i was told when u skid u should continue to let it skid and not let go ur brakes am i wrong?

i tot shd be let go den brake again - intermittent braking?

or skid ald u counter steer, den power slide maciam motorcross riders? :cheeky:

speaking of which, a few days ago i tried to lock my rear tire on purpose, just so to get the feeling so i noe where is the "locking" point. im surprised a change in tire can have such a big difference. i really ZHAM rear brake and the wheel lock only a lil bit, such that i can still control very comfortably.

coz in april i had a self skid using "pui chao nua" thailand tires coz of rear wheel lock, so i just wanna confirm on the "locking" point again shd i ever need it.

but i did within my campus at night when no traffic la. :cheeky: and of coz, with armor. :p

PS: not all made in thailand tires not good, but the ones i was using really is "pui chao nua" brand wan. the rubber material so hard, dun skid also miracle, maybe go 20-30kph ok ba.. :angry:

today while riding!

fwa, heng heng bawu lengkeng, bike kenna bird dropping at carpark. nvm, wipe away with wet cloth.

den go campus, park bike, when going home, bike kenna bird dropping again. HMZ.. it's a sign for 4D! :lol::lol::lol:

• Replies 25.1k

today while riding!

fwa, heng heng bawu lengkeng, bike kenna bird dropping at carpark. nvm, wipe away with wet cloth.

den go campus, park bike, when going home, bike kenna bird dropping again. HMZ.. it's a sign for 4D! :lol::lol::lol:

hahas..at least u can tell wat the bird ate the whole day in their droppings..it could haf caught the early worm for being the early bird..

Those Who Don't Know Pain

Can Never Know True Peace

hahas..at least u can tell wat the bird ate the whole day in their droppings..it could haf caught the early worm for being the early bird..

:faint::lol::lol:

yday night while riding!

i haven posted any videos in a long while, and im grateful for that, because it means i did not see too many bongtards otr. but this bongtard pedestrian!!!!! think he's high on something...

[yt]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2EDpZnHi8f8[/yt]

some rain drops on the casing = a bit blurry at times.

Edited by JackOHJack

i was told when u skid u should continue to let it skid and not let go ur brakes am i wrong?

I would think there's no absolute right or wrong, it pretty much depends on the situation. If by losing traction and sliding into a direction which is safe and you can still keep the bike upright, no harm continue skidding, right?

However, most situations causing a rider to jam brakes till locking, would probably be close shaves and scary scenarios with little room to manuevre. That's when the traction to stop the bike more effectively becomes the focus. If there's enough room in front to stop the bike by normal e-brakes, by all means release the brakes to regain traction then continue braking.

Personally i would grip tank (most likely already doing it), look for a way out of the mess, release brakes (when pointing in the correct direction), then roll on throttle a little. If the object in front is too close to fully brake to a stop, the preferred direction will be offset to the sides, and the intent will be to overtake instead of stopping fully.

"The hunter must hunt. The moment he stops he becomes the hunted.

Strive, reach, and take. Then you shall not be taken"

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

@_@ this topic makes me nervous, skidding and loss of control..

what if not enough space to stop? or skidding in an unfavourable direction? :pray: need to go defensive riding course to learn?

haha, jackohjack! speaking of bird droppings.......

once upon a time, parked overnight under a tree, just beside my normal lot only....

next morning...fuwah!! late also forced to chop chop wash bike..

at least 15++ droppings all over..never seen so much poop in my life!!

sumore my bike so narrow, the birds zhun zhun aim my bike, gifted me with nice new paintwork, red, purple, gray :faint: :faint:

some parts still wet, other parts put water and scrape also cant come off!! basket just what did these birds eat?? o_O

...never ever parked there again :lol:

the end

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

what if not enough space to stop? or skidding in an unfavourable direction? :pray: need to go defensive riding course to learn?

haha, jackohjack! speaking of bird droppings.......

once upon a time, parked overnight under a tree, just beside my normal lot only....

next morning...fuwah!! late also forced to chop chop wash bike..

at least 15++ droppings all over..never seen so much poop in my life!!

sumore my bike so narrow, the birds zhun zhun aim my bike, gifted me with nice new paintwork, red, purple, gray :faint: :faint:

some parts still wet, other parts put water and scrape also cant come off!! basket just what did these birds eat?? o_O

