Honda RVF400/NC35

• Replies 6.7k

Originally posted by zulska`@Jun 17 2004, 02:51 PM

wah now forum is back. can't message since last wk.well the problem had solved. it's the wiring which is loose.so tighten back ok liao. veri worried when bike sudden off. i mean no power the bike off suddenly. anyway i would like to noe how much to change steering cone + bearing. would like to go k&t reali never been b4 :giddy:

Should be $90.... if i rem correctly

bloody bike cant start!! made me push here push there like a c***!

went to K&T, batt flat..charged there. found out to be a wire connectin the rect corroded n disconnected from its supposed link. changed the wire to a thicker n longer one n everythings fine now.

wad a stupid hoondo bike. I hate Hoondo!!!

I LOVE my R1!!!:shades:

felt that this thread realli lost its charm? potential?

Anyway uncle cheh, do wad u hav to do HERE. u r our thread's spokeman.

Mr chaichee? busy wid ur attachment? no sound from u too.

Mr ord, where r u?

Mr 01 R1, keep ur thread gg.

n where is this buzz who went to kulai wid me n while stoppin at the tow, almost drop his bike on mine?

###### to all of U!

Originally posted by benson@Jun 19 2004, 05:47 PM

felt that this thread realli lost its charm? potential?

Anyway uncle cheh, do wad u hav to do HERE. u r our thread's spokeman.

Mr chaichee? busy wid ur attachment? no sound from u too.

Mr ord, where r u?

Mr 01 R1, keep ur thread gg.

n where is this buzz who went to kulai wid me n while stoppin at the tow, almost drop his bike on mine?

###### to all of U!

oi! whoz uncle cheh? no such person in SBF la.

i think the reason why this thread is becoming dead is becoz of the way it is set up. for guys who go 400greybike will understand. thier thread has many sections under a bike model. e.g look under rvf/vfr400 section and they will be 3 sections for that bike; General Discussions, Workshop and Graphics/style. more diversified and easier to find the topics u wan if u do a search.

the search function of sbf is not as efficient in comparison. if lez say you do a search for "Chain and sprockets" the search results will display the list of threads with this word string. and if it is in this RVF 400 thread....good luck to the newbies as he has to scan thru 160+ pages of which i think 1/2 of the junk here are people toking c-o-r-ks.

And the outcome is ,the newbie gives up looking at the 160 pages and starts posting his question which was discussed dozens of times in this forum before. i guess some lao jiaos see liao oso go" walau this question AGAIN??" . its human nature la, its like asking you the same questions over n over again, wont u be tired?

But at the very least, if you notice, we'll still try to answer any questions pertaining to any problems anyone might have regarding thier rvf/vfr400s lor so as to keep this thread functioning and alive.

maybe we should ask the mods to reorganise this thread abit (but erasing the 160 pages of corktoking will oso kill all the 'infos' along with it).

ok.since we are on the subject, i cannot understand why people like to tokcork in this thread so much. it is still fine if you sort of chat around regarding the subject of our bike model or any incidents relating but nobody gives a hoot if you had taken a piss anot that day or whether anot you still like to play balls n stuff. so guys, pls undertsand and go to the correct thread for these unrelated things ,as this thread is gettin so lonng that people cannot find the info they wan here anymore.

well.... at least this is y i dun frequent here anymore, dunno about the rest. hope i am reflecting their sentiments here also.

pardon me for been so frank , direct and long-winded.

You Tailgate, I Jam Brake!

To Eliminate that False sense of achievement , Pick on bikes your own c.c.

http://www.geocities.com/infieldg/images/dirk_b_rc30.jpg

Dun worry man. Maybe we can come something like... makan at Kulai or Perling. :confused:

How is it sound? :hungry:

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif
Originally posted by dlm@Jun 20 2004, 03:54 PM

Dun worry man. Maybe we can come something like... makan at Kulai or Perling. :confused:

How is it sound? :hungry:

when when?

we aim Perlin lor since Kulai's food quality is not getting any better.

Yo ben im here http://www.planetsmilies.com/smilies/avatars/kaos/kaos0343.gif Im always visiting e thread la, jus tat i din post tat all.. not much i can comment on mah.. as for perling or GP, i ok wan la.. got food http://www.planetsmilies.com/smilies/avatars/kaos/kaos0274.gif can alr hehe.. nit to get my passpost extend though...

http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6406.jpg http://www.picturesky.com/albums/userpics/10135/ah6402.jpg

*~it's not WHAT u ride, it's HOW u ride~*

yo DLM..guess what? turns out it that my battery is Ki-Chia liao.

i use a multimeter measure across the battery terminal and rev the bike. By right the volt reading should increase steadily to 13.7V as you rev up to 5000RPM. But instead, the voltage decreases as i rev the throttle!

at first i tot is Rectifier gonez but a onload test (test battery terminnals with ignition on) shows the battery dropped to 8V! 2 of my colleagues confirmed the battery ki chia. To double confirm, i jumper my colleague's 929 battery to mine and my bike cranked and started without any fuss.

i bought a new Yuasa Battery to replace the spoilt GPR (suck dun buy this brand!) and everything is back to normal liao. To rule out the Rectifier, we measured the new battey terminals while reving to 5000rpm and the multimeter shows a steady increase to 13.6V...meaning Rectifer is charging.

now one thing bothers me. i remember u said that the side marker orange lights must glow together with the engine been rev. but after i replace my battery, the marker lights is very bright but when i rev the engine, the lights dont respond by glowing together.

but read in Haynes manual that glowing lights as engine revs increase is NOT good leh. how?

later gg to measure internal of recitfier n tally the resistance value with the table in Haynes..... hope its just my battery spoil n nothing else.

hi people, i have some questions for u pple(nc35 gurus) i'm intending to replace my clutch kit and do up my front and rear shocks, changing to a step-up rearset as well as adding on a steering damper.. o_O any idea how much they're going to cost me and which shop is recommended to do the engine works.? o_O

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/91/34/5624319/8953410528433l.jpg

Feel the Fear And Do It Anyway is very strong in almost every case. Courage is not the absence of fear.

Originally posted by Shay@Jun 20 2004, 02:06 AM

oi! whoz uncle cheh? no such person in SBF la.

i think the reason why this thread is becoming dead is becoz of the way it is set up. for guys who go 400greybike will understand. thier thread has many sections under a bike model. e.g look under rvf/vfr400 section and they will be 3 sections for that bike; General Discussions, Workshop and Graphics/style. more diversified and easier to find the topics u wan if u do a search.

the search function of sbf is not as efficient in comparison. if lez say you do a search for "Chain and sprockets" the search results will display the list of threads with this word string. and if it is in this RVF 400 thread....good luck to the newbies as he has to scan thru 160+ pages of which i think 1/2 of the junk here are people toking c-o-r-ks.

And the outcome is ,the newbie gives up looking at the 160 pages and starts posting his question which was discussed dozens of times in this forum before. i guess some lao jiaos see liao oso go" walau this question AGAIN??" . its human nature la, its like asking you the same questions over n over again, wont u be tired?

But at the very least, if you notice, we'll still try to answer any questions pertaining to any problems anyone might have regarding thier rvf/vfr400s lor so as to keep this thread functioning and alive.

maybe we should ask the mods to reorganise this thread abit (but erasing the 160 pages of corktoking will oso kill all the 'infos' along with it).

ok.since we are on the subject, i cannot understand why people like to tokcork in this thread so much. it is still fine if you sort of chat around regarding the subject of our bike model or any incidents relating but nobody gives a hoot if you had taken a piss anot that day or whether anot you still like to play balls n stuff. so guys, pls undertsand and go to the correct thread for these unrelated things ,as this thread is gettin so lonng that people cannot find the info they wan here anymore.

well.... at least this is y i dun frequent here anymore, dunno about the rest. hope i am reflecting their sentiments here also.

pardon me for been so frank , direct and long-winded.

ha. this sounds like another tok kok thread has well from you then. 1 more new entry for the newbie trying to find sprockets and chain from you. hehe

Originally posted by Shay@Jun 21 2004, 07:13 PM

yo DLM..guess what? turns out it that my battery is Ki-Chia liao.

i use a multimeter measure across the battery terminal and rev the bike. By right the volt reading should increase steadily to 13.7V as you rev up to 5000RPM. But instead, the voltage decreases as i rev the throttle!

at first i tot is Rectifier gonez but a onload test (test battery terminnals with ignition on) shows the battery dropped to 8V! 2 of my colleagues confirmed the battery ki chia. To double confirm, i jumper my colleague's 929 battery to mine and my bike cranked and started without any fuss.

i bought a new Yuasa Battery to replace the spoilt GPR (suck dun buy this brand!) and everything is back to normal liao. To rule out the Rectifier, we measured the new battey terminals while reving to 5000rpm and the multimeter shows a steady increase to 13.6V...meaning Rectifer is charging.

now one thing bothers me. i remember u said that the side marker orange lights must glow together with the engine been rev. but after i replace my battery, the marker lights is very bright but when i rev the engine, the lights dont respond by glowing together.

but read in Haynes manual that glowing lights as engine revs increase is NOT good leh. how?

later gg to measure internal of recitfier n tally the resistance value with the table in Haynes..... hope its just my battery spoil n nothing else.

Always go for Yuasa Battery. :thumb: Wat I did was change the battery together with rectifer. Cos both of them work hand in hand. With headlight switch, batt & rect can last about 1 1/2 yrs. w/o headlight switch, can last about a yr.

As for glowing light:- when trottle, headlight will tend to glow brighter. It show that ur rect is charging. If the light stop glowing..... hinting u to prepare money to change.

Dun worry too much, everything will be fine. :thumb:

Happy riding

http://www.r1-forum.com/forums/avatar.php?userid=21127&dateline=1077474760.gifhttp://www.vespa.com/img/logoVespaBig.gif
Originally posted by dlm@Jun 21 2004, 10:44 PM

Always go for Yuasa Battery. :thumb: Wat I did was change the battery together with rectifer. Cos both of them work hand in hand. With headlight switch, batt & rect can last about 1 1/2 yrs. w/o headlight switch, can last about a yr.

As for glowing light:- when trottle, headlight will tend to glow brighter. It show that ur rect is charging. If the light stop glowing..... hinting u to prepare money to change.

Dun worry too much, everything will be fine. :thumb:

Happy riding

yea i know it is best to change both rect n batt together. But the thing is my batt n rect is only 6 months old.

what puzzles me is what can cause the batt to fail/discharge/not accepting charge/watever? i checked my alternator coils, my rectifier..all is fine. rect is not overchargin alternator coil measured with continuity.

i guess its attributed to the lousyt battery brand 'GPR'. Now changed to Yuasa liao.

hopin for the best.

thx man.

hey guys , do anyone know how many demerit point for inconsiderate driving coz i yesterday kana it...:weep: :weep: :weep:

i heard some of them say 9 demerit point for tat... is tat true..:weep:

StRaIgHt RoAd Is FoR KiDs ....... BuT CoRnErS Is FoR RaCeRs

Originally posted by Ken@Jun 24 2004, 04:44 PM

if change new battery liao, and when u rev the lights wont grow brighter is okie, this means that the battery is very 'full'.

Oic!!

thats why i wondering why after changing battery liao, rev rev like a paranoid freak that i am....lights still dun correspond accordingly.

so i guess the Haynes manual's advise is actually based on if your battery is fully charged, the lights SHOULD NOT vary in intensity as the engine is reved. if it did, its actually a indication of a faulty regulator (rectifier).

and guys, i researched online on why batteries can suddenly ki chia by itself 4 no 'apparent' reason. pretty long article.

The gist of it all is this;

1) Dun ride your bike for only a 3-5mins ride to get to someplace few blocks away only. Walk. Dont be lazy like me. the night before my battery failure, i started her up for a 3 mins ride to a nearby MAcDonalds. And i do this quite frequently. my battery only lasted 6 months.

2) BAtteries used up alot of energy to start up the engine. This expended electrical energy must be replenished thro charging. Charging ONLY happens when your engine is at cruising rpm (5000rpm). So Lez say you ride your bike frequently for very short distances, the battery is not gg to have enuff time to charge up properly (at least a good 10mins). e.g bikes travelling longer distances (30mins ride each way) each day would, on average have a longer battery lifespan.

3) Dangers. becoz of the V=IR law, the rectifier (which isint very smart) tends to eagerly overcharge a depleted battery with higher than normal amounts of current.

current leads to heat and heat will further deteriote the depleted batt ,bringin it closer to death. Flow of higher currents in the charging system will cause a chain reaction of damages. The rectifier will burn itself out, if you are lucky the battery (which acts as a filter) will take the brunt of most of the power surges and just die away peacefully. if you suay, yr magnetic coil will go or smoke will start comin out from really interesting places.

4) take care of yr battery. regularly inspect batt terminals for signs of burns, leakages or corrosions. Clean out the terminals with a solution of bakin soda n water or be like me..just use WD40.

Originally posted by benson@Jun 25 2004, 02:05 AM

shay, ur sig the fairings n tail damn chio. but den the paintwork beri old school

ehh?? u can see my sig meh? how come i dun see it anymore?

yea the paintwork is old school but i like it coz im uncle mah. :cheeky:

btw when is the next outing to revzone to celebrate u selling yr bike?

Originally posted by Shay@Jun 25 2004, 04:25 PM

btw when is the next outing to revzone to celebrate u selling yr bike?

when i pass my class 3. den I'll sell it to u!!! u dun buy........er..herm...

Originally posted by benson@Jun 25 2004, 05:15 PM

when i pass my class 3. den I'll sell it to u!!! u dun buy........er..herm...

yoz,rvf bengster....selling your bike liao ah? getting car liao si boh?

Originally posted by revolution@Jun 25 2004, 11:28 PM

yoz,rvf bengster....selling your bike liao ah? getting car liao si boh?

no la. downgrade to bicycle le. lidat save wear n tear, maintainence n petrol :cheer:

Notice: Saw a magazine call RIDE in borders with Reports on RVF400, ZXR400 & CB1.

Grabbit before its gone!~

Left a few copies when i saw it yesterday.