@firefox87: $900? changing the whole block is it?

luckily not including the block. the block would have burnt another $400 in my pocket. gosh! is this kind of pricing normal for a 2a bike? cos i went to Holeshot at Kaki Bukit cos it was said to be good and transparent and cheap enough. but $900 just doesn't feel cheap. else, the normal price would have been $1000+. it's actually $720 for the first job and an additional $180 for the 2nd job to change piston.

• Replies 25.1k

what was the first job? it sounds ex to me...but i don't have 2a bike...i can check with my mech.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

the first job was opening up the engine and to replace the con rod, timing chain and 2 more stuffs which i forget the names and then to close it back, must get new gaskets and the rubber seals. then, when put back together, the mech realised that white smokes come out from the engine. suspect piston also spoiled. then, i asked a simple question. if later piston spoil, what happens and how much it'll cost. it'll cost $400 the moment i ride the bike out. so i left it there for him to change the piston for an additional $180(incl labour) since he can still reuse the gasket and seals.

piston or piston rings?

it's the rings that seals the chamber for combustion.

somehow got the feeling you got cai-tao-ed..

piston or piston rings?

yeah... i 2nd that... honest and righteous shops hard to come by nowadays, i also got cai-tao-ed before... :sian: and am i glad i found a shop that is honest and trustworthy. :)

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1) Honda TA150 - 20/04/2009 to 31/08/2014

2) Honda CB400 Ver S - 12/07/2014 to ???

Ride safe this Monday morning... first day of work after a long break for most people and also the first day of school.

Sure got alot of drivers rushing around with their minds somewhere else instead of the traffic around them.

Ride extra defensively and give yourself more travel time.

I kinda expect to see alot of accidents tomorrow morning along the expressways.

the first job was opening up the engine and to replace the con rod, timing chain and 2 more stuffs which i forget the names and then to close it back, must get new gaskets and the rubber seals. then, when put back together, the mech realised that white smokes come out from the engine. suspect piston also spoiled. then, i asked a simple question. if later piston spoil, what happens and how much it'll cost. it'll cost $400 the moment i ride the bike out. so i left it there for him to change the piston for an additional $180(incl labour) since he can still reuse the gasket and seals.

That white smoke is caused by water leaking from the water jacket into the combustion chamber. It happened to me before, right after a smiliar engine servicing, went for test ride, immediately go back to shop to redo the cylinder head gasket.

Gaskets and seals CANNOT be reused! Insist on new ones, or you will have the same problems.

That white smoke is caused by water leaking from the water jacket into the combustion chamber. It happened to me before, right after a smiliar engine servicing, went for test ride, immediately go back to shop to redo the cylinder head gasket.

Gaskets and seals CANNOT be reused! Insist on new ones, or you will have the same problems.

talking about that.. somehow i dun remember any rubber seals on the engine blocks.. firefox, you sure is rubber seals? rubber dun go well with hot temperatures...

piston or piston rings?

yeah... i 2nd that... honest and righteous shops hard to come by nowadays, i also got cai-tao-ed before... :sian: and am i glad i found a shop that is honest and trustworthy. :)

same feeling here. but no choice la. he open the bike already. and the bikeshop was highly recommended by most scrambler dudes and they even have their own racing team. Holeshot Racing. i'm trying to believe but it's getting hard. the 1st time, the piston rings was also changed. but still got white smokes. he told me to just monitor the engine oil. it's the piston that needs to be changed.

talking about that.. somehow i dun remember any rubber seals on the engine blocks.. firefox, you sure is rubber seals? rubber dun go well with hot temperatures...

maybe not rubber. i only rmb he say seals and gaskets. but since my prev bike use rubber seal, i thought it's also the same.

next time when you have some work need to do, get a few quotes lah...i only go to one fella now after my last incident with a shop...and this fella is not from a shop :)

Ride safe this Monday morning... first day of work after a long break for most people and also the first day of school.

Sure got alot of drivers rushing around with their minds somewhere else instead of the traffic around them.

Ride extra defensively and give yourself more travel time.

I kinda expect to see alot of accidents tomorrow morning along the expressways.

indeed alot of cars.. and accidents..:sian:

same feeling here. but no choice la. he open the bike already. and the bikeshop was highly recommended by most scrambler dudes and they even have their own racing team. Holeshot Racing. i'm trying to believe but it's getting hard. the 1st time, the piston rings was also changed. but still got white smokes. he told me to just monitor the engine oil. it's the piston that needs to be changed.

maybe not rubber. i only rmb he say seals and gaskets. but since my prev bike use rubber seal, i thought it's also the same.

erm.. got race team don't mean they wun cai tao you.. :angel:

The NE Monsoon is late again this year... normally it rains heavily in late November and early December in the past but the trend has changed these past few years... blame it on El Nino, La Nina, La Bamba or Kukaracha.

Expect alot of rains the next few days.. some starting in the early morning and lasting the whole day... not the thunderstorm kind but the heavy drizzle type.

Factor in the wet roads and slow traffic into your travel time... leave ealier so that you don't have to rush.

Wet roads + rush factor = accidents.

Ride safe everyone.

today while riding in JB.... towards ah gua lane...

a black J-plate SUV cut into my lane w/o checking his/her blindspot forcing me to lane split between lanes, horned him, and quickly accelerated away. boo... msia boleh? :cheeky:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1 trailer crashed into the central divider on lane 1 of AYE heading towards city..

heard even until 8pm still jam at that stretch..

makes me wonder why the trailer in on the 1st lane in the first place..

Today while riding home saw this honda accord doing 120km/h tailgating other cars. Just happen at traffic light i stopped beside it. So when traffic turns green, as expected the accord floored the throttle. I suddenly became playful and i twisted mine big time, of course the accord smell my smoke....haa haa :faint:

We R One!

Today while riding home saw this honda accord doing 120km/h tailgating other cars. Just happen at traffic light i stopped beside it. So when traffic turns green, as expected the accord floored the throttle. I suddenly became playful and i twisted mine big time, of course the accord smell my smoke....haa haa :faint:

plenty of cars rushing to wrap themselves round trees recently. faggots... :sian:

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

1 trailer crashed into the central divider on lane 1 of AYE heading towards city..

heard even until 8pm still jam at that stretch..

makes me wonder why the trailer in on the 1st lane in the first place..

i wun be surprised, saw a lorry in lane 1 on AYE on sunday already.

u need to be young and reckless to become old and wise..... if u survive :angel:

http://i19.photobucket.com/albums/b169/gwzc_mk2/IMG_4576-1.jpg

Today while riding, the sky was bright blue with very few clouds coming up to melaka. I saw a merc in a longkang on NSHW right after melaka. Shocking sight to see as I was riding alone. In KL now, I hope tomorrow on the return trip, everything is smooth sailing.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v652/IZECUBEZ/Motivational/Determination.jpg

2 TP hiding in the slip road along bukit timah road, just before sixth ave..

scared the **** out of me!

lucky they turned into sixth ave and never follow me.. DAMN!

@aRcHeR: why you worry abt TP? :p

@IZECUBEZ: have a safe ride back!

For me, I was enroute to United with Tony to look for some parts and saw this bike from my mirror...it went by me fast...was a BMW...looked nice...until I saw it pass...then realized it was a scooter. Sheesh...I cannot understand what the draw is for that bike lor.

today while riding....

part1

a stupid driver "punked" himself well enough to warrant a "thumbs down" from me. incident happened at upp serangoon road, the last traffic light before the entrance to PIE (changi airport). overtook me dangerously right after light turn green, nevermind. he going quite slow after overtaking me so i filter to the right lane to overtake him. freaking sh*thead cut back into my lane abruptly and my right was just a concrete barrier, to avoid being squashed to a pancake, i blasted my very loudblasting horn and accelerate the hell out of there. while the lane merges back to one lane and im well a few vehicle lengths ahead, i shake my head and gave him the "thumbs down"! my conclusion is his ego too big, don want get overtaken after overtaking me so he tried to block me. no signal at all right from the start...

part 2

not riding but passenger to a friend. noticed he likes to talk his hp and sms while driving, i shake head in my mind :faint: as i do not want to say it out verbally for it might offend him. also, he does not wear seatbelt. another nono :nono:

Edited by ahcaibiker

Class 2B - 26/03/2009

Class 2A - 01/06/2010

Class 3 - 10/07/2009

Rides(s)

while riding today everything went smoothly...but while walking across the road to have dinner...this camry driver (number plate will not be disclosed here for now) came out from the minor road with full acceleration...directly towards me! A**h*le!!!

bloody idiots like this...and other stupid idiots who drive without regard for others on the road should have whatever excuse they call a d*ck cut off by a blunt instrument!

Today noticed something unhappy. Someone had hit and run my bike, leaving a scratch on my tank and ran away! :cry:

But a few days ago while riding....

On my way home from JB, at a red light at the Yishun Stadium I Bio-ed a very very Sweeeee lady in a Green Jeep. She was checking out my bike, and I was checking out her... ... ... ... her jeep of course!

Kee! Kee! Kee! :angel:

Then when the lights turned green, Alamak! Engine stalled, because I itchy hand off the fuel C0ck.... Aiyo! So embarassing! :cheeky:

This girl must be quite rich too, because farther down the road, she filtered into Orchid Country Club, weekday can no need work, go Orchid country club play golf. Wah! Rich and beautiful! :lovestruck:

Then today while walking (after riding to Orchard road) to Seiko building to repair my family's 3 watches, Daddy Watch, Mommy Watch and Baby Watch. :D

I made eye contact with another very chio bu. We looked at each other from about 40 m away all the way eye to eye, until we passed each other. Wah! She also checking me out ah! :shy:

But then again maybe it's because I was wearing 3 watches! :lol:

Too bad she has a friend besides her, otherwise can stop and exchange HP number! :smooch:

Then when nearing my destination, I saw a girl rider holding a Full face green AGV helmet in the left hand. And slinging a helmet bag on the right shoulder. Long hair, slim petite figure, and super model face. :lovestruck:

How I wished I was her helmet, with her arms wrapped around me.... .... :(

A guy can dream, can't he? :cheeky:

Edited by Silent Hunter