...never ever parked there again :lol:

the end

:lol::faint: wow, that's a lot of bird poop! :lol:

actually i wanna go for defensive riding so long le, keep procastinating, i think i shd JUST DO IT. 1 day use school bike learn how to self skid + power brake, Y NOT?! :lol: pengz also not my bike not heart (and pocket) pain. :lol:

yeah! skidding in controlled environment, wearing all the protection, not ur personal bike sumore :angel:

i skidded once during defensive due to cornering too fast on wet roads, but instructor didnt teach skid control leh :( i guess must remind them! lol..

which centre u planning to go for def? :cheeky:

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

yeah! skidding in controlled environment, wearing all the protection, not ur personal bike sumore :angel:

i skidded once during defensive due to cornering too fast on wet roads, but instructor didnt teach skid control leh :( i guess must remind them! lol..

which centre u planning to go for def? :cheeky:

:lol: cornering too fast on wet roads is best done in school/ track. :lol:

shd be go back bbdc ba, all my licenses from there. :cheeky: even though ssdc now nearer to me..

Its better to run through what is possible in your head many times over until your reactions in a real situation becomes automatic. The first time i pulled it off was lucky coincidence, then i went through what happened in my mind till i identified the critical thought processes which went correctly, and tried applying to other imagined scenarios. Works well in many real panic situations when my body reaction falls back on what was pre-planned although my mind went blank (well, not exactly blank, more like filled with "oh sh!t oh sh!t oh sh!t"s). :cheeky:

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

:lol::faint: wow, that's a lot of bird poop! :lol:

actually i wanna go for defensive riding so long le, keep procastinating, i think i shd JUST DO IT. 1 day use school bike learn how to self skid + power brake, Y NOT?! :lol: pengz also not my bike not heart (and pocket) pain. :lol:

aiyoo bird poop.. eee .. ahaha

i think i shud go for defensive riding too ... are there defensive riding classes held on weekends ?

Its better to run through what is possible in your head many times over until your reactions in a real situation becomes automatic. The first time i pulled it off was lucky coincidence, then i went through what happened in my mind till i identified the critical thought processes which went correctly, and tried applying to other imagined scenarios. Works well in many real panic situations when my body reaction falls back on what was pre-planned although my mind went blank (well, not exactly blank, more like filled with "oh sh!t oh sh!t oh sh!t"s). :cheeky:

works well fr u ? i guess not for me ...

my mind will go OOSHEEET OOSHEEET then piang ! hehs .. buanged and jumped off the bike ...

skidded again. ( GOSH 3 times in 3 freaking consecutive weeks .. too much !)

but not sure if i got into trouble coz the person who helped me to lift my bike was a TP ... wonder wats gonna happen? coz asked another police officer if i should make a report. he told me that if i'm okay and didnt sustain injuries, there isnt really a need to make a report. hmmm

what are the normal procedures that a TP will take when someone skidded ?

dear STALKER on SGBikes.com ,

YOU CAN SUCK MY MIDDLE FINGER DEEP DEEP !

yours truly.

my mind will go OOSHEEET OOSHEEET then piang ! hehs .. buanged and jumped off the bike ...

but not sure if i got into trouble coz the person who helped me to lift my bike was a TP ... wonder wats gonna happen? coz asked another police officer if i should make a report. he told me that if i'm okay and didnt sustain injuries, there isnt really a need to make a report. hmmm

Hmm.. 3 times in 3 weeks... you are on track to break my record of misadventures when i started riding. :lol:

Anyway, hopefully the tp don't send u a love letter for self-skid... dangerous riding...

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

i think i shud go for defensive riding too ... are there defensive riding classes held on weekends ?

and i tot my record of 1 accident per year is bad enough. seriously, i think its time to reflect on ur riding style. u can only be lucky dat many times till luck runs out completely. give a longer following distance and calculate ur braking distance on wet roads.

its always to be late than never. avoid lane splitting in the current weather situation cos its damn slippery. and get ur tires and brakes checked, change them immediately should they be faulty or not functioning optimally. ur life depends on them

ride safe :angel:

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

:thumb: as wat veterans riders said to me - "plan for an exit route", even when there's "nothing" to plan for.

aiyoh, the description is funny, but it's really serious..

in ur case, it's not near misses anymore, it's actually happening frequently! i suppose you could expect a "dangerous riding" letter plus demerit points (4?) dun throw away ur hard earned license!

the fact that u cant even react "oh sheet... bang!" - r u going a teeny weeny bit too fast under the circumstances? :smile:

[for instance, if it's raining heavily and i MUST reach somewhere, a scaredy cat like me will INSIST on riding 60-70kph on 3rd lane, flashing my hazard lights, else i will try to avoid heavy rain.]

i think only u will noe wat really went wrong, and even if the answers do come (as in wat the h3ll went wrong HUH?!?!?!), u will need to discipline urself to change accordingly.

after i pengz the first time, i never wanna pengz again, at least not on public roads - i love my bike too much, and it's only natural to have a self preserve mentality.

i'll prob go for my defensive riding in mid-late dec coz that's the only time i can squeeze le. i suppose we can always call to check with them abt weekend defensive riding? :smile:

PS: depends, if heavy rain and a trailer up my ass, i will have to force myself to get out of that situation anyway.

miss ah miss..... not that i wanna curse you or what, but reflect on your riding style. having so many accidents while riding... one day you wont be so lucky to walk away. I suggest you change riding style or change to a bike that suits your riding style. Maybe bring your bike in to a mech to check if there are any problems with your bike as i see you are skidding all too often and it may not be your error. Do all these before it is too late. All the best in your efforts to improve your own safety!

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:

Before everyone jumps on the bandwagon and point our collective fingers at knucklehead's riding style... do take note it might not be the riding style that is to be blamed.

Personally i'm more inclined to believe the sense of judgement and decision making is lacking. That's all to it, rather than the riding style. She may be riding perfectly normal, even defensively, but one misjudged corner and the lack of experience to improvise in "oh sheet" scenarios would lead to "piang".

Once the sense of judgment is developed, and the decision of whether "can make it, roll on"/"not likely, ease off" is fine-tuned, she should be fine.

I'm a slow learner back in the days i started riding too. Took many falls and scary incidents of launching myself in the air, for me to realise what i needed to learn. From then on, been riding very agressively day in day out.

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Before everyone jumps on the bandwagon and point our collective fingers at knucklehead's riding style... do take note it might not be the riding style that is to be blamed.

Personally i'm more inclined to believe the sense of judgement and decision making is lacking. That's all to it, rather than the riding style. She may be riding perfectly normal, even defensively, but one misjudged corner and the lack of experience to improvise in "oh sheet" scenarios would lead to "piang".

Once the sense of judgment is developed, and the decision of whether "can make it, roll on"/"not likely, ease off" is fine-tuned, she should be fine.

I'm a slow learner back in the days i started riding too. Took many falls and scary incidents of launching myself in the air, for me to realise what i needed to learn. From then on, been riding very agressively day in day out.

i do agree with u. but i also feel dat, if in any way should any rider feel that judgement and decision making is lacking, he/she should go slower or join the more experience rider for a long rounding with the mentality of gaining experience.

dats wad i usually do when i was having my 2b. i kept bugging my frens to come out for kopi or go for a short rounding trip, and observe them while riding. braking distance, following distance, overtaking, turning, corner........... etc

as my frens always say, "riding lessons is just 10% of riding. the 90% is all road experience" which i very much agree.

so anyone for kopi with miss knucklehead? :p

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

why ride aggressively in the first place. Aggressive behavior is for the tracks. Ride like a kitten and be extra careful, knowing the limits of your bike and skill. this is the only way one can minimize accidents. Over confidence on the roads lead to bad situations which is especially true on a car, let alone on a bike....

http://gadgets.boingboing.net/gimages/lego-cycle-helmet.jpg this is not me! :cheeky:
i'll prob go for my defensive riding in mid-late dec coz that's the only time i can squeeze le. i suppose we can always call to check with them abt weekend defensive riding? :smile:

there is defensive riding on weekend. i took mine on a saturday.

anyway you can form a group of 5-7 ppl, go register and choose a date or give them their name and they will consolidate the names until the class is full, then they will inform you.

肥仔七åƒå·

why ride aggressively in the first place. Aggressive behavior is for the tracks. Ride like a kitten and be extra careful, knowing the limits of your bike and skill. this is the only way one can minimize accidents. Over confidence on the roads lead to bad situations which is especially true on a car, let alone on a bike....

Ride like a kitten and the drivers will treat you as invisible. When they start to makan you on the road, you are relying on them not to make a mistake and send you flying.

Riding Since:

Class 2B - 28 Apr 1994

Class 2A - 30 Jun 2009

Motorcycle Safety Riding Tips

Operating a motorcycle takes different skills than driving a car; however, the laws of the road apply to every driver just the same. A combination of consistent education, regard for traffic laws and basic common sense can go a long way in helping reduce the amount of fatalities involved in motorcycle accidents on a yearly basis.

Here is a checklist that every motorcycle rider should follow:

Always wear a helmet with a face shield or protective eyewear — Wearing a helmet is the best way to protect against severe head injuries. A motorcycle rider not wearing a helmet is five times more likely to sustain a critical head injury.

Wear appropriate gear — Make sure to wear protective gear and clothing that will minimize the amount of injuries in case of an accident or a skid. Wearing leather clothing, boots with nonskid soles, and gloves can protect your body from severe injuries. Consider attaching reflective tape to your clothing to make it easier for other drivers to see you.

Follow traffic rules — Obey the speed limit; the faster you go the longer it will take you to stop. Be aware of local traffic laws and rules of the road.

Ride defensively — Don't assume that a driver can see you, as nearly two-thirds of all motorcycle accidents are caused by a driver violating a rider's right of way. You should always ride with your headlights on; stay out of a driver's blind spot; signal well in advance of any change in direction; and watch for turning vehicles.

Be awake and ride sober — Don't drink and ride, you could cause harm to yourself and others. Additionally, fatigue and drowsiness can impair your ability to react, so make sure that you are well rested when you hit the road.

Preparing to Ride

Making sure that your motorcycle is fit for the road is just as important as practicing safe riding. Should something be wrong with your motorcycle, it will be in your best interest to find out prior to hitting the road.

To make sure that your motorcycle is in good working order, check the following:

Tires — check for any cracks or bulges, or signs of wear in the treads. Low tire pressure or any defects could cause a blowout.

Under the motorcycle — Look for signs of oil or gas leaks.

Headlight, taillight and signals — Test for high and low beams. Make sure that all lights are functioning.

Once you've mounted the motorcycle, complete the following checks:

Clutch and throttle - Make sure they are working smoothly. Throttle should snap back when released.

Mirrors — Clean and adjust all mirrors to ensure sharpest viewing.

Brakes — Test front and rear brakes. Each brake should feel firm and hold the motorcycle still when fully applied.

Tips for the Motorcycle with pillon

Ideally, you should have at least one (1) year of riding experience before adding a passenger. Your skill level should allow you to confidently handle your motorcycle in most riding conditions before introducing a passenger into the equation—and exposing them to the risk.

Keep in mind that the additional weight of a passenger will affect the handling. It will take a longer distance to stop, more effort to turn, etc. Keep your speed down until you are accustomed to these differences.

Carrying a passenger that weighs more than you do is not recommended.

Plan frequent stops to give your passenger a break. Any movement on their part will affect the motorcycle and therefore should be limited. Without frequent stops a passenger can quickly become uncomfortable.

The rider should always mount first and dismount last.

Never mount or dismount the motorcycle until the agreed upon signal is given from the operator. This could be a nod of the head, a verbal command, etc.

When riding do not make any unnecessary movements. If you must move in the seat to gain a more comfortable seating position, alert the operator that you will be moving so that he/she will be prepared.

Keep in mind that it is difficult to hear when wearing helmets and traveling at speed. Limit talking to times when you are stopped or traveling at very low speeds. If you enjoy talking more frequently, there are several operator-to-passenger communication devices. Never tug on a operator’s arm, cover their eyes, or attempt to feed them when riding.

Don’t fall asleep—unless the motorcycle is equipped with a back rest and arm rests.

Ride like a kitten and the drivers will treat you as invisible. When they start to makan you on the road, you are relying on them not to make a mistake and send you flying.

well being a kitten and avoiding dangers even though its not my fault works fine for me. i realize everytime i try to drive or ride aggressively i tend to become over confident and slightly reckless. being a pushover on the roads seems like a better idea to avoid accidents but i stress the importance of remaining decisive. well thats just me. no accidents in 5 years since i adopt this style, prior to that had 3 accidents in my first year alone. :faint:

Knucklehead, get a friend who has some experience riding to follow behind you and observe your style of riding, or perhaps a mechanical fault that is causing you to skid multiple times.

3 times in 3 weeks is simply not chance or coincidence anymore. Everyone here fears for your safety. Your concern now shouldn't be what the copper will charge you with, but your life.

Ride safe.

For the certainty of death and the knowledge of life's fragility, makes it worth living.