[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

Originally posted by Thunder_X@Oct 18 2005, 10:33 PM

TA 150 is 2 stroke bike. 2 stroke shouldnt have engine oil as far as I'm concern, 2 stroke bike's one is gear oil (correct me if i'm wrong)

http://www.nivlek.net/downloads/TA150.zip

O btw, 1 more thing

for bikes. U muz check the min requirement for PETROL!

:lol: There was once I use the wrong petrol, 92 i think, then I tot my bike going to ki chia liao. :X After long hours of figuring what went wrong, I seem to recall I pump wrong petrol. :lol:

One and only time :X Scare the hell outta me.

That was like early this year i think.

April'12~Current - Kymco DownTown 125i

June'09 ~ April'12. - Kymco Grand Dink 150.

1st June'04 till now 30th June'09. - Honda TA150

June'11~April'12. - Toyota Hiace '04

Good ol' days with my Phantom~

:cheeky: "Baby"

• Replies 7.2k

Originally posted by fleaz@Oct 17 2005, 11:40 AM

there are 2 dents on my fuel tank and one part paint chip off liao, tank also slightly rusted. so i'm wondering if it's gonna be more worthwhile to change my tank or to send it to shop to respray (hopefully, spray to original colours). bike slightly more than 4 years old.

add a tank cover? :cheeky:

Originally posted by fleaz@Oct 17 2005, 11:40 AM

there are 2 dents on my fuel tank and one part paint chip off liao, tank also slightly rusted. so i'm wondering if it's gonna be more worthwhile to change my tank or to send it to shop to respray (hopefully, spray to original colours). bike slightly more than 4 years old.

juz went to see ur bike juz now... how u got the 2 dent huh? ur logo oso look abit loose liao.

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

Originally posted by bobo_rider@Oct 19 2005, 12:20 PM

juz went to see ur bike juz now... how u got the 2 dent huh? ur logo oso look abit loose liao.

not look a bit loose. it's loose. anyway i'm planning a respray. i could just take up madman's idea of getting a tank cover.

http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a266/fleaz/_MG_5656-1.jpg

Honda Phantom TA200 [FT73*2H][2005-2007]

Honda XR400 [FN9*32Y][2007]

Aprilia Atlantic [FX751*K][2007-2008]

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Mitsubishi Lancer [2013-2014]

we live in the back, ride at the back -BSR

Originally posted by fleaz@Oct 19 2005, 12:23 PM

not look a bit loose. it's loose. anyway i'm planning a respray. i could just take up madman's idea of getting a tank cover.

u drop ur bike or this is done by the previous owner?

1995 - 1996 ~ Yamaha TZR125

1996 - 1999 ~ Honda CBR400RRK Hurricane

2005 - 2006 ~ Honda TA150 Phantom

2006 - 2010 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 1

2011 - 2013 ~ Honda CB400 Super Four Vtec Spec 2

2013 - 20** ~ Ducati Monster 796 ABS + Sym GTS200

one was me. the other was previous owner.

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

Hi all, i just got my 2B and now is looking for a phatom at my first bike.

There is this phatom that the lower part of the fork is rusty, and the area is quite big.

Is there anyway to get rid of it?:sweat:

Or will there be any problem with the rusty fork?

Please give some advice :cheeky:

if you haven't got that bike, i suggest you just move on.

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

take picture show us.

i dunno which part u refering to.

Originally posted by Thunder_X@Oct 18 2005, 10:33 PM

TA 150 is 2 stroke bike. 2 stroke shouldnt have engine oil as far as I'm concern, 2 stroke bike's one is gear oil (correct me if i'm wrong)

BTW bionix2mt,

the vibration seems a bit weird to me, gear oil changed shouldnt have such big effect, changed my sport bike's gear oil before, no such thing happened.

I think the vibration might due to some losen parts of your bike or maybe the engine itself. Did you do other servicing other than changing the gear oil? If you did, maybe the mech didnt screw those things tightly and properly.

Juz my humble opinion...

Thanks destroybot ,Thunderx ,nivlek for replies. Maybe the new EO needs some time to run-in...

But to alleviate my fears, this what I did:

1) Went back to drain out some EO.

- then went home - Top bit by bit unitl it is filled to the H mark (use pillar to hold bike)

2) Tighten and lub chain

After effects:

Now, the engine no longer 'choking' and can drag for much longer in between gears. Transmission smoother too. Previously, engine very noisy and hot (can feel the heat coming out), always need to change gears very quickly, seems no power.

Think must insist to just die die add 800ml enuff liao.

Need advise:

Just changed to City Demon FRT tire, any 1 can recommend what KPA to inflate? Tire side says 280 if not mistakenly read

Originally posted by bionix2mt@Oct 21 2005, 03:46 PM

Need advise:

Just changed to City Demon FRT tire, any 1 can recommend what KPA to inflate? Tire side says 280 if not mistakenly read

280kPa is MAX allowable pressure. For Phantom, the normal pressure should be around 200~230kPa.

Hi Guys

A few days ago, speedo failed because the cable from the speedo to the wheel came loose at the wheel end. My friend (the no-license mechanic) attached it back with a cable tie. Does anyone know how much and where to buy a new cable.

speedo cable can get at FJT. they should have.

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

get from LAB, $15 w installation or get at ah koon $18 w installation

price may varies, cos i checked em quite sometime ago

Originally posted by oleman@Oct 22 2005, 11:13 AM

Want to just buy the parts and let my no-license mechanic friend install it. He needs lots of practice to aquire license from me. :smile:

then get from LAB, cheapest liao :smile:

to sidetrack a little, are there even licensed mechanics?

Toyota Camry [2011-2013]

probably yeah... paperless licence, approved by word of mouth, mouth of the customers.

i just realised one thing when i tried to pump air to my rear tyre to check pressure at the petrol kiosk.

the air feeder for the pump cannot fit to the rear tyre however i tried to position it cos of the handle.

so just wondering how do you guys pump air to your rear tyre???

Easier is to change to a L-shape tyre nipple. Will change mine when I next change my tyre.

I guess it is hard to find licensed mechanics here. Luckily, I have a friend who used to assist his dad to run a motordiam in his younger days, and is willing to help. On second thought, it might be cheaper not to use him. The other day, he helped to bleed my brakes but I had to treat him to a claypot crab tanghoon ($30). You should see the way he sucked the crab juice from his fingers; aiyah kenna chop liao.

Originally posted by oleman@Oct 22 2005, 04:43 PM

aiyah kenna chop liao.

:cheeky: aiya friend ma, help each other, at least he dun lie to u for anything ma.

Originally posted by oleman@Oct 22 2005, 10:31 AM

Thanks but who is FJT.

FJT Pte Ltd is at 15 rowell road, somewhere near LAB

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v495/niqyap/drift5bn.gif
Originally posted by lunloon@Oct 22 2005, 03:13 PM

i just realised one thing when i tried to pump air to my rear tyre to check pressure at the petrol kiosk.

the air feeder for the pump cannot fit to the rear tyre however i tried to position it cos of the handle.

so just wondering how do you guys pump air to your rear tyre???

gotta do some acrobatics.

i'll make sure the tyre nipple is at 9 o'clock position (which is the proper position for checking pressure anyway), then slip the handle behind the brake disc. it'll usually go in.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v495/niqyap/drift5bn.gif