Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 24 2004, 08:24 PM

reason why was because i was trying to refer to topic. end of the day, which would we rather live with: bikes with louder pipes, or bikes with louder horns?

i wasn trying to say u were wrong to have done wat u did. of coz its better to avoid rather than wait for ppl to acknowledge you, as u said. therefore, instances where a horn wouldn have worked, unlikely loud pipes would succeed. hence referring to the topic, i dun see how loud pipes could be justified in instances where the horn would have worked just as well, if not better. not implying you, but a person pushing for a solution purely in the interest of safety wouldn go about with faulty horns then ask for loud pipes because 'it saves lives'.

Actually its not the pipes or horns..

Whether the dirver and rider have enough good brain cells to think properly anot

• Replies 161

Originally posted by BaaBaa Black Sheep@Dec 26 2004, 03:09 AM

Actually its not the pipes or horns..

Whether the dirver and rider have enough good brain cells to think properly anot

yes yes i agree. i hope u understand i'm not saying something like 'loud horns saves live' the same way the thread says 'loud pipes save lives'. i'm just saying if u have a situation where a loud pipe would have been effective at alerting one's presence, the horn would have been just as effective; and between the two i'd rather ask for louder horns than louder pipes.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

A horn can be controlled, a loud pipe, to a certain extent with the right hand. There are times when a quiet pipe is desired, like in a dense residential area in the wee hours of the morning. I'm sure even the most die-hard motorcycle fan would not like to hear straight pipes at 4am.

In fact, the very title of this thread is antisocial enough. Loud pipes don't save lives in Singapore, courtesy and patience saves lives. If everyone goes putting loud pipes, then its all going to be a circus on the roads, and we would all need earplugs.

Originally posted by mechwira@Dec 26 2004, 12:50 PM

yes yes i agree. i hope u understand i'm not saying something like 'loud horns saves live' the same way the thread says 'loud pipes save lives'. i'm just saying if u have a situation where a loud pipe would have been effective at alerting one's presence, the horn would have been just as effective; and between the two i'd rather ask for louder horns than louder pipes.

yup yup thats why i got a pair of stebel horns for my scoot. :cheeky:

Guest bu||dog

Be it loud pipes or loud horn (other aspect of safe riding is beside the point), the key to safer riding is how u use it. A louder pipe/horn informs the ppl ard u that u r nearby and this is especially impt for us riders given our (relatively) small size. Even on a crowded bus, one can almost always hear the rumbling of a modified harley davidson rolling past. Normal riding does not entail excessive revving of the engine nor sounding of the horn. It is the stupidity of those who suffer from self-esteem deficiency that makes a genuine life saving feature a nuisance. Remember, as uncle Ben said: "With great power comes great responsibility", use ur "powers" wisely...

Originally posted by bu||dog@Jan 6 2005, 04:34 PM

It is the stupidity of those who suffer from self-esteem deficiency that makes a genuine life saving feature a nuisance.

Think that sums it all....

Originally posted by rickzhee@Jan 6 2005, 05:08 PM

Let's just say 99.999% of those I seen on the road are 2B bikes and Malaysia Cubs.

That says alot.

Makes Sooooo much noise, but after 1 min, still there.

I ride a SP, a 2B bike, so dun say I prejudiced against small cc bikes.

Loud pipes are a nuisance. Period.

Originally posted by rickzhee@Jan 6 2005, 05:08 PM

I think this just goes to show how ignorant you are.

Lets face it, we love loud pipes, we love to unleash the vocal chords of our wonderful machines. But others don't. We just might be able to reach a compromise if everyone rides considerately, there are aftermarket pipes which sound good and yet aren't much louder than stock aka Akrapovics. On the other hand, revving the heck out of any stock 2-stroker is sure to cause more unwanted attention.

Its not a life saving feature. Imagine you're riding a bike with a loud pipe, you can hardly hear anything else, do you think you can hear an approaching vehicle from your blindspot? You might, if that vehicle has pipes much louder than yours. Sound pressure (Volume), measured in decibels, drops exponentially over distance. So if everyone wants to be heard, its going to be worse than a racing circuit, with hundreds of vehicles competing to "be heard", to "stay alive".

To stay alive, to be noticed on the roads, wear light coloured clothing, turn on your headlights, junk that tinted headlight protector and that teeny little peekaboo hole headlight sticker. Headlight manufacturers spend lots of money designing reflector and lenses, that DOT and SAE stamp is not for fun.

Even better, buy a white ST-11 or Diverson, wear a white helmet and fluorescent green vest and watch the traffic give way like magic. :D

i thk the difference is some cc bikes produce those lousy irriating sound like a loser screaming ...

meanwhile those bigger cc bikes produce more shiok noise ...etc 400cc suzuki w tong pipe sound is VROOM sound , or a 750cc magna make a slightly vroom when going off.

there are other f type sound...like a steed w tong pipes.... it sounded like a farter....

but i dun belive loud pipes saves life. Loud horn can wake u up. tats true..

The wind is blowing...

The sky is getting dark...

The storm is approaching...

But my bike still ride on...

Blue Thunder Forever...

Its not goonna happen but they have be come slightly leniant now dont u think with approve full system,,,

Beating a Honda is like banging a fat chick. Everyone can do it but who wants to brag about it....

WELCOME TO THE DARKSIDE!!!

