Hi bros, need to clarify this as very confused.

Need to turn into CCK North 5 from CCK Way. Saw almost everyone turn in when the other lane has no traffic. When I was about to turn, saw the right turn light lit up, so I told myself, "must wait for it next time. Maybe ppl not following traffic law."

Next time, I waited for light, but got horned by a large lorry. Told him, must wait for right turn light, he said as long the other lane is clear, can turn. Luckily, right turn light lit up, but not more than 5 seconds before it goes off.

I purposely walk there one evening to see how long this right turn light lit up. Seems to me very inconsistent, maximum 10 seconds, minimum flash 3 times and is off!

My question is, should I wait until the right turn light lit up, or just follow everyone to right turn when the other lane no traffic? Also, why this light is so irregular? What is TP trying to tell us when it flashes for only 3 seconds? Chiong now?

By the way, always saw the left most lane full of lorries along that stretch. Is it legal for them to park like that?

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

• Replies 14

If there is no red arrow then you can turn when the traffic is clear regardless of whether the green arrow is on. If there is a red arrow you must wait.

It sounds like a signal connected to a sensor. If there is only 1 car it changes very quickly, stays longer if more cars cross.

Hi Strong Eagle

Thx for ur reply. Still feels very strange. I mean, wats the point of having a right turn light when u should make ur own judgement as to when to cross? Sounds very ironic to me. Might as well not having it at all and draw pockets for us to wait inside. See some taxi drivers waiting like there is a pocket.

By the way, notice another strange thing. It has name like Ley Choon, AST. Is that the TP in-charge? :smile:

HELP FIND MY BIKE! Blue RXZ (New Model), completely stock FBB3668U Stolen from Block 502A MSCP Choa Chu Kang Street 51

if the red light is not on, den it's not compulsory to stop and wait for the green arrow to light up. however, normally there would be a stop line so you still have to stop and look out for traffic before you move off. and the reason why the signalised traffic light is there is becoz during peak hour the traffic might be too heavy for you to be able to make the turn at all, so the signalised traffic arrow is there to facilitate those road users making the turn.

do correct me if im wrong.

CBR600F4I SPORT --- JAN 2005 - JUNE 2006

YZF R6 '06 --- JULY 2006 - AUGUST 2006 (STOLEN)

GSXR 1000 K6 --- DECEMBER 2006 - ???

"char bor only know 3 bikes, sp, rvf, r1"
Originally posted by ThePole@April 12, 2007 07:36 am

Hi Strong Eagle

Thx for ur reply. Still feels very strange. I mean, wats the point of having a right turn light when u should make ur own judgement as to when to cross? Sounds very ironic to me. Might as well not having it at all and draw pockets for us to wait inside. See some taxi drivers waiting like there is a pocket.

By the way, notice another strange thing. It has name like Ley Choon, AST. Is that the TP in-charge? :smile:

No red arrow but green light in your favour, you can turn right.

so why the right turn arrow?

because if the opposite traffic is VERY heavy, then it will cause a jam as alot of vehicles is waiting to turn right. so when it caters for those, that's also why the right turn arrow don't need to light up for a long time.

the lorry is right to horn you.

green light, no red arrow, traffic clear, just turn.

Simple. If there is a red right arrow on the traffic light, it means you cannot do right turn.

If there is no red right arrow, and only green right arrow, it means at anytime its green light and traffic is clear, you can turn right, the green right arrow is meant that you can turn safetly without worrying much to the oncoming traffic infront of you.

also for that road, its activated by sensor, so if no car is on it for a while, it will only flash for 3 sec before it becomes totally red light siutation.

hi bro i live near there too...

there is no red arrow there so can turn as long as oncoming lane is clear. Hence the lorry is right (although impolite) to horn u. But in the oppo direction where u will be turning into KJE(PIE tuas), there IS a red arrow., so u MUST WAIT even though the on coming lane is empty!!!

Hi bros

Thnx 4 e reply. Yup, just got my ride less than 1 mth ago. Dun know when they introduce this cos Riding Theory never cover, thot it works like the typical extra arrow on the traffic light where it will be red/green to indicate can or cannot turn. Almost gave me heart attack when tat lorry horned me.

Haiz, must go out more often to gain experience, dun noe wat other stupid thing not covered in the book.

Originally posted by ThePole@April 13, 2007 07:27 am

Hi bros

Thnx 4 e reply. Yup, just got my ride less than 1 mth ago. Dun know when they introduce this cos Riding Theory never cover, thot it works like the typical extra arrow on the traffic light where it will be red/green to indicate can or cannot turn. Almost gave me heart attack when tat lorry horned me.

Haiz, must go out more often to gain experience, dun noe wat other stupid thing not covered in the book.

alot of things you'll see in this real world.. how people drive how people ride.. LOL! they can do alot of wonders you'll never think..

ya bro regarding ur qns about whether those trucks parking along the roadside of cck way are legal, the ans is yes. They are official parking lots for large vehicles..... Do take a closer look and u will be able to see the HDB parking sign that indicate the place as a legal large vehicle carpark

Hi jkaiser

Thx for ur comment. Just a thot, seems more logical in Malaysia isn't it? No right turn arrow, cross 4 wat? Wait u estimate wrongly, one idiot going at 250km/h opp side bang u. Even not going 250,one hand on the phone is enuff to kill. Seen 3 idiots (ladies included) driving at high speed with one hand along that stretch already. If u buang, u lose cos they have e right of way. If got arrow then turn, u have the right of way, isn't it better? Just my 2 cents worth. :sian:

not sure if they covered this 'turning without green arrow light on' specifically in theory.. but it was definitely covered during the road practical lessons for right turns.. instructor told us to turn right as long as can confirm the oncoming traffic is clear.. if our view was blocked by the vehicles turning right from oncoming diretion, then we were not supposed to turn.. safety mah.. oh, i took at cdc anyway.. not sure if it's the same for other driving centres.. :cheers: