Battery acid is battery acid.

Battery water is battery water.

They are not the same.

Battery acid is sulphuric acid, I dun think u wanna put that in yur cooling system.

Battery water is distilled water aka demineralised water.

• Replies 459

does a successful and effective coolant system means that the engine dispeal the heat better as in internaly ..and the u can feel those heat being dispeal out thru the side of ur leg from the side of the engine , as in u can feel more hot air ard ur leg area ? pls enlighten, thanks

::

sorry got a newbie question here. u guys mention about radiator and coolant. i'm confused.

flushing coolant means the cooland reservoir normally found under the seat of the radiator at the front of the engine?

or is it connected?

thanks in advance!

Resolution for 2009, stay healthy, get wealthy, make more friends, ride safely & pass all exams!

[One question: why my nsr150 when i coming back from JB got stuck at singapore custom due to traffic jam Temp shot up to H mark and coolant came out from one for the tube below the faring? what's happening???]

http://img134.imageshack.us/img134/6129/cid1132800004c8800132e3b482571.gif

NSR 150 SP

CBR 400 RR

R1-06

May I know which coolant is best for Gilera Runner 180FXR? How often do I have to flush the coolant? really confused. pls hepl... thanks. :)

-==================-

G.I.L.E.R.A~R.U.N.N.E.R

-==================-

Originally posted by Ahbrown@Feb 13 2006, 08:55 AM

Anyone know where to get Maxima Cool-Aide and how much it cost?

Costs $17. Available at Mah Motorparts, K&T (Ubi), Racewerks (Bt Merah)

hi all can i conclude dat we mix distill water n white vinegar 50:50 then flush our coolant then laster use waterwetter + distill water 50:50 top up 2 full????:confused:

http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_bike_nitemode.jpghttp://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_yoshi1.jpg

http://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_whole_bike.jpghttp://s76.photobucket.com/albums/j5/william_aks/th_mi_meter.jpg

YaMaHa TzR 125cc............ 2002-2004

hOnDa WAvE 125cc........... 2004-2005

HoNdA HyPeR V-TeC1 CB 400..... 2005-?????

Hi all

wanna ask do you guys (when DIY) or your mech use a radiator flush solution before he does flush?

I saw it at the shops. recommanded to add such radiator flush to the radiator system, let it idle for bout 30mins.

Then procced to do the usual for flushing of coolent.

Money should never change one's values.Making money is only a report card. It's a way to tell others how you are doing

Originally posted by Al-demon@Feb 19 2006, 06:09 PM

Hi all

wanna ask do you guys (when DIY) or your mech use a radiator flush solution before he does flush?

I saw it at the shops. recommanded to add such radiator flush to the radiator system, let it idle for bout 30mins.

Then procced to do the usual for flushing of coolent.

I have bad experience once, the waterpump seal leaked not too long after I use a radiator flush product. I found sediments in the coolant drained out, could have damaged the seal from abrasion. Yearly maintenance of the cooling system is better than neglect then do a major flush. These chemicals for flushing are all somewhat acidic/corrosive to a certain extent, a case of prevention is better than cure.

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

thanks teePeePhobe

would like to ask another qns

Is there any 'tips' to do a 'proper flush job'. I flush my coolent at a DIY last mth and also helped a riend to flush last week. We both found our reservoirs to be empty by the end of the week.

When we flush our coolent, we already throttle and add into the reservoir till can't add already. but in the end, still see the reservoir to be empty.

Also, anyone got any idea how much exactly is our total coolent system? I think I have used about 2.5L of mixture already. (1st time add into radiator + topping up the reservoir twice). I'm riding a S4

Money should never change one's values.Making money is only a report card. It's a way to tell others how you are doing

There is nothing to worry about, the radiator system is self purging (as long as your pressure cap is not kaput). What I do to accelerate the purge is the same as you, throttle and top up with the cap open. After which, I replace the radiator cap and let the bike idle till the fan kicks in for maximum temperature to develop in the coolant. At this point any air bubbles will reach their maximum expansion volume, get swept along the flow and purge out at the highest fluid level(typically where the cap is).

Then top up the reserve tank till max, let it cool completely. Usually do this once and the reserve tank level will be pretty finalised, settling slightly lower, but full enough to forget about subsequently. I double check if the pressure cap is working properly by inspecting the fluid level under the cap. It should be near the brim after it fully cools. If not, likely pressure cap is kaput.

I've worked with the Vtecs, they have the pressure cap under the tank and it is difficult to idle long while the tank is off to access the pressure cap. Unless you have a fuel bottle hooked up to your fuel rail, letting it purge and suck back gradually during normal riding is really fine, just remember to overfill the reserve tank when the coolant is hot 1st time after flushing. Hope this helps :thumb:

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/11161/yamaha.jpg<span style=\'font-family:impact\'>I go 60 nia

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forum/uploads/photo-1478.jpg

For Sale: Arai Gunmetal gray side cover for RR4, right side (Still in packaging)

wow. many thanks

in actual fact, you are right, the radiator cap was kaput when the mech checked it at shop.

Causing the pressure to build up and expel the coolent in the reservoir this morn.

I have a major problem which even bike shop cannot figure.

I experience coolant leaking and it is from the pipes below my right footrest. I am riding a fireblade. Anyway yah it is leaking whenever I finish a trip, and it is freaking hot! Nearly got scalded. Bike shop just changed the radiator cap for me, only last night. But I am not sure whether will it leak again. But it is leaking ALOT, literally flowing out continuously.. Will stop only when i off the engine. I suspect it only leak whenever I go up to 100km/hr. And cos of the leaking, my bike now heats up real fast. Almost heating 3/4 meter every time, significantly higher compared to last time.

Hope can receive some advice.

Thanks and cheers.

what is radiator and what got to do with coolant ah?

the reservoir use to feel our coolant is it call radiator , then what else is that?

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n62/anric79/5073085f-2c95-4b2c-937d-c905dcca4fdb.jpg
Originally posted by Jayz_sg@Sep 5 2005, 01:02 AM

i got maxima cool-aide still left alot... any1 1? if u noe where is yr radiator cap and coolant drain plug i can also flush 4 u..... :smile:

Hai, bor just want to check... anyone know where is the where radiator coolant drain plug and how it look like for Super4 VS??? i just can find it.. Thanks...

Originally posted by MrLau@Feb 25 2005, 09:06 AM

similar to flush toilet ... :cheeky:

Depend on what bike lah, a simple one as below :

1. Find the coolant drain nut location and the radiator cap.

2. Open the radiator cap, open the drain nut (without open the cap, the coolant flow out slow).

3. Use running tap to the radiator and let it flow for a while.

4. Cleaning the reservoir tank.

5. Tighten back the drain nut.

6. Pour in coolant to the raditor. (What type of coolant is up to you, can use ready-use, or you get the coolant to mix, 15%-20% coolant ratio to the pure/distilled water, or you can use waterwetter).

7. Start the bike, throttle abit, off engine, pour in coolant again if the level drop. Repeat again until the coolant level maintain full.

8. Close the radiator cap.

9. Pour in coolant to the reserviour tank.

Hey bro, anyone know where is the coolant drain nut for super4 VS?? best if can have a pic to see... hehe... thanks...

i think is quite similar for all honda bikes..

u try to located the coolant pump..

there is 3 nuts secure to it..

the one extreme rite down is the drain nut..

I just changed my coolant to Engine Ice. All I can say is that I would have been better off changing it to the normal one. The temperature of my bike is as hot as ever. Wasted $48 of my money for a container of that coolant for nothing... :sian: