STREET SMART

Spectrum

Originally posted by chris 525@Apr 9 2005, 09:50 PM

Then another tiime, I am stationary at the lights, between a bus and a big dumper truck. When the lights go green, my bike stalled. Luckily the truck saw that I have a problem and stopped, Otherwise the truck would have chewed me up, or the bus chewed me up.

My opinion to this is that if we can get to the front of the traffic lights, always stop and wait in front of the first vehicle, even if we cross the STOP white line. Avoid staying betwen vehicles, esp big ones.

If we cannot get to the front, stay behind the vehicles. Never between.

This is especially true for smaller bikes where pick up is slow and you may not be able to beat the cars or even trucks.

1989-1991 Yamaha LC 125

1993-1995 Honda NS400R

2005-2007 Honda Varadero 125

2007-2012 Honda Africa Twin 750

2013-2018 Honda CB400 Spec III

now BMW F700gs

• Replies 1.6k

Originally posted by Chow@Apr 22 2005, 02:03 PM

My opinion to this is that if we can get to the front of the traffic lights, always stop and wait in front of the first vehicle, even if we cross the STOP white line. Avoid staying betwen vehicles, esp big ones.

If we cannot get to the front, stay behind the vehicles. Never between.

This is especially true for smaller bikes where pick up is slow and you may not be able to beat the cars or even trucks.

Ya... Would be quite risky if stall between 2 Vehicles & the Lites goes Green.

Slow Pick Up... I would normally choose Cars instead of Trucks/Buses.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/logo/Signature23.jpg

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Great thread.

Another one...

When approaching cars exiting from a side road, glance at the tires. If the car starts to move out, the tires rotate a few times faster than the movement of the car, so can give a rider early notice.

There are also many great tips from Proficient Motorcycling by David Hough. Can pick up a copy from Kino... great read.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

Guest max_nhk

Ride predictable. But expect the unexpected.

Human can only make judgements on constant movement. Irregular movements are very hard to judge esp on the road.

Do not make sudden movements, pick ups, nor position yourself in a unexpected position. In another words, don't give people surprises.

Originally posted by sfowner@Apr 22 2005, 10:25 PM

When approaching cars exiting from a side road, glance at the tires. If the car starts to move out, the tires rotate a few times faster than the movement of the car, so can give a rider early notice.

This is a useful piece of advice that I do personally practice.

However, I do want to whim that with more and more automatic cars in sg, it is getting a bit annoying. With auto cars, once the driver slacken their feed on the brakes, the car starts to roll forward.

The automatic cars would start to roll a little bit as you approach them. Even though the drivers have no intention of driving out in front of you, their rolling cars may appear like they can shoot out any time.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/StreetSmart0023.jpg

Tyres are A Good Indicator that the Driver is Changing Directions.

Unfortunately, Quite a few Drivers Signal & move to another lane...

Both at the same time.

Leaving us no warning... & leaving us to Take Avoiding actions.

Another Tell Tail Sign would be the Drivers Head...Which he normally look back at the Direction the going to Turn.

So Look for signs that someone is coming into your lane!

Please Note!

These Scan are Extras!

Main Focus Remains on the Road Ahead...

...A experience rider looks for signs to enhance road safety...

Street Smart Tip of the Day #23

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Street Smart Tip of the Day #24

Although Taxi drivers are one of the most experience people on the road...

(they virtually spent most of their life there)

They depends on Passengers for their income.

If u see an empty taxi on the ctr lane...

passengers waving him down...

U can be sure this taxi is gonna swing into your lane!

There are also times where their pax will ask the driver to stop immediately!

So they just pull to the road side with out looking for U.

Without fail... there will always be taxi hogging the fast lane @ 90kmh!

So just be cautious when over taking by the left...

Just remember...

some of these drivers have been on the road for a long, long time...

(shift changes at 4pm)

so they are tired...

they are not so alert...

so we just have to keep our distance from them!

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Tip of the Day #25

Entering a Left Bend on a Country Road

(open roads)

Line Selection is Very Important!

Looking Thru' Turns:

1. Look as Far through a turn as possible.

2. Slow Down... This will allow your Body to stay relax

& permit your mind to see the Big Picture!

Too High an Entry Speed will bring all sort of Problems!

Keep to the Right Side of your Lane...

Will give U a better line of Sight.

Gives u a Wider Curve to Run.

Do a Smooth Turn without multiple steering.

Keep Some Lean Angle in reserve

(u may need it)

And Make sure u do not Overrun to the Other side of the Road!

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Tip of the Day #25

Into A Right Bend..

Keep to the LEFT side of your Lane.

Better Line of Sight.

Will Make your Turn more Gradual.

You Give yourself As much room for

Traffic over runs from the opposite side of the Road.

Important!

Stay on the Road.

Avoid...

Riding too close to the side to be over

Sand & rubbish that is usually by the side of the Road.

Fastest way to skid on a Lean.

Click this Link for A more detail cornering technics

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

hi gentlemen...great thread here...now dis is wat i call a real motorcycle thread man.

juz to share something on obstacles/debris on the roads...

i think all of us here hates debris on the roads..drink cans...plastic bags...slippers... snapped motorcycle chains...

if u can afford the time and concentration...u may notice that most of the debris on the roads tend to get pushed to the centre of the lanes...thatz becos they have been pushed in by the dual track vehicles we call cars...

so wat i try to do is observe (but not concentrate) and ride the path of the front vehicle's rear wheel tracks...but at the same time not squeezing in between lanes...juz keeping either slightly right or left of the lanes.if therez any debris in front...i wud notice it cos the rear wheel of the vehicle in front wud have sort of gone over it or "kicking" it aside...i wud have time ti react if i observed the aforementioned 2 second rule.

but if circumstances dun allow...like when therez heavy traffic and such...i dun do it..cos i think concentrating on current traffic conditions might be more important.i compensate by giving myself a little bit more time and space to slow down or brake.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/301627_10150300464615267_702800266_8095265_1305808511_n.jpg

Riding Between Lanes (Call Filtering) is an Interesting Subject By Itself.

Good Observation on debris pushed Between lanes.

The Spillage of Rocks, stones & sand from Lorries

@ Traffic lights are just as bad.

And we Are usually caught in a Turn... (worst Situation)

Guess We just have to look well ahead

& give ourself enough stopping distance.

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@Apr 30 2005, 01:16 AM

Riding Between Lanes (Call Filtering) is an Interesting Subject By Itself.

Good Observation on debris pushed Between lanes.

The Spillage of Rocks, stones & sand from Lorries

@ Traffic lights are just as bad.

And we Are usually caught in a Turn... (worst Situation)

Guess We just have to look well ahead

& give ourself enough stopping distance.

yup exactly... :thumb:

and 1 more thing...riders do have to spend some time to THINK if they do want to carry on riding.people have to understand that riding a motorcycle is not just clutch throttle and move off.

really good job here Spectrum. :thumb:

will look forward to coming back here and learn more.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc7/301627_10150300464615267_702800266_8095265_1305808511_n.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/BuonaVistaRd.jpg

If u Are around Nat. Uni. Kent Ridge... AYE

Go Check out South Buona Vista Road.

18 Tight Corners for U to Practice On.

Remember... There are Bus Stops along the way.

And if the Bus stops... the Lane is completely Blocked.

So give yourself plenty of Stopping Distance...

Or

U will be Practising Emergency Braking!

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@May 1 2005, 12:54 AM

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v484/2100spectrum/BuonaVistaRd.jpg

If u Are around Nat. Uni. Kent Ridge... AYE

Go Check out South Buona Vista Road.

18 Tight Corners for U to Practice On.

Remember... There are Bus Stops along the way.

And if the Bus stops... the Lane is completely Blocked.

So give yourself plenty of Stopping Distance...

Or

U will be Practising Emergency Braking!

advice to riders..

please go slow along tis road.. there r all blind corners..

asking you to build up confident n learn safety riding.. not to learn to race..!! :smile:

<u>PASSION</u> : Strong emotion, Great enthusiasm.

Riders' passion is to ride.

Its NOT from point A to point B that a rider enjoy,

its DURING point A to point B that he enjoy..

http://www.hondahornet.co.uk/images/cb9001.jpg

Originally posted by endlessloop@Mar 9 2005, 10:02 PM

I actually had put together a concept for safer motorcycle riding.

It is based on a system used by the UK TP called Hazard Oriented Riding, combined with the more well-known Motorcycle Roadcraft. Then I factor in my own riding experience to adjust for Singapore style riding.

I had my fair share of close shave when I started out riding. It scared the living daylights out of me. Then I went to research over the years and developed the above concept. Since then, I had been riding for over 8 yrs using my concept and *touch wood* not had any accidents. I have both class2 and 3.

I meant the formula to safe guard my own safety. I thought that I am the only one so unfortunate and other people don't have my problems. So I never shared my knowledge with anyone. Until about 2 years ago, a close friend of mine saw me riding bike and appears very safe, then went to learn class2B.

After he passed, I told him to ride around for a month to get a feel of real road traffic, then I will teach him my concept. Within 2 weeks, he had an accident with a lorry. He is no young reckless hero. He is 33, got a wife, a kid and rides a phantom. Thankfully, he was not seriously injured.

I felt responsible for his safety because he partly got into riding because of me. So I quickly gave him a crash course of my concept. I am pleased that after almost a year, he is safe and he appears rather comfortable riding. So it appears my concept works not only for me, but to other rider as well.

It is all concept, so it is up to the rider to apply. Hence it is not magic that guarantees 100% safety. It is also not a technique on advanced riding, track riding or wheelie. It is just a system to maximise rider safety for singapore riding that is learnable. Also, it is not so simple that I can lay it out in a few lines. Or I would share it right here.

For those interested to learn, pm me.

It is free for me to share. But I need time to put together the materials and half a afternoon to teach. I am just doing to see if my concept is easily learnt by the greater public and to help save a few lives and skins.

As requested, I will be sharing on my safefy concept which I call "Singapore RoadCraft" (SRC) again.

I am scheduling it probably towards the end of may on one of the weekends. It will take half-a-day. It will take the form of a small talk and discussion.

Those interested, please pm me and leave me your contact.

29 Mar:

2009 Yamaha FZ1 Fazer Owner's Review

loudexhaust.blogspot.com

www.RiderAsia.com Safety site for motorcycle riders

Originally posted by endlessloop@May 1 2005, 10:21 PM

As requested, I will be sharing on my safefy concept which I call "Singapore RoadCraft" (SRC) again.

I am scheduling it probably towards the end of may on one of the weekends. It will take half-a-day. It will take the form of a small talk and discussion.

Those interested, please pm me and leave me your contact.

Have Attended one of Endlessloop

"RoadCraft Talk & Discussion."

Interesting & beneficial to us who rides.

Staying Safe... Always! :thumb: :smile: :thumb:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Ravon11@May 1 2005, 09:45 PM

advice to riders..

please go slow along tis road.. there r all blind corners..

asking you to build up confident n learn safety riding.. not to learn to race..!! :smile:

There are other places to practice other than South Bouna Vista road, and there are not 18 corners, I would say after commuting along that road for the past 9 years, definitely less than 10.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Originally posted by chris 525@May 2 2005, 12:30 AM

There are other places to practice other than South Bouna Vista road, and there are not 18 corners, I would say after commuting along that road for the past 9 years, definitely less than 10.

Thks for your Feedback...

Like to list some of the Other Places where we can practice our Corner in Country Style roads... :smile:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart

Originally posted by Spectrum@May 2 2005, 05:44 PM

Thks for your Feedback...

Like to list some of the Other Places where we can practice our Corner in Country Style roads... :smile:

South Bouna Vista Road - just mind your P's and Q's.

Things to be on the lookout for,

The 200 bus (as well as big trucks and other large traffic) ply that road, and when cornering on the more sharp corners, then they cut over to the other lane.

When taking left-hand bends (concave, or counter-clockwise) keep tight to the left.

When taking right-hand bends (convex, or clockwise), be wary of on-coming vehicles that are cutting over your lane. So keep tight to the left, even though there may be a tendancy to cut over.

I have seen many-many trucks who have shed their load at one of the bends along that road.

DO NOT intake (overtake on the left side) any vehicle along that road.

BE WARY for joggers, who sometiimes run on the road, because at one point there is no footpath.

That road is quite busy, so never assume that nothing is coming the other way.

And there are 2 bus stops along the wodded section of that road. One bus stop is particularly dangerous, since it is just after a bend (either way) and many passengers alight and cross the road to the stair-case that leads to the offices in Science Park 2.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Other bendy roads - Orange Grove Road and Tampines Road

But why not ride up to Mersing along Highway 3, has bends straights and other hazards to be on the lookout for. The condition of the road is very good and only 3km of road works in the Kota Tinggi area. And the speed limit is 90kph most of the way.

Wake up at 8am, ride to JB, then top up petrol, then ride to Mersing - Lunch, then maybe 1-2 hours at the kopi-shop by the beach, then topup and ride back to JB, wash bike and makan, then top up and go home.

Current FAZER600-Naked

Originally posted by chris 525@May 3 2005, 02:33 PM

Other bendy roads - Orange Grove Road and Tampines Road

Orange Grove Rd... Can go Shopping after ride... :thumb:

As For Tampines Rd... watch out for Low Flying Planes

Use to be an accident prone rd in the old days... OK now.

That's When the Sand Lorries drip Slime & mud on the Rd.

carrying wet sand from the sand quarry at now Tampines HDB.

(long, long ago lah)

Vehicles always skid when it drizzle. :giddy:

Your Kota Tinggi - Mersing Sounds Interesting... :smile:

Maybe can organize one for those interested...

Gd practice for a nice day out...

South Buona Vista RD... Keep Your Spd Low...

Lmt is 40kmh.

It's a gd guide.

Be able to stop within visual range...

Eg. If u See a BUS dead infront of U...

U must be able to stop in time.

Will be the same for all mountain roads... Cameron, Frasier....

Enjoy your Ride... :thumb:

Home of the Hornets

Street Smart