Do any of you work in a factory or logistic centre when there are hundreds of forklifts running all over the place & the industrial safety standards & records are good.. All forklifts must be equipped with a audible (Loud enough & irritating) music or beeping sound so that other forklift operators & pedestrians will know that they are there. As expected all the workers & operators complain that the safety device & measures are stupid & irritating. Yes it may be very much irritating but it served it's purpose well by preventing accidents. You may argue that a bike travelling at certain speed could not be heard even with 'loud' pipes. This mean you have never used or 'being pushed' by one before. & yes i do get very irritated & frustrated by deafening 2-stroke bikes as I do live near the road too. How many times have you encountered a person walking into your path even on a quiet street, cursing & swearing after? I never had that experience when i used a 'loud' pipe previously.

All individuals think & prioritize matters differently. For me i rather be irritated constantly than to witness an accident which i think from my perspective can be prevented.

Originally posted by rickzhee@Jan 11 2005, 03:35 PM

Do any of you work in a factory or logistic centre when there are hundreds of forklifts running all over the place & the industrial safety standards & records are good.. All forklifts must be equipped with a audible (Loud enough & irritating) music or beeping sound so that other forklift operators & pedestrians will know that they are there. As expected all the workers & operators complain that the safety device & measures are stupid & irritating. Yes it may be very much irritating but it served it's purpose well by preventing accidents. You may argue that a bike travelling at certain speed could not be heard even with 'loud' pipes. This mean you have never used or 'being pushed' by one before. & yes i do get very irritated & frustrated by deafening 2-stroke bikes as I do live near the road too. How many times have you encountered a person walking into your path even on a quiet street, cursing & swearing after? I never had that experience when i used a 'loud' pipe previously.

All individuals think & prioritize matters differently. For me i rather be irritated constantly than to witness an accident which i think from my perspective can be prevented.

so am i right to say that u like to be disturbed while u r sleeping, doing homework, project, watching TV, having sex, etc?

let's face it..

Originally posted by rickzhee@Jan 11 2005, 03:35 PM

Do any of you work in a factory or logistic centre when there are hundreds of forklifts running all over the place & the industrial safety standards & records are good.. All forklifts must be equipped with a audible (Loud enough & irritating) music or beeping sound so that other forklift operators & pedestrians will know that they are there.

see, you just mentioned those forklifts have beeps to warn ppl. dats why i said bikes shd have louder horns. its a compromise: when u need it, and only then, u'll sound the horn. the rest of the time, the engine mustn be loud. those forklifts, when using audible noises as 'warning', the manufacturers use beeps, NOT increase the forklift engine sound wat. same for bikes and cars. manufacturers all over the world are actively reducing the sound level of their engines. with the exception of harleys and ferraris of coz.

so in wat way is louder engine sound better than loud horns?

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Originally posted by mechwira@Jan 11 2005, 05:06 PM

. with the exception of harleys and ferraris of coz.

The new stock Harleys are quieter than your average Rebel. In fact, the new RoadKings are so quiet, you'd think a Steed sounds more like the real thing.

Forklifts and trucks only beep when they reverse don't they? So those who are not paying attention will realise whats going on.

If your mindset is set in concrete that Loud pipes gets you noticed on the roads, then its never going to work. It should be a personal enjoyment, and shouldn't affect others. If its loud enough to get you noticed, its affecting others, so in the eyes of the law and any decent citizen, its a menace.

Or maybe you'd like to pat the guy on the back who has just woken you up at 3am in the morning with his straight through pipes who has just avoided being knocked down by a car reversing out of your downstairs carpark because the car driver heard his 120dB exhausts in the dead silence of the night. (120dB is about the same volume as an air raid siren).

Originally posted by rickzhee@Dec 22 2004, 10:43 AM

Pertaining to the high motorcycle accident rates recently, we could use this hour to highlight to relevant authorities that IT IS A FACT THAT LOUD EXHAUST PIPES SAVES LIVES.

It may sound ridiculous & not realistic to write in on this request to re-write the laws against loud exhaust pipes but with the right justification with statistics of increased motorcycle accidents after the enforcement of loud pipes & expostulation it could be accomplished.

What we need is someone who is proficient in composing the memorandum to the Straits Times Forum with petitions from registered biker groups if better with backings from professionals in health care.

We could make it happen...

if everybody use loud pipe then horn untill siao also cannot listen. everywhere is pipe sound only. no peace liao.......

Life is a Journey.

Take a Joy ride.

17/04/03-10/12/04 Yamaha Rxz 133cc

10/12/04-25/03/08 Honda Phantom TA200

25/03/08-Till now Piaggio X8 200cc

Don't Quit Cos Every Obstacle Is A Stepping Stone To Success!!!

Loub pipe maybe can save ur life, but will endanger mine...(cos I cant help it but to turn moi head to see ur chio bike)... :cheeky:

even though 'loud pipes save lives', i think it should remain banned unless its the LTA approved 'loud pipes'. its good to wake daydream~ motorist and jaywalkers to lookout for motorcyclist once in awhile. :thumb:

Originally posted by numbergames@Mar 9 2005, 08:46 PM

i don't think it's loud pipe that safe lives but safe riding safe lives...... :thumb:

of course safe riding save lives, but with an additional 'loud pipes' on your bike, you save more lives. tio bo :confused:

Sorry but I don't agree with you.

What I propose is that the authorities allow aftermarket pipes and systems as long as they are made for the bike and meet emission and noise standards. These can all be verified using manufacturer specs.

I am appalled that those deafening "stock" Harley pipes that definitely don't meet noise standards are road legal. They should have modified them to meet noise standards just like how they slapped the detested "milo can" onto RS125 to meet emission standards. (No offence to Harley owners, but some Harley pipes are really so loud that damage to the ears is possible.)

thats true and i agree with you. whether its aftermarket or stock, harley or ducati, big rice burner or small one, as long it is LOUD, all must be BANNED. :thumb: