Code of Practice for Bikeshops in S'pore

Guest SPchoo

hi guys. i got my bike on hire-purchase (instalments) from a bikeshop and put a deposit of 1k for. Therefore, i had to loan the outstanding amount of 2.6k which was liable to a interest. the loan was for 2 years.

however, after 1 year i am ready to clear up all my instalments.

my question to everyone is whether the common practice in singapore allows me to enjoy a rebate on the interest for the second year since i am clearing up the instalments in just 1year. help pls ! :confused: :help:

• Replies 35

Guest SPchoo

hi guys. i got my bike on hire-purchase (instalments) from a bikeshop and put a deposit of 1k for. Therefore, i had to loan the outstanding amount of 2.6k which was liable to a interest. the loan was for 2 years.

however, after 1 year i am ready to clear up all my instalments.

my question to everyone is whether the common practice in singapore allows me to enjoy a rebate on the interest for the second year since i am clearing up the instalments in just 1year. help pls ! :help: :confused:

Yes you can do that. But rebate is dependent on the shop. Most bike shops give me rebate if I clear up the instalments early.

http://i263.photobucket.com/albums/ii159/gnayed/n641300248_3172135_77.jpg
my question to everyone is whether the common practice in singapore allows me to enjoy a rebate on the interest for the second year since i am clearing up the instalments in just 1year.

It depends very much on the particular shop...

Some will allow you to enjoy the remaining 1 year rebate on the interest while some will still want you to pay up the remaining 1 year interest or worst, like what enHANZed mentioned, pay a penalty for early repayment.

Read your hire purchase agreement. Everything that you can/cannot/have to do are all listed inside.

tat time i also clear up my installment early at ASPhoon left 15month they said 12month no rebate so 15 - 12 = 3. only gave me 3 month rebate which is only $12 - $17 dollar... other shop mostly will not give you much rebate..

Rot In Hell!!

not all shop practice the same thing lor

greatly depends la.. true for nt all shop practice the same stuffs.

http://img687.imageshack.us/img687/8408/sigpic393221.jpg

yah just like some practise safe sex and some dun practise safe sex, diff people got different way of doing things mah

Looking at the ride tells everything about the rider

u dun do that lor.. so no dao de.

tiu..... yun and revenge... i reading ur conservation again lah.. off topic again here :giddy:

To ts: it really depends on the bikeshops, even so, rebate is only just a few percent.. so might as make full use of the interest that is being charged, for the long repayment time frame.