hey guys... need urgent help here... my tyre just got punctured on my way out... and i didn't know what to do so i just pushed my bike all the way to a nearby carpark and placed coupon for a day... now dono who to call... can anyone advise? im in boon lay and the bike is in jurong.. quite near lah... thanks!

• Replies 57

too much prince of tennis ?

first thing... is your tyre tube or tubeless

if its tubed, just ride to the shop and change can liao. but to slow as handling will be difficult

if its tubeless, ride slow to the nearest petrol station to pump air then ride to nearest bike shop to get it patched

go real slow as u dont wanna damage the rims. if u scared, u wanna push also can. depends on how far it is only.

last thing.. never ever ever attempt to pull out the nail from your tire. will just cause more air to leak out.

last last last resort... call a tow to your bike shop.

tube shouldnt cost more than $12-14. patch shouldnt cost more than $6. unless they decided to chop you, which.... u dont have much of a choice anyway.

for long term solution... observe see how they do it the first time. buy your own tire repair kit and fix it yourself next time

Originally posted by echizen_ryoma@April 19, 2007 02:16 pm

hey guys... need urgent help here... my tyre just got punctured on my way out... and i didn't know what to do so i just pushed my bike all the way to a nearby carpark and placed coupon for a day... now dono who to call... can anyone advise? im in boon lay and the bike is in jurong.. quite near lah... thanks!

1) push to pioneer rd north.. got 2-3 bike shops there..

2) push to jurong west ave 1.. got 1 bike shop near the town council where u can buy season parking..

3) push to jurong east.. got 1 bike shop there as well..

4) push to jalan tukang.. got 2 shops there..

if u lazy push..

can always drop by pioneer road north there and buy tyre repair kit

then make ur way back to ur bike and push to nearest petrol station before patching..

if u're using a tube.. then get the tube instead of the tyre repair kit (provided u noe how to replace the tube)

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

wat bike r u riding.. if 2B bike and its a tube..

call this guy..

he only fix 2b tube bikes

Harry

if it is ur 1st time punctured, be careful of dishonest bike shop telling u that the hole is too big cannot patch or things like that and want u to change tire (for tubeless)!! i kana b4 and stupidly obliged aft i kana punctured for the 1st time. Some dishonest bike shop might say things like 'u patch already veri fast will leak again' and bulls*it like this. That time i kana is at AMK ave 10 at one of the bike shop that i wun name. That mechanic is really dishonest, still bluff mi say that mi fork abit dented must change $200 plus, lucky that time no $ so nv change yet. Then mi fren tested mi fork and told mi that nothing wrong and i ride till now about 6 mths liaoz also no prob yet.

P/s: When patching up a hole in tyre, they will 'enlarge' the hole by poking the repair kit in so that why there is no such thing as hole too big to patch...

i might be wrong and if yes pls feel free to correct mi...

Guest enHANZed

why is this thread in here in the 1st place ?

lol... cos i cant find a suitable place to put this thread in... seriously... thanks for the help... but i think just now i was too freaking pissed at the tyre, cos i was bringing my gf out to buy lunch only...

don't even know whether im using tube or wad... juz got my license and dont know abt a lot of stuff... but thanks guys for telling me... anyway, how to see its tube or not tube... tube means have to buy the tyre then inflate with the rim right? the other kind muz change the whole wheel?

oh yah... and maybe i can tell the story why my motor got punctured... apparently, i was riding along the streets of the neighbourhood... its a single lane, two way path, but at the particular straight road, the centre divider was a pavement not a road marking... so i saw this man carrying a green "GO" sign... but apparently i was dreaming... i saw him, but his pole was placed in the centre, on the divider, so i continued riding on the centre of my lane... until when i reached closer, then i saw my whole lane was blocked by one huge lorry pruning trees at the side... then i wanted to get out of my lane, but i cant turn fast enough and juz knocked into tt pole and literally threw my bike off... (life more important than bike... lol)

but pardon me if im wrong... im not new to the road, juz carrying a new 2B license... but in cases like this, shouldnt they block the lane with the go sign? why is the sign in the middle of a two way single lane road... its pretty confusing... if u try to imagine...

If at jurong east st 31, there are 2 bike shops. one is CKA , the other is aik leong motor. Er......i stay at that area, so i know how "good" both shops are, so i advise u not to go, but if really bo bian.. go to Aik leong. just opposite chinese garden mrt next to 7-eleven. Remember to bargain with the boss for the lowest possible price. Persist and persist. anyway changing of tyre wont really cost over $70 if i not wrong. I dont wanna u get chopped also.

because i kena chopped si si before.. so let me warn u now if ur bike location at jurong east.

btw which part of neighbourhood u mean? i want to avoid also lah, going home soon.

wat nike r u riding??

lol... btw echizen_ryoma, love the nature love the trees.. lols

Bro, what bike are u riding?

I got a nail into my rear tyre a few months back (i am riding a kips). Rode the bike slowly from Yishun to SPC Khatib to get it patched.. cost $6. Until now, the tyre is holding up fine!

Just remember to go slowly as to not damage your rims and to really slow down and not have any lean angle while doing a corner because handling is really crappy with a punctured tyre.

hi, i just have my rear tyre punctured buy a rivet.

now my bike is resting at my mscp.

riding a spec1 w/ tubeless tyre. any1 hav contacts for mobile mechanic who will come to my car park n patch up my tyre??

i do not wan 2 waste the money on towing.

thanks a million.

yea forget to state, im in amk area. i hope to get it down by this weekend, i feel crippled w/o my bike. :(

Honda NSR 150 SP - May'04 to July'05

Honda Wave S 125 - July'05 to March'06

Honda CB400 Vtec - March'06 to March'08

Originally posted by Vizu@April 20, 2007 08:44 pm

hi, i just have my rear tyre punctured buy a rivet.

now my bike is resting at my mscp.

riding a spec1 w/ tubeless tyre. any1 hav contacts for mobile mechanic who will come to my car park n patch up my tyre??

i do not wan 2 waste the money on towing.

thanks a million.

yea forget to state, im in amk area. i hope to get it down by this weekend, i feel crippled w/o my bike. :(

amk hav quite a couple of bike shop..

maybe u try pump the tyre.. and ride it over to bike shop..

ok thanks for ur advice,

but how much issit to jus patch a tyre, dun wan 2 get kar like the above poster, cos im goin to bikeshop in amk ave 10 oso.

oh...good deal for u.

i just got mine done earlier , after i half clutch all the way to the nearest shell wif car tyre shop n got it done for $10.

mine got punctured by an allen key b4.. zzz.. the longer end somemore..

i din remove it and juz rode to the bike shop to patch it..

actually if u dun remove it u can still ride it for a distance man.. the air wun come out so fast...

-----------------------------------------

http://bp0.blogger.com/_BRGYr6mPZh4/R9OHD3Wcv0I/AAAAAAAAA6Q/gepQxOxG4oY/s200/SoniaSui01.jpg

Selling tyre gauges(good for track use) PM me

tell them you dont want to use "injections" to patch...those kinds will only make the hole larger over time...

i work in a tyre company...and i never use those kind of patching for my own tyres...

i always insist that my tyre be patched from the inside with patches...

Originally posted by Vizu@April 21, 2007 04:17 pm

oh...good deal for u.

i just got mine done earlier , after i half clutch all the way to the nearest shell wif car tyre shop n got it done for $10.

NICE HELMET..

:lovestruck: :lovestruck:

-----------------------------------------

http://bp0.blogger.com/_BRGYr6mPZh4/R9OHD3Wcv0I/AAAAAAAAA6Q/gepQxOxG4oY/s200/SoniaSui01.jpg

Selling tyre gauges(good for track use) PM me

wah, eu guys staying in amk if next time tyre got lobang, feel free to contact me... i got repair kit and foot pump... :smile:

btw, had jus repaired mine at the dam last night... :giddy: