[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

lol... just lube by mileage... fairer for the bike :cheeky:

too much lube = attractive to dirt and dust...

hi vid, how much mileage roughly? 300?

Do what's right, not what you think is right. =)

anyone here using suspension setting other then 3?

I thinking of adjusting it for harder. 4 or 5.. any experience with this?

Currently I using 2 E33 as sidebox. sometimes when I corner.. then got bump on the road.. the box abit jumpy.. I know its the box fixing.. only two horizontal mounting points.. what to expect..

But will the adjusting of the suspension help?

Thx in adv!

11022009 Passed 2b BBDC

24022009 Bought Ta200

hi vid, how much mileage roughly? 300?

I think 500 km is good

Currently I using 2 E33 as sidebox. sometimes when I corner.. then got bump on the road.. the box abit jumpy.. I know its the box fixing.. only two horizontal mounting points.. what to expect..

Thx in adv!

You got it the opposite way bro. You should make compression softer to absorb any inconsistencies in the road. I believe TA cannot alter spring strenght, only preload? You are also unable to alter your rebound settings, thus kind of pointless with just the preload.

To prevent your box "jumping", it would be better to tighten up all the bracket and mounts. The TA suspension is limited and its only best adjusted for 1up or 2up riding comfort. :thumb:

ah boy dun carry the spark plug gap tool. I think ill head to the hardware stalls to fine wires of 0.8 - 0.9 mm.

You got it the opposite way bro. You should make compression softer to absorb any inconsistencies in the road. I believe TA cannot alter spring strenght, only preload? You are also unable to alter your rebound settings, thus kind of pointless with just the preload.

To prevent your box "jumping", it would be better to tighten up all the bracket and mounts. The TA suspension is limited and its only best adjusted for 1up or 2up riding comfort. :thumb:

ooo

i thought the suspension thing is spring.. i go research more on preload thanks!

Quite tight la the screws at the box, but i think cuz i never use the correct type of brackets... so ya..

mus tahan for now.

11022009 Passed 2b BBDC

24022009 Bought Ta200

Suspension generally refers to the entire system. You have springs/shocks, preload, damping and rebound.

The TA's suspension system is rather limited. Of course, many higher-end (sports bikes especially) have adjustable settings for all the above components.

Check this article out. Its about bicycles but a motorbike's suspension works in exactly the same way.

Still abit blur.. But basically, more weight for us we use 4-5 correct liao right? what we are trading off is that on normal smooth roads we feel more the bumps on the road?

11022009 Passed 2b BBDC

24022009 Bought Ta200

Still abit blur.. But basically, more weight for us we use 4-5 correct liao right? what we are trading off is that on normal smooth roads we feel more the bumps on the road?

Don't understand your question, you want comfort or "performance"? lol softer means comfort of course and vice versa.

Yup, you are correct. Unfortunately, that won't solve your box problem (maybe even worsen it as the rebound after a bump would be harder).

Thx in adv!

hiaz...box problem u adjust suspension????

just make your box bracket stiffer and add shocks absorber for your box think will make it less jumpy

Never argue with an idiot. They'll bring you down to their level and beat you with experience every time:dot:

Bro mepkoh is right.

You should consider cushioning the "loose" areas with sponge, soft cloth, or 3M adhesive rubber stoppers. :thumb:

Didn't know about the 3m adhesive rubber stoppers! Going to take a look at those soon! I think it may answer my problems!

11022009 Passed 2b BBDC

24022009 Bought Ta200

Yup, those kind people use to put under the legs of their chairs to prevent scratching and slipping on the floor. Can get from any DIY or hardware store.

I put these on the screws in the boxs to prevent scratching of my helmets. Bought for 20c each at chai chee

hi guys, im looking for a paddock to ease my pain for chain lubing. Open for alternatives. Cheaper the better. thanks

Get a car jack,

thanks. will look it up. near sungei road that 1?

will using an iridium spark plug on a phantom be overkilled?

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)

will using an iridium spark plug on a phantom be overkilled?

depends what ure looking for

thanks. will look it up. near sungei road that 1?

Er... just like 30 secs walk from LAB. Might not be the cheapest, but I got mine from there after asking ah boy where can get car jack nearby.

Dunno Mustafa have or not...

hwshop.jpg

Hi... I have a qn to ask. When doing U-turn, I tend to turn VERY widely on my phantom, maybe eating into 3 lanes or so. Is it because I noob or what?

Just about 10 days into owning my phantom =)

Why did I become a rider?

This is just my humble and modest attempt to live within my means.

Not to forget the wind, the freedom, the joy, the sun, the ride.

2B TP: 18-03-2009 passed

depends what ure looking for

will it increase any smoothness or just longer mileage?

DIY instructions

VTEC indicator for CB400 - http://tinyurl.com/7gvy3vy

Replacement/Changing of T10 light bulbs for CB400's Meter - http://tinyurl.com/8624wsa

2006 Aprilia RS125(Sold)

2006 Honda Phantom TA200(Sold)

1999 Honda Super 4 Hyper VTEC(Sold)

2003 Honda ST1300A Pan European(Sold) :thumb:

2010 Kia Cerato Forte Koup(Current)