[Group] SBF DUCATI Monster

Hi Ducatians..

Long time lost cos i hav no internet connection on board..

Btw anybody went down to Mike lately? Espido1001? Any progress on my baby? Quite Xcited leh..

Heard ducatians riding up for CNY..

Sure happening.. Bt too bad i cant.. :weep: wrkg..

Neway. Gong Xi Fa Cai in Advance.. (Scared no connection again)..

Ride Safe Guys!!

Don Drink & Ride..

• Replies 14.5k

Originally posted by contacted@Jan 22 2006, 10:33 PM

Quick question: If I wanna find a Ducati Tank Pad, something like the pic below. Where can I find it? Minerva? Ah Boy? Or ship it in?

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11896/tankpad.JPG

Thanks folks :smile:

Hey Daron,

Minerva sells that. I bought the other design (Ducati Performance wordings). Cost $45. The Ducati Corse version cost $50. The parts catalogue says it has a real carbon fiber core coated with the rubbery thing. That is why it cost THAT much.

Don't know about you, but I find it insultating (for my bike) to put an ah boy tank pad on my Monster hehe. Don't be mistaken, I am not looking down on ah boy stuff but I feel that certain things need to be original. Imagine a Ferrari using a pirated sports rim. It somehow spoils the whole image. Wanna put must put the real thing hehe. But that's just me lah : )

BTW how many times have you washed and waxed your bike ever since the new paint job?? Hehe!!

c26492.jpg
Originally posted by yohji@Jan 23 2006, 08:00 PM

Hey Daron,

Minerva sells that. I bought the other design (Ducati Performance wordings). Cost $45. The Ducati Corse version cost $50. The parts catalogue says it has a real carbon fiber core coated with the rubbery thing. That is why it cost THAT much.

Don't know about you, but I find it insultating (for my bike) to put an ah boy tank pad on my Monster hehe. Don't be mistaken, I am not looking down on ah boy stuff but I feel that certain things need to be original. Imagine a Ferrari using a pirated sports rim. It somehow spoils the whole image. Wanna put must put the real thing hehe. But that's just me lah : )

BTW how many times have you washed and waxed your bike ever since the new paint job?? Hehe!!

yo ah yo yohji, my sentiments exactly. Anyway 50 bucks is still within budget.

So far I've not washed nor waxed yet. But once after rain, I immediately dry off. Dude from shop was saying to use wax type of polish.

Anyway I have a new major problem. Talk more about it another time, after I get it done. :sian:

Honda Phantom TA200: Sep 04 - Dec 05

Ducati Monster M400: Dec 05 - Feb 07

Honda Silverwing FJS400D: Feb 07 - Jan 09

Honda Shadow 400: Nov 10 - Dec 11

Aprilia SR Max 300ie: Jul 12 - Mar 15

Originally posted by contacted@Jan 23 2006, 08:20 PM

yo ah yo yohji, my sentiments exactly. Anyway 50 bucks is still within budget.

So far I've not washed nor waxed yet. But once after rain, I immediately dry off. Dude from shop was saying to use wax type of polish.

Anyway I have a new major problem. Talk more about it another time, after I get it done. :sian:

Monsters are really tempremental bikes man. Even my fairly late model is throwing tantrums. But I simply couldn't resist riding it. Just got to fix the faults and enjoy the bike.

I'm gonna push my bike into Minerva after CNY for a thorough checkup so that I can let them fix all the bloody faults (if any) and I'll have a peace of mind after that.

I'm now eagerly waiting for my Oxford panniers. Wah lao I really spent quite a lot of money for the past few months (including safety gears and accessories).

c26492.jpg

haha if that's the case, just head down to minerva to get everything :D

these tank pads are probably all OEM from the same manufacturer. there are many more designs out there:

http://www.fastbikebits.com/acatalog/TD006R.gif http://www.fastbikebits.com/acatalog/TD002K.gif http://www.robinsonsfoundry.co.uk/shop/images/image/TD002Y.gif http://www.robinsonsfoundry.co.uk/shop/images/image/TD002R.gif

see more designs here:

Ducati Tank Pads

Custom Designed Tank Pads

Maybe I'll order mine online so that it's the only tank pad with that design in Singapore :D

btw, that single seat cowl costs around $400+ at minerva.

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif
Originally posted by rehdeer@Jan 23 2006, 08:47 PM

btw, that single seat cowl costs around $400+ at minerva.

ouch~ wah.. very ex sia..

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11337/tri_daytona675.jpg

counting down again to the final class of license..

riding.. freedom.. it comes together..

Hi, anyone has experience with GPR on Monster 400? Similiar to the picture below except on low mount.

http://www.gpr.it/admin/documenti/moto/subcategory/subsubcategory/DUCA_13_1.jpg

Btw, to me.... a tank pad is just a tank pad. Nothing great... Rather save that $30 difference for a better brake pad. Anyway, just my opinion, pls dun be offended.

Just got back my bike from Mike with a pair of brigdestone T014. Looks good but feels a little slippery at the moment... maybe its the wax... If you go Minerva, they'll recommend Dunlop. But personal experience with Dunlop is that it wears off too fast.

Any commends?

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

Hello Everybody!

Just got to ride around on a Monster 400. Feels great to ride again after many years, but a little jittery since its first time out on Singapore roads... :giddy:

I've noticed the engine sometimes misses a beat during idling. Has this got to do with the spark plugs? Also, the engine stalls during idling too.

Its very hard to find the neutral gear so I almost always have to clutch in at the traffic lights. :mad: What can be done to remedy this?

Also, is it normal for this bike to be rather sluggish when moving off from standstill. I reckon the previous owner had upsized the rear sprockets. However, the bike felt okay from second gear onwards. But could be me. Novice rider... still don't know how to clutch out and throttle properly... :sweat:

Hope to join the group for some rides someday...

Hi Kb, were you the one at Kallang Cycle just now?

In my experience, irregular idling is either your carb or valve clearance. Could be both. When did you last do maintnance to both?

As for the neutral gear, try opening a bit of throttle (ard your biting point) and kick to neutral. Dun jam on the brakes. Its normal cos its a D for Ducati gears....

I also experience sluggish starts. What to do.... not enough power...

rideupnorth.blogspot.com

BT-014s are very good all rounded street tyres, suits the Monster's riding style well.

Missing beats in idling? Could be fouled spark plugs. Unlike Inline4s, we have half the number of power pulses per revolution, which makes misfiring at idling more prominent, and the bike will feel lumpy below 3000rpms.

Ducatis seem to have the same starter motors from the smallest Monsters to the superbikes. I find that it starts easier with the clutch in, takes alittle load off the starter I guess. But it might be the starter clutch thats faulty. I'll have it checked at my next service.

Drexter

most of us are m400, a few r 900 da rest are DUKES! hehhee!

ducatitan

i gota agree wif u abt da tank pads.....hehhe! i rather get a bagster tank bra $165 give u da real feel den $50 pads :p

dunlop arrowmax? quite sticky i use on my other bike, btw my m4 using bt20 rear & front bt14, next change will be pirelli dragon or diablo hehehe!

_kb_

i had same prob, juz change ya spark plug, da cap, idlin timin...should do da trick,

if clutch den prepare $300 for da clutch pump gonna wear out like mine did...

any1 geared for a day ride???

Bekok Waterfalls Day Trip

Date : 29th (Sun)

Time : 0630 - 2200hrs

Meeting Place : 0630hrs at GP Esso

Can make it

1. Al-Simmons

2. Butcher

3. Butcher's gf

4. wady and gf

5. Daniyal and gf

6. Luciano

7. Pro Dero

Pending

1. toobez

2. dennis

3. Newtsuit

4. neo

5. espido1001

add on..... :cheeky:

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

Hey ProDero, Sunday is the first day of CNY leh. I don't think I can make it, have to go visiting!

Is it possible to postpone it to Monday? Some of my friends, including me would be able to make it then.

Originally posted by ducatitan@Jan 24 2006, 12:03 AM

Hi Kb, were you the one at Kallang Cycle just now?

In my experience, irregular idling is either your carb or valve clearance. Could be both. When did you last do maintnance to both?

As for the neutral gear, try opening a bit of throttle (ard your biting point) and kick to neutral. Dun jam on the brakes. Its normal cos its a D for Ducati gears....

Yup. It was me. Maintenance? I just got my bike. Mike told me to ride it first because he felt everything the major components are still good.

Pro Dero, are you referring to the spark plug wires when you mentioned da caps? Can't join the long ride to Malaysia this time. Need to build my confidence and be more familiar with the bike first. Perhaps you can share with us what's the plan with the Charity Ride in April?

Originally posted by _kb_@Jan 24 2006, 02:01 AM

Thanks! What sorta plugs should I change to? Previous owner didn't have the manual...

Champian plugs.

GEt em from Kallang Cycle or Minerva. Quick 5 minute job.

Saw a FQ plate Red Monster on the road outside IKEA just now around 1:45pm. Rider from forum?

Just wondering, why are most Monsters FQ plate? Now I've known of 5 Monsters that have FQ plate.

http://home2.pacific.net.sg/~hwee_li/avatar/vespa.gif

Its around that time when Monsters first came in, the FP, FQ time, very popular, and the Monster 900 back then was the streetfighter to have. Wheelie bike!

Because after the initial surge of sales, I think the bike slowly became less popular. Around this time, Super4s are starting to flood the market too.

Due to Honda's good sales tatics, Super4s started to dominate. Other bikes like Yamaha XJR, Suzuki Impulse/Bandit, Kawasaki ZXR400 (Yes, it exists) didn't sell as well as the mighty Super4.

yea tht shows how important marketing is ...and i think after the initial surge in sales...everyone starts realising they got to pay everything Ducati is D$(ducati dollars)...the first thing most ppl ask abt my bike after they compliment on owning one is the cost for mantainence...always :mad:

but like my dad always say exclusivity is what u pay for. :cheer:

pro dero: i just asked told my dad abt going for the trip on CNY day,he didn't seemed too pleased esp. since i only meet my relatives like once a yr ..i'll love to go but i'll hav to keep u informed again ! :weep: i also alrd changed my slightly worned tires earlier in anticipation for the trip..haiz..

900despairmonster: i'll be going down KC soon to get back my stock pipes sooon,i'll help u check the status of yr bike. :cheer:

Pro Dero > I think it would be great if the trip can be posponed to monday, cos Sunday is a really, REALLY bad day.

meet up session

place : kampung glam cafe, at bussorah st near north bridge

time : 8pm onwards

purpose : makan, chill out & discussion for april charity trip

:hungry: :cheers: :thirsty:

_kb_

yup i had it change frm da oem to ngk ones nw werx fine...

rehdeer

im 1 of da fr plate m4 heheheh!

espido1001 & neo

i oso miscalculated da date i tot 28 cny oredi??? hehehe! bt more or less i am der.... :thumb:

WELCOME TO THE DARK SIDE...

2004 Honda Varadero XL125 ride to tour

2005 Ducati Monster 400 for track use :p

2006 white r3 spec gen2 manual gear for pimping hehehe!

2008 THE new silver subaru impreza hatch NOT road legal & manual gear for drifting!

2010 white fd2 honda civic 2.0 si & still manual gear for family use so whats next baby?

hey bro thks for the sms. sorry couldnt reply.phone died on me ! .. aniway i try my best to drop by on fri nite. depends on my work schedule..

btw ...u guys know where's a gd place to buy nice biker's genuine leather jacket.? budget 200-300+.... i like those old cafe racers type...just plain leather with some zips and pockets wit those cool colllars.. my dad gave me his riding jacket but it's too harleyish ...black leather with flat collar with a little studs here n there..

looking for dark red/maroon ... kinda like these...any recommendations for shops which i could get them?or any got lobangs/discounts for custom made ones?...thanks alot !

http://cgi.ebay.com/Vintage-Leather-Cafe-R...1QQcmdZViewItem :cheer: