Guest czh2002sg

One thing good about the blindspot mirrors is its use in a bend. While the side mirrors sometimes become totally useless, or partially useless because the horizon is tilted and you see more road on the lowside, and more of the sky on the highside (or something likfe that?), the blind spot mirrors, being circular and convex, offers flexibiblity while entering those flyovers exiting or entering expressways. The horizon still appears level on them, only the circle has rotated clockwise or anti-clockwise a little. While this may offer you a little more situational awareness, getting fixated on them on a bend is not a good idea. Quick glances to check if you can mark out that fast bike entering the bend behind you, or whether some champion is attempting an overtaking move in the corner may be helpful, but it is important to note that since you are cornering, the blindspots are shifting fast, the rear becomes a blindspot fast, and the lowside (the side you are leaning into) blindspot becomes a rear just as fast.

• Replies 1.6k

Guest czh2002sg

In smooth flowing traffic on the expressway, you somtimes see an aggressive car coming on the left (assuming you're in the centre lane), accelerating to a speed faster than you are, and you think he is going to cut into your lane soon. Traffic is moderately heavy but moving around 70-90, there is no clear lane on your right to move out. Will you

A. Move into the space in between lane 1 and 2 and filter to the gap in front?

B. Maintain constant speed but prepare to take evasive action. (check right blindspot, ready to brake or swerve within lane)

C. Slow down in anticipation of the aggresive vehicle cutting in and start giving way

Me usually choose A or B. "B" when cannot see gap in front, or dun feel safe to filter either because of speed, bend in road, visibility or simply dun feel like it.

A few times option A the result is that once i come out of the space (lane 2) the vehicle immediately come in, but i get to gap in front safely. Next thing i know the vehicle is now on lane 1 and i go lane 3 so that he can he can come lane 2 immediately again to use the safety distance i keep to overtake the vehicle on lane 1 in front of him.

Am i encouraging his aggressive behavior by getting out of the way? Although my concern is my own safety, and getting out of a potential sticky situation, is my behavior (overtaking n filtering) unnessary? A bit uncertain about what applying HOV and getting out a sticky situation is in this senario. Am i getting into more sticky situation (in between vehicles with lower safety clearance) or getting out of one (aggressive car). Riders, advice please?

I wouldn't say you're encouraging his aggressive behavior, because like you said, you're concern about your own safety.

I myself would try to get out of the situation too, but for my riding style and current bike, my choice would be option C, slowing down a little and moving to the right of my lane (at the same time be prepared to take evasive action). If the driver shows any indication that he wants my lane position, he can by all means have it.

Unlike you, option A is out for me because I never like to fill gaps, unless absolutely neccessary.

I cannot comment on the application of HOV as I have never attended any HOV sessions before.

I would choose C as I'm a very cowardly rider. >_>

2006 - 2008 // Honda NSR150SP

2008 - 2009 // Honda CBR400RRN

2009 - 2009 // Honda RVF400

2009 - 2011 // Yamaha X1R

2011 - 20xx // Suzuki DRZ-400SM

Guest czh2002sg

the thing about C ah... Is you make the driver behind you get a little... impatient. Especially if like me ah... P plate, he will tailgate. Either he dun slow down as much as you are and the safety distance behind get shorter, or he deliberately follow close close want to smell my 2T. Then one by one on lane 3 will start to makan me knowing I will slowly down or give way, especially in heavy traffic on expressway, but moving at above 60. C... sometimes have to go lane 3 and relax relax better. I should try to relac more :) I think Endless say before B, ride in a predictable manner as the best defence... Hmm.... C mood la hor? No one best way to deal with it prehaps? Aggressive driver from the left or right...

Originally posted by czh2002sg@February 24, 2007 04:24 pm

In smooth flowing traffic on the expressway, you somtimes see an aggressive car coming on the left (assuming you're in the centre lane), accelerating to a speed faster than you are, and you think he is going to cut into your lane soon. Traffic is moderately heavy but moving around 70-90, there is no clear lane on your right to move out. Will you

A. Move into the space in between lane 1 and 2 and filter to the gap in front?

B. Maintain constant speed but prepare to take evasive action. (check right blindspot, ready to brake or swerve within lane)

C. Slow down in anticipation of the aggresive vehicle cutting in and start giving way

Me usually choose A or B. "B" when cannot see gap in front, or dun feel safe to filter either because of speed, bend in road, visibility or simply dun feel like it.

A few times option A the result is that once i come out of the space (lane 2) the vehicle immediately come in, but i get to gap in front safely. Next thing i know the vehicle is now on lane 1 and i go lane 3 so that he can he can come lane 2 immediately again to use the safety distance i keep to overtake the vehicle on lane 1 in front of him.

Am i encouraging his aggressive behavior by getting out of the way? Although my concern is my own safety, and getting out of a potential sticky situation, is my behavior (overtaking n filtering) unnessary? A bit uncertain about what applying HOV and getting out a sticky situation is in this senario. Am i getting into more sticky situation (in between vehicles with lower safety clearance) or getting out of one (aggressive car). Riders, advice please?

If he is at least half a car length in front and faster, he can go ahead. That is good technique of lane changing.

If he is level or behind, and not pulling ahead fast enough, I will maintain speed, block by moving to the left side or middle of my lane and prepare to slow down if he gets more than half a car length ahead of me alongside.

I won't ride between the lanes. I'd rather take my chances of dealing with one aggressive car on my left than with two moving vehicles on my left and right in closer quarters. This has worked well enough for me on the roads.

He who hesitates is lost!

Guest czh2002sg

ok... maybe the answer to my question is linked to whether one is comfortable with squeezing in between lanes liao. I get it le... Hmm.. Lets not get into that war. Scroll up i posted 2 links to 5 separate pages of squeezing arguments. Hmm.. from the responses i gather its dependent on individual riders again. Spectrum and Endlessloop got any comment? :confused:

Sorry for the delay in reply.. czh

That's a interesting situation that we face from time to time...

Agressive vehicles overtaking from our left &

Weaving between lanes.

Best to stay in your own lane, stay predictable

(agree with endless)

& prepare to react eg. slow down...

and as u said... have a quick glance at the traffic around u

if u need a quick escape route.

These Drivers are in A hurry to get somewhere....

(for whatever reasons)

And are driving dangerously zig-zag thru the traffic.

Best let him pass...

Best to let them thru...

Not gd to have them around us.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Talking about aggressive drivers, 1 incident came back to my mind.. It was during my probation period.. I was waiting for the traffic light to turn green.. Then came a lorry from behind.. A distance from me but closing in on me..

Guess wat happen? He horned me.. Due to the importance of safety, I shift to my left and let him pass.. the lorry continue to travel at a fast speed and disappearing soon..

From this incident, we can have 2 different views..

View no. 1

seeing me as a smaller and slower motorcylist, he asked me to give way to him.. he can onli pass thru me as there's a car on my right..

View no.2

This would be the more appropriate.. Maybe the driver is realli in a hurry.. Maybe he nd to deliver some things urgently.. Tat's y he wanted to overtake me in my lane..

But whether he sees me as a smaller road user, or he's realli in a hurry, i'm glad tat he horned me.. At least he gave me a warning to give way to him.. Hence, viewing situations in a calmer manner will prevent agressiveness from building up in u..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Guest czh2002sg

Just came back from a meet-up with my riding team for makan. An interesting experience to share, on cyclists on the road.

As i was filtering left into upper changi road towards Bedok MRT station, after checking there is no vehicles from the major road i turn my head to the front again, and guess what? I saw an Indian/Bangala cyclist right in front of me. Straight away swerve right since it was clear and missed him by barely a metre or two. He panicked and swerved into the direction i swerve out but lucky being slow he could steer back in time and i could clear him regardless of his reaction.

I u-turn back later to enter the same filter lane. Wanted to find out why i saw him so late. Visibility was ok though is was night, the street lamp was ok. Only reason could be i didn't pick him up, my own lack of focus, and i didn't expect oncoming bicycle too. He also did not have headlight, reflector, and he was... dark... as well as wearing very dark coloured clothes.

Later on my way home, saw another bunch of well lit cyclists on the road. Very easy to pick them up from a distance.I was wondering if they are supposed to be using right lane to make right turns at major road. Haiz... Just give way to them until after the turn then overtake loh. Anyway i can see them i won't ask for more already.

Before entering the PIE, this time is 3 lane major road. One f%$##$#@ cyclist cycling in lane 1 in oncoming direction. I'm in lane 3, so no issue, but i wonder what is he thinking cycling in lane 1 against oncoming without headlight. I picked him out very late. My vision is near perfect and my ff was not tinted. What if i was in lane 2 lane changing to lane 1? If he was crossing the road, can't he carry the bicycle across after passing the divider rather than mount up and ride to the kerb and mount kerb?

Lesson learnt:

1. Expect the unexpected.

2. Have an excape route to "siam"

On point 2 can apply almost all the time. When overtaking a vehicle just check right side how much room for escape route loh. A bad day with cyclists today. Road users in Bedok beware at night. :giddy:

We bang any cyclist or pedestrian its our fault regardless. So we have to assume responsibility for their safety according to TP, and our conscience.. Thats something to live by. Have a safe ride.

I used to cycle on the road on my bicycle to explore explore before i started riding my motorbike.

In a way, i kind of respect cyclists on the road, because it takes a certain amount of guts to ride on the roads with vehicles whizzing past inches from your shoulder.

So whenever i see them i always give lots and lots of room when i overtake them. Coz i know how it feels to be overtaken few inches from my shoulder.

Slow in Fast Out, Fast in Never Come Out.

Guest czh2002sg

Usually if i see cyclist on left lane, pedestrian waiting to cross road, car/bike at the front of a bus bay, i will move to the edge of lane, almost near the broken white line, or change lane if no car. In case the cyclist/pedestrian fall down, swerve, there's room for them to fall. Or the car/bike suddenly move off. Endless' HOV helps. If bus wanting to exit bus bay i will change lane if possible to help him move off, and also in case he never see me, although i must say Singapore bus drivers are very professional so far. Most dun anyhow move off. Most lah. Whats scary is bicycles riding against oncoming, without headlights/reflectors/flashing tail light at night. No cyclist helmet no glove no nothing, but a smile on his face enjoying sight seeing. I used to cycle for years, and have more scars from cycling than riding. But their cycling habits today :giddy:

And the bunch who made right turn at major road. They have no power to pick up speed for goodness sake. They were cars in the opposite direction making right turn too. i slowly inch out as vision of oncoming was reduced. Those cyclist in front of me just turned. If really got oncoming they can't clear for sure, no enough pick up, and if they oncoming cannot brake, well... Most cyclists are responsible. I just happened to meet many funny ones today. :mad:

Originally posted by saboon@February 28, 2007 12:33 am

I used to cycle on the road on my bicycle to explore explore before i started riding my motorbike.

In a way, i kind of respect cyclists on the road, because it takes a certain amount of guts to ride on the roads with vehicles whizzing past inches from your shoulder.

So whenever i see them i always give lots and lots of room when i overtake them. Coz i know how it feels to be overtaken few inches from my shoulder.

Cycling on the roads ah... very dangerous eh... I try not to do that. Very pissed off by cars who 'whizz past inches from your shoulder' like saboon said.

But sometimes I think they don't do it on purpose, just that judgement not so good. Cos usually we (mostly) cycle on the left side of left lane (safer right?), but cars in Singapore is right-hand drive, for some drivers not easy to judge. Don't forget they have to check right lane before giving you room also. Some don't bother and try to squeeze with you on the left lane end up brushing past you.

Note: the above explaination may also apply in situations where cars whizz past motorcycles!

Visibility is another problem, that's why I have tailights and headlights installed on my bicycles too! In fact it's legally required. :cheeky:

Ride safe whether you're riding bicycle or riding motorbike please.

Originally posted by czh2002sg@February 28, 2007 12:48 am

Usually if i see cyclist on left lane, pedestrian waiting to cross road, car/bike at the front of a bus bay, i will move to the edge of lane, almost near the broken white line, or change lane if no car. In case the cyclist/pedestrian fall down, swerve, there's room for them to fall. Or the car/bike suddenly move off. Endless' HOV helps. If bus wanting to exit bus bay i will change lane if possible to help him move off, and also in case he never see me, although i must say Singapore bus drivers are very professional so far. Most dun anyhow move off. Most lah. Whats scary is bicycles riding against oncoming, without headlights/reflectors/flashing tail light at night. No cyclist helmet no glove no nothing, but a smile on his face enjoying sight seeing. I used to cycle for years, and have more scars from cycling than riding. But their cycling habits today :giddy:

And the bunch who made right turn at major road. They have no power to pick up speed for goodness sake. They were cars in the opposite direction making right turn too. i slowly inch out as vision of oncoming was reduced. Those cyclist in front of me just turned. If really got oncoming they can't clear for sure, no enough pick up, and if they oncoming cannot brake, well... Most cyclists are responsible. I just happened to meet many funny ones today. :mad:

Be extra careful when along Little India, many ppl dashing across the roads and also cycling on the roads, some cycle on the right side also. When I go there I stay center lane and ride slow, in case somebody suddenly dash out.

And I agree with you on those riding against traffic flow, VERY dangerous! May cause traffic accident if cars notice them late and suddenly swerve out to avoid them!

Actually nowadays more and more ppl cycle with helmets already (although still very few lah, but improving).

Guest czh2002sg

Wa Tridagger, 5 plus in the morning you read street smart :thumb: I thought only me obsessed with safety. :cheer:

Originally posted by tridagger@February 28, 2007 05:43 am

Be extra careful when along Little India, many ppl dashing across the roads and also cycling on the roads, some cycle on the right side also. When I go there I stay center lane and ride slow, in case somebody suddenly dash out.

And I agree with you on those riding against traffic flow, VERY dangerous! May cause traffic accident if cars notice them late and suddenly swerve out to avoid them!

Actually nowadays more and more ppl cycle with helmets already (although still very few lah, but improving).

Little india....... My "favourite" riding place........ :giddy:

Instead of ppl scared of vehicles..... It is where vehicles are more afraid of ppl. Hahaha

But still need to go to that area some times to buy some bike stuff.

Is it only me or do ppl here have friends and family telling you time and again to change to driving when you have the money?? (mostly the concern is due to safety)

Slow in Fast Out, Fast in Never Come Out.

Originally posted by czh2002sg@February 28, 2007 10:28 am

Wa Tridagger, 5 plus in the morning you read street smart :thumb: I thought only me obsessed with safety. :cheer:

:cheers: I think I'm addicted here... :cheeky:

Originally posted by saboon@February 28, 2007 01:31 pm

Little india....... My "favourite" riding place........ :giddy:

Instead of ppl scared of vehicles..... It is where vehicles are more afraid of ppl. Hahaha

But still need to go to that area some times to buy some bike stuff.

Is it only me or do ppl here have friends and family telling you time and again to change to driving when you have the money?? (mostly the concern is due to safety)

Yeah my uncles, got one in particular strongly objects to us (my bro & I) riding bike. My bro just shoot him back - if got $$$ buy car long ago buy liao lah... you buy for me lah!

But actually my bro don't even have Class 3, he said that just to shoot my uncle only, cos my uncle always say "feng liang hua" cos he is financially well-off.

Actually both my bro and I loves riding, even if got car also will still ride. :smile:

*Looking at the time* Hmmm... 2 am.

YES! It's already 1 March 2007!! Time to register for my Class 2 lic!!! :cheeky:

So glad to see this thread so alive. More awareness on safety is just what alot of people need.

video.google.com/videoplay?docid=-594683847743189197

http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y192/brendanchin/Yee.jpg

Guest czh2002sg
Originally posted by Denden@March 01, 2007 07:24 am

So glad to see this thread so alive. More awareness on safety is just what alot of people need.

Do direct your bike/driver friends to this thread. Results are not always effective, some simply don't take such a keen interest on safety, or have experienced less "trauma" etc etc.. But i'll like to think that if you direct 10 bike friends and only 3 change his riding style/habit/attitude, maybe 1 will be saved from an accident, or save his skin when he takes a fall.

Will you ever know? Maybe not.

But its not about why you should do it, if you do. Its why not?

Guest czh2002sg

Traffic rules are guidelines, right of way is not a guarantee to being given way.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p41mgT0eNAU...related&search=

Be prepared for the unexpected. Alert at all times can make the difference whether you react in time. Accidents often happen when we least expect it to. So if we keep expecting it and keep vigilant, it could add many more years of accident free riding :) Stay alive for our loved ones, family, and friends. Its very easy to lose out lives on the road. There's always an outside chance we dun survive a fall on public roads. We can reduce that chance. Ride safe, my friends :thumb:

Originally posted by Spectrum@February 15, 2007 04:09 pm

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/Street%20Smart/StreetSmart160m.jpg

STREET SMART TIP OF THE DAY #160

An interesting sharing for a friend.

Two bikers waiting to do a U-Turn.

One was mowed down by a vehicle from behind.

Whenever we are the 1st ones to stop when the lights turn red.

It is an good habit to have a look at our rear view mirrors.

That's to see if the vehicle behind is also stopping.

A suggestion to stop with our 1st gear will certainly help us

to pull away if the one behind can't stop in time or decides to beat

the red lights.

It is usual from me to go down to neutral.. but I do have a glance

behind to see if someone coming real close or fast before doing that.

i have this habit too.... :smile:

however... wat's really considered too close?

if a car really seems like its not stopping, will u really throttle and move when its already red light..? :confused:

this is a question that i asked myself.. still not sure of how to react ?? :cheeky:

Riding is like life, u nv know wat will happen next..

http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f7/minwei/hornet600.jpg http://i44.photobucket.com/albums/f7/minwei/logo.gif

Hmm.. This question is also present in my mind alot of times.. Sometimes it's realli scary to c a vehicle closing in on u on the rear mirror.. But I've made it a habit whenever I'm approaching traffic junctions, i'll always look at the rear mirror..

If there's no vehicle, tat's the best coz i can focus fully on the traffic light.. In case it changes..

If there's a vehicle, I'll hav to track it and c how fast is it approaching me..

This is the most difficult part.. A vehicle tailgating my bike.. If this happens, I'll close throttle and tapped my rear brake a few times.. Normally, the vehicle behind will either slow down and back off or overtake me..

But until now I'm still wondering the ideal solution for green light green arrow.. Red light green arrow is ok coz if i'm waiting to cross, once the arrow lights up, i'll juz cross it along with other vehicles.. If i'm still a distance away, i'll slow down so that i'll wait for the next change..

I hav no solution with the green light green arrow.. Normally, I juz agar agar judge if i can make it or not.. worst senario is I slow down, hoping the green arrow to change, but when I'm approaching near the light still dun change.. Then when I'm realli near the junction liao, the green arrow suddenly start flashing..

If accelerate, will risk beating the red light.. If suddenly slow down, will risk of rear vehicle collision.. But my rule is if I haven't reach the last white arrow, I'll stop.. At the most i stop aft the stop line abit.. If i've reached the white arrow, i'll juz turn..

Overall, the idea is not to do sudden stopping when the rear vehicle is not expecting u to do so.. If u intend to do sudden stopping if necessary, send a signal to the rear vehicle so that the driver knows ur intention..

Sorry for the long post..

Feb 06 till Present - Phantom TA200 Custom 4

Sometimes Results may be Disappointing, but it's never Discouraging..

Guest czh2002sg

Hmm.. Approaching junctions, i dun usually check rear if I'm holding speed. Only focus on the front. Cause if i see vehicle approaching fast from rear, its preferable not to change lane so close to the junction, only can tap intermittent brake to signal I'm slowing down. But i do check ever now and then for situational awareness. Only when near junction focus front, from about 3rd arrow onwards maybe? Agar Agar, depending on speed.

Green arrows are a little difficult partly because different junctions have different timings. If not sure of the timing, I usually hold steady speed (the type i can corner with) so that i can slow down to a stop if needed. If I've decided to speed up going into the green arrow, i have to make it through, cause its not safe to accelerate and then e brake at the last minute, unless I'm late braking before the turn, which is... not a very good habit also. This one always better to err on the side of caution if uncertain. Never know have pedestrian cross the road with green arrow in our favour. Sometimes they assume traffic flow is the same direction as they are crossing, won't bother about right turning vehicles. Kids may run loose from the centre divider, an old man may trip on it, these variables hard to control.