Hmm.. I used to lane split all the way on AYE/ECP, from clementi to Changi, every morning during peak hours around 8am, usually riding at about 100+km. That's something i don't dare to try on PIE... not with a 2-stroker phantom with long wheel base and below-desirable braking capabilities. Guess i am so used to that road i am biased. :lol:

I may sound naggy, but please do not stay beside a car while lane splitting. If you want to be going at the same speed as the car, go either in front or stay at the back of the car. Otherwise go faster than it when you lane split.

Staying between two cars (or worse, bigger vehicles) is just inviting them to drift towards you simultaneously and ping pong you around. o_O

And... you're just blocking those who wanna lane split faster. :cheeky:

good tip! thanks...but i do believe that when you lane split, you need to go faster than the vehicles beside you...otherwise just stay in lane...

as a driver myself...some times we have to see both point of view...when lane splitting slow and just beside a car or worse bus/lorry the driver cant really see you...so its not really reckless to lane split fast...but keep your eye point further so that you can anticipate the 4 wheelers that sometimes will abrubtly change lane and force you to break...thats one of the risks of lane splitting

it was only about 10-15 metres before i was officially lane splitting between 2 vehicles and he want neh neh lai overtake me so it was a little irritating, im not hogging yet he want to play punk so i decided not to let him thru lor. that stretch of road every morning and evening full of irritating msian kups. never let him thru he started his acts of stupidity by tailgating and he keep on appearing on my left and right mirror alternately. i rev my throttle hard a few times as a warning to him to buzz off.

wah you really fierce...haha...for me if the kup really want to overtake i will check traffic clear on any lane and merge back to the clear lane and then when he overtake me i tailgate him back...hahah

just joking ah but sometimes these kup ah, kind of pity them..they rushing back home and still kena stuck at causeway jam and whatever...but that is their problem...so for my case, it all depends on my mood..

just a few days back, riding back home on BKE,one kup lane splitting between lane 1 and 2 at 70..knn...i also want to go back...at the safest opportunity overtook him and blast off to the moon:sian:

It aint me officer...The bike is POSSESSED!!:lol:

• Replies 25.1k

Like what DeusEXmachina mentioned in his earlier post... be more wary of taxis that are empty than one with passenger.

Those empty ones would do suddenly lane changes and stops even illegal U turns just to pick up a passenger.

As for me... I just stay away from them... or overtake them ASAP.

...ya...overtake on the right side hor...cos those empty taxis are really very scary on the left side!

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg
Hey, I'm really happy to hear that you have contained your temper. And yes, you are right. It will be up to no good.

Anyway, this is what I face almost everyday. Drivers are always cutting in front of me. Do try to anticipate that they are going to cut you. Drop your speed by dropping gear. Try not to drop speed too rapidly. This way you will appear more predictable and the driver will be able to cut you and you will be able to keep yourself safe & sound!

:faint: he wasn't even in front of me in that last stunt, he was behind me and squeezed in at the very end (chevron marking), can say is lane splitting liaoz, only it was a car! :faint:

but good thing is , my mind still on riders mode

Good thing also cant really say good. What if your still in rider mode and tried to lane split??

Hahahahaha

Please remember you're driving when you want to park... i dunno about the others, but i will get a heart attack when i see a car charging onto the pavement to park beside a tree...

wat sia u guys? :lol: the 2 examples cracked me up dou. :lol:

waitforme: ya, whenever i drove (L plate), my instructor always chide me "why never INSIST on ur right of way? you no wrong MAH!" :faint::faint:

i'm seldom on TPE, but the only one time i had to pass through TPE, so empty i can test how daring i am. hehes .. "tested" how fast my bike can go before i chicken out, but cant go so fast coz my parents are in my uncle's car behind, watching the way i ride.

so yaa, when i reached home, my father said, "wah, now dare to go 100+km/h" already ah ?:faint:

:lol: ur dad is veli supportive of u riding, so ride safely and continue riding eh. :smile:

I may sound naggy, but please do not stay beside a car while lane splitting. If you want to be going at the same speed as the car, go either in front or stay at the back of the car. Otherwise go faster than it when you lane split.

Staying between two cars (or worse, bigger vehicles) is just inviting them to drift towards you simultaneously and ping pong you around. o_O

And... you're just blocking those who wanna lane split faster. :cheeky:

ya, esp ard big vehicles. those wheels really look menacing. :giddy:

last night while riding home at around 12+, got pissed off by this knnccb taxi along Bukit Batok Ave 1 turning into Bukit Batok Central. i was behind him and suddenly at the turning into the slip road, he just on his hazard light and brake to pick up a stupid passenger (another idiot for hailing a taxi at the slip road!). where's the blind spot chk? where's the traffic rule? got money, all fly out of window. basket ppl.

see taxi = 120% alert, can siam far just siam, dun care where he is, just siam. :lol: at least for me la. :cheeky:

i ever heard of taxis stopping in EXPRESSWAY to get passenger (car breakdown, "no time liaoz") :faint: wtf sia?!?!?!

today while riding.... i have 3 interesting encounters to share 2 involving taxis and one involving a m'sian kup.

1st encounter: i as riding along kaki bukit ave 1, it is a 2 lane road and i was on the right lane. Taxi infront of me straddling both lanes then started to switch lane to the left so i picked up speed... suddenly it swerve back to the right lane again! i brake hard! then it started swerving back to the left again, then i quickly opened throttle to get out of this potential murderer's way before it can swerve back into my lane... knn...

2nd encounter: travelling along hougang ave 2 just after CDC. traffic was coming to a standstill ahead so i got into a lane splitting position then i noticed this idiot m'sian on a c70 lookalike tailgating me and appearing on my left and right mirror, tried to get ahead of me so he can be ahead of me while lane splitting. i prevented him from doing so by speeding up. a few junctions later now at AMK ave 3 just after serangoon north ave 1, saw this bugger again behind me... it was red light. a few hundred metres after the light turned green, i was riding around 90kmh then i saw this idiot picking up speed behind me and tried to overtake me, was already quite pissed with his earlier act of stupidity so i whack throttle and sped till around 110-120kmh to shake him off. :mad:

3rd encounter: another stupid taxi... this time approaching the junction of amk mrt station and amk hub. the light infront was red, traffic was coming to a standstill. i was lane splitting to the front, my left was a bus lane as it was empty so i filter into the bus lane, this knnccb taxi suddenly swerve into my path w/o signalling at all. i sped up to avoid him and gave him a hard stare and rev hard to show him my great displeasure...:nono::angry:

what a day, taxis and m'sian kups sure are making their way to the top of my hate list...

1st encounter: i hope u din speed up AS he was shifting left, but instead had waited til he was completely in left lane. But ya, AZZhole!!! :angry:

some "ok" cabbie will wave sorry if they really neber see us, some just bochup. but wat the hell? it's our life lor.

2nd encounter: msia kup kia lives cheap la, dun play with them. take BKE towards woodlands peak hour and u'll noe wat i mean (of coz, u may ald know that. :smile:)

3rd encounter: it is really possible for him to have missed u entirely, but ya, again, it's our life, so of coz dul@n.

today while riding! well, actually yday..

I rode without my helmet!!!!!

inside carpark near angulia...

As usual, funking overcrowded.

was looking for a legitimate lot and cant find, decided to park near legitimate lot. :cheeky: my gal dismounted, I took off helmet only then a fellow rider came over to me: "bro, got a spot there arh, i booked for u ald."

Fwa! so good! i asked my gal to take my helmet there (10m away), QIONG arh!!!!! :lol::faint:

the rider was also looking for a lot, along with many riders as well. heng heng 2 bikes leave so after he parked he helped me book as well. :smile: it pays to smile at fellow riders just as a nice gesture. :cheeky:

it was only about 10-15 metres before i was officially lane splitting between 2 vehicles and he want neh neh lai overtake me so it was a little irritating, im not hogging yet he want to play punk so i decided not to let him thru lor. that stretch of road every morning and evening full of irritating msian kups. never let him thru he started his acts of stupidity by tailgating and he keep on appearing on my left and right mirror alternately. i rev my throttle hard a few times as a warning to him to buzz off.

M'sian kups are like that. They always wanna overtake you. On the road, while lane splitting, and when queueing at traffic lights.

And you know what happens after they overtake you?

They ride slowly and end up blocking you. :lol:

Edited by DeusExMachina

waitforme: ya, whenever i drove (L plate), my instructor always chide me "why never INSIST on ur right of way? you no wrong MAH!" :faint::faint:

:lol: ur dad is veli supportive of u riding, so ride safely and continue riding eh. :smile:

ya, esp ard big vehicles. those wheels really look menacing. :giddy:

see taxi = 120% alert, can siam far just siam, dun care where he is, just siam. :lol: at least for me la. :cheeky:

i ever heard of taxis stopping in EXPRESSWAY to get passenger (car breakdown, "no time liaoz") :faint: wtf sia?!?!?!

wahh, if every driver got that kind of mentality, surely the road will be more havoc than it is now ... everyone insist on their right of way, then everyone bang into each other. :sian:

yes, ofcourse i'll continue riding safely when there's a chance to . hehehessss

yahh, the BBO wheels are scary .. like anytime can poke my leg... and i usually try to not look at th wheels, like very giddy when see the big bulky nuts spin and spin.. hahah

today while riding! well, actually yday..

I rode without my helmet!!!!!

inside carpark near angulia...

As usual, funking overcrowded.

was looking for a legitimate lot and cant find, decided to park near legitimate lot. :cheeky: my gal dismounted, I took off helmet only then a fellow rider came over to me: "bro, got a spot there arh, i booked for u ald."

Fwa! so good! i asked my gal to take my helmet there (10m away), QIONG arh!!!!! :lol::faint:

the rider was also looking for a lot, along with many riders as well. heng heng 2 bikes leave so after he parked he helped me book as well. :smile: it pays to smile at fellow riders just as a nice gesture. :cheeky:

yea most riders are a good bunch of people...

th other day after work, i pumped petrol at holland SPC, so i turned off the fuel knob thingy ... then i rode off. my bike suddenly died at traffic junction. i panic already ... kick start also still die, then summore hard to try find neutral. i pushed bike to the kerb and try start back, but to no avail. another rider came to my rescue, then smile and say "sister, ur oil not on lahhh" ... fuhlermakk damn paiseh .. but thanks to tat kind dude .. if not i panic until i cry ... hahaha

M'sian kups are like that. They always wanna overtake you. On the road, while lane splittings, and when queueing at traffic lights.

And you know what happens after they overtake you?

They ride slowly and end up blocking you. :lol:

haha yes ! agreed! hahaha

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

was riding on the road that got 3 lanes.

Was in the 2nd lane wanted to lane change to 1st lane to make a right turn at the upcoming junction.

beside me, there was 1 Super 4 rider.

And infront of me, there was a car which was quite far from me, so I throttle up and wanted to move to the 1st lane.

Knn, that S4 rider tot I wanted to race with him.

He also throttle up and block me from entering the lane 1.

KNS.

Pls don't tailgate or stalk moi.:thumb:

Was in the 2nd lane wanted to lane change to 1st lane to make a right turn at the upcoming junction.

And infront of me, there was a car which was quite far from me, so I throttle up and wanted to move to the 1st lane.

KNS.

see! i told you guys it's not just me. he also experience the same thing.

today is the longest day in my life!! went to bikeshop and spent 4 hours there. cos i need to change the seal for both of my leaking forks and still spend some time to wait for the despatch to bring the seals. and then went to clean the carburetor. retune the bike. but then after all that, the riding experience is better cos of the fork but somehow the tuning feels different again! or maybe i'm just not used to riding a 2 stroke bike.

and thanks to the frequent usage of the valve, my fc usually hovers at around 15-18km/l. insane!! now i'm starting to regret riding a 2-stroker. money vs experience. oh well.. at least this will be the only chance i am able to ride a 2 stroke bike.

KNS.

u got signal?

today is the longest day in my life!! went to bikeshop and spent 4 hours there. cos i need to change the seal for both of my leaking forks and still spend some time to wait for the despatch to bring the seals. and then went to clean the carburetor. retune the bike. but then after all that, the riding experience is better cos of the fork but somehow the tuning feels different again! or maybe i'm just not used to riding a 2 stroke bike.

and thanks to the frequent usage of the valve, my fc usually hovers at around 15-18km/l. insane!! now i'm starting to regret riding a 2-stroker. money vs experience. oh well.. at least this will be the only chance i am able to ride a 2 stroke bike.

DT125 ah? Not having backache and wrist ache from all the bad vibrations coming from the seat and handle grips yet? i think if you just wanted to experience 2 stroke, shd go for a 2 stroke road bike instead of a scram. Go experience offroading since you already got yourself a scram. but using it as pure transport, i reckon you will be eager to change bike soon~ i reckon in maybe a month or two :pity:

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

i guess it's just that th rempits all upgraded to s4, thats why ride s4 also like wanna go rempit. hahaks ~

u actually waited for the despatch to bring in the seals? omg~ th other day, i wanted to wait fr the despatch to bring in my fork tube, but luckily i didnt wait, coz they brought in th fork tube for sp instead of rr. otherwise, i'll be at the bike shop fr almost half a day ! hehs ~

15-18 km/l? wah insane ... everyday liddat, my pocket surely lobang ahahs

DT125 ah? Not having backache and wrist ache from all the bad vibrations coming from the seat and handle grips yet? i think if you just wanted to experience 2 stroke, shd go for a 2 stroke road bike instead of a scram. Go experience offroading since you already got yourself a scram. but using it as pure transport, i reckon you will be eager to change bike soon~ i reckon in maybe a month or two :pity:

let's wait out n see.. ahaha

yours truly.

You fill your fuel tank with petrol. Petrol goes through the fuel tap or petcock which if it is in the ON position will send fuel to the carburettor and to the engine.

Oil, sometimes other than 2T, is NEVER filled into the fuel tank. Oil is a lubricant that is poured into the crankcase.

So why do so many people still call the fuel tank or petrol tank an oil tank??

ok arh? layman term ma.

why do we say weight is XX KG??? in actual fact Mass is XX KG, weight is XX Newton... ... :dozed: but bo huiz la, can unds can ald. :cheeky:

Is it a crime to wear safety gear?

sometimes dunno if it's my gears that give ppl wrong image (lacer).

Like i try to overtake and sincerely check blindspot, then e ppl think i "look at them"/ "look down on them" with that kinda intention, then they wanna play play. i oni safety jack lei... :sian::faint:

maybe because "petrol" is also made from oil?

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

we call it petrol tank. americans call it gas tank. the arabians call it oil tank. different places, different names, same thing. lol

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
we call it petrol tank. americans call it gas tank. the arabians call it oil tank. different places, different names, same thing. lol

I just thought that it was a direct translation to English from our local language or dialect, meaning it is Singlish at work again. :angel:

bad vibrations?? so far so good la.. but i'm damn shocked with the bike! impressive pickup for a 125cc and can top 120km/hr for a scrambler! but without opening the valve, that will be around 80km/hr at most. from last year la, i wanna ride a scrambler! so much fun now! got hump still can whack. got sidewalk can just whack up also. going off road not so soon la. need to get some basic gears and tune up the bike. after the washing of carb, the tuning doesn't feel good! still not so smooth at the lower end. or is that normal for a scrambler? lol.. must open more to have a smooth pickup.

and this one is just temporary la. just for fun only. try try small cc 2 stroke scrambler. of cos i'll be changing to my main bike in a few more mths! can't wait!!:angel:

i guess it's just that th rempits all upgraded to s4, thats why ride s4 also like wanna go rempit. hahaks ~

u actually waited for the despatch to bring in the seals? omg~ th other day, i wanted to wait fr the despatch to bring in my fork tube, but luckily i didnt wait, coz they brought in th fork tube for sp instead of rr. otherwise, i'll be at the bike shop fr almost half a day ! hehs ~

15-18 km/l? wah insane ... everyday liddat, my pocket surely lobang ahahs

let's wait out n see.. ahaha

ya hor! maybe that's why. they upgrade from rxz to super 4. and last i talked to my friend, he told me mat rempits have moved to drz already. lol.. with currently so many 'design' helmets worn by drz riders. just wait la. go back also must walk and then take bus and then take mrt. might as well i wait for 4 hours and watch how they repair bikes. but for sportsbike, how's the fc like?

true ..

I just thought that it was a direct translation to English from our local language or dialect, meaning it is Singlish at work again. :angel:

it's just like the term "handphone"... the word "handphone" doesnt exist really. the correct term is mobile phone. hahas

bad vibrations?? so far so good la.. but i'm damn shocked with the bike! impressive pickup for a 125cc and can top 120km/hr for a scrambler! but without opening the valve, that will be around 80km/hr at most. from last year la, i wanna ride a scrambler! so much fun now! got hump still can whack. got sidewalk can just whack up also. going off road not so soon la. need to get some basic gears and tune up the bike. after the washing of carb, the tuning doesn't feel good! still not so smooth at the lower end. or is that normal for a scrambler? lol.. must open more to have a smooth pickup.

and this one is just temporary la. just for fun only. try try small cc 2 stroke scrambler. of cos i'll be changing to my main bike in a few more mths! can't wait!!:angel:

ya hor! maybe that's why. they upgrade from rxz to super 4. and last i talked to my friend, he told me mat rempits have moved to drz already. lol.. with currently so many 'design' helmets worn by drz riders. just wait la. go back also must walk and then take bus and then take mrt. might as well i wait for 4 hours and watch how they repair bikes. but for sportsbike, how's the fc like?

just wondering, u still doing deliveries? if u still do, ur docket surely go to ur petrol sia ... ahah

no need say rxz laa, kr, 125z also same maa. aha just generalizing though.. just recently, my pizza colleague got stopped at a roadblock. he was riding drz uhs. then he was saying that the coppers were finding a group of drz riders who belong to a gang or something. nowadays money easy to earn maa, people also can upgrade easily ... haha but if they "bergaya" or "merana", we dont know maa. hees. sorry uh dunno how to translate. hehx...

wah must walk, take bus and take mrt eh. fr me is only a mere 5 mins walk. hahahs ... but the workshop service was good. friendly mech too...

for me, my bike can go 220 km on full tank. im not sure whats the max capacity of the tank though. hehes .. but i'm scrimping laa, every 2.5 days must go pump petrol ... nowadays i just pump 4bux each and everyday before i head out to work, just to be safe ... coz my fuel meter spoilt, and i dont really check my mileage ...

i heard theres some stuff that helps stretch the fc of the bike. not sure wat it's called, but im just scared if there's gonna be any side effects to the bike ... hmm ~

yours truly.

he told me mat rempits have moved to drz already. lol..

wow, hope ppl dun come disturb me can liao

nowadays money easy to earn maa, people also can upgrade easily ~

is it? i no money leh:(

just wondering, u still doing deliveries? if u still do, ur docket surely go to ur petrol sia ... ahah

no need say rxz laa, kr, 125z also same maa. aha just generalizing though.. just recently, my pizza colleague got stopped at a roadblock. he was riding drz uhs. then he was saying that the coppers were finding a group of drz riders who belong to a gang or something. nowadays money easy to earn maa, people also can upgrade easily ... haha but if they "bergaya" or "merana", we dont know maa. hees. sorry uh dunno how to translate. hehx...

wah must walk, take bus and take mrt eh. fr me is only a mere 5 mins walk. hahahs ... but the workshop service was good. friendly mech too...

for me, my bike can go 220 km on full tank. im not sure whats the max capacity of the tank though. hehes .. but i'm scrimping laa, every 2.5 days must go pump petrol ... nowadays i just pump 4bux each and everyday before i head out to work, just to be safe ... coz my fuel meter spoilt, and i dont really check my mileage ...

i heard theres some stuff that helps stretch the fc of the bike. not sure wat it's called, but im just scared if there's gonna be any side effects to the bike ... hmm ~

nope.. no more deliveries for me. :angel: and that was what i'm talking about. the group riding the drz. cos i go to the nearest scrambler shop which is at yishun. if ride 2 stroke, must be prepared to pay for the fuel la. and if complain, might as well ride a 4 stroke bike.

anyway, today while riding, i really appreciate my bike's pickup. i was turning into the expressway and another car on the opposing lane was also turning into the expressway. knowing that i'll have the right of way, i just accelerated away knowing that the car won't even have a chance to knock me down. and i think i'll never change to a road bike anymore. i'm just crazy over a scrambler's pickup.

and here's a disclaimer beforehand. sorry to all those riders who might not be happy with me on the road for the past few days, i'm just testing out my bike. no intention of racing with you guys or anything. cos got this 1 bike seemed to overtake me very closely yesterday afternoon, making me hear his vtech sound. cos i'll stop accelerating once i max out at around 80-90km/hr on the expressway as that's what i thought is the cruising speed of my bike.

is it? i no money leh:(

is it? just downpayment your current bike for a new one. then take the max years to service the loan on that new bike. and when you cannot afford to pay off the mthly installment on top of the maintenance, just sell back to the shop or find someone in the forum to COI the bike. it's really that easy to upgrade. for me, i can easily buy a ktm 400 now but i don't wish to kill myself over the next 5 years. so, no ktm 400 for me. :(

Saw this blue fv(i think)9***e plate cbr150 with P plate suddenly cut into 4th lane w/out checking his blind spot and almost became a prata under an oncoming car. Damn dangerous :giddy: Think it was PIE(Jurong) nearing Eng Neo Exit.. Sibei Jialat this rider..

Saw just now near Upp Bukit Timah Prata, a FBC Gilera with pillion and a S4 FBD with scrambler handlebar suddenly switched on Hazard light then kept to a side, cars overtook them cautiously then they suddenly went back to lane w/out checking. Kena horn jia lat jia lat. Then after that, they overtook the cars back at traffic junction and blocked their way like they were unhappy while the S4 opened Vtec while clutched in.

I thought the gilera was P plate so didn't think much about it, then saw what the s4 did to those behind him, really jia lat.. :nono:

These people really give the bikers a bad name :sian:

is it? just downpayment your current bike for a new one. then take the max years to service the loan on that new bike. and when you cannot afford to pay off the mthly installment on top of the maintenance, just sell back to the shop or find someone in the forum to COI the bike. it's really that easy to upgrade. for me, i can easily buy a ktm 400 now but i don't wish to kill myself over the next 5 years. so, no ktm 400 for me. :(

careful of the knobby tires k. and be extra careful when road is wet. scramblers have a tendency to surprise you even when you are extra slow and careful. :p