area better don't play play.

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by dark_monster@Dec 24 2005, 09:26 AM

True! Better this way!

yohji.

The screws for the engine area are the ones for the cover and not those for the internals. Handtight with application of loctite 242 should be good to do!

Was at Minerva for the first time to troubleshoot some stuff, the Mechs there aer quite friendly leh!