where is e bst position to install e alarm at?  

198 members have voted

1. 1. where is e bst position to install e alarm at?

• At the space at e the tail
    • At the space below the seat
    • At the place to put the tools kits
    • mount at the side, take out tail-faring

Any bros here know any spot in our bike can fix the main unit, receiver, etc?

for SPEC 3

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

------------------------------------------------------------------

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

• Replies 1k

Originally posted by Junyi@Nov 22 2006, 06:52 PM

Any bros here know any spot in our bike can fix the main unit, receiver, etc?

for SPEC 3

normally wat ppl do is to put it under the tank as there is a space enough to fit in the main unit

wHats +h3 p0|n+ 0f |iviNg |f y0u c4n+ fe3| a|iv3

But if under tank will it over heated the unit nt??

http://w1.bikepics.com/pics/2006/04/17/bikepics-566090-150.jpg

ThEse aRe mOi haMmiEs tHey aRe cUte duN theY..

-----------------------------------------------------------------

2005 -> NSR150SP - FU3335H

2005 -> GSXR400P - FORGOT LO

2006 -> CBR400RRR - FP5868A

2006 -> VXR RUNNER - FBA9929H

2006 -> SUPER 4 SPEC III - FW56Y

DicKy diCky dOnkEy, moTheR hAd a bAybIe.. BayBie Die MoTheR CrY.. DicKy dIcKy dOnkEy

What alarm do you guys use for your S4?

Any comment/review on it?(Draining battery etc.)

Crazy

http://www.speedtest.net/result/1022863475.png

i just call up a motor shop and ask about this 986D alarm. i ask can fix on my vtec1 and have remote start anot. They told me can but if the cdi spoilt dan i cannot blame them... is it true that it will make our cdi spoilt?? any bros here have fix this alarm before and have any problem with the cdi??? pls advise thanks... :smile:

Rot In Hell!!

hmm one of our ESR bros have e remote start thingy. i duno about the cdi thingy but he been using it like since the DINOS. yupz.

and not forgetting itchy fingers like mine that keep remote starting his bike with his cute alarm. HAHA!

|^^^^^^^^^^^^^^| ||

|...BEER TRUCK..........| ||'|";, ___.

|_..._..._______===|=||_|__|..., ] -

"(@)'(@)"""''"**|(@)(@)*****''(@

Originally posted by just_came@Dec 11 2006, 12:04 PM

i just call up a motor shop and ask about this 986D alarm. i ask can fix on my vtec1 and have remote start anot. They told me can but if the cdi spoilt dan i cannot blame them... is it true that it will make our cdi spoilt?? any bros here have fix this alarm before and have any problem with the cdi??? pls advise thanks... :smile:

bro, go to those shops who they are confident in installing your alarm with auto ignition. coz for s4, not all can install auto start unless some electronic circuit are added...

my 2 cents... :bow:

Originally posted by s4vtec@Dec 11 2006, 02:18 PM

bro, go to those shops who they are confident in installing your alarm with auto ignition. coz for s4, not all can install auto start unless some electronic circuit are added...

my 2 cents... :bow:

so the auto start will be using the ignition not the cdi??

Rot In Hell!!

Originally posted by cArRotZ@Dec 11 2006, 01:21 PM

hmm one of our ESR bros have e remote start thingy. i duno about the cdi thingy but he been using it like since the DINOS. yupz.

and not forgetting itchy fingers like mine that keep remote starting his bike with his cute alarm. HAHA!

so bro can check for me tat you ESR using the ignition or the cdi to start the engine?? thanks :smile: and if mine frenz like you keep distube mine bike i sure cut of his finger... Lol :cheeky:

Rot In Hell!!

Originally posted by just_came@Dec 11 2006, 03:53 PM

so the auto start will be using the ignition not the cdi??

when u click on the auto ignition button on your remote, it actually sends a signal to the alarm unit telling it to start your bike. so at your alarm unit, it will send a signal, which is a 12 volts supply from the alarm unit to your bike ignition system. when the 12 volts goes to the ignition system, its jus like you pressing the switch start button on your bike, hence making it cranking your bike to start.

my 2 cents...

:btw: i myself also using auto ignition alarm which u should know right? :p :goodluck:

Originally posted by just_came@Dec 11 2006, 03:54 PM

so bro can check for me tat you ESR using the ignition or the cdi to start the engine?? thanks :smile: and if mine frenz like you keep distube mine bike i sure cut of his finger... Lol :cheeky:

the alarm unit is the one that sends a signal to start your bike.

at your bike, its the carbon starter that starts your bike.

how the battery flows from battery...

from battery -> ignition -> CDI and all bike parts...

before you turn the ignition key to on, the battery supply is already at the ignition.

the ignition key is like a on/off switch stopping and allowing current flow.

so, when u turn the ignition key to on, the battery supply will flow to the CDI and other parts of the bike which is ready for you to crank stark your bike.

for Hyper VTEC older models, eg; FR plates... the voltage supplied to the whole bike is 12 volts. but for later batches of Hyper VTECs, Spec 2s, 3s and Bolders, the meters assembly is running on 8 volts, its a so called "better" electronic circuit design to reduce current consumption.

so when you press the auto ignition button on the remote, the alarm unit will pass a 12 volts signals to the bike ignition to "on" and crank the bike.

my 2 cents... :confused:

sorry, double post.

post edited... :p

PB! ver R & ver S np installing...as for the Vtec advice not to install...

I dunnoe why is it but most mechanic says it will spoil the CDI cause wat ever watever sh*t i dun remember...

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs160.snc1/5969_132325762781_632277781_3118071_4563982_n.jpg
Originally posted by mike^dirt@Dec 11 2006, 05:13 PM

PB! ver R & ver S np installing...as for the Vtec advice not to install...

I dunnoe why is it but most mechanic says it will spoil the CDI cause wat ever watever sh*t i dun remember...

bro, you are correct...

its due to the voltages supply difference that causes some ppl's bike's cdi to die...

and another problem is the H.I.S.S. thingy. u will have to disable the H.I.S.S. in order to install remote start... :smile:

my 2 cents...

Originally posted by cArRotZ@Dec 11 2006, 02:21 PM

:gun: Carrot :box:

:dozed: :dozed:

so overall is it good to fix an alarm with a remote starter..?

i was told by clifford that, for pb1, ver r, ver s n vtec 1, fixing the remote starter wun give any problem as there is not many electronic stuffs.

but for spec 2, spec 3, recommended not as they have the HISS.

i did fix an alarm with a remote starter, but never use. so will there be any chance that my cdi will be affected..? but constant usage of remote starter will damage the cdi. is it true..?

for honda, cdi is connected to 2 other stuffs, magnetic coil n rectifier (i think). so if one is spoilt, would it affect the other 2..?

what is the showing signs of a damaged cdi, rectifier, magnetic coil..?

Not advisable to use remote start....

Its true... I've heard cases whereby cdi/ecu spoilt.....

Use it at ur own risk....

http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0120-1.jpg http://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/P1040229.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/PIC_0128.jpghttp://i6.photobucket.com/albums/y214/kea182/Signature01.jpg

Thanks for all the reply!!! :cheer: so overall agree not to install the remote start rite... so i think just go and install a normal alarm can liao... :smile: yesterday i just meet up with a R46 and he also advise me not to install the remote start cause if someone play with you clutch when you dunno and you use the remote start you bike will just shoot infront and bike drop on the floor... i can't let this thing happen to mine bike.. :nono: so i give up on the remote start function... :thumb:

Rot In Hell!!

Originally posted by c",)@Dec 11 2006, 07:17 PM

so overall is it good to fix an alarm with a remote starter..?

i was told by clifford that, for pb1, ver r, ver s n vtec 1, fixing the remote starter wun give any problem as there is not many electronic stuffs.

but for spec 2, spec 3, recommended not as they have the HISS.

i did fix an alarm with a remote starter, but never use. so will there be any chance that my cdi will be affected..? but constant usage of remote starter will damage the cdi. is it true..?

for honda, cdi is connected to 2 other stuffs, magnetic coil n rectifier (i think). so if one is spoilt, would it affect the other 2..?

what is the showing signs of a damaged cdi, rectifier, magnetic coil..?

below are my 2 cents...

when you trigger the remote start on your remote control, it will trigger the alarm unit to send a signal (12 volts supply) to the ignition, bypassing the bike's key ignition switch to the CDI and to the whole bike's electrical system.

PB1, Ver R, Ver S and Hyper VTEC (earlier batch) are running fully 12 volts in the electrical system of the whole bike.

for Hyper VTEC (later batch), Spec2, Spec3 and Bolder, the meters assy are running 8 volts and the rest 12 volts.

this makes a reason why Hyper VTEC (later batch), Spec2, Spec3 and Bolder are unable to install the auto ignition feature with their alarm unit.

another reason is that Spec2, Spec3 and Bolder, they have the HISS, which makes the bike unable to start without the key at the ignition area.

as for how to tell the difference between a earlier and later batch Hyper VTECs, it can be observed at the key ignition.

for earlier batch, the key ignition switch is smaller in diameter... (refer to pic)

http://photos.friendster.com/photos/66/56/31526566/446893119l.jpg

for the later batch of Hyper VTEC, the key ignition switch is bigger in diameter... (no pic at the moment. go around and compare your own's bike with others and you'll know what i mean)

my 2 cents... :smile:

Originally posted by just_came@Dec 12 2006, 01:10 PM

if someone play with you clutch when you dunno and you use the remote start you bike will just shoot infront and bike drop on the floor...

when you are engaged in gear, can you start your bike?

no

when your stand is down and you engage gear, your bike's idling kills off right?

yes

why?

coz there is a current cut off switch is at the side stand when your bike is parked. so even if u you install alarm unit with auto ignition, and when u try to remote start, it will not crank at all...

i'm not trying to promote ppl to use remote start but tis is jus my 2 cents... :smile:

Originally posted by s4vtec@Dec 12 2006, 04:26 PM

for Hyper VTEC (later batch), Spec2, Spec3 and Bolder, the meters assy are running 8 volts and the rest 12 volts.

for this bike electrical design, there is still a way to install remote ignition...

that is to install a simple electronic circuit using a resistor and a diode to get a 8 volts out of the 12 volts supply.

if i am not wrong, i recall a bike shop at Ubi who knows how to do it...

cos i ever discuss with the mech regarding installing remote ignition with an additional voltage divider circuitry for S4 operating on 8 volts at the meters assy... (those who study electronics will know what i mean)

i'll go down to ask the mech again. once i confirm tat he can install alarm unit with remote ignition for this bike electrical design (8 volts thingy) with confirm no side effects, i'll come back and update in this thread...

Im using a Remote start to warm up my bike 1st when going to work early in the morning when i was still on my 9th story.... this save time to warm-up my bike...

One trick about this remote start..is that when u Start your Bike using a remote start u MUST insert your bike key and switch it ON meaning to fully on the Ignition key...You guys must Alert my Info

I had a bad experience and learnt it from my own dad, When you start your bike using remote,yes its cool the electric supply goes well but remember..If u dun turn your key to Ignition ON meaning your FAN & batt is not charging but your bike can start and move off like normal...

I once had a coolent overflow...and my dad check it out and find that my fan is not working,,Tested on my remote start...but when he insert the key and ignition to ON the fan is working and my batt charging now at a stable 13volt..

http://photos-h.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc1/hs160.snc1/5969_132325762781_632277781_3118071_4563982_n.jpg

my 2 cents...

when u start your bike with key, the charging goes direct to the battery.

but when u remote start your bike, the charging goes through the alarm unit then to your battery. which is lesser charging effect.

for me, i only use my remote start for warming up. once i reach my bike, i'll kill engine with remote and start bike with key...

my 2 cents... :smile:

Originally posted by s4vtec@Dec 12 2006, 04:31 PM

when you are engaged in gear, can you start your bike?

no

when your stand is down and you engage gear, your bike's idling kills off right?

yes

why?

coz there is a current cut off switch is at the side stand when your bike is parked. so even if u you install alarm unit with auto ignition, and when u try to remote start, it will not crank at all...

i'm not trying to promote ppl to use remote start but tis is jus my 2 cents... :smile:

ya hor never think tat much.... :cheeky:

Rot In Hell